Naalehu condo rental - Two happy green sea turtles enjoying sunset on our beautiful beach!
Two happy green sea turtles enjoying sunset on our beautiful beach!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Naalehu Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

TURTLE HUT II: a spacious Polynesian-style bungalow for your dream vacation in Hawaii! Our repeat guests agree! that we offer the very best LOCATION and CLIMATE and AFFORDABILITY, bar none! Colony One at Sea Mountain Resort!

Our location on the southeastern unspoiled coastline of Hawaii's Big Isle, is virtually mid-way between the attractions of both Kona and Hilo.......and with many unique places to explore along the way! We're also a scant half-hour drive to the Volcanoes National Park and Madame Pele's spectacular eruption shows. Nestled on a bluff overlooking Ninole Bay in the middle of 90 miles of pristine, undeveloped coastline, this small Polynesian style condo resort and golf course blend seamlessly into their natural tropical setting.

We are also blessed by the prevailing tradewinds, a factor which keeps our air quality fresh and clean, unlike the Kona coast, and our temperatures are also cooler both day and night! You will love to lounge on the pool deck at night and watch the night sky for falling stars, as there is no cleaner air on planet earth.

Of course, we also have the very best amenities for our guests, right here in the resort! Many of our guests choose to spend mornings with breakfast on the lanai, feeding our tame cardinals a taste of papaya or toast, then off to the pool and spa or golf or tennis until noon; touring in the afternoon, and finishing the day with a great fish BBQ on the pool deck with new friends! Some spa time, anyone?

There is so much to see and explore nearby: within a 30 minute drive, our magnificent GREEN Sands Beach is not to be missed; Kula kai Caverns in Ocean View has several guided tours tailored to your physical abilities and interests; South Point's fishing ladders, natural history and ocean blow holes; Wood Valley's Shangri-La environment offers a BuddhistTemple and brand new Ka'u Coffee Mill & Museum, when you can bear to leave our beautiful black sand beach and snorkelling with the turtles!

Finally, affordability matters to everyone these days. And with airfares climbing to ridiculous levels, we've lowered our rates as low as we possibly can to attract and keep a clientele of discerning guests for all of our properties. A full house at low rates is certainly better than one half full, at our former much higher ragtes!

Be sure to read the 'Travelers Reviews' Tab above to see the wonderful things virtually ALL of our guests have said about their stays with us! They consistently rave about the location, and amenities, and having all the comforts of home, in paradise! We are very proud of our 100% positive record, and work very hard to achieve and maintain that level of service to our pampered guests.

The Hut's 'great room' runs the entire width of the unit, and has soaring vaulted wooden beamed ceilings, with ceiling fans in both the full sized living room and dining rooms. The full kitchen has brand new stainless steel range and over-the-range micro-hood, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, and even a washer and dryer. Of course, we also stock all the small kitchen appliances you would hope for: coffee maker and grinder; blender; rice cooker; toaster, and so on.

We always strive to spoil our guests as we would wish to be, so we also stock top quality beach chairs, beach umbrella, mats and coolers; high thread count sheets and custom towels; and high end and comfortable furnishings. We are always happy to furnish our guests with insider recommendations on best & worse restaurants, activities & attractions and our own 'do not miss' list! It's all part of the 'aloha spirit' which we strive to convey and which showers our business with a very high repeat and referral rate!

Keywords: BEST Beach & Golf & Location & Climate & Unspoiled, Exotic Hawaii at affordable rates! See our former Guest Reviews, and see why we have earned more than double the number of FIVE STAR ratings than any other condos in our resort!

More Details
Hide Details

At long last, and as many of our guests have requested, we're now thrilled to offer our second property, Turtle Hut II. This one is a large, full one bedroom model, in the style of a Polynesian bungalow with high vaulted, wood-beamed ceilings in the 'Great Room'. Thanks to the success and loyalty of our clientele, we were able to purchase this lovely unit for families desiring lots of space and a full kitchen with such amenities as dishwasher and washer/dryer, GREAT for long stays!

Barbara Rushton purchased this condo in 2006

Barb purchased our first condo at Colony I at Sea Mountain way back in 2003. If you've never seen this piece of paradise, you're missing out on what most visitors agree is the last oasis and place of 'Old Hawaii'. Nestled on a bluff overlooking Ninole Bay along 90 miles of pristine, undeveloped coastline, this small Polynesian-style complex blends perfectly into its natural, tropical landscaping. It offers all you'd expect of a modern resort right on the premises, yet is located perfectly for visiting attractions in either Kona, Hilo or Volcano.

Our favorite day whenever we have the chance to stay here ALWAYS begins with coffee and bits of fruit and toast to feed our local cardinal and finch families! Many come to our screened door if we're even a tad late to call us out! and we've named several of our favorites through the years.

We also LOVE the huge volcano-style spa at night, gazing up at the unbelievably clear night skies to spot the constellations and catch a falling star or more! After a long day at the beach or golf or hiking, there's no more relaxing and beautiful place on earth!

77 Reviews of Property 251908 in Naalehu, Hawaii

Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
average rating of 4.757576 based on 77 reviews
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
Mt. Horeb, WI
5

Beautiful view, great breeze...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay at Turtle Hut II was fantastic. We were greeted by the housekeeper due to us arriving earlier than expected (time changed messed us up). She was very pleasant and proceeded to tell us about all of the opportunities in the area. She did not shoo us away, as she easily could have as we were hours early! The condo met all of our needs. My daughters loved the geckos and the turtles, OH My, so many turtles! My husband saw an octopus when he was snorkeling off the black sand beach. We managed the drive to many places and beaches. The view from the pool is exactly as the picture shows only much, MUCH more spectacular. I loved sitting out by the pool, reading and looking up to see the ocean view. Wonderful place to see and visit. Barbara has wonderful suggestions as to where to by groceries and to eat! Mahalo for a wonderful stay, LeaAnn~Mt. Horeb, WI.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Aloha, LeaAnn and Ohana, and WOW! it sounds like your stay included some really rare moments! Your hubby saw an octopus? while snorkelling at our beach?!? Now, that's a first! to my knowledge! You'll definitely have to come back during WHALE season, when you can watch literally dozens of whales in the bay, pool - front!, as they breach and blow and play with their babies! OR, make it back during turtle hatching season! when thousands of turtle hatchlings break open their egg shells and try to waddle their way into the ocean for the first time......BOTH very magical experiences!
Our housekeeper Lizzy fell in love with your girls, too! and always loves to meet and greet the guests she is preparing the condo for, and of course all of us lucky enough to live in paradise also love to share our lists of favorite places.
We'd love to have you all back, whenever the spirit moves you, LeaAnn! Mucho mahalos for taking the time to write such a detailed and beautiful review of your stay! We're very grateful!
Always with aloha,
Barb, Dina & Lizzy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
Alaska
5

Wonderful again 2nd trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Thanks Barb was a great stay again. it is so peaceful at the condo. Dina was great had everything clean and well stocked. We went up to the volcano house for our 33rd anniversary what a wonderful dinner an view. we just love coming there it is out of the way an our kind of vacation no crowds. We rent a jeep and explore all the side roads, the locals will give you some good information on places to go that most people would pass up. Thanks again an we will be back again. P.S. great fruit an avacodo basket thank you.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
Des Moines, IA
3

Nothing spectacular - more average, I'm afraid

Nothing spectacular - more average, I'm afraid
  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This property is satisfactory but nothing spectacular in comparison to other experiences we've had in Hawaii over the past 13 years. This property is part of a stalled resort/golf development that has been opposed by local activist groups, so it looks a bit orphaned. It's important to note that this property is located approximately halfway between Kailua and Hilo - about 1 1/2 hours in each direction. That simple fact will greatly affect how you rate this property. If you are looking for solitude and rest, you'll rate this property highly. If you're looking for activities and fine dining, you won't be impressed. Be prepared for a lot of pizza and burgers and cooking yourself.

The Good - The black sand beach is terrific! The Punalu'U Bakery in Naalehu is fantastic and not to be missed. The people are friendly and welcoming. It's very quiet and restful.

The Average - The condo is about what you'd expect in terms of size and amenities. It's comfortable with postage stamp views of the ocean, and the lanai is a great place for morning breakfast and an evening glass of wine or cocktail.

The Bad - It's a long, long drive if you are looking for a fine dining restaurant or activities like the Mauna Kea Summit, etc. Volcanoes Park is a reasonable distance.

Our Biggest Disappointment - We arrived at about 5 p.m. to a unit that had not been cleaned. The coffee pot still had coffee in it, the dishwasher was full of dirty, smelly dishes, the stove and countertop was covered with crumbs, the bed was unmade, and the bathroom hanging full of dirty, damp towels. We immediately called Dina, the housekeeper, to let her know and she was caught completely unaware of there having been another tenant in the property since the last time she had cleaned it. To Dina's credit, she responded immediately, and when we returned from hunting down a pizza for dinner, she had it thoroughly cleaned and ready for us. There was apparently a miscommunication between Dina and the owner, which can happen. But our biggest disappointment is that after nearly a week, we've not received a single communication from the owner apologizing for these circumstances. How difficult can that be? Makes me feel our money is more important than our satisfaction!

In sum, this is a great property for beach lovers, seekers of solitude, and great Hawaiian breads and pastries! Beach towels, chairs and mats are provided. If you're looking for more than that, we'd suggest you look somewhere else.
Owner's Response: Dear Reader:
After eleven plus successful years in the hospitality business, the odds were increasing that we would eventually commit this most dreaded of all sins: our guests arrived after a long day of travel, only to find their place not cleaned! Even worse, the guests apparently never found the (probably incoherent) answering machine message I left that night and, as my luck continued, I failed to find them at home when I attempted to apologize in person with a bottle of fine wine. As I told them in my subsequent emails, there WAS an explanation for this horrible event, but there is NEVER an excuse. I'm surprised that we didn't receive a ZERO rating, based on their arrival nightmare, alone.
I strongly suspect that their other reflections were colored by this first impression, as we've never received a rating lower than 4 stars in all this time. I have learned ALOT from this experience, and the first is the importance of providing an updated list of all of the nearby places to eat.
In fact, there are 21 -- yes, that's twenty one -- great choices for varied tastes in the nearby towns of Volcano Village (or the Park), Pahala village, Naalehu, and Ocean View. Almost ALL of these have received 4 or 5 star reviews from customers on the "Yelp!" website, which is a wonderful source with driving directions, hours of operation, menu choices available, as well as guest reviews. Shame on me that I didnt have a list like this available for these guests, who qwould surely have enjoyed finding many alternatives to the pizza and pastries!
I must say that we are very proud to be the only resort located along 90 miles of pristine, undeveloped coastline, offering unsurpassed activities for those who appreciate the wonders of nature, history, and cultural heritage offered here. Does your soul tingle at the thought of swimming with dolphins in their natural environment (not in a man made pool for $180/half hour?)......journeying to our famous GREEN sand beach?.....exploring a network of miles of underground lava tubes (Kula Kai Caverns) ?.....watching crimson colored lava pour into the crashing ocean surf to endlessly create more land, at night?....or just kicking back to sunbathe with greensea turtles on our own black sand beach? then you've found your true paradise, here. If, however, you prefer high-priced tourist activities, eating in restaurants you'd find in mainland cities, you'll be much happier in Waikiki.
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
4

very pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We enjoyed our stay at this condo. Very quiet and pleasant. Our son teaches at Pahala High School which was only five minutes away. Only wish the wireless internet was stronger as it was quite weak and it had more of a ocean view but cannot beat the price and great location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
5

It could not have been better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a wonderful vacation rental! This condo rates five stars in my book : very clean, comfortable, tasteful, functional, and friendly. It could not have been better. We saw turtles every day we went to the beach and everytime we snorkelled. I would recommend the Turtle Hut to everyone who asks, and have already promoted it to people who have! Thank you, Barb, for providing such lovely accomodations. It's truly wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
Port Moody, BC
5

Lovely Hawaiian Retreat Away from it all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Turtle Hut II is what it appears to be in the photos. Your condo is on the back side of a 70 or so unit complex. You can see and hear the ocean from the lanai, but the view from the pool, only a short walk away, is unsurpassed. What is most impressive is how the well the grounds, pool and hot tub are kept. They are immaculate.

The condo itself was very clean upon arrival; however, compared to the other VRBO properties I've rented in the past, the supplies were limited. We did need to purchase things like extra toilet paper, spices and extra clothes washing liquid. Perhaps if we'd asked they would have been supplied but as I said in other properties all these were available at check-in.

I loved the easy access to the Black Sand Beach, South Point, the Green Sand Beach and the Volcano National Park. If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and still get all the sun you want, stay here. This place asks that you allow the landscape entertain you. Be prepared to do some hiking or if you like to golf, bring your clubs. You are on a golf course.

Eating out is possible, but options are few in comparison to heavily populated locations. Plan meals so you can use the group BBQ and walk your food back to eat in privacy or eat with others around the pool and make new friends.

I have already recommended this location to other like-minded individuals who do not want a stay in one place (resort) type of vacation. And I'd stay here again if my plans included another trip to the Kau district of Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Jan, and many mahalos for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the magnificent natural wonders nearby, and I've passed on your compliments to our gardeners, who work hard to keep the resort looking so beautiful!
Our wonderful housekeeper Dina always strives to provide an ample supply of paper goods for guests, and we try to also keep the pantry stocked with spices and condiments most guests use, routinely. You'd be shocked to learn how often those supplies grow wings (!), however, and may not always be as ample as we had just loaded up! Of course, you're also correct! one quick call to Dina would have replenished your needed supplies!
I also LOVE grilling steaks or fish down at the pool deck, and then having dinner with other guests there......everyone always has great stories to share about new discoveries, wonderful restaurants....
Which reminds me that.I'm way overdue on my plans to add a brochure inside the condo, listing and describing all 21. !! restaurants within a 30 minute drive from the condo! Admittedly, there are fewer offerings than in urban areas, but: a 30 minute drive north to Volcano offers 13 choices; a 15 minute drive south to Naalehu, another 4 options, and another 15 minute drive around South Point to Ocean View, another 4......and this list doesn't include the treats always available at the Farmers Markets in each of these towns on Saturday, and in Naalehu, also on Wednesday morning!
Jan, I hope you'll consider a return visit someday soon......you are such a gracious guest, and we would love to welcome you back, any time!
Thanks again for taking time from your busy life back in "the real world" to write such a wonderful, thoughtful review. We are very grateful.

Always with aloha,
Barb & Dina & Turtle Hut Ohana
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
Fairbanks AK
5

Alaska guests

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
A spacious one bedroom that appears to be recently remodeled. We loved our 3 week stay and were sad to leave. It was a perfect vacation. The beautiful grounds, the fun golf course and the quiet setting made for a fantastic stay. We are already talking about returning next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
5

Exceeded Already High Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I chose Turtle Hut II based on it's high ratings and close proximity to the beach and the rental lived up to and exceeded all expectations I had. The owner sent a detailed email before my arrival with instructions how to reach the property and tips for things to bring and do on my trip. When I arrived at the property there was a handwritten note welcoming me as well.

This rental was designed for the ultimate guest experience. It's located in a quiet condo community and despite it's quaint size, has plenty of room for many guests. The property sports a queen bed, a pull out couch, and a high quality queen size air mattress to easily sleep up to 6 adults.
The owner also provides any amenity a guest would need in order to best enjoy their stay. Beach towels, a cooler, and snorkel gear were all easily available for the short walk down to the black sand beach.
Finally, the black sand beach was AMAZING!! I didn't have high hopes of encountering turtles on the beach but there were a pod of seven green sea turtles snoozing on the sand as well as two individual stragglers hanging out further down the sand. It was a very unique experience and fun to see.
I honestly can't think of a single thing I disliked about the property. This place took a lot of stress out of my trip and I would totally stay again for my next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
4

Nice place to stay.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The condo is really well equipped and comfortable. The basket chairs are a very nice touch. Unfortunately, we were unable to enjoy the deck very much because of direct sun in the morning. It is a terrific location for the Volcano National Park and Green Sand Beach.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251908vbi
(808) 936-9615 (Hawaii, USA)
Naalehu Ka'u District
Roberts Creek, B.C.
4

Turtle Hut a cozy home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed in Barb's split-level townhouse condo for five nights and very much enjoyed our visit. The unit is cozy, clean and filled with tasteful artwork featuring turtles and geckos. And you can't beat the price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1