Brooklyn townhome rental - Our street
Our street
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Brooklyn Townhome Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 2 living rooms, sleeps 8

Charming duplex apartment with patio in landmark brownstone on quiet tree lined street. Secluded retreat where you will find peace and quiet after adventuring in the city, yet a short subway ride to Soho, Times Square theater district, Greenwich Village, and Wall Street area. Within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants from ethnic to elegant, farmers market, boutiques, bookstores, library, grocery stores and breathtaking views of Manhattan, Statue of Liberty, and Brooklyn Bridge. Family neighborhood with access to playgrounds. Beautiful new Pier 6 Brooklyn Bridge Park has just opened down the street, directly on the waterfront, featuring water play, sand, grassy slopes and climbing. Nearby are Brooklyn Academy of Music featuring theater, dance, cinema, Brooklyn Art Museum, Botanic Garden, and Prospect Park with its beautiful walks, delightful zoo, carousel, and winter ice skating.

Check in/out: Check out is 10 a.m. Check in is 3 p.m. Luggage may be left or deposited outside these hours. We are flexible if conditions allow.

owner occupied: The apartment is the lower duplex, 2 floors, in a townhouse. I live in the upper duplex.

More Details
Hide Details

We have lived here since Larry was in Brooklyn Law School. We raised our family here, and our grandchildren attend the same schools as our children. Kathy taught at Packer Collegiate Institute just up the street.

Kathleen Goldhirsch purchased this townhome in 1970

In the 70s we were part of a a contingent of young people who loved old houses, the beautiful neighborhood, and who set about refurbishing these houses by hand.

This is a peaceful, tree lined neighborhood where you'll see lots of children and dogs. It's very family oriented. There are all sorts of interesting shops, from supermarkets to ethnic and elegant. A plethora of restaurants. The waterfront with the most spectacular views of Manhattan imaginable.

18 Reviews of Property 251702 in Brooklyn, New York

Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
average rating of 4.611111 based on 18 reviews
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
5

Wonderful week in NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family converged at this charming Brooklyn home for a college graduation. On the weekend we filled every bed and all said they slept comfortably. The neighborhood is gorgeous, quiet, and safe. There was a delightful street fair held on Saturday. During our stay we walked the Brooklyn bridge, visited the Brooklyn museum and botanic garden, went to a flea market in Fort Greene, attended a Yankees game, walked the Highline, bicycled in Central park, and heard live music in Greenwich Village. We had a fantastic family dinner at Chez Moi on Atlantic Avenue, then danced to a DJ across the street at a bar called the Last Exit. It was a great experience for our family. Thank you Kathleen and Lawrence!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
4

Family Group left Happy

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
I arranged for this rental for a large family group. The owner was very accommodating with meeting me to give us the keys for the next day. She provided lots of local information to my family about the historic building and the locale. The rental exceeded my expectations.

With two elderly parents, it worked well to have them use the garden entrance with only a few steps. They stayed primarily in the bottom floor because of a steep staircase to the second floor. But that worked out fine, as the kitchen, bathroom and master were in the lower area. Having an outdoor area was an added bonus as the weather was good for several days.

It was close to public transit and my family loved the weekend street market nearby. There was a laundry, cafe and bodega within 1/2 block. Many restaurants were accessible within two blocks.

I would recommend this unit but keep in mind that it does have one bathroom. We may actually try to rent it again next time we need to be in the city.
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
2

Very Dirty

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I agree with previous reviewers who said the owners are very easy to work with. It was located on a quiet street and very close to everything. It is a very large apartment, however, the second bedroom is wall to wall with two single beds. There is no room to even put a suitcase on the floor.
But my major complaint was how filthy the entire place was. We had to go buy cleaning products to clean the chairs before we could sit in them and to clean the bathroom. Except for the sheets and the towels being clean, every other surface was REALLY dirty.
Owner's Response: We were dismayed and shocked to read this review. As our other sixteen reviews attest, we take meticulous care of our property and are quickly responsive to our guests if any problems should arise. If we had been made aware of any discomfort experienced by the guest we would have addressed the situation immediately. As far as we were aware, our property had received the same high standard of maintenance as it always does.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
SC
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a charming apartment! Incredibly clean, beautifully kept. The location is fabulous, in safe Cobble Hill neighborhood, very quiet and peaceful. Kathy and Larry were very quick at communicating and flexible with our arrival/departure times. Furnishings are a little sparse but quite comfortable, every basic need is taken care of. We only used the bed in the main bedroom, it was very comfortable with soft high-quality linens. We appreciated the ample extra blankets and the thick fluffy towels. We were too busy to use the courtyard dining area, but it looked like a lovely place to relax. We'll definitely be back on our next NYC trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
4

Location, location, location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Easy access to coffee shop and subway and very lovely safe location.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
5

Perfect place to stay when visiting NY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We, e.g. four people, really enjoined the stay in this apartment. You have two bedroom and two living rooms, so lots of space. Ad to this kitchen with a patio and you have the perfect place for a vacation in NY. The neighborhood is really nice and quit with good restaurants, bars and shops.
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
Italy
4

italian family

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
very charming house, well equipped and quite spacious and suitable for a family like ours (two kids of 5 and 8), the neighborhood is safe and nice, I'd reccomend the house for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
5

10 day Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was my first time using home away vacation, so I was a little worried. My contact with Kathleen was very minimal which scared me a little more. All my fears disappeared once we were welcomed by Kathleen's husband Larry upon our very late arrival. The description was very accurate except it didnt really say how big this place really is!! Being that my main profession is in the cleaning industy, I would have had it cleaned a tad bit more, but it really wasn't that big a deal for me. Kathleen was not in town but Larry went above and beyond to help us!! I would definatley recommend this place to all my friends that vacation in New York. We used the subway for transportion, which wasn't that far of a walk. The neigborhood was super safe and sooo cute. We shared the apt with another family of four which made it a total of eight people. We never felt that it was too small. We had plenty of room. We can't wait to go back and I hope this apt will be available!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
Sydney, Australia
5

Brooklyn holiday.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
A fun apartment...very helpful owners. A great situation.
JohnEJ
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251702
+1 718 852-1191
Brooklyn New York City
San Jose, CA
4

Great place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Wow - what a great place to stay while visiting New York City!

Our 3-member family stayed in this apartment for five days - the photos and description are entirely accurate. The neighborhood is very charming, plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby including a playground at the end of the block. As we didn't spend much time in our apartment, it was the ideal place for us to return home to every night after visiting museums, spending time with our NYC friends and enjoying our family walks along the Promenade.

We will definitely be renting this apartment in the future. Considering the high price of a NYC hotel, this Brooklyn Heights apartment is an excellent way to visit the city without costing you an arm and a leg. We highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1