Alpine house rental - Front porch with mountain view toward back yard
Front porch with mountain view toward back yard
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Alpine House Rental Photos and Description
House with Extensive Grounds, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sle

We were honored to learn that Lyle Lovett had been a guest at Casa Vida this fall and had written three songs during his stay. He expressed his thanks in the guest book entry shown in the pictures below. A magnifying glass may be helpful : ) You will be inspired, too, by your stay at Casa Vida ('Life House'), whose name signifies it's contribution to the lives of our guests. We hope that your visit to Casa Vida will also be a treasured experience, to be shared with friends and family and repeated as often as possible.Casa Vida offers the comforts of home, while immersing our guests in the natural and historical perspectives of the Big Bend region. The house itself, a renovated adobe featured in Alpine's historic home tour, is fully furnished and decorated with authentic pieces native to the rugged, yet refined confluence of Mexican, Texan, and Western cultures that makes the legendary Big Bend Country unique in so many ways.Information below details the myriad amenities of Casa Vida.

Two separate and private living areas, joined by access to the remarkable and fully supplied kitchen, offer ideal accommodations for two couples or a couple and an additional family unit. Bring the friends or grandparents and stay in complete comfort and harmony!

The spacious grounds of Casa Vida offer privacy and ambiance that enhance enjoyment of the views of surrounding mountains and superb Alpine climate at 4500 feet elevation. Abundant sensory delights are guaranteed. Little known fact: Alpine's average high temperature for July and August is 89 degrees and its average night-time temperature for the same months is 65 degrees! (heaters and blankets provided year-round!)

Our guests at Casa Vida face an ongoing dilemma: whether to relax at the seductively peaceful and therapeutic house and grounds, experience the surrounding historic district with its distinctive architecture, shops, art galleries, restaurants, and entertainment (you've got to check out Big Bend's only honky tonk, Railroad Blues!)-all in walking distance, or set out on an easy day trip to explore the natural and cultural wonders that lie to the north, south, east, and west.

A quick look at a map and internet info will show you that Alpine is the best home-base from which to see the majestic and multi-faceted Big Bend Country. Let us share Casa Vida-a home that will become a part of your life!

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 251634 in Alpine, Texas

Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
5

I am calling it "home" and I have only been here two weeks!

I am calling it "home" and I have only been here two weeks!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I rented Casa Vida for the month of April and am already planning next year's trip back to this charming place that keeps on giving me the most cherished memories. I hope to come back for a two-month stay next time! I have fallen in love with Alpine, its people, and all the magical events that keep opening my eyes to life. I have discovered a wonderful yoga studio around the corner (Big Bend Yoga) and an awesome organic health food store a mile or so away. The restaurant experiences have been amazing also.....especially The Holland Hotel courtyard on Thursday evenings when Rick is singing there. This trip to the Big Bend area, I decided to stay low-key and participate in what is happening in the local area.....so far, it has not let me down. I highly recommend Casa Vida....Connie has been very helpful when I needed something and the home is quite comfy and inviting. I migrate from the patio at the back of the house with the wonderful, most beautiful cactus garden ever, to the front porch to watch the sunset and the timed-lights around the porch that come on when it gets dark. It is sweet! A peaceful place to retreat to!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
Clare, Michigan My husband is the Mayor of our little city.
5

We LOVE Casa Vida!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
As an escape from the cold and snow of Michigan, my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa Vida for the entire month of February. We found it to be the perfect house in the perfect town. We wanted to find a town where we would feel safe and a home that offered sidewalks outside the front door as we are avid walkers. The fact that Alpine is centrally located in Big Bend Country and that Casa Vida is an exceptional home was a much-appreciated bonus!
There are so many details about the home that I love.....the southwestern decor, the library of materials about the area, the privacy of the lovely yard and patio, the well-stocked kitchen, the cleanliness, and the ideal location....to name a few. Seriously, there aren't superlatives enough to describe the time we spent at Casa Vida.
Additionally, Connie was very accomodating and easy to work with. She checked in via email on occasion during the month to see how we were doing. If you are looking for the best place to stay in Alpine, Casa Vida is it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
Austin, TX
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a 4 night vacation at West Texas, and very much enjoyed our stay at Casa Vida. The location was good; central and easy to find. The house had plenty of space to relax both indoors and outdoors. The patio was great for chilling with a glass of wine as well as enjoying breakfast outdoors, and watching hummingbirds feed on flowers. The interior of the house was decorated nicely, and the yard had interesting landscaping to make it enjoyable to hang out. The bed was super comfortable to sleep on. We cooked several meals in the kitchen, which was equipped well. The owner was very responsive and helpful, very good communication regarding the reservation and any questions we had. After we returned home, they contacted us that they had found eyeglasses from the house, before we even realized we had left something behind. They returned them to us fast and packed safely. We are very impressed both with the vacation house and the owner's high attention to detail in any aspect of service. Highly recommend staying at Casa Vida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
Baytown, TX
5

Peace at last!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was my fourth trip out to Big Bend and while I had driven through Alpine, I had never stayed and got to really see this gem of a town. At night there was live music on the main drag, during the day there were cute shops and restaurants to explore.....but I must say that the night I sat at the public park in the middle of the memorial rose garden which is next to a beautiful Catholic church was just amazing. The sun was setting when we arrived and there was a funeral letting out at the church. As the sun disappeared behind the mountains the roses let off the most beautiful perfume. I just sat there looking down over this small college town thinking how beautiful and eclectic it is.

Casa Vida is a charming house. You can see how the owners have put much thought into restoring it. I love the layout, the courtyards, the porch....even the Christmas lights. Houses have a feel about them and this one radiates peace and tranquility.

Practically speaking, the beds were very comfortable. There is a soaker tub in one bathroom and the most beautiful tiled shower in the other. The sunrise stained glass window in the master bedroom is wonderful to wake up to.

Loved it there. I will go again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had an amazing time in this perfect Alpine home. It had everything we needed and was such a comfortable home to come back to after being at the Cowboy Poet Gathering all day. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
Rockport, Texas
5

West Texas Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I stayed at Casa Vida in April of 2012 and really enjoyed our stay there. The West Texas/Mexican style of the adobe home was so charming with its Talavera decor. We have stayed in bed and breakfasts all over the country and found this one to be exceptional with so many amenities, such as three tv's, Bose radios, Western CD's, and magazines and books about the area. It is a picturesque setting with climbing roses blooming in the yard and a patio for sitting outside.The house was very clean and well maintained, and even had a washer and dryer for longer stays.

We enjoyed having breakfast at the bakery/coffee shop on the main street and really enjoyed dinner on two evenings at the Reata Restaurant. The Reata has great West Texas decor and really good food as well. When we are in Alpine we always walk in the park which has good birding. The museum at Sull Ross University is excellent with information on the history of the area, in particular the many petroglyphs found in the Big Bend area. We would also recommend going to a "Star Party" at the McDonald Observatory which we did a couple of years ago, and the birding nearby at the Indian Lodge State Park is excellent.

This was our 13th trip to West Texas in the past 12 years so you can tell that we really enjoy it there, and we plan on another stay at Casa Vida. We would definitey recommend Casa Vida to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
5

First Time in Big Bend Area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We loved it... My husband and I, our son and his fiance' were visiting the Big Bend area for the very first time. Casa Vida was so welcoming after several days of traveling in the area. We loved the patio- even though it SNOWED! The house was conveniently located for all of our trips to the museum, observatory, and other surrounding attractions. There was plenty of room for everyone to stretch out and wind down after a long day. The kitchen was great and had everything we needed. We hope to come back in the spring and will stay here if available. I also got an awesome massage at the Purple Cactus.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
5

Much needed vacation...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a beautiful place. The kids really wanted to see the Horny Toads but it was a bit too chilly for them. Your place was so accommodating. I love that the master bedroom was way on the other side of the house..great privacy.. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. What a fantastic adventure...We'll stay again...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
Euless, Tx
5

Vacationer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed for 4 nights. The property was great! We enjoyed every minute of it. The photo's on line depict the property well. We froze our butts off with the water coolers running!! We visited Big Bend, Marfa, Fort Davis & Mcdonald observatory. If you get a chance, take a jeep tour at the Sproul Ranch. It is well worth the time. We look forward to staying again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Vida - Lyle Lovett Wrote 3 Songs Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251634
+1 512 413-3901
Alpine Big Bend
Euless, Texas
5

Best Bird Watching!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I knew staying here would be special for us as it is centrally located to all of the activities in the Big Bend area. BUT what I didn't expect was the bird watching that would get me out of bed every morning, camera in hand. The peach tree in the backyard exposed us to more birds than I have ever seen in one spot. We saw Orioles, painted buntings, hummingbirds and more. My bird book and camera got a good workout. Very relaxing location, made out trip even more worthwhile!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3