Palm Springs house rental - The pool deck at sunrise
The pool deck at sunrise
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Large Living room plus den room, sleeps 6

Great, spacious late mid century home.

Owned by the author of many books, including 'modern retro', 'living modern', living retro', 'sarasota modern' and 'highrise living'.

Built in 1979 it has the elements of the earlier homes yet, the modernity of a later one.

The landscape is mature, with large swimming and reflecting pools. There are over 20 tall rustling palms.

The interior is an eclectic mix of all mid century.

Found from various sources, auction, thrift stores, estate and garage sales, everything in the house is there because we love it!

We have a well stocked dvd library, outdoor speakers for the cd sound system.

The hottub is located just off the deck that leads from the master bedroom.

Besides the main swimming pool there is a small shallow pool with water features.

Wireless broadband services the entire house.

There is a large very clean 2 car garage for parking also available.

I am the author of many books on mid century design and architecture, titles including modern retro, Sarasota modern, living modern and living retro. I also own and run design store/gallery in London that specializes in Mid century Modern furniture and design. I own homes in Florida, Palm Springs , London and Essex

Andrew Weaving purchased this house in 2007

While researching for my last book 'living retro' I spent a lot time in Palm Springs and really liked it. Son as soon as I could I tried to find a house to buy. Owning 1950s homes in Florida I didn't really want an Alexander, so was lucky to find this house built in the 70s, but still with great architectural features and bones.

37 Reviews of Property 251551 in Palm Springs, California

Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
average rating of 4.7297297 based on 37 reviews
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Home is a gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Andrew's home is a gem. It is beautiful and functional, light and airy, modern and comfortable, well situated and appointed, really almost too good to be true. It is situated in a lovely part of Palm Springs near the tiny airport, an easy 10 minute drive to Downtown, and 15 to Trader Joe's. It is a place in which one is able to relax, gather inspiration and appreciate the beauty of the desert landscape. We barbecued almost every night and enjoyed many hours in the pool, floating on our backs under the swaying palm trees where we tried to spot the occasional airplane soaring right above our noses, a lovely experience in and of itself. Best of all is Andrew's fantastic collection of unique mid century pieces generously laid out throughout the home giving the home a true Palm Springs appeal. To boot, Andrew is a very attentive and gracious host. We have booked many apartment rentals all over the world and have yet to experience such professionalism. We will surely be back and highly recommend this lovely vacation home without reservations.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for this wonderful review.
We do our very best to ensure that are guests have everything they need and to try to lead them in the right direction when they are looking for things to do in Palm Springs.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Cheltenham, UK
5

Palm Springs House - Brilliant family house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Second year have been to the house, its just gets better! helped by the very warm weather in April, had great three days at the house after hectic week in New York. Great place to visit Josh Nat Park, Tramway, Indian Canyons and just sitting by the pool. The house is decoarated to a very high standard and the support re meeting and cleaning is brilliant, we will return. It feels like our little retreat that we do not want to share with anybody else!!! its a must
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great to have had you as guests again, and that you feel
'it gets better'.
We are very proud of our house and especially the care we get from our house manager and his team, to make your stay as pleasurable as it can be.
We look forward to your return!!!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Phoenix, AZ
5

Fantastic Honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Went to Palm Springs to get married and honeymoon. The house could not be better, beautiful Mid Century furniture. Total equipped for anything you need in the kitchen. Very Private and secluded back yard with fantastic hot tub and pool. I cannot say enough the entire experience was wonderful. Thanks Andrew and Rick.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Best Weekend Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Three friends and I wanted a quick easy get away from LA - a weekend of pool and BBQ was what we were after and this more than delivered! The photos really don't do the property justice, it's just amazing, indoors and out! It's also really well equipped (corn on the cob holders & lilo's for the pool!!) which just added to the ease of the break!

The booking process was also made so simple and easy by Andrew which is something we had found to be an issue with so many other properties.

Overall a great weekend in a really stunning location. Cannot recommend enough - we are already planning the next trip!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Indiana
5

Palm Springs - Spring Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house and yard was perfect for our family Spring Break getaway! Everything was great. We did have an issue with the refridgerator during our stay, but we notified the property manager and he was out to take care of it within hours.

We loved the back yard and spent most of our time enjoying the pool, hot tub and grill. I don't think that we ate any meals inside the house during our stay.

Andrew has provided a lot of information and brochures about things to do near by and provided detailed maps of Palm Springs itself. These came in very handy. Was also a nice touch that the house keys had a discount card for the local grocery store!

Definitely recommend this house to anyone planning a trip to Palm Springs!!
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
4

Oregon couple warming up

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Great trip. Backyard is amazing with pool, pond and spa. Probably a dozen mature palm trees with citrus youngsters. Inside in keeping with architectural style, bright and open. Well equipped kitchen, 2 eating areas as well as outside. All was clean. Manager was easily reached by phone. Being able to use the garage was a bonus. Our pooch loved it. A solid "good deal".
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Portland
5

Wonderful home in Palm Springs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We rented this home for nine nights in Feb. We are a family of four with 3.5 year old twin boys. I can't say enough great things about this home. I absolutely love that from all but one room you see the pool area and lovely grounds. The home is well maintained, light and bright. The vaulted ceiling and expansive windows make this home feel much larger than it really is. The furniture is comfortable and inviting. You can't beat the location of this home, it's in a very quiet neighborhood and a short walk or drive to everything you could ever need or want. The pictures on the site don't do the home justice so I invite you to explore it for yourself, it won't disappoint. We'll be back next year and plan to rent this home, again. Fabulous!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Atlanta
4

Christmas In Palm Springs

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The house is even more lovely and comfortable than it looks on the website. We particularly enjoyed waking up to the light streaming in the windows into the living and dining rooms. We had a delightful Christmas Eve dinner at the Lavender Bistro in Old La Quinta. The home is very near two grocery stores and the Aspen Bakery. We liked being able to park our rental car in the enclosed garage with door opener. The neighborhood is very quiet and is a good place to walk. The neighbors working in their yards were very friendly.
Owner's Response: This gives potential guests more of an idea of the house, its location and whats around.
Thanks very much.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Oregon
3

Enjoyed our stay, for the most part

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We enjoyed our stay at this home, for the most part. Our flight was delayed and our arrival shifted from afternoon to evening so we were given the key code and agreed to let ourselves in without a walkthrough with the local contact. It would've been nice to find some lights on, inside or out, but the shades were drawn and the house was pitch black. Not the most gracious welcome as we had to orient ourselves in the dark! The backyard pool area was the redeeming feature of the home, as we found the inside to be a little rough around the edges. The home appears to be rented frequently which seems to have taken its toll in some places, most notably the kitchen - it could've used a good scrubbing, the garbage can was broken, and the dishes and silverware were dirty, probably from the broken dishwasher. We did have a few minor issues - pool feature timer didn't work, dishwasher was broken - but did not request that they be resolved immediately, so we can't say for certain the local contact was unresponsive. Overall, it was just not as nice as we were expecting.
Owner's Response: I have been in correspondence with the guests who have left this review and understand that they did not want to be disturbed during their stay. The review was sent in 2 months after their stay at the house!
All problems have been dealt with and a new dishwasher installed.
Its important that if there are any problems, that our house manager is immediately informed so he can rectify as soon as possible.
Things can stop working while guests are in residence and it helps us a great deal if we know this immediately.
I assure you that our guests are the main priority and we do our utmost best to make their stay at the house a comfortable and very enjoyable one!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
San Diego
5

Palm Springs vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved it! The backyard and pool were wonderful and very private. The furnishings were fabulous and comfortable. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1