Lubec house rental - View from the top deck, looking Johnson Bay, Canada in the distance.
View from the top deck, looking Johnson Bay, Canada in the distance.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Lubec House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, sleeps 8 2 futons in 3rd floor

Breathtaking, clifftop ocean front new home, with 3 outdoor decks, perched 60 feet above and looking out over Johnson Bay with 25 mile views towards New Brunswick, Canada. Enjoy the seclusion and quiet of your own peninsula with 3 way ocean views. A private stairway leads to gravel beach where you can witness the ebb and flow of the wondrous 20 plus foot tides ( highest in the U.S.) as you explore the shoreline and discover the hidden beaches tucked away against the granite and evergreen trees of the shoreline. Collect sea glass and shells, catch a sighting of a harbor seal, and watch sea gulls and bald eagles glide above the 250 meter wide deep water channel that separates you from bird sanctuary Roger's Island. This is a perfect retreat for writers, photographers,artists, musicians,( there is a Baldwin piano in the living room with a water view) ,families and anyone who seeks the privacy ,peace, and seclusion in a very pristine and beautiful setting.

Whale watching, hiking along spectacular ocean and forest trails in both U.S. and Canadian state and provincial parks and preserves , beachcombing, fishing, clamming, bicycling, kayaking, sailing,restaurants and pubs with evening entertainment, stargazing,SummerKeys adult music camp and concerts,lighthouse tours in Campobello Island, Canada and Quoddy Head State Park, Lubec, Maine, gift shopping and art galleries.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 251337 in Lubec, Maine

Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
Cleveland Hts OH
5

Perfect Maine Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My husband and I recently returned from spending a week with four of our friends at Birch Point Cottage. This was perfect--exactly what we had hoped for when we thought of going to Maine. Andy was a great help. He and Lynn obviously love their Maine home--it feels like a home, not a typical rental. The cottage is cozy and comfortable and the decks are spacious and have great views,. I loved going down to the beach at all times--we were fascinated by the difference between the high and low tides. My husband and I love to hike, and again Andy was so helpful by marking some of his favorite trails and their descriptions. We loved the trails on Campobello as well as going to the lighthouse there--quite a trek, but well worth it--there were whales swimming right beneath us!. We toured the Roosevelt cottage and grounds, and all of the beaches there. We also loved the East Quoddy Light house and trails there. Reversing Falls is fascinating--make sure to go about an hour before the tides change for the full effect. Have a drink a Annabelle's--the eastern most tavern in the US and talk with the friendly residents. And then, again, thanks to
Andy, we went every day to Bayside Chocolates--great homemade chocolates--but, even better, Gene is a lobster fisherman, and we bought fresh lobster and cooked it at the cottage in the great kitchen--what a treat. We ate in every night because it was such a pleasant place to enjoy with our frinends.
It was hard to decide whether to go exploring in the area or stay at the cottage and relax. Sitting on the upper deck, two Bald Eages flew right over head. After that, we saw them fly to their nest on the island in front of us every night.
Thanks again Andy and Lynn--we couldn't have asked for anything better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great vacation

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We just want to thank you again for having the best house in Lubec. We had a wonderful week and your house was a wonderful place to come back to after a day of hiking and biking.

We spent most of our time along the bold coast doing hikes at: Hamilton Cove, Boot cove, Bog cove & Great Wass Island. We biked the sunrise trial from Machias to E. Machias. Great views of the Machias river….the path is a little tough with the larger rocks used to fill in the path … but we still got in 14 miles.

The weather was typical Maine weather…foggy or rainy on the morning … sunny on the afternoon. It all just adds to the charm of the place.

We had no issues at the house and hope there were no issues after we left. We are already planning for next year … maybe two weeks ?!?!?
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lubec vacation

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It was all we could have ask for-- the great view, comfortable beds and conveniences. We did not want for anything. We voted your home the best view we have had in the 10 years of coming to Maine. It is definitely a special location.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

A beautiful and peaceful retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We just returned home from this wonderful cottage. Our time spent here was nothing less than fabulous! We knew it would be wonderful, but it was so much better than the pictures can show. There were 4 adults and two children in our party - the cottage was cozy enough for us all to spend time together, but still had places that we could go get some time to ourselves. The kitchen was stocked with everything our family of cooks needed (though i would recommend bringing a chef's knife- the ones in the cottage were seriously dull). The views from the three decks were extraordinary - the upstairs deck being perfect for gazing at the star filled night sky. The owners have also done a great job of providing more than enough pamphlets, maps and brochures of the area, along with many books about the history of the area. We did some serious hiking, followed by some serious eating...:) We loved the view and the food at Cohills..and the hard pear cidar wasn't bad either. Monica's Chocolate is a must stop - her passion for her craft shines through in her personality and her most delicious chocolates...we were in there quite often (do yourself a favor and try the hot chocolate)! Bold Coast Smokehouse was excellent...bring the ribs home to grill - YUM! Whale watching out of Eastport was wonderful, as was the trail at West Quoddy Light. The best part though was just relaxing at the house, hanging on the deck with our coffee, playing board games, going down to our beach, napping with windows open so the wonderful breeze could come in, playing the piano...just unplugging and slowing down for a while. A most needed and appreciated week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our home and the area. We did replace the knives and thanks for the information. We're very happy that you also played the piano and were able to relax . That's the whole idea behind the house! Andy Rajeckas
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Our Vacation

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful week at your house - we could not have asked for better weather. Your house was a perfect "home" for us for the week. We loved the view from the upstairs deck and using the telescope and binoculars to spot the bald eagle over on the island and to identify all the various places along the bay. Our daughters loved sleeping upstairs on the futon and enjoyed playing with the games and puzzles in the evenings. It was so peaceful and beautiful there - we miss it already! We did a lot of hiking and your Cobscook Trails guide was well appreciated by us. We signed the guestbook and listed our favorite places and memories. Your home was very comfortable.

We can see why you have a second home in Lubec. We fell in love with the area and could not believe how uncrowded it was - often we were the only car in the parking lot for a hiking trail and would come upon rocky beaches that we had all to ourselves. We will definitely be back to the area and I will be sure to check if your home is available to rent. Thank you for renting your home to us. We all agreed it was one of our best vacations ever.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the peace and quiet of Birch Point home. We arrived in misty rain and fog and left in rain and fog, in between every day was beautiful around 68 -70. I think mostly sunny with a breeze. We saw a bald eagle on deck. We also enjoyed Campobello, drove the carriage roads, went to Liberty Point, which is spectacular, we had never been there before. We had wonderful meals, great beachcoming.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
Bushkill Pa
5

The Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I spent a week at this amazing Maine rental home once in June 2008 and again in June 2010 and hoping again in June of 2011!! This was my first truly relaxing vacation. When you wake up its amazing to sit on the deck and just read a good book while listening to nature at its finest. You then can go kayaking, hiking one the many trails, or fishing at the many lakes in the area. When in town you can talk to the locals and buy lobster caught that day, so it’s as fresh as you will ever get it. We took a sea salt making tour and got to taste many flavors of sea salt, which was really awesome, then hit up the local art gallery for items made in Maine (such local pride) while in town you can enjoy some cocktails at Annabelle’s the most Eastern Pub in the US. and then head home to cook up your lobster and enjoy the views of the water while drinking a glass of wine or blueberry beer. You don’t need to spend a lot of money while you are hear because most activities are free the most you will spend will be going whale watching or Puffin watching only area on the east coast you will a real Puffin. I cannot put into words how wonderful my stay was and the owner are nothing short of amazing so helpful and kind even from NJ they make sure your stay is amazing. I would never stay at another property in Maine the house is perfect.
So close your eyes and picture waking up to a quite home no city traffic the only horn you hear maybe a faint fog horn in the distance, next you enjoy a homemade breakfast with blueberry pancakes while sitting on the deck, next you walk along the shore line collecting sea glass, before heading to the West Quoddy light house and taking a nice hike along the cliffs (it’s very safe) and the bog. Have a nice picnic with your friends, children and loved ones, then enjoy a beer, wine or chocolate in town before heading home to cook up the lobster, corn, and clams on the grill all while looking over the water. Once you finish dinner head to the third floor and sit on the smaller deck and watch for bald eagles, and once its dark out look at the clearest skies you've ever seen and identify the constellations. Then head off to bed, even though you feel like you have been living a dream all day.
So if you are looking for an amazing vacation look no further and at this price it’s a steal for this piece of heaven. Once again thanks you Lynn and Andy for sharing your amazing home with me and my family dogs included!!!
Shae Jones
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
New York, NY/United States
5

A place good for the soul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The house and the area are wonderful. After a week there, I was sad to go, feeling the house was now one of my homes. Everything about the home and Lubec is inviting. There are no bad places to go. Everywhere is scenic, and there are many places that are breathtaking. We saw a bald eagle from the porch of the house and whales breaching in the bay. We had lobster dinners from fresh off the boat, chocolates from Monica, and salmon spread from the Smokehouse.
We left feeling so thankful for the experience. It's reassuring to the soul to know that places like Lubec exist. Our dog, Charlie, agrees.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Birch Point / Stunning Clifftop Oceanfront View in Lubec
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251337
+1 201 2018745439
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
Stamford CT
5

A Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
You like quiet? Its here. You like a night sky filled with stars? Its here. You want a stay in a place where sitting on the deck is something you look forward to at twilight? You will find that here. Actually, the simple things in life come into focus in this home away from home in Lubec. It is remarkably peaceful here. My wife and I (and two dogs) filled our days with kayaking, hiking, exploring neighboring fishing villages, attending local concerts, befriending the locals ( easy to do ), surfing the free internet at the library, visiting local artists' workshops and galleries. When all the hustle and bustle was done we finished the day sitting on the third floor deck, taking in the incredible vista and, once the sun set, watched the stars come out.
Andy and Lynni - you wanna sell????

Paul and Julianne
Stamford CT
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7