Viroqua farmhouse rental - Front Of House
Front Of House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Viroqua Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 1 loft, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Modern country farm house nestled in a beautiful quiet valley on the Bad Axe River. Property includes 84 acres, Bad Axe River runs length of property. Our small flock of sheep pasture on the land as well as our guardian llama, miniature donkeys & horse. The property is isolated, yet easily accessible by road. House is surrounded by picturesque views of the Purdy Valley. Enjoy walks down quiet country roads, walk in the pastures and surrounding hills on property, trout fish in the Bad Axe River, tire swing, swing set and fort with slide for kids as well as sandbox and teeter totter. Winter guests may enjoy XC skiing, snowshoeing or sledding on the property. Bikes and fishing poles are available for guests to use. Sit on the front porch swing or rockers and relax while watching the sheep graze. Enjoy watching the stars at night while sitting in front of the fire pit. Relax in the hot tub after a fun day of fishing, hiking or sightseeing.

Wonderful & Relaxing Vacation: Our vacation home is a renovated farmhouse. Enjoy the quiet country life as you relax in this beautiful country location. Relax in the hot tub while enjoying the view of the surrounding hills and fields. Swing on the front porch swing and watch the birds soar in the air or the sheep contentedly graze in the pasture. Walk down to the river and fly fish or wade, splash or swim in the water or just enjoy watching the water make it's way towards the Mississippi river downstream. Walk on the quiet country roads and enjoy the scenic views, cows grazing, wild flowers in bloom, deer, eagles and hawks soaring, farm fields and the wooded hillsides.

A fresh batch of homemade cookies await your arrival as well as a dozen farm fresh eggs from our farm. Our family lives a mile away, so you are the only people on this property.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family of 6 owns & operates the vacation rental. We live 1 mile down the road. We met while serving in the US Navy and moved to Viroqua because of a business opportunity as well as the beauty of the area and it was within a 1 day drive to both sets of our parents.

Nancy Henckel purchased this farmhouse in 2009

We purchased the property so that we would have more pastureland for our flock of sheep and the house and location seemed ideal for a vacation home rental. Nancy grew up on a family owned & operated resort in NE WI and this is a return to her roots.

It is set in a beautiful peaceful valley. Relax on the porch and watch the sheep graze in the pasture. Tour the area and discover the beautiful coulee region

29 Reviews of Property 251305 in Viroqua, Wisconsin

Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Saint Paul, MN
5

Another Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is the second time we've stayed at the property and we already have our next visit planned. The house is great, the setting in lovely and the peaceful time away is priceless. The kitchen is well set up with everything that you could need to prepare homemade meals. Sitting in the hot tub at night under the wealth of stars is incredibly relaxing. You can do alot (biking, hiking, etc.) or you can just spend time together watching movies (there is a RedBox in Viroqua) or bird watching on the front porch. Thanks Nancy for making it so easy to relax and get away to the valley.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Minnesota
5

3 Happy Couples, 1 Happy Dog

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a GREAT time at the farm house we rented in Viraqua! We walked the trails, fed the sheep and llama, grilled and hung out in the hot tub! It was very relaxing! My dog even had a good time being a farm dog for a few days! We looked into scheduling a week this summer, but it was booked until the end of October. We would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Waconia MN
5

Couples weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We could not have asked for a better place to stay for our couples weekend, the place was super clean, had everything you needed. The hot tub was wonderful, sitting in it Friday night as the snow was falling was just beautiful, and very peaceful. The cookies, jelly and fresh eggs were a super bonus, very very good! I would highly recommend!

Thank you.
Jean
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Onalaska
5

mothers, daughers, sisters, cousins weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We absolutely loved the farmhouse. It was immaculately clean. The homemade cookies were delicious. We especially enjoyed meeting the Suede the llama. On Saturday we went to the Old Fashioned Christmas at Norskedahlen. All of us said we would love to stay at the farmhouse again. Nancy even let us order farm fresh eggs to take home. Of all the girls weekends we have had together, this was our favorite home. I wish we had snow because I would have liked to try the snow shoes. Thank you Nancy for allowing us this wonderful memory.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
5

John and Peg

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a great time at your lovely farmhouse. Our three adult children and extended families met us for the weekend. It rained 2 of the 3 days but we still had a great time playing games and between rain showers, went for a beautiful fall walk on the long trail. The suspension bridge over the creek was fun! The farmhouse was spotless,well equipped, and lacked for nothing. We had the picture for our family Christmas card taken on your front porch. Have already recommended your place to many others.
Thank you for a wonderful place to create family memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
5

Amazing Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I were planning a trip to Viroqua for fly fishing for weeks but failed to get our accommodations sorted out until a few days before our trip. We decided to look into the vacation rental idea because we had another couple staying with us and a cabin or cottage seemed ideal for the space we required. We found this place by just googling vacation rentals in Virqua. And while it was not available on the last night of our stay, we booked the first 2 nights anyways. Nancy was the owner and contact and was helpful to us from the outset with the information we needed upon arrival.

On the arrival date, we actually didn't get to the house until almost 1am after the drive up from Chicago, so were not able to take in the grounds at that point. We were MORE than happy with the interior and the accommodations however. What was the icing on the proverbial cake was the homemade chocolate chip cookies and jam on the dining room table and the farm fresh eggs in the fridge. What an awesome touch! With the benefit of daylight, we were able to see all the surrounding land had to offer: the ecclectic manage of animals in the pasture out front, the resident cats (who we read in the book could be removed for those allergic or simply not into cats, but not an issue for us!), the playground for those who have kids and the Bad Axe just beyond the berm and another pasture behind the house. The house itself is just cute too which we couldn't really see when we arrived.

All in; the value for the money, the features, the amenities, the special treatment and the location, we will definitely be back - especially when traveling with others which we often do when we head up to the Driftless.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Minneontka, Minnesota
5

Unforgetable Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was our second stay at "the Farm" and the weather was awesome as was our stay.
The area is full of parks with many excellant hiking trails, some we knew about and looked for, others we just stumbled upon. We would recommend Duck Egg Lake and Jersey Valley county parks, but also the Henckel's trails in the back pasture.
Make sure you check out Westby, for the meat locker and creamery, most everything but our farm fresh egss (Thanks Nancy) come from these two places.
We enjoyed sitting in the front yard, late in the afternoon watching the animals, and the sun set, it was very relaxing.
We really enjoyed the miniature donkeys this year, especially the babies. I didn't know they could run so fast!
Nancy and her family are very friendly, outgoing people, yet they are very professional and respect your privacy.
Everything we could have wanted for our stay was supplied, and the house was immaculate on our arrival.
We ate all our meals at "home" except one, and we would recommend the Viking Inn in Viroqua.
We definitely would recommend this property to our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Plymouth, MN
5

A relaxing, beautiful place with great hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I have stayed here three years in a row and love this rental for its beauty, inside and out. The hosts work very hard to maintain and improve what already is a heavenly spot. This year they added
additional trails to the property for hiking near the trout stream.

From morning coffee on the porch gazing at the the sheep in the pasture, to incredible star gazing
from the hot tub at night, your days are as full as you want them to be!

Take your camera as there are lots of photo opportunities. The landscape, with its impressive bluffs and a bridge over the stream, are striking. Even the llama, with his flock of sheep, may smile for your lens!

This is the ultimate place to unwind!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Davenport, IA
5

What a perfectly peaceful get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our first visit here and it exceded our expectations! Living in the city with high stress jobs, this was the perfect anniversary vacation! All we wanted was peace and quiet, and that's exactly what we got! (Although definitely far from boring - lots to do!) Location can't be beat - just gorgeous! The home was beautiful, well equipped and ultra clean; the weather was even perfect! Thanks to the Henckel's, we had delicious cookies and farm fresh eggs every day. :) All of the animals were adorable, so cute and friendly. Even Suede, the alouf llama, liked me! :) Thank you, so much, Nancy and family!! We WILL be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Farm House in Scenic Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251305
+1 608 689-2975
Viroqua Southern Wisconsin
Chicago, IL
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I and our almost 2 year old daughter just spent a few days here and had an amazing time! From the moment we arrived it was non-stop fun. The house is immaculate. We never ran out of things to do and have a whole list for next time! Had a great time hiking the property, visiting the animals, and toasting marshmallows over the fire pit. My husband was so proud when he got that fire going! We will definitely be back and have already recommended it to a number of others. Thanks for a wonderful vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway