Boquete cottage rental - Welcome to your private in-town retreat - walk to cafes, restaurants, shopping
Welcome to your private in-town retreat - walk to cafes, restaurants, shopping
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Boquete Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Enjoy paradise in this darling 'casita' situated on the grounds of one of the most admired private properties in downtown Boquete.

The cozy, comfy and convenient one-room guest cottage sits behind a charming wrought iron gate overlooking a beautiful bubbling stream.

The 'casita' is stocked with mini-fridge, microwave, toaster-oven, electric kettle and coffee maker - the basics for preparing breakfast or a light meal.

Walk to language school, restaurants & cafes, shopping, golf course, eco-touring, transportation! Or just hang out in the hammock, listening to the running stream.

The setting is perfect for a romantic weekend, a week of Spanish language immersion, or a longer visit to explore all of the region.

If you are considering a move to Panama, your hosts would be happy to answer questions and give you some 'insider' tips.

If you wish, you can arrange to take a course in silk painting and polymer clay with Barbara, an artist/teacher. (rabkindesign.com) You may also wish to take one of Mort's artisan bread baking classes. (boquetebread.com)

We and Maggie, our sweet Labradoodle, look forward to welcoming you as our honored guests.

A brief listing of some local festivals and events:

November - a month of celebrations. Panamanian Independence Day Parades. Local celebrations in Boquete are colorful, fun, with parades of darling school children dressed in beautiful costumes.

December - Christmas and New Years celebrations, parades and displays

January - The International Boquete Flower and Coffee Fair. Music events at night are, regrettably, noisy throughout the entire valley - bring ear plugs! The flowers bloom all season! Generally held the third week in January.

February - World-Class Jazz & Blues on the slopes of Volcan Baru, generally the end of February. This is a great event - getting bigger and better each year.

March - Orchid Fair in Boquete - professional and amateur growers vie for gold medals. Generally held end of March, beginning of April at the Fair Grounds.

Keywords: Cottage, Casita, Riverfront, In town, artistic, bungalo, art, artisan, bread, painting, classes, coffee, mountain

More Details
Hide Details

We and Maggie, our sweet Labradoodle, look forward to welcoming you to Boquete and to our home as our honored guests.

In town, central location but secluded, gated and private.

48 Reviews of Property 250888 in Boquete, Panama

'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 48 reviews
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
5

Very cozy with pristine surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
When I returned home to the States, I went through all of the correspondences from my planning phase of our 33 days in Panama. I could not believe how generous Barbara was with details and reservations for my husband and me ,for events happening during the Jazz Festival in Boquete.Barbara and Mort are wonderful people with inspiring and creative lives. The "casita"is the perfect home in the perfect neighborhood and location in Boquete.Thank you for such a warm and beautiful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
5

Beautiful Boquete Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We spent 6 nights in this wonderful casita, so thoughtfully furnished down to every practical detail by Mort & Barbara, our hosts in Boquete. The location is ideal for exploring downtown. The casita felt like home...so comfortable while we were there. We had privacy, but we could always get good advice and recommendations from our hosts. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality, Mort & Barbara! I chose you after reading the great reviews, and I was not disappointed one little bit. It was all true and even better than imagined! If you go, be sure to try Mort's Bakery and Barbara's "happy" art! You guys make Boquete, a good place even better!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
5

Beautiful secluded little spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Barbara and Mort's little cabin deserves it's very high rating -- it's a lovely little spot with the stream rushing just outside the door. The stream and the gardens around it really make the place -- having breakfast on the little terrace outside the front door of the cabin was such a relaxing way to start the day. The cabin has been really, really thoughtfully equipped, with everything from saran wrap (to pack up lunch sandwiches) to cold water in the fridge to bathrobes in the dresser. Barbara and Mort were very welcoming and wonderful at giving us suggestions, even inviting us to a benefit concert when they discovered one of us was a musician. The only thing I can think of that might be a draw back from some is that the cabin is small -- there's not a lot of space around the room with the bed and the kitchenette. It was absolutely not a problem for us, but maybe if you have tons of luggage it could be? That's really the only thing I can think of, and it's a stretch! Also, Boquete is amazing, and there is tons of stuff to do. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
Yreka, California
5

A Very Comfortable Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I stayed at Cottage by the River for ten days. Barbara and Mort, the owners, did a wonderful job with the amenities. We were comfortable, usually greeted by their dog, Maggie (a cutey-pie!), and always felt like we could ask them anything if we had questions. Bed was cozy, Wi-Fi was available and cable TV was also provided. Barbara went out of her way to provide extra little goodies in the cottage to help make us feel most welcomed. It was like a second home. We also enjoyed the fact that it's quiet and, yet, right in downtown Boquete. We found ourselves using the rental car less and walking more. Thank you, Barbara and Mort, for such an great time. We will miss you and your wonderful cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
5

I want to dog nap Maggie LOL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I was so fortunate to find Cottage by the River on VRBO. The connection Barb and I had with Ohio State made it much more comfortable for me to rent from her. I'm not your usual vacationer. I sold almost everything I owned with the intention of making Boquete my permanent retirement home. Barb's sisterly advice was most helpful. I pretty much dove into the x-pate community and volunteer activities and am really beginning to feel the this is a place I'm destined to spend all of my productive retirement years. There are so many six degrees of separation linked to it. Just one hitch I want to dognap Maggie. She is without a doubt the most loveable, docile, gentle dog I've even encountered. I felt honored that she was so comfortable with me that she would have spent the night with me in the cozy casita had her mother not been calling.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
-
5

Beautiful Accommodations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Barbara, Mort, and Maggie were wonderful hosts in every way! Their casita and the surrounding landscape is so beautiful and serene! Besides always being available to help us with directions and suggestions for outings, they went out of their way to help us upon our arrival when my husband locked our key in the car on a Sunday night. Mort handed us $40 dollars to go get dinner and relax while they made phone calls to try to solve our problem. Their friend came over and spent a long time and managed to retrieve our key with a hanger. I don't know what we would have done without Barbara and Mort's help.
The casita itself was equipped with many little thoughtful extras. We loved our stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
5

Charming accommodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a very comfortable 2 week stay at "Cottage by the River" in Boquete, Our hosts were extremely hospitable offering lots of information on all the things to do etc We enjoyed our long walks around the town and country. Scenery was beautiful and very lush. ,Great choice of restaurants and woderfull coffee! The Casita was very cute and well equipped. We also enjoyed the daily visits from "Maggie" the adorable dog. Marge and Cliff from Canada.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
Helendale, CA and Erhard,MN
5

Delightful!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Casita was delightful, as were the owners, Mort and Barbara(and Maggie). Mort and Barbara have landscaped the grounds into a true paradise. We have already referred the casita to friends.Our first trip to Panama was a joy because Barbara and Mort were both so helpful with all our questions. We will be back!!
Dave and Melodee
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
St. Louis, Missouri
5

Perfect cozy casita to stay at in Boquete!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We love staying in cute little places like this instead of hotels when we travel. This was absolutely the best choice for us in Boquete! First, Mort and Barbara are so nice and welcoming. Mort gifted us some bread and Barbara gave us several recommendations for places to eat, plus a tour of their plants and grounds. Gorgeous. Next, location. We walked everywhere. All the main shops and eateries can be reached quickly by foot, plus the Tuesday morning artists/farmer's market is 5-10 minutes away and a must visit. We were close to walk to all the tour companies to meet for tours, or they picked us up with ease. Finally, the casita itself. It had EVERYTHING we needed to be comfortable. We loved sitting on the porch and listening to the rushing creek outside our window. It had a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster over, TV with cable, cell phone for us to use, flashlights, ponchos, umbrellas, toiletries, plates, glassware, flatware and more. The housekeeper even did our laundry for us (we gave her a tip as thanks). I'd absolutely recommend this casita for anyone who wants to stay in Boquete!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Cottage by the River' in Downtown Boquete
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250888vbi
513-984-4969 (Ohio, USA)
Boquete Panama
Playa Coronado, Panama
5

Enchanting abode in the heart of Boquete

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We enjoyed two lovely nights at The Cottage by the River. We were warmly welcomed by Barbara and four legged " child" Maggie, whom we quickly came to adore. After greeting us, Barbara, an accomplished artist, returned to creating a water color piece on her patio. Watching her was a delight. A short time later, Mort arrived home, extended his welcome, and presented us with a gift of his beautiful and freshly baked rye bread. Both Barbara and Mort offer classes in their personal passion of painting and baking at their home. The cottage itself is warm and charming with enough space for two people to enjoy a very comfy visit. It was immaculate, well appointed with linens, coffee, assorted teas, and a wide variety of cooking and dining utensils to use with the provided microwave, toaster oven and mini fridge. Right outside our door were beautiful gardens along the river bed, which provided both beauty, serenity and the soulful sound of softly rushing water. We spent a good deal of time on "our" patio enjoying this gift of Mother Nature. Walking to " town" is a block away, where many good restaurants, shops, banks, and grocery stores await you. There was honestly nothing we could have needed our wanted that we could not have accessed by walking, however we did have a car and took advantage of seeing many beautiful areas of Boquete. Both Barbara and Mort are ready and eager to answer any questions or offer suggestions for dining, sightseeing and travel in general. While we confess to probably missing sweet Maggie the most, ( we enjoyed both sharing treats and our bed with her ) this charming cottage is a place we look forward to returning to again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4