St Helena house rental - Charming Wine Country Cottage
Charming Wine Country Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

St Helena House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4-6.

Charming cottage in the heart of beautiful downtown St Helena. Steps from downtown restaurants, shops, movie theatre, and wineries. Enjoy all the famed Napa Valley wine country has to offer. Choose to spend the day tasting at some of the world's premier wineries or visit the shops of St. Helena, Yountville, Calistoga and Napa.

Upon returning home, relax under the majestic oak tree in the spacious and relaxing backyard while deciding whether to visit one of Napa County's many wonderful restaurants, or whether to prepare dinner at home. End the day enjoying your vineyard finds in front of the outdoor fireplace.

5% of rental proceeds are donated to Waggin' Trails Rescue Foundation a local organization that rescues dogs in danger of euthanasia.

Welcome: Welcome to our two bedroom cottage in St. Helena, the heart of the Napa Valley. Each bedroom has a queen bed and there is an additional pull out couch in the living room, which allows six persons to sleep in the cottage. There is one full bathroom, tub & shower. The property has a large back yard. We are in close proximity of world famous restaurants, including the Culinary Institute, and many wineries. It is a short walk to the town of St. Helena, with quaint little shops and a theater.

Dog Friendly: We welcome your well behaved, house trained dog. A portion of the proceeds of this rental goes to A Leg Up Rescue, an organization that rescues dogs from euthanasia.

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with the Napa Valley approximately 10 years ago, and thus purchased this beautiful cottage to enjoy throughout the year. Since we work full time, we would also like to share our home with travelers so they may also enjoy this beautiful part of the world.

It has all the charms the Napa Valley has to offer.

Although secluded from the main hustle and bustle of St. Helena, our cottage is located within a five minute walk to the town which gives us the best of both worlds.

23 Reviews of Property 250771 in St Helena, California

Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
average rating of 4.826087 based on 23 reviews
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
5

Fantastic Little Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
What a fantastic little place this is! First, the location cannot be beat, particularly if you feel like strolling around to breakfast in the cute little town of St. Helena in the morning (we tried French Blue and the Model Bakery). Then there are fantastic restaurants and even nightlife within walking distance at night. Supermarkets also abound, and even the local grocery store has an amazing selection of esoteric local wines. The appointments in the home are incredibly cute but simple and clean. We grilled and dined outside one night, which was perfect - the house has all the kitchen utensils you need. I really cannot say enough good things - I would definitely recommend and hope to stay here again in the future.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
Houston, Texas
5

Outstanding Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My two friends and I get together each year to spend a long weekend together. This year, we chose Napa Wine Country as our getaway. We all appreciate good wine and wanted the right place to visit some of the many vinyards in the Napa Valley. We stumbled upon this wonderful home at the VRBO website. My search was based on the reviews I read and the location of the home. We were delighted. The beds were comfortable. The house was immaculately clean. The street was quiet. We could walk to anywhere in town (St. Helena) within 5 minutes. There are many great restaurants (within walking distance). Our favorite was Tra Vigne (which we walked to). The people in town were friendly. The hot tub relaxed us before going to bed. The kitchen was stocked with the necessarily items. Everything exceeded our expectations. We've already agreed to return next year. I promise, you won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
Huntington Beach, CA
5

A Fairytale Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My hubby and I needed a break from work and had heard from friends about this "enchanting cottage"... To say we were delighted with our cottage and our stay is a total understatement!

This cottage was IMMACULATE! Everything was perfect - and was totally enchanting... Just as it was described. Who would believe that after 42 years of marriage, this little cottage could have become our honeymoon retreat?!?!?! But it did!

We so much enjoyed every moment of our stay... The bed was SO comfortable - the cottage itself was so tastefully decorated - and everything felt like home. We were reluctant to even leave it to explore the neighboring towns... Of course, we pushed ourselves out the door but once we were done exploring, we returned to this cozy retreat, relaxing in what can only be described as a spacious (and relaxing) backyard while drinking delicious wines by the outdoor fireplace. I even had the urge to cook - which, believe me - is not something I ever thought I wanted to do on vacation but we were SO relaxed that even cooking wasn't a chore.

One of the best parts - besides the absolute comfort of this incredible cottage - is that 5% of rental proceeds are donated to a non-profit dog rescue organization called Waggin' Trails Rescue Foundation that rescues dogs in danger of euthanasia. To know we helped rescue dogs, that our landlords care enough to do this on behalf of the dogs, was an added bonus.

WE WILL BE BACK! Again and again! In fact, my hubby and I both agree that when life becomes too hectic - too much to handle - THIS is the place we need to be.

THANK YOU for giving us a renewed sense of life - an incredible second honeymoon - and for caring about your renters enough to make sure that everything is perfect. We will be recommending your cottage to everyone we know!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
Irvine, California
5

Great Holiday Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife, daughter and I were lucky enough to find this charming home in St. Helena to celebrate the New Year's holiday. We stayed a week and had an absolutely wonderful time. We were able to walk to the cute little town for breakfast, and had to take our daughter to the bakery each day. The grocery store is just a block away, so we were able to get groceries and cooked our meal on several evenings. The home itself was absolutely adorable. It had everything we could possibly need or want. We also appreciated the spa at the end of the day. We will definitely return in the summer and would recommend this home to anyone wanting a comfortable, clean home while staying in the Napa Valley.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
vancouver, canada
1

Disappointed.

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Gisela,

After having stayed at your property this past November, we reread the reviews posted on the VRBO website and can see that nothing has been posted since July of 2011...perhaps you have let the cottage "go" over the past several months. We don't disagree that the location is ideal and we really liked your little neighbourhood. The issue was with the cleanliness of the place and the state of the towels, pillows, furniture, blinds etc. It's unfortunate that the cottage had not been cleaned when we arrived but mistakes happen and your cleaning lady did leave it in a clean condition when we returned from dinner on the 30th. We weren't expecting luxury accommodation but for the price we were paying per night, we didn't expect what we found either.

The windows were filthy which was too bad as the sun was shining through them every day. The carpets were stained as were the sofa and seats in the living room. The towels were incredibly worn. Your cleaning lady had thrown all the dirty towels that were left when we arrived into the washing machine and then the dryer and, when we discovered them a couple of days into the stay, we used these ones as they at least had some absorbency. There was one decent pillow and we ended up buying one for my daughter to use. The window boxes could have been welcoming but they were desperately in need of water and tending as they were full of windfall from the tree in the front yard. The back yard was in the same state. Once your handy man adjusted the cycle for the hot tub, I could sleep through the night in the back bedroom but the first couple of nights the din of the circulating pump was very annoying. You really do need to invest in new blinds for the bedrooms as the ones that you have don't cover the windows which is most uncomfortable when going to bed at night. There also wasn't a decent reading light in the place.

The coffee machine worked and we appreciated the internet connection. All in all, with a little care and attention, your cottage could have been something special. As it is, we most certainly did not feel that we got value for our money and would not recommend this accommodation to others.
Owner's Response: We are very sad to receive our guest's review of our home in St. Helena. I communicated several times with her prior to her stay, answering her many concerns. We've had many guests, including many repeat guests, staying at our home prior and after this guest's visit with us and we receive cards and letters telling us how wonderful their stay had been. We reviewed each item our guest complained about and assure our present and future guests that we take the cleanliness of our home very seriously and strive to give each guest a pleasant and clean experience. Upon her complaint that the automatic pump in the spa came on during the night, I immediatly had it changed to a different time. I spoke to this guest several times at the beginning of her stay and offered her a full refund if she would like to move to other accommodations. She did not return my call, nor did she take me up on the offer of a full refund to take accommodations elsewhere.

I am very proud to say that we have had many guests at our home with a great experience. I am very saddened of this guest's harsh words of our beautiful St. Helena Cottage.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful time in St. Helena. We stayed in this darling house for a week, prior to and immediately after our son's wedding, and found both the house and its location ideal. We walked to the supermarket and to downtown St. Helena, to church and to the Stevenson library. We entertained the bride's family at a backyard barbecue, and loved the ambience and quiet of the big back yard. After long days in the valley, we enjoyed the hot tub in back. And my dad and some of our children were able to stay with us over the wedding weekend. We would hope to stay at the house again whenever we're in the Napa valley. And now that we have family there (the bride's parents), we hope that will happen!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
Houston, TX
5

Second Stay - As Great as the First

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed again over Spring Break this year. Everything was just perfect. The house was clean, everything worked, and you can't beat the location! Thanks again. We hope to be repeat customers. :-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
San Francisco
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
I selfishly don't even want to post a review because I don't want anyone else discovering this perfect little hideaway in the heart of wine country. But I have to give credit where it is due -- my husband and I live in San Francisco so we travel up to this perfect part of the world at least once a month. Finding an affordable home to rent that is walking distance to St. Helena's world class restaurants, wineries and shops is tough. We were thrilled to find this on VRBO. It's got everything we need. A separate bedroom for our young son, a hot tub for the cool nights, an outdoor fireplace for romantic ambiance, a comfy big bed for us, a kitchen we can prepare small meals in and a charming interior that is clean, warm and comfy. This isn't the height of luxury so if you're looking for something super Fab move on, but if you want a nice home to come back to after a day of wine country discoveries, this is your spot (unless we've already booked it!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
Houston, TX
5

Absolutely perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had very high hopes for this cabin, and it exceeded every one of our expectations. The location was ideal, walking distance from a grocery store, restaurants, Model Bakery... everything we could want. The cabin itself was adorable. The rooms were all clean, inviting and comfortable, the kitchen had everything you might need or want. The bathroom was spotless, with plenty of linens, and the back yard was a huge hit with our toddler. Every time we get a chance we will be back. It's lovely, and an incredible value for the money. I would recommend it to anyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How very kind of you. We can't wait to have you visit us again.
Best regards.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Wine Country Cottage Steps from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250771
+1 714 328-8661
St Helena Napa Valley
San Luis Obispo
5

Wonderful Stay in St. Helena

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This is a charming cottage and the location is key for optimum fun. My husband and I stayed with one other couple for a full week and we were sad to leave. It felt like home. Enjoyed several fire-side dinners in the backyard by candlelight. Easy walk to Tra Vigne, Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, and The Martini House for dinner. So convenient to get provisions at Safeway market, but found even better goodies at Sunshine Market 3-4 blocks away. The cottage is simple, clean, and very comfortable. The VBRO listing is accurate. We especially enjoyed sitting on front porch in the mornings with our coffee. The only drawbacks: Somewhat tricky for four people to share one bathroom. Also, we could not get the hot tub to work consistently. Otherwise, this cottage is ideal and the owner is very kind and accommodating. We hope to rent it again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3