Newport apartment rental - View from RI Avenue
View from RI Avenue
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Newport Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 4

This two bedroom apartment is just blocks from Easton's Beach and Bellevue Avenue shopping, restaurants and museums. Set in the quiet 'Top of the Hill' neighborhood of stately Victorians, this rental offers 900 sq. ft. of light and airy living space with off street parking, separate entry and side yard. This property was completely renovated in 2008. Park your car and stroll into town, where you can take advantage of the trolley car system to get you to any of the local attractions.

Things to do: Newport has a wealth of outdoor activities, but rainy days can be fun too. There is excellent sailing in the harbor; you can rent small sailboats at Sail Newport or enjoy a sunset cruise on some of the larger yachts. Kayaks are available for rent down on Thames street to take out in the harbor or to some of the inlets off Ocean Drive. Beaches abound along Ocean Drive; Easton's beach (1st) is just 5 blocks from the house and Middletown's beautiful 2nd beach is a short bike or car ride. Hiking and bird watching is available at Norman's Bird Sanctuary and the famed Cliff Walk begins about 5 blocks from the house. Lots of people like to bike the Ocean Dive (8 miles long) or up Indian Avenue along the Sakonnet River. On rainy days, one can visit the mansions along Bellevue Avenue, the Newport Art Museum, Touro Synagogue, Redwood Library, Museum of Yachting or just go shopping on Bellevue or down by the wharfs. If you are a history buff, the Historical Society has walking tours or the owners can lend you an AIA copy of self guided tours. The owners will be glad to recommend the best restaurants depending on your budget. There is a local theater and a cabaret, many art galleries and a movie theater in Washington Square (about a half mile away). Almost every weekend there is a festival or food fair either in Touro Park or down by the yachting center. It is hard to get bored in Newport!

7 Reviews of Property 250282 in Newport, Rhode Island

This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250282
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Excellent Accommodation – Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I stayed in this accommodation for just shy of two weeks in October 2012 - it was fantastic and we were very impressed. The apartment itself is generously proportioned with large living space and very comfortable bedrooms. The entire place was spotlessly clean, the décor was beautiful and it was also very well equipped with cooking equipment, books, TV, wireless internet access etc.

The property is well located, being just a short walk to either the main tourist areas of Newport or the more local areas. This was a great advantage as it meant that we could sightsee and do the touristy things when we wanted to but we could also enjoy the many local restaurants and bars. The street on which the accommodation is located is also beautiful and it felt safe and secure.

The property owners were definitely the highlight of this trip. They struck a great balance between being available when needed but also being absolutely invisible so that you could be relaxed in an apartment that is effectively the top floor of their house. Gale and Peter were warm and made a real effort to make us welcome in both the accommodation and also in Newport, offering great suggestions for sightseeing and eating out.

Were there any downsides to our trip? Just one… it wasn’t long enough!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250282
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Portsmouth, VA
5

Charming and Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This apartment provided an excellent extended weekend getaway for me and my family. The apartment is in an excellent location allowing easy access to Newport and all it has to offer make out of towner feel welcome. The owners were extremely gracious and attentive.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250282
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Ottawa, ON, Canada
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family spent a week at this getaway, enjoyed the surroundings and the local beaches. We could walk into the historic district to shop, eat or catch a trolley. We all agree that it was a very comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. It was really hot the week we were there. This rental is located on the third floor but was very comfortable with the air conditioning provided. It also has an equipped kitchen, tv, internet, books, laundry room on the second floor, etc. An outdoor sitting area is also provided beside the house with chairs, a table and BBQ so we could eat outside. The owners were knowledgeable of the area, friendly and hospitable. We had a wonderful stay and would consider it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250282
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Willington, CT USA
5

Amazing experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I am in the middle of my one week stay at this apartment and so far it has been amazing. As indicated in an earlier review the owners are clearly proud of their apartment and make every effort to make us feel welcome and comfortable here.

The kitchen is the perfect size for a one week stay. We cook breakfast every morning here as well as an occasional dinner or lunch. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything we need.

The living room provides plenty to do with a TV, DVD player and a vast selection of books. The bedrooms have plenty of room and are comfortable with space provided for clothing storage.

Overall this apartment has been great to stay in and it will be very hard to leave. It is hard to go out and explore Newport because this is such a nice place to stay. The owners are very friendly, the apartment is clean, modern and updated. I am already planning on coming here next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250282
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Harrington Park, NJ
5

"Top of Hill" Is Top Notch!

"Top of Hill" Is Top Notch!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Beautiful apartment! Pristine, warm and welcoming; pride in ownership abundantly clear! Kitchen is fully equipped to prepare any meal, living area is abundant with entertainment (books, magazines, tv and internet). Bedrooms and bathroom are quite spacious; love the claw foot tub/shower combo! Location is perfect for a nice stroll to the beach or into town for a quick bite or full sit down meal. Owners are delightful and extremely accomodating not to mention well versed in the sites to see/do. Just got back from a girlfriends get away, but would love to return with my family.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250282
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Harrington Park, NJ
5

"Top of Hill" Is Top Notch!

"Top of Hill" Is Top Notch!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Beautiful apartment! Pristine, warm and welcoming; pride in ownership abundantly clear! Kitchen is fully equipped to prepare any meal, living area is abundant with entertainment (books, magazines, tv and internet). Bedrooms and bathroom are quite spacious; love the claw foot tub/shower combo! Location is perfect for a nice stroll to the beach or into town for a quick bite or full sit down meal. Owners are delightful and extremely accomodating not to mention well versed in the sites to see/do. Just got back from a girlfriends get away, but would love to return with my family.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
This is the one! 'Top of the Hill' getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250282
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Berlin
5

Super schöne Ferienwohnung

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Die Ferienwohnung ist geräumig, gemütlich und sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Auch die Ausstattung in der Küche ist ausreichend um sich selbst zu verpflegen. Die Vermieter Gale und Peter sind freundlich und hilfsbereit und geben gern Auskünfte über Einkaufs- und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten. Newport selbst ist eine wunderschöne, kleine Stadt im typischen Rhode Island Stil. Es gibt in der Nähe des Hafens viele kleine Geschäfte und Restaurants. Auch die Besichtigung der Newport Mansions, der Cliff Walk und der Ocean Ride sind sehr zu empfehlen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4