Grass Valley house rental - Deck ready for Happy Hour
Deck ready for Happy Hour
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Grass Valley House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This is not a vacation home that we built as much as it is an experience that we created. Please read our guest reviews!

As seen in Sunset and Dwell Magazines, the Lotus Lake House is a completely 'green' exclusive home designed by the award-winning architect Michelle Kaufmann. Its sleek & modern with accordian-style glass walls that completely open to the deck and views of the lake. Lots of windows and cool welcoming tones. We are completely off-grid and have been awarded 'Build it Green' and 'Keep the Sierra Green' certification.

We're situated on 7 acres of private forested property. We cleared just enough trees to have fabulous views of Rollins Lake or instead of just gazing, hike the private trail from the deck to the lake and hop in the canoe we provide guests. With the glass 'Nano' walls open to the outdoors - indoor and outdoor living is blended. No neighbors or other structures in sight! Just the Sierra Mountains, trees, deep blue water, deer, owls, raptors and the ocassional honking geese.

Whether you are on the deck sipping coffee and watching the beautiful sunrise over the mountains, reading, sipping a drink at sunset or star gazing at night, the experience is magical.

Our home is ideally suited for a romantic get-away, or for a couple of good friends or close family members who just need a retreat from the stresses of daily life. Sit on the deck and enjoy the water activity during the summer, swim in the lake or come off season when it's absolutely still. Ideal for writer/artist retreat. Only earth-friendly products are used so it's perfect for people with chemical sensitivities.

For those who want to support the environment while staying in an exclusive and unique property, you can't ask for more. You'll feel like you are in a treehouse. As one of our guests said, 'if you need to relearn how to breathe, this place will teach you'!

Come experience off-the-grid living in luxury!

The Lotus Lake House was the showcase home at the 2007 West Coast Green Show in San Francisco.

Please read our guest comments as they describe the experience better than we ever could!!

Keywords: ecofriendly,contemporary,unique,lakefront,romantic,pet-friendly,luxury,secluded,private, boating,close to downtown Grass Valley & Nevada City, green, eco, dog friendly, lake, forest, cabin, unique,

More Details
Hide Details

We are very interested in doing our part to protect our planet and the environment. Both refugees from the corporate world in Silicon Valley where we held demanding jobs we enjoyed building our dream eco-friendly vacation home in the middle of a forest overlooking beautiful Rollins Lake. Tod designed the off-grid system himself and despite his wife's initial trepidation, it's amazing! This is our home and when it's not rented we delight in escaping the Bay Area for the beauty and simplicity of its zen-like qualities.

Tod duBois purchased this house in 2009

We love the Sierras and a number of years ago bought 8 acres in the forest overlooking Rollins Lake with the intent of building a low carbon-footprint vacation home that would be all about the views. Although our home is private & secluded we liked that we are within 10 minutes of wineries, the quaint artist town of Nevada City, the historic Gold Rush town of Grass Valley, hiking, exploring the gold mines, and organic farms and only 45 minutes to Sugar Bowl Ski resort.

You will come away rejuvenated, even after just 2 days! As one of our guests wrote: 'If you need to learn how to breathe again, this place will teach you'. Most of our guests have plans to do lots of things and wind up not leaving the house! The seclusion, the tree-house feel, the lake views and access to the lake and a canoe make this a very special getaway for 2.

72 Reviews of Property 250156 in Grass Valley, California

Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
average rating of 4.859375 based on 72 reviews
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
4

Prefab living

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Tranquil, comfortable, clean, and unique.
Great weekend getaway
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
4

Lynda Grill

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We choose to to book at this Secluded Green home AGAIN:: for for our daughter as they so enjoyed it last year, for the same Thanksgiving Holiday..However lovely the place is :VROB made a mistake with the dates:: booking someone else there also for our 3rd night. The owner Tod, was every helpful in making sure that VROB was notified . he work through out the morning to make sure our daughter was not misplaced for the last evening...it was a stressful few hours and thanks to Tod it was resolved .... My only advise is to check your date with any VROB rental -they can make mistakes .
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Solitude on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a terrific place. Great view, totally secluded and everything you could possibly need for a quiet getaway. Thanks Tod.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Lovely get-away and beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved our 3 nights away at Lotus Lake house. It was a gorgeous setting amongst the trees, private, yet close to the conveniences of Grass Valley and quaint Nevada City (which is a fun little town for exploring, shopping, Saturday farmers market.) The trail to the lake was delightful. The home was great - had everything we needed. Very nicely designed. It rained a couple days so we didn't get the full effect of the open doors and deck. On the day we left, the sun came out and we did open one of the doors and got a taste of what it is like - wonderful. The Fall colors were stunning (California's version of Fall.) It was a great place and I hope to make it back there for a longer stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
4

Nice house with nice view

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The house and view were quite nice. I do not have anything bad to say about the experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
los angeles, CA
5

Peaceful get away at Lotus Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was such a wonderful way to decompress from the hectic life of living in the big city. No one around. Every star in the sky above was wonderfully lit by the blazing fire in the pit. Warm and cozy house with beautiful views of the lake below. A great way to start a new life with my newly married wife. I recommend it to all who are able to get away. There is a lot to do in the area but we simply just sat back and soaked up the natural sights.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
5

a beautiful relaxing stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I think the best part of the house was that we felt like we were away from it all, but we could access restaurants, COFFEE SHOPS :) great Farmers markets, local produce and Vino! It was the first time we visited that area and really had no idea how much was around to explore. The only downside was that we werent there long enough! Next time we will also bring our dogs, they would LOVE it there, plus the house was well gated so the pups would be able to wander freely without us worrying. Lovely property, we will return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
Lancaster, CA
5

A Perfect Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank you Barrie and Tod, for sharing your architectural jewel in the woods with us. We sorely needed to get away from it all for awhile and the Lotus house could not have been more perfect! There's not much I can add to all the previous reviews, they all express our feelings very well. The house was a delight, so comfortable and well stocked. Who knew that one could live green so luxuriously? We didn't even miss the cable (excellent selection of dvds) or internet. My cel phone worked well even in this location but I avoided it, prefering to spend hours on the deck gazing at the trees, the sky, the gorgeous green lake. The house is situated so that it seems to be floating amidst the trees, the effect is heightened when the nano walls are opened which blends the outside into the cozy living area, seamlessly. The effect was really magical. We used the propane barbecue on the deck, as well as the rolling icebox. To sit on the deck at sundown with jazz playing in the background and sipping some chilled wine with my beloved husband and dog will be a cherished memory. That's why we work so hard, so that we can wholeheartedly appreciate such moments of joy! Loved seeing the family of deer, the geese and the turkeys that roamed the neighbors property. No neighbors are visible though, the complete privacy was a rare treat. You won't be disappointed after staying here, it's truly relaxing and renewing to the spirit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
4

Family Fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great time fishing in the lake and playing games back at the house. It was great having a dock close by to launch our raft. It would have been impossible to carry down to the lake from the house. Very serene setting. Enjoyed wine on the deck and playing board games with our girls.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded 'Green' Award-Winning Contemporary Lakefront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250156vb
831-524-0620
Grass Valley Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Pam - San Jose Ca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of four spent 2 beautiful nights at the Lotus House. We can't say enough about the wonderful time we had. The home was well stocked and felt like our home away from home. The whole process from reservations to "checking out" was seamless. The owners thoughtfulness and attention to detail helped to make our stay that much more relaxing. There was a book of local hot spots and restaurants along with step by step instructions for the mechanics of the house. We feel we found a treasure and hope to go back in the winter. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1