Atenas house rental - Pool side looking over the valley and into the house.
Pool side looking over the valley and into the house.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Atenas House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 4, pool w/view

Restore yourself at La Luna Vista, your luxury Bali home offering complete privacy and a 360 degree view of a lush, eco protected valley from every room in this modern custom built home. It's a modern Shangri La, yet a 2 minute drive into one of Costa Rica's loveliest towns, with it's market, restaurants, English speaking emergency room, orchid trees and church overlooking the central square , and, according to Natl Geographic, 'the best weather in the world'. Centrallly located, La Luna Vista is a 'home base' for your entire Costa Rican vacation and easy drives to volcanoes, cloud forests, beaches, river rafting, fishing, surfing, coffee farms, monkeys and bird watching. For an active or relaxing vacation

It's 'pura vida' as you sit by the pool overlooking the neighboring farm while the butterflies dance around you. Open the pocket doors entirely to the world outside while cooking in the in the completely modern gourmet kitchen. House is on one level with modern convenience.

The Best of All Possible Worlds: Our brand new home La Luna Vista really has all the modern amenities but is surrounded by nature. The Costa Rican government has chosen to preserve our gorgeous valley because of it's great natural beauty. You see only trees and mountains from the terrace that surrounds the house no matter where you look. At night, nature provides a light show in the clear skies, and sometimes you can watch lightening dance over the mountains beyond the valley. There is complete privacy yet on the other hand there are neighbors close by. Our little town of Atenas has wonderful restaurants, many supermarkets with Chilean and Argentinean wines, and modern American kitchen necessities. A farmers market where all the surrounding farmers bring delicious mangoes, veggies, colorful fruits a local specialties happens every Friday in the park.

Activities? Or not!: You can relax poolside, sip smoothies or a glass of wine and completely remove yourself from the stress of contemporary life. But if you want to check your emails, we have wi-fi, and your Blackberry works in Costa Rica.

If you are looking for a more active time away from home, butterfly farms, volcanoes rain forests, river rafting, horseback riding, are all an easy drive.

If you want to hang ten or simply stroll on the pristine Costa Rica Beaches or swim in the warm Pacific water of famous surfing beaches like Jaco and Playa Hermosa which are only 45 minutes away.

Pura Vida!: It's no accident that Costa Ricans' motto is 'Pura Vida.' They are lovely, well educated, warm, and welcoming people.

More Details
Hide Details

44 Reviews of Property 250065 in Atenas, Costa Rica

Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
average rating of 4.909091 based on 44 reviews
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
Baltimore, MD
5

living on a cloud

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
"I have the difficult task of explaining what it feels to live on a cloud, literally, because the clouds swiftly surround this piece of land from time to time for just a few moments and you exist for a small time with the sky. The rolling hills that extend into the horizon from the property's backyard spoil your appetite to taste other adventures Costa Rica has to offer...why visit a cloud forest when you live in one? And, the beauty of this home absolutely ruins your patience to stay in any other vacation home less exceptional than this house. This house sits furthest out on the best slice of land in the community so no other rooftop adulterates the view of the magnificent Atenas mountains. You feel like you are the only person in the world with the safe satisfaction of a small, friendly community of home-owners right behind you. The decor of the house is minimal and craftful and every turn offers another opportunity to enjoy the goodness of life. And that's all before leaving the house!

The drive from Atenas to San Jose offers panoramic views of Costa Rica Pura Vida and you find yourself downtown in less than an hour. The drive to the Pacific side (Jaco/Manuel Antonio) provides equally impressive views ending in beautiful beaches and national parks less than 90 minutes away. Local fruit and vegetable stands abound in either direction, so there is always a chance to buy the best avocados on your way to and from home. The location of this house gives you the best chance to experience Costa Rica's coasts, volcanos, and local life and still be home to grill yourself a nice steak and take in the gorgeous city lights from a far, far distance. The stars and moon at night, are of course unparallel.

I should stop here for fear of seeming unauthentic, but it's all true. Come experience it for yourself. You'll leave a different person."

Thanks so much for opening up this sweet serenity to my family Diana, and best of luck with future renters.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: michael jean, thanks so much, it was great to have you and your mom and baby. i hope we see you again. to everyone - michel jean planned to stay for a week and ended up staying for 3!!!
xdiana
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
Orlando, Florida
5

Sample of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is one of the most inspiring and beautiful places we have ever stayed! While hard to believe, this Bali Oasis is even more beautiful than displayed in the pictures. Very tastefully decorated with a stunning location overlooking the valley. Absolutely divine, hanging out (literally) with a cup of coffee while watching a different spectacular sunrise every day, listening to the crowing roosters, or strolling through the gorgeous flowering gardens so well maintained by Jaime. While we did a lot of day trips, this is a heavenly location to simply decompress, watching the various herds of cows in their daily rising routines, floating in the pool, or simply experiencing the day. Looking directly south out over the valley, each moment changes with colors and shadows as the sun progresses through the day. Definitely a four-wheel drive location, with a very steep and winding access - quite a challenging walk to drop off the daily trash bag at the villa entrance. The open air Balinese-style layout felt awkward at first, but became more comfortable every day. This villa is centrally located, with easy access to the toll highway just out of the quiet, local village of Atenas, and every convenience is right in the village: ATM, gas, groceries, pizza, several small restaurants, and farmers market. A GPS is absolutely necessary since road signs and directions are minimal to say the least - you would never find some of the local towns, restaurants, or gardens in the hills by simply winging it! A must stop is at La Casita del Cafe some 12 KM west for a delicious fruit drink or cappuccino. If you are fortunate, go there on a foggy afternoon and watch the fog climb up the valley and through the open cafe! Nearby sights of San Mateo (west) and the Orchid Garden (east) are well worth the pause. The welcome booklet has clear descriptions and directions to local restaurants and tourist spots. Just remember the basic rule of the road - if a vehicle is moving, it will not stop for another vehicle or for a pedestrian. Once you realize that, all is Pura Vida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
Chicago
5

The Heavenly House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
While the photos are wonderful, nothing truly compares to actually staying in this incredible property for yourself. This sprawling, feng shui inspired home should be listed under 'prescriptions to totally relax and just be at ease on vacation.' In a nutshell, staying here is akin to having your own private luxury spa to wander around for a week. Each morning greets you with a postcard view of the surrounding land, and it morphs throughout the day as the light changes, leading you to yet another postcard view as the wayward sun sets in the distance. The small town of Atenas to quaint, and with a bit of a drive you can visit all sorts of local places ranging from the beach town of Jaco to the active Poas Volcano. The property manager of the house is a pleasure to work with, and the onsite cleaning and pool staff do an incredible job of keeping everything at 5-star caliber luxury. Simply put, staying in this home should be on your bucket list of things to do. :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
Can
5

Loved it!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family and I loved the house!! The listing description and photos were very accurate and the house had all the comforts of home. Great place to just relax by the pool, catch up on some reading...or take a 30 minute drive to the coast. Its central location gives you opportunity to do some exploring. The owner, Diana, and Leticia, the property manager, were great to deal with and answered all my questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
Kitchener Onntario Canada
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our 1 week stay was interupted by some health issues, necessitating our staying close to home but with the beautiful villa's facilities, we didn't miss touring at all! Lounging by the pool, watching sunrises & sunsets, following the birds & animals (even the loud MOO that woke us the first morning!), temporary adoption of the caretaker's cats, and the total privacy to just relax more than made up for the sudden change in plans. Diana answered all of our naive questions in advance, Leticia was a bilingual Godsend & became a friend, there whenever we needed her, and Jaime always appeared when we needed a hand but didn't realize it.

Atenas is a somewhat quaint small town with all the amenities we needed. Roads ranged from good to bad, requiring a 4 wheel drive vehicle with manual transmission to handle the peaks & valleys, and especially the end of the driveway to the villa. The drivers everywhere scare the daylight out of you, especially the dirt bike riders who zip in & out of traffic at full speed. Although the main language was Spanish, the people everywhere in Costa Rica were friendly & helpful & tried to understand our English.

If you want to truly get away from it all, Bali Oasis is the place to go!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
Canada
1

Ontario Canada

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is our seventh time to Costa Rica. Jaime, Carolina and Leticia were great to deal with. The house was very nice. Just a couple of things to keep in mind. 3500 sq ft. must include the pool, deck, balconies and walkways. No pictures of the second bedroom - very small 9 Maybe 9x10. Pool is cold - maybe think about negotiating getting it heated during your stay.
The owner was something else to deal with. Our certified cheque( which is still in the mail system somewhere) did't arrive within a week and we were questioned whether we were going to commit or not. After evidence the check was in the mail we did a wire transfer and re-issued another check for the remainder - paying the rental in full months in advance. Got an e-mail from the owner two months later asking if we are commiting and going to pay. -WOW. We received an e-mail from Leticia upon leaving stating the owner will send the deposit within 10 days - no big deal- waited 22 days and contacted the owner. Got a response stating - I FORGOT and can you give me your address - Really.

Costa Rica is beautiful and Atenas is a great hub to tour the country. If any of you golf - try Cariara golf course. In shore fishing for Rooster fish is good. Rent a car and enjoy the country - try to drive within the daylight hours - 5:30 - 5:30.
Owner's Response: Dear Martin et al, i'm glad you had a great impression of Leticia, Jaime and Carolina and the house, and that in some way they made up for my shortcomings as a property renter. When you rent from vrbo/homeaway you get a private residence not professional lessors, so sometime real life gets in the way of my being an accountant. Your money DID get lost in the mail from Canada, so it interrupted my normal accounting procedures, so i apologize for that having affected you in such a significant way...it seems as if you are the only tenant in 3 years that has had this experience, so it seems as if you are the exception to the rule, although your awarding of stars was a bit harsh. And wow, we would have been happy to help you with the pool temperature... Thanks for your input, and hopefully, we will learn from it. diana
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
Halifax, Nova Scotia
5

Been there twice and going back if I can...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I first rented this house in March 2012 and loved it so much that I went back for New Years. First of all, what they say about the climate in Atenas is what drew me - I love the fauna and flora of the tropics but I don't love the heat. This house is up in the hills and never too hot. The weather is just perfect for the indoor/outdoor living this house affords.

In March there were migratory birds filling the valley - it is hard to sleep in in the morning because the sun and birds are calling you to wake up, but it is so pleasant I couldn't wait to get out there (and I am not usually a morning person). In December, there weren't the variety of birds in the valley - but still gorgeous to watch the hawks soaring above - and the bushes were now filled with bright flowers around the house.

The house was perfectly laid out and outfitted for two couples traveling together - the sleeping areas are compartmentalized and separated. Both have wonderful bathrooms, one with an outdoor shower. The house is SO private that clothes are definitely optional.

Carolina who lives in the casita next door makes the best salsa on the planet and has a smile to match. Leticia, the English speaking property manager was there to meet us and took care of my guests on our second visit when my flight was delayed - all is pura vida at this house.

Dreaming of going back soon...
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Thanks again, Diana and Leticia for a wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Great! Save us another week next year!!! Hope we can come back....
PS I returned the CD I "borrowed" last year (by mistake)!
And thanks for your generosity- it shows all throughout the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a beautiful property at the end of the road in a gated community (you need a vehicle that can manage the slope). Very private with views of the mountains, farming communities and distant cities - great for relaxing and star gazing. The central living space is very elegant and the master bedroom is as well. It is very open and one feels immersed in the environment. The pool was a bit chilly (it IS on a mountain top). The nearby communities hold many attractions, although not ideal for beach access, Highly recommend this property and would return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250065
+1 3103820954
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Morning Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The pictures don't do this paradise in the mountains justice. The house is truly special and situated among wonderfully inviting and accessible hosts. The morning's are incredible, with an early sunrise, 270 degrees of lush valley, and peace. The village of Atenas has a delicious bakery, a full supermarket (with incredibly helpful staff), and places to eat with loads of local flavor.

It's hard to identify the main attraction of our trip: the house, the people, the mountains...But it doesn't matter. It was all wonderful.

Many thanks to Carolina, Leticia, and Diana.
Owner's Response: Hi, Paul,
We were so delighted to have you and your entire family as our guests and to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. it's a great place for a family get together, since there are so many communal lounging places around the veranda, pool, living room, kitchen, etc.
We have had couples, families, honeymooners, business guests who were in Costa Rica for a couple of months, and the house seems to fit everyone.....we are glad it fit you and all your siblings!!!
All the best to you, Diana