Dublin cottage rental - St Patricks, two minutes walk from Moffatt Cottage
St Patricks, two minutes walk from Moffatt Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Dublin Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, sleeps 3, extra mattress in loft for one more. 1 Bathroom.

Staying in this genuine one hundred year old red-brick artisan cottage in this tiny, quiet, hidden square is in itself a rare and extra-special treat. Bright and airy by day, cozy and warm by the stove at night, your own private south-facing patio to the rear to sit out on, a bright modern galley kitchen and bathroom. But its location cannot be bettered with literally all that Dublin has to offer the visitor there within a few minutes walking distance of your doorstep.

Checking in and out: On your arrival the owners of the cottage will make you feel more than welcome, giving you a good idea of how close you are to all the major sights, good places to eat and shop, tips on how to make the best of your time, what's on music-wise, in theaters, at galleries or book readings. We can even give you knowledgeable advice/assistance if you are interested in your Irish family history!

Whenever it is possible we like to let our guests arrive on their first day as early as they like and leave on their last day at the time that suits them best in relation to their flights etc. Unfortunately, when there is an overlap with guests arriving and departing on the same day this may not be possible and the check-in time would have to be between 1.30 and 2.00, while check-out time would have to be by mid-day. This is to allow us time to to prepare the cottage. Do check with us in advance of your arrival just to be sure.

The Perfect Base: Forget about the car. Not only are the city sights on your doorstep but for a few Euro you can access all along the beautiful Dublin coast as far as Wicklow by the Dart (Electric train), from the city station just ten minutes away. From Heuston Station (five minutes away by taxi) you can even travel on one or two-day trips train trips to Galway (3 hours, 34 Euro return trip) and get to see the Arran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher or even the Ring of Kerry, and lots more. Glendalough in Wicklow can be reached by a coach from a nearby bus stop (one and a half hours, about 15 Euro return), Newgrange from the Central bus station.

If having Internet access is Important to you...: The cottage does not have an internet connection but some of our guests have managed by purchasing a 'Dongle' which allows you to have full access to the internet on your lap-top anywhere. Recent prices people tell us they have paid were 49Euro for the Dongle and seemingly it is just 10 Euro a week, you can activate your system through the '3' provider here in Dublin. You might want to check this out before-hand if you are interested.

But there is one internet cafe just 2 minutes from the cottage, and charges just 2 Euro an hour.

More Details
Hide Details

45 Reviews of Property 250025 in Dublin, Ireland

Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
average rating of 5.0 based on 45 reviews
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
5

Exactly what we wanted.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Very clean, had all the neccesary supplies, great location. Wonderful host. South Dublin is where you want to stay and you'll want to stay in this cottage.
Tip: Make sure you sign up for one of the 3 day tours and see some of the other beautiful areas of Ireland. You'll save money on the 3 day tours and they'll leave from/return to area you can easily walk to.
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
Cumbria, UK
5

Cosy Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I stayed here a few years ago and it was as lovely as I remembered it. Cosy and warm with everything you could possibly need and a in a great location, close to everything but in a quiet area. Very clean and plenty of towels. Sean had left us some scones which was really nice :) One change is that there is now WIFI which is great. I have no hesitation recommending this property for a stay in Dublin.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
5

Exceptional Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We arrived in the middle of a Dublin bus strike but, due to the ideal walking location of the cottage we never once had to consider changing our itinerary. The charm of this Dublin cottage along with the city map and insight Sean provided made this one of our easiest and most enjoyable vacations yet.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
5

Highly recommended.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
After an all night flight we felt rather desperate for good accommodation. We waited at the bus stop for our host (and a obliging early check-in) imagining all kinds of horrors, as one does in a tired and grumpy state. How reassuring when Sean appeared to escort us to the cottage and what a sweet place! The bed is comfortable. The kitchen well equipped. The location perfect for exploring the city and close to all kinds of venues for music. Clean and comfortable. We had no problems not having Internet as we tethered our iPhone to a pay-as-go phone plan from 3 network (20 euros gave full 20 euros credit AND unlimited data plan for 30 days). The cottage is in a quiet little cul de sac away from the busy city but close enough to we walk everywhere. A fish and chip shop blocks away, a convenience store, a good coffee spot. Everything you need. Sean knows the city and was very helpful, a wonderful cultural adviser who made us feel very welcome. Dublin, itself is fascinating and especially, with Sean as host, well worth the visit.
Highly recommended!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
5

Slainte!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moffatt Cottage! What a wonderful, wonderful little place! And the location was just perfect! We were warmly greeted by Sean as soon as we arrived. He was friendly and so helpful! He showed us on the map where we were, what was around us, made suggestions, and gave us valuable tips. What a gem! He made us feel much more comfortable about where we were in Dublin. Because of Sean's knowledge, my husband and I were able to decide that we could return our rental car...didn't need it! The cottage was clean, cozy and we wanted for nothing the whole week we were there. Would definitely stay here again...hands down. Thank you Sean.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
Lakeville, CT
5

A wonderful cottage in the heart of Dublin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We loved our stay in this very sweet, well-equipped, comfortable cottage in the middle of Dublin. Our hosts, the Moffatts, were very helpful and welcoming, even going out of their way to pick us up at a bus stop just a 3 minute walk from the cottage and walk us back with our bags to the stop on our way back to the airport. (The 747 bus from the Dublin Airport is an easy and inexpensive way to get into the city). The cottage is exactly as described. Though an easy walk to most of central Dublin, it’s on a quiet little square where traffic noise is non-existent. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen easy to use for light meals, and has a beautiful little garden out the back door. Dublin is a wonderful city, easy to explore on foot and full of friendly, helpful people. One side note: we found a number of good restaurants using Trip Advisor and a guidebook. However, the stand out, which is only a 10 minute or less walk from the cottage, is the Buenos Aires Grill. We left their business card in the cottage.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
5

Great cottage!! Great location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We were met at the cottage by the owner Sean. He took the time to show us around the cottage and also to familiarize us with Dublin by showing us key points on a map he provides. Sean also provided fresh bread, butter and jam, milk and orange juice for us on arrival. The cottage was very charming and contained everything we may have needed for our stay. Sean has made the cottage really feel as though it was your home away from home. The location was incredible. We walked everywhere we wanted to go and took the train to the stadium for the Notre Dame game. On the morning of our departure, Sean returned to the cottage and assisted us in taking our luggage to the bus stop for our return to the airport. Sean is very personable and knowledgeable and was great to deal with. We would recommend his cottage to any family member or friend. We are hoping to return to Ireland in the near future and will definitely stay at Sean's cottage again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
5

Perfect Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed in July 2012 for 5 days. It was perfect, it was bright yet cozy.It had everything to make our trip completely perfect. It was in the middle of everything which was good ut at the same time in a quite location where all you could really hear in the mornign was the church bells. The owner Sean let us store our luggage so we could head off and not carry around our heavy suitcases before we settled down. He was also helpful and provided us with some good tips which we kept in mind if we were ever to come again.
The best part of the cottage had to be the loft above the bed in the first bedroom. It felt nice climbing up there after a long day and being by yourself for a little while, while the other adults talked and watched t.v.
I would recommend this cottage to anyone wnating to visit Dublin.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
5

A memory

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Sean met us at the bus stop and he was a wonderful Irish fellow. we could walk everywhere, which we did. When we left, Sean surprised us by meeting us at the bus stop to help us with our bags and bid us farewell, it was great!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Magical artisan cottage, beautifully renovated, a unique & secret gem.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250025
+00353 0864002383
Dublin County Dublin
Brooklyn NY USA
5

Exceeded Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
As many commenters have already observed here, the location is convenient and the house charming, as is its owner. S., not content with being merely organized and efficient, goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcome, comfortable and well-situated.

I would add only that of all the various vacations rentals in Europe and America I've stayed in over the years, this one felt most like staying in someone's home. It's the soothing esthetic decisions (like the paint colors and the way the artwork is hung), the eclectic book collection, the fact that there was already milk in the refrigerator and shampoo in the shower. The quirky collection of buttons you must switch on and off to keep yourself supplied with heat and hot water, and that you are trusted to do this. Excellent light for reading, both at the table and in bed. The skylights. Enough kitchen utensils, and the right ones. All small things individually, but they combine to produce a powerfully cozy effect that is echoed in the city outside and magnifies the pleasure of a stay in Dublin.

I will remember this cottage with great affection, and I would particularly recommend it to architects, artists, and anyone else more than usually sensitive to their surroundings.
Helpful votes: 6/6