Seneca house rental - View from the back yard
View from the back yard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps11
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Seneca House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9-11)

- Beds: 2 kings, 2 twins, bunk beds (double below and single up top), sleeper sofa, air mattresses

- Exceptional, well-stocked gourmet kitchen

- 3 large decks, each with a grill

- Deep water at the dock, AND a natural beach

- Kayaks and canoe provided

- Great for families with children (toys, books, Pack-n-Play, high chair, life jackets, sand box, walkout beach, outdoor shower)

- Boat rental within walking distance

* * * * OUR CALENDAR IS ALWAYS UP TO DATE. PLEASE CLICK THE 'CALENDAR' BUTTON, JUST ABOVE OUR PICTURES * * * *

You can truly relax in this exceptional 5,000 square foot home, 1 mile from the main highway in Seneca, and only 7 miles from Clemson, opposite game day traffic. Enjoy this pristine lake by renting a boat from the Lake Keowee Marina which is within walking distance, or for a slower pace, you can kayak to one of many islands. A CANOE AND 3 KAYAKS ARE PROVIDED. Pack light! This home is very well equipped for families, including toys, games, beach towels, coolers, wet suits, etc. Stunning water and mountain views can be seen from any of the 3 large decks (each with a grill), the screened-in porch next to the sandbox with playhouse, or from the all-glass dining room with gourmet kitchen. Wireless internet is accessible anywhere in the house. There are 8 TVs with cable and DVD players, and ceiling fans throughout the house, as well as outside. Enjoy the natural beach with fire pit and kayaks. An outdoor shower makes for easy clean-up after the sandbox or beach. We have one high chair, and a new Pack-and Play stored in the laundry room. Please note that the house is child-friendly but not baby-proof.

Our very large gourmet kitchen with central island, 2 microwaves, and double oven is well stocked. The dining room seats 10, and overlooks the lake. The nearby breakfast bar seats 4. The huge 2 story great room has a stacked stone fireplace, TV, and stereo. The wall facing the lake is all glass. The spacious master suite has an attached sitting room which also overlooks the lake and opens out to the deck. The laundry room is large, with plenty of counter space, and a sink. Laundry supplies will be provided for your use.

Upstairs there is a second suite with a king bed and full private bath, IDEAL FOR ANOTHER COUPLE OR A SECOND FAMILY. Also on this level are 2 additional bedrooms which share a full Jack & Jill bath. The king suite and the other two bedrooms are on opposite ends of the house, divided by a bridge walkway. Each bedroom has a ceiling fan and flat panel TV with DVD player.

The lower level walks out onto a covered deck and a screened porch, both with lights and ceiling fans. The sand box with playhouse is adjacent to the screened porch, so small children can be watched from under a fan. There is a gas grill in the screened porch. Meals in the porch are easy with a second kitchen just inside on this level. A bar that seats 5 is adjacent to the kitchen. The game room has children's air hockey, shuffle board, and numerous toys for small children. A full size sleeper sofa is also in this room. In a separate room is a TV with cable, DVD and VCR. A full bath is also on this level. In addition to a sofa with both ends that recline, there are blow-up beds with linens to accommodate additional guests.

There is a large deck made of Ironwood with plenty of seating along the water's edge walkway between the natural sandy beach with fire pit, and the floating dock which has a covered section with table and chairs, small refrigerator, ceiling fan, and deep water. There are kayaks, life jackets, and wetsuits available for your use. The upper-most deck off the great room and dining room has additional seating as well as a gas grill for meals inside or out. The view of the water and mountains is beautiful!

Unlike other lakes in our area, Lake Keowee's water levels are maintained year round, even at the expense of the lakes both upstream and down, if necessary.

The marina has a launch if you should choose to bring your own boat, and there is plenty of room to park a trailer at the bottom of the lower driveway at the house. Also nearby are two grocery stores and two pharmacies, each approximately 1.5 miles away. There are several restaurants and multiple fast-food choices within 5 miles, and the hospital is approximately 4 miles away.

PLEASE NOTE THAT OUR HOUSE IS ON A QUIET RESIDENTIAL STREET, AND OUR NEIGHBORS ARE NOT NECESSARILY IN VACATION MODE. THEREFORE, PLEASE UNDERSTAND THAT OUR HOUSE IS NOT SUITABLE FOR LOUD NOISE OR PARTIES, AND IS INTENDED TO BE FOR THE USE OF ADULTS RESPECTFUL OF OTHERS NEARBY.

PARKING IS LIMITED TO A MAXIMUM OF 4 VEHICLES.

LASTLY, PLEASE NOTE THAT WHILE FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN ARE OF COURSE WELCOME, THE FINANCIALLY RESPONSIBLE PARTY SIGNING THE RENTAL AGREEMENT MUST BE AT LEAST 35 YEARS OLD, AND MUST BE AN OCCUPANT OF THE HOUSE DURING THE TERM OF THE AGREEMENT. RENTING ON BEHALF OF GUESTS LESS THAN 35 YEARS OLD IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED.

Keywords: Lake House

More Details
Hide Details

Jim is a physician who practices in Seneca, about 3 miles from the lake house, and so is nearby most weekdays. Diane is a retired nurse anesthetist, now at home with our 3 children. We've lived in the Upstate of SC Carolina since the early 1990s with this house as our primary residence until 2006, and can think of no other place we'd rather be. We are still only 30 minutes away, and could never completely leave this house, or the lake with mountains in the backdrop. Come visit, and you'll understand why.

The Owner purchased this house in 1992

33 Reviews of Property 256476 in Seneca, South Carolina

7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
average rating of 5.0 based on 33 reviews
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
Chapel Hill
5

Two Clemson Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a great house! Plenty of room for all our families and college kids and their friends. Beautiful view, wonderfully big and well equipped kitchen. We will be coming back to stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
Estill, SC
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our stay on Lake Keowee was everything we hoped it would be. This rental was our third different lake stay and was far and above the best of the three rental homes. The home was comfortable, user friendly and very conviently located.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
5

Couldn't Ask For More

Couldn't Ask For More
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our group (2 families, 4 adults and 5 children ages 5 - 13) stayed at this wonderful lake house for a long weekend in October, and we could not have been happier. The reservation process was very efficient, the owner (Jim) responded to inquiries quickly and thoroughly, and consistently demonstrated genuine concern and support for his guests. The house was exactly as described, there were no surprises and everything was in excellent condition. The location - in a quiet cove, but walking distance to the marina - was exactly what we were looking for. The canoe/kayak expeditions to the nearby islands were terrific, the pit fires on the beach under the stars were memorable, and the tubing was exhilarating . . . we never ran out of things to do. We ate in every evening, the kitchen was perfect and dining with a view of the lake made going out not an option. It felt like a nice home away from home, more than it felt like a rental. We definitely would recommend and would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
Mullica Hill, NJ
5

A wonderful graduation weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our family stayed at this magnificent home during our daughter's graduation from Clemson University in May. From the moment we entered the front door and saw the fantastic view of the lake, we knew it was a special place.My husband is a contractor and immediately noted the superb construction of this home from the ground up. The gourmet kitchen is a dream and extra special since our kitchen at home was in the middle of renovation! The two king suites were perfect for our group and we loved our room with the adjacent sitting room overlooking the lake. Hard to leave this house!!! We will most definitely rent again in the future since we have two other daughters (one currently a student at Clemson and the youngest in the midst of deciding where she will attend next fall as a freshman - with just a little pressure from her sisters and her parents to continue the Clemson tradition!! Thank you to the Hardy family for sharing this beautiful home with us!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
Landrum, S.C.
5

Best of the Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We throughly enjoyed this beautiful property with our adult children and grandchildren. We have rented many properties in the past, but this is the Best of the Best! The owners have thought of everything that could possibly be needed and enjoyed. We loved that this home is in a quiet neighborhood, and is so private and well maintained. From the time that we opened the door, it truly felt like "home".
The large kitchen is extremely well equipped and supplied. The adjacent dining area has a beautiful view of the lake...and even a small table for children. When we stepped into the master bedroom, we felt like we had entered a quiet, peaceful retreat. The adjacent sitting room overlooking the lake was wonderful for early morning reading and relaxing. We are in the process of remodeling our own home, and have decided that we will "copy" this sitting room in our plans.
The upstairs bedrooms were perfect for our children's needs. The "bridge" between these upstairs rooms provide privacy for both families. The ground floor area was a delight to our grandchildren, with a comfortable TV viewing area, and a playroom full of wonderful toys. The screen porch is adjacent to a sand box area, complete with a "fort" that our grandson quickly claimed.
This house is exceptional as a rental...it feels as if you are visiting a home. The owners have been thorough in anticipating every need and "wish".
The outside areas on the decks, and down by the lake were also wonderful. The property is beautifully landscaped and maintained. We had lunch various places...on the main deck adjoining the great room, and on the patio near the water that is shaded most of the day, on the dock that has a comfortable table, complete with an overhead fan, and small refrigerator. The beach is especially wonderful for small children with a safe,sandy swimming area way out into the lake.
It was a wonderful place for a family vacation...we cannot express how much we enjoyed this place.
The owners are wonderful to work with, and we could not have asked for more. We recommend this rental with no reservations, and with much gratitude that we discovered it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
Greer, SC
5

Excellent for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed at this house for Memorial Day weekend 2013 with another family. Both of us have small children, and this house was perfect for them. My two boys loved the bunk beds and the basement full of toys. The beach was perfect for little ones to explore the water.

The views of the lake are outstanding, and the house is amazing. The owners did a wonderful job communicating with us throughout the planning stages of the trip.

Thank you for helping us create some wonderful family memories with our children! We plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
Southington, CT
5

More than I expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Perfect location. Beautiful home. Having traveled from CT, it was wonderful to have the linens and paper goods already supplied in the house. The location allowed us to easily/quickly rent a boat (right around the corner) and get into town. There are beautiful views of the lake and mountains (but no sunset :(). There are so many outdoor spaces to hang out and all very comfortable. One last note... the owners were very easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
South Carolina
5

Family weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The house was spacious, clean and well stocked! My husband is a chef and thoroughly enjoyed the gourmet kitchen. The views were fabulous. We will keep this one on our list of vacation spots!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
Mt.Pleasant SC
5

Thank You

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I want to thank you for providing such a wonderful place for my family to be together. It was all the comforts of home. I really enjoyed the large kitchen. We could all get in there and help without being crowded. I hope to rent again soon. GTB
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
7 miles to Clemson, Great Lake House, Beach & Deep Water, 2 King Suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256476vb
+1 (864) 356-8550
Seneca Lake Keowee
PA
5

Easy Living

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A great place. Very well equipped and maintained. As advertised. Great communication with the owner. We would recommend this beautiful lake house for families, couples, and girls getaway. We hope to rent this home again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway