Bruges (Brugge) house rental - Front of the house - 17th Century Flemish Home
Front of the house - 17th Century Flemish Home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Bruges (Brugge) House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms (Sleeps 4-6) 1 Bathroom

‘Lady Lace’ is a 17th century house. It is a three-level house with a total of 110 square meters living area. The facade is built in the traditional step-gable style that is typical of the finest Flemish Renaissance homes. It is completely renovated, furnished and fully equipped for your comfort. The interior, with original oak structure, is very cosy. Located in the peaceful Ezelstraat quarter, it is only a five minute walk to Market square and the Belfry Tower. The name ‘Lady Lace’ has been chosen for the lace-makings manufactured by the owner herself in reference to Bruges. You will love this relaxing resort and immediately feel at home. This property is available as a holiday rental home. Guests who want to visit Bruges will enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of the city.

“We wish you a pleasant stay in a magnificent Bruges!”

About Bruges: A little community was established between the 7th and the 9 th century on the shores of 'Zwin'. The first habitants who sought shelter there called it 'Bryggia'. The town developed around the fortress called 'Burg' (Borough) that the Counts of Flandres had built there. The town soon became an important trade centre, thanks to its communication with the sea. Its ancient architecture brought priceless elements to the European artistic patrimony. In museums, everyone admired the paintings of the Flemish primitives. In the 15th century, a Bruges school of painting developed under the protection of the Dukes of Burgundy which counts many brilliant masters: Jan Van Eyck, Hans Memling, Hugo van der Goes. Lancelot Blondeel and Pieter Pourbus are the most well known artists of the renaissance.Since the end of the Middle-Adges, Bruges lace is world-famous.

The presents of canals in Bruges gives the town a mild character.

More Details
Hide Details

65 Reviews of Property 249511 in Bruges (Brugge), Belgium

Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
average rating of 4.9692307 based on 65 reviews
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
Beverly Hills
5

Beyond Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We had the most wonderful stay at 'Lady Lace', it is an exquisite gem. Francis the owner met us upon arrival and immediately made us feel welcome. All ammenities were provided for our comfort and we were well taken care of with the house book which provided us with all information. The absolute best part was the location, as we walked into Market Sq quite a few times to take various tours. It is a 2 min walk and close to everything! Just a perfect stay and we hope to be back one day. The home suits the town and provided us with a special experience. Thanks Francis and to your wife for her wonderful lace works that we were more than interested in. A++++ experience!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: "It's a great boost to receive future guests in the same way" Thanks for the reply!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
Kenilworth
5

Excellent- highly recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed here during the Christmas market and you are only 3 to 4 walking distance from the main square which means if you want to go back for a bit it's not too far ! The owners could not be more helpful and are very knowledgable. The house has everything you need, the front bedroom maybe a little noisy due to cobbled street but that wouldn't put us off from staying there again. It's a traditional house with narrow stairs but much better than staying in a hotel ! We will definitely be going back. They have two houses as we found out so if it's s big party worth asking if both houses available !
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
5

Charming home in a GREAT location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband, our three children (ages 9, 8, and 5) and I stayed at Lady Lace for three nights in mid-January and had a wonderful time! Francis and Marie-Christine are both lovely, hospitable, and helpful hosts, and their home is impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. They even went so far as to put Cars bedspreads on the bunk beds where our boys were sleeping, complete with Cars stuffed toys and teddy bears, and put a fun, plush red heart in the center of the bed my daughter was sleeping in. In addition to the beer in the fridge and the chocolates waiting for us on the dining room table, these extra touches really made our stay memorable and made us feel quite at home! The stairs are steep, and the house is creaky, but for us that just added to its charm! It's location was just perfect--an easy five-minute stroll to Market Square. There's a great creperie literally across the street, and an amazing ribs place just a block away. There's also an Italian restaurant several doors down--we didn't get there for a meal, but their menu looked delicious! We absolutely loved Bruges, and Lady Lace was part of what made our visit so special. We hope to come back in the spring or summer to bike ride around the city and the surrounding area!
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
5

A great centrally located house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over Christmas 2013 (2 adults and 3 teenage children). The house is delightfully authentic, well presented and close to the heart of the town. The owners’ description is completely accurate. We were very comfortable and the house has good (but not excessive) heating. We would happily recommend this property and make future bookings.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who were so easy to deal with. They assisted with restaurant bookings and obtaining other information prior to arrival to help us plan our stay. Their information was always clear and accurate. We arrived to find the house beautifully decorated for Christmas, along with a few other assorted goodies which immediately made us feel at home. Our arrival had been delayed due to a faulty GPS in our car, keeping the gentleman waiting for over half an hour after the meeting time. I’m sure that was a great inconvenience as it was around 7.30pm on Christmas eve. No complaints, though, just a hearty warm welcome from the owner who then clearly explained the property and took us through the town map to orientate us and show important amenities, sights and restaurants.
The steep internal stairs presented no problems for us, but probably would for elderly or disabled people. There is some street noise from passers by and the occasional car, but it didn’t disturb us and is nothing more than what must be expected from a property so centrally located.
We found Bruges busy but manageable over Christmas – we didn’t find it over-crowded. There were plenty of restaurants open on Christmas eve and Christmas night, as well as food at the Christmas markets, although we stocked up at the supermarket the day before just in case.
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
Albuquerque, NM
5

Three Adult Women Travelers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I traveled to Bruges in November, 2013 with a close friend and my adult daughter. One reason we chose Lady Lace is that there were three separate bedrooms. This is a lovely home, very nicely updated. There is a full bath on the second floor, with two bedrooms flanking the bath. The third floor has a bunked (and a sink). The main floor has a 1/2 bath off of the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and there was lots of bedding and towels. Although we didn't cook, the kitchen is well equipped. There is a flat screen TV though other than quick look at the news, we didn't have time for TV! There is a nice big dining room table off of the living room which made a great location for cocktails. The house is very charming and the location is truly fabulous. You are a few blocks from the main square; the bus runs in front of the house; there is a terrific restaurant steps away; a fabulous chocolate shop a few blocks away etc etc. Truly, it would be hard to improve on the location. The only drawback is that the street in front of the house has traffic coming into central Bruges but little traffic after dark. The stairs going up are very steep and would not be accessible for a handicapped person. We had no trouble with them but just a caution. Francis and Marie-Christine were charming hosts. We enjoyed our Belgium beer and chocolates that were in the house when we arrived. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. And Bruges…..well, I still think it is the most beautiful and charming city I have ever visited!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
5

Bruges Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Marie-Christine had beer and chocolates awaiting us as we arrived at their charming home. She graciously welcomed us and thoroughly explained to us the features of her home and the highlights of her city. Lady Lace is tastefully decorated (beautiful hand-made lace) and has all of the amenities you could ask for in a vacation home. It is clean and a very well maintained property. There are two roomy upstairs bedrooms with a full bathroom, as well. It is located within a five minute walk to the Markt. There is a grocery store down the block and several restaurants only minutes away. If you are looking for an authentic and welcoming experience in Bruge this is the place to stay. Marie-Christine and Francis went to extraordinary efforts during our stay. My daughter and husband and I will always fondly remember the kindness and generosity shown to us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
Scarborough, Queensland, Australia
5

Charming Flemish house in old Brugge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I recently spent a wonderful week in 'Lady Lace' and fell in love with the house and the city. We were greeted at the door by Marie-Christine, the owner and the lace-maker of some very interesting pieces in the house. What a warm, happy greeting she gave us as she explained basics about the house and the city.

The house itself is charming and very comfortable. It can sleep six, or four adults and two children, but we were very pleased we had it all to ourselves. The ground floor contains entry, sitting and dining areas, kitchen, laundry and downstairs toilet, plus a tiny garden area. Up a very steep, narrow, spiral staircase to the second floor are two double bedrooms and bathroom. More stairs to the top floor where there is a third bedroom with bunks.

The house is beautifully furnished and pleasantly warm when the weather outside was cold and wet. It's literally a 5 minute walk to the Markt which is the centre of the Unesco Heritage listed part of old Brugge. We walked everywhere and discovered wonderfully
interesting museums, churches, restaurants and even the Concert Hall. It was easy to fill every one of our seven days in the rain, without leaving the old city itself. However, if the weather permits, there's a bike rental shop a few doors down from the house where you
could rent bikes and ride to the coast etc.

There are so many excellent restaurants in Brugge, it's difficult to make a decision on where to eat. Also, within a short distance there are some excellent boulangeries where you can
get your morning baguettes and pastries.

We hope to return to Brugge because we love this little city and Lady Lace would be our obvious choice for accommodation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
Oregon
5

Don't let the weather affect your trip

Don't let the weather affect your trip
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We spent four days in Bruges in mid-September. The weather was mostly overcast, with heavy scattered showers several times daily. But with the great location of the Lady Lace, being so close to the main old town market square, we ventured out in the cold and wet, and enjoyed the area immensely. Thanks for providing umbrellas, they were well used!

The Lady Lace was perfect for two senior couples. Even though the stairs are steep, we had no trouble getting up and down them. They would be difficult for people with disabilities, but OK for most people.

The descriptions of this place are accurate - it is very charming, well decorated, and comfortable. All the amenities are provided, and it is only a few door away from several markets.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

Perfect in Every Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
LOVED our trip to Brugge and LOVED Lady Lace. This beautiful little house lent an air of "authenticity" to our experience in this medieval town. It is perfect in every way: charming, spotless, comfortable and fully equipped, centrally situated in the old town and also next door to a convenience store, one block from a grocery store, bicycle rental and many restaurants. In fact, I would say that the pictures do not do it justice! The hosts were a pleasure to deal with and met us upon arrival armed with a guest book filled with information that was very helpful to us as first time visitors to Brugge. We loved every minute of our stay at Lady Lace and would definately stay there again as well as recommend it to friends and relatives.
We also recommend the bike rental at Snuffles (the hostel 1 block away from Lady Lace). The bikes were excellent, at half the price than other outlets, and the staff were very helpful in recommending routes. We rented for one day and rode out to the seaside, which was lovely, but wish we had rented a day earlier and used the bikes for in-town sight-seeing too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lady Lace - Cosy Charming 17th Century Flemish Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p249511
+32 498 714717
Bruges (Brugge) Flanders & Brussels
Oakland, CA
5

Adorable place, wonderful location, lovely hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a fabulous stay in Bruges, thanks in part to this lovely home. 4 adults rested very comfortably. The hosts were extremely gracious and informative. Plus, they had a washer and dryer, which came in handy.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway