Negril villa rental - Rosecliff Villa
Rosecliff Villa
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Negril Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms with A/C, 2 full bathrooms, verandas, credit cards accepted

Rosecliff Villa is the best combination of renting a vacation home and staying at a resort. It’s the smartest way to enjoy a luxury worry-free vacation home in Jamaica’s exciting, relaxing West End. Owned by an American couple who are able to share their spacious home and on-site staff in the months when they are not in residence.

You'll enjoy 3 air-conditioned bedrooms, 2 full baths, large well-equipped kitchen, living room and sweeping verandas for you and your family. All rooms are fully prepared for your stay with fresh linens, towels, large dressers and closets. Built in 2008, Rosecliff Villa has beautiful views of the sea as well as a local castle.

We do have the internet at the villa.

Start your Jamaican vacation the right way. Don't worry. Be happy.

Area Attractions:

Rick's Cafe, Negril

Appleton Rum Estate

Negril Golf Club

Walk the Martha Bray River

Mayfield Falls

YS Falls

Seven Mile Beach

Black River Rafting

Horse-back riding

Cool Runnings Water Park

Duty-Free Shopping

Snorkeling Tours

Glass Bottom Boat Tours to the Reefs

Pirate Caves

Scuba Diving

Catch Falling Star

Dining

Clubs

Beaches

Negril: SEVEN MILE BEACH: Negril is famous for its miles of cool, white sand beaches. One of the most beautiful towns in Jamaica, it has a more laid back atmosphere than that of Montego Bay. When you go to Seven Mile Beach, you'll stay all day. You have probably never seen water this clear. You will probably not find water this warm. You will be amazed at how far out you can walk in the water before it gets up to your neck.

There are restaurants galore all along the beach - from upscale resorts to jerk chicken huts with a true Jamaican atmosphere. Many restaurants and resorts will supply you with comfortable lounge chairs, bar service, and security.

There is no place like Seven Mile Beach any where in the world.

Irie, mon!

Restaurants: IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD:

* Rick's Cafe: Incredible sunsets, live music, good food. Voted one of 10 best bars in the World! ....

* Push Cart Restaurant at Pirate's Cove: Jamaican cuisine with a gorgeous view! ....

* Catcha Falling Star: A lovely little Negril cliff restaurant overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the 'Gem of Jamaica'. Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to 'linger longer' in Negril, Jamaica! . . . A priceless experience!

* The Rockhouse: a beautifully set romantic restaurant on the cliffs. They will collect you for free from your hotel and drive you there ....

*Seastar: offers a one of a kind party with Seastar Drummers, Stephen West, Roots Vibration Band, Fernando and Various Guest Artists and the Seastar Dancers! The All You Can Eat Buffet (US$18) with Jerk Chicken, Pot Roast Beef, Pan Fried Snapper, Mashed Potatoes, Rice & Peas, Steamed Vegetables, Salad, Rolls and Cake kicks off at 7pm and the party continues until Midnight. Free shuttle to and from Rosecliff Villa

* LTU Restaurant a wonderful, locally-styled restaurant perched high on the edge of the cliff, just 200 yards from Ricks Cafe on the cliff road ....

* Hungry Lion a great vegetarian/Ital restaurant. $250J gets you a great combo that usually consists of soy chunks, rice and peas, veggies, plus often stew or ackee ....

* Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville: American and Carribean food, great drinks! ....

* Jus Natural ,organic, natural, outdoor dining in the garden....

and many, many more within walking distance!

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 248859 in Negril, Jamaica

Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
Newmarket (Close to Toronto) Canada
5

Become a Jamaican

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
The three bedroom home is grand. There is plenty of room. The living room and kitchen is large and spacious. However, we spent most of our waking hours on the beautiful sweeping veranda. We met the neighbours and had them over for dinner. Ken and Joan are good people.

I plan another visit Jamaica again and hope to get the same accomodation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful villa. We hope you'll book again soon!
Helpful votes: 18/21
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
3

Vacation at it's moderate best!

Vacation at it's moderate best!
  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The stay at Rosecliff was enjoyable. There were 5 of us traveling to enjoy Negril's Dream Festival. The location was not in the center of the Dream Weekend activities, but it was convenient to get to especially since we rented a car. Although the house is beautiful and for the most part true to its pictures, I must say there were some discrepancies that made the stay slightly disappointing for the group. First, I would not call it beach front or water front, but it is "near" the ocean. Secondly, I am not sure if Internet was available since neither of us traveled with a computer/laptop but there was no WiFi available in the home. This was frustrating to the group as you can imagine in this day and age wifi is the big crave and the way to stay in touch with family oversees and even friends who are also in town for the festivities. In addition, the 4 ring stove only had one a half rings working so that was a bit of problem when it was time to cook. There was no TV on site and although we came to vacation and party, it would have been nice to have the option of a TV to keep up with local news. The Leisure and Sports & Adventure Activities are not on site, so they must be something that can be set up with the housekeeper. Besides those points, the stay at Rosecliff was alright. I would recommend staying there but I would advise travelers to be open to moderate not luxury accommodations. The definite highlights of the stay were the well working ACs in each bedroom, sweeping veranda and having a go-to local guide on site in the form of the housekeeper/chef. Thanks Campbell for all your help and assistance.
Owner's Response: Thank you for you review; we're happy you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the TV - it was out for repair. We wound up buying a new flat screen model.
Also, thanks for letting us know about the coils on the electric range. We replaced all four!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I wanted to express my heartfelt gratitude to the villa owners and especially to Campbell, the very capable live-in caretaker and chef. The week my three friends and I spent there was heavenly! The house is large, beautiful and well-maintained. With four guests in total, we had more than enough room. As the other guests wrote, the spectacular veranda, and Campbell's excellent meals, were highlights of the trip. Negril has a wonderfully authentic, off-the-beaten path atmosphere, meaning that it doesn't feel fake or overly gentrified like some other Caribbean destinations can be.

The Jamaicans are warm and friendly and there are a wide assortment of high-end (Spa Retreat) and more casual (Canoe) daytime beach hangouts (within roughly a 10-minute walk) for whatever you have in mind. I was travelling in an all-female group, and I have to say that having Campbell available on the property as an advisor and guide was invaluable. I don't think I would be remiss in saying that Rosecliff Villa is, to its credit, is built in a residential neighborhood and not in any kind of gated community. So the fact that you are staying in a "real" neighborhood means that exercising a reasonable amount of caution (as you would in any foreign country), especially at night, is a good idea. There are many taxis available (it's best to have a working cellphone to fetch them, but restaurants will also help in this regard) so you don't have walk to and from the villa after the sun goes down. That being said, it was wonderful to go on morning walks and make friends with so many of our wonderful neighbors. The neighborhood has a wonderfully relaxed, bohemian vibe.

I would heartily recommend this villa to anyone looking for a beautiful, culturally genuine, and most importantly, relaxing vacation in an elegant setting. And the price is amazing considering what you're getting! Far better than any hotel or resort;-)
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
5

Lovely Rosecliff

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Rosecliff Villa is a lovely place, very comfortable and fits the listing description exactly.
Rooms are well appointed and well supplied.
Campbell, the onsite chef and property manager is most accommodating and can provide you with almost every convenience, like transportation, shopping, massage therapist, Horse riding in the hills behind the villa, hair braiding etc. There is also a file folder in the house that lists many interesting observations and suggestions by the owners and past guests.
We found Campbell to be a very accomplished chef, after dining at several restaurants we just let him take over and we were never disappointed. Breakfast and dinner were totally appreciated by our rather picky kids.
We have already recommended the property to several of our relatives and friends who have Jamaica on the horizon this year, they will not be disappointed.
We enjoyed 7 mile beach pretty much every day, YS falls was particularly beautiful, also Blue hole. Picnic at Booby cay with Capt, Clark and his crew. Used the excellent facilities at "Kuyaba" on the beach, beach chairs, cold drinks and snacks, lunch etc. plenty of "jerk" stands close by, Kuyaba had free Wi-fi as a bonus.
Rock House restaurant was a great place for a nice dinner, Canoe was another nice but simpler place with very good food both had wi-fi and "Canoe" (walking distance from the villa) will let you sit there all day if you are so inclined with a beach chair and keep you supplied with drinks food etc.
Rosecliff was voted by the family as a place we will very likely return to in the future.
Cheers to Susan, Neils and Campbell !
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
Cherryfield, Maine
5

Rosecliff---the Gem of Negril

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The listing was 100% accurate, and we were incredibly pleased about that---I have the feeling that many other rentals you find online are misrepresented---NOT so with Rosecliff...The one thing we didn't realize before arrival was that there is NO separation between the upstairs (rental space) and downstairs (Chef Campbell's quarters). This alarmed us at first, but soon we realized that he was very good people, and that we could trust him. He also always notified us that he was coming up before he ascended the stairs, which we much appreciated. Speaking of Chef Campbell, his food was the best we ate on the island, and we frequented many restaurants there (Xtabi, Ciao Jamaica, LTU Pub, Kuyaba, Chicken Lavish, Choices, Canoe, Kool Runnings, Blue Hole, and various jerk chicken stands)....Seriously...You get to the villa and start looking around--you ask yourself, "Why do they have THIS many spices and seasonings?" Because a Chef works there.
The property was very clean and beautiful, but unfortunately we were there at the same time that some wasps were building homes on the property, and this wouldn't have been problematic, but we had one traveler that is extremely allergic to stings, so we were on edge for that reason.
The grounds are beautiful, the view from the veranda is spectacular, and the walk to Canoe is more like 10 minutes when you meander. We used "Glass Alley" to get to L & M market--much cheaper than the Hi-Lo, and more authentic, although the Hi-Lo DID offer us shots of whiskey and beer taste testing...
We said "Good Morning" and "Good Evening" to everyone we saw (at the appropriate times) and they were very friendly and talkative with us...We thanked them for sharing their island with us and they welcomed us to their country.
I felt very at home and secure there and wish I was living in that house for the rest of my life. Helpful hints(?):Next time, we would bring our own snorkel gear--The ones there have been well-used and didn't seal properly--but having beach towels was amazing--so happy we didn't have to pack any... Next time we would also rent a car for local driving---we spent a great deal on taxis. The furniture was very comfortable, the ants are charming, the appliances and fixtures are great, and the air conditioning was crucial. I cannot compliment Niels and Susan on their beautiful home in Negril. I hope they are able to retire soon and enjoy it for many years to come.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
4

Amazing Negril trip!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our stay in Negril was amazing!
The villa is exactly as it is shown in the pictures. It is beautiful! We spent so much time out on the porch, the view from there is breathtaking!
Campbell cooked for us a few nights as we sat on the porch, he is an amazing cook!! What a treat! Be sure to try his breakfast.
It was a bit of a walk to the beach, some days we walked and visited small shops along the way. Other days we took a taxi. We found if we walked down to the street and caught a taxi there it was much cheaper than having them come to the house. $5 for 2 people to 7 mile beach.
There are many restaurants so close to the villa, Chicken Lavish is only blocks away and has the best fried chicken I have ever had! Amazing prices!
I don`t suggest walking home at night, the road can be very dark, we were told it is a new area so doesn`t have street lights yet.
Campbell suggested we take a taxi to the Blue Hole, this was our best day ever! what an amazing tour.
There is no internet at the villa but a short walk to the Canoe restaurant has wifi free. They also serve breakfast and did not mind the days we ordered only coffeee and used the wifi. There is a small beach there too.
We rented a scooter for some of our days there, i strongly recommend it! So easy to get around and go to the beach and back.
My husband and I spent night away from the group and rented a room at The Palms on the beach, it was beautiful but that evening we got covered in mosquito bites! The rest that stayed at the villa had none, I guess being a little ways from the beach had its benefits!
It was am amazing experience, we were very sad to go!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
4

From Europe

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful family holiday in wonderful Negril in the graceful spacious Rosecliff Villa, so aptly named. The villa is very welcoming, we got the home from home feeling straight away. Well equipped with lots of linen and towels which we appreciated having travelled light. The West End area has something to offer for young and old, great food, great cafes. and its quiet , except for the dogs at night if you sleep light.
For food, we loved Ericas place, great local food at a great price. We didnt eat in very much as the supermarket fare didnt appeal to us that much, it was much more exciting to eat out. We even tried the "swimp from a bag" from the roadside stalls on an outing one day. The beach - heavenly warm sea and and an amazing medley of activity going on. WE LOVED EVERYTHING. Susan was very helpful in guiding us there and we are grateful.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
4

Great Town, good experience

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My husband and I stayed at the Rosecliff villa for 1 week of relaxation and fun in the sun. we had a great time, home is located in a quiet area, somewhat secluded, however we were ok with being away form the hustle and bustle of the resort feel
The home is clean and true to pictures online, very inviting, since it was only my husband and I we had a lot of space
Location of the home is great, we had a rental car so it was easy to get to everything in Negril, we went for long walks, since I exercise daily, my morning run into the town from the home was a lot of fun, there was never any reason to feel insecure
Susan was great to give us some places to check out, moon dance cliffs, got a great massage, breakfast at Xtabi was delicious and the breath taking view was magnificent, lunch at the Rock House Cafe was also delicious
Campbell was very pleasant and there to meet us when we arrived, however I was a little disappointed when his level of performance decrease because we did not wish to have him make our meals daily.
Otherwise we had a great stay and would definitely recommend our friends to stay at the villa
Thanks Susan for providing a wonderful home where we could relaxing quiet vacation
Genevieve
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
5

Amazing Property, Amazing Negril

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This review is long over due....Me and 5 college seniors/recent grads rented this house for a week in March 2011 and had the most amazing time. Campbell the housekeeper is the nicest man in Negril and will ensure you have the most enjoyable time with his honest, transparent advice on ALL the area's do's and don'ts. He saved us so much $ and hassle from tours to the nightlife and honestly without him we wouldve felt lost. Through this HomeAway site we reserved the property, got precise directions from Susan the owner, and altogether made this one of the funnest travel adventures I've ever experienced. Naturally I'm a frugal traveler on a budget and being a recent college grad and all I researched and visited many places in my short years. If you're into being pampered and idling at a resort, this probably isnt ideal but is still possible to do at the house, however if youre into adventuring a bit and seeing more than four resort walls, this is definitely for you. Campbell will set you up on any tours and sites you'd wanna see and will always save you plenty of dollars, or J's haha. He has reliable friends who taxi and will be anywhere at anytime to transport you which was a plus as well as we went through multiple clubs, bars, shows, events each night. He even took us to a Red Bull Sponsored Negril Spring Break Reggae Concert where Beenie Man was headlining! How ridiculous is that!!! His "Rum & Red Bull" song was appropriately on the airwaves that entire week. In short for this incredible price this property is unbeatable. I'd recommend anyone to go from younger groups, to family and friend groups. I'll be returning within the year hopefully and I'm obviously booking the Rosecliff Villa without question. P.S. To the moron complaining that "everything" was far, that's BS. In fact it's a really convenient 5 minute cab rides to touristy epicenter and beaches, there's plenty going on within walking distance as well like Pewee's Restaurant which exemplifies laid back Negril. Personally we loved cabbing back to the house and being away from the tourist hustle and bustle, after a days worth of that it was really really relaxing to retreat back to the house, grab a nice pinot grigio or a red stripe, and sit on the quiet breezy balcony to enjoy the sunset. It'll be your little slice of heaven.

For a more detailed review, please read the one I left on the Rosecliff Villa's blog: http://oceanclubnegril.blogspot.com/p/reviews.html
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Adventure,Tropical climate, Beaches, Beautiful nature, it is all here to enjoy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248859
Negril Jamaica South Coast
5

Great town. Great house. Spectacular experience!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I'd like to start this off by saying the week we all spent at the Rosecliff was nothing short of fantastic. From the minute our plane touched down til we returned tot he airport a week later, every part of our trip ran smoothly. 

The location was perfect for what my group was looking for.  We didn't want a resort, we wanted to be part of Negril. We wanted to walk to little shops and bars. We wanted to talk to the people and learn about where we were all while sampling food along the way.  The Rosecliff is great for those seeking a real life experience, not a pampered one. The accommodations were excellent too. very true to pictures online. Cool and comfortable bedrooms at night and very clean.  We spent most of our time on the large verandas that wrap around the house.   Spectacular view of local houses, the blue water and a cool castle.

My favorite part of the house, and I think the 4 others I stayed with would agree, was our man, Campbell.  He lives there in the Rosecliff and is very kind and smart and above all an amazing chef. Campbell cooked breakfast and dinner for us every day and I was impressed by every dish.  It was a great way to sample a variety of island dishes. I can honestly say that 2 or 3 of the best meals I have every had, came from Campbell's expertise. Campbell was also very helpful with getting us a cab if we needed, suggesting a day excursion and even took us to a little bar he frequents. We grew very close to Campbell and his brother Dwight and were sad to say goodbye to them, the Rosecliff and an unbelievable week.  

We checked out a few beaches along 7 mile but our favorite by far was a short walking distance from the house called Canoe Beach. It's a little stretch of sand with a little bar restaurant, free beach chairs and a super nice staff.  It's literally right off the road so it feels very authentic and drinks for a lot cheaper than the the drinks at some of the more touristy beach haunts. 

I'd highly recommend this house and accommodations to a group of people, looking for a stress free trip but are also into being part of the town. Everyone we encountered were nice and interested in talking to you if you were interested in them. We have already began discussions of when we will return next year. We hope to return to the West End, the Rosecliff and to our new friends, Campbell and Dwight.  I'll never stay at a resort again.
Helpful votes: 6/7