Marsh Harbour cottage rental - Our rental guest cottage is to the right of our main house.
Our rental guest cottage is to the right of our main house.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Marsh Harbour Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-6)

Coral Cottage is in The northern Bahamas Abaco's on a private Island retreat located on Sugarloaf Cay only 500 yds from Marsh Harbor's exclusive Eastern Shore. In the Abacos all the fun is by boat. Snorkeling,fishing,Island hoping,exploring the various islands. To make the most of this we have rental boats near by. Only 5 minutes from Marsh Harbour where you have everything you would need in the way of supplies, restaurants , and resorts. Our entire cottage was completely redecorated spring 2009.

Very close to such well known sites as Elbow Cay/Hope Town, Guana Cay, Man o War cay. Offshore fishing 5 miles away.

google these for web links

airline connections at very good rates:to marsh Harbour MHH

Silver Airways from all over fla

continental from so Ft. Laud

bahamasair from Palm beach

flyairgate from central fl

american airlines from Miami

Keywords: Waterfront Cottage

. We had traveled to the Bahamas for many years until one year we found Marsh Harbour and fell in Love with Sugarloaf cay. We build home and guest cottage there and love every minute relaxing in paradise. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you.

Roger Hansen purchased this cottage in 2000

Marsh Harbor is located in the northern most portion of the Bahamas. The Abaco's are known as the 'bunny slope' because the main Island Great Abaco is surrounded by a ring of islands called Cays pronounced' Keys', then the cays are surrounded by a ring of reefs which protect the 'Sound ' from extreme waves. The sound is about 100 miles long and 5 miles wide. We are located in the middle of the Abacos about 100 miles east of palm beach , reachable from Miami, Ft. Lauderdale and Palm beach by major commuter airlines. American, Continental, and several commuter airlines.I will be glad to send you a list. We have excellent stores for everything you will need. Groceries of all kinds are close by. This beautiful area will make you return year after year.

A wonderful boating area. Rental boats are available with no experience necessary. Great for swimming, fishing, snorkeling, shelling island hoping..All in a protected sound of crystal clear water. Wonderful beach front bars and resorts loaded with fun and good times. On Our island you will have complete privacy and security surrounded by water, yet only 250 yards from the mainland. A wonderful breeze will make your stay most enjoyable.

18 Reviews of Property 234798 in Marsh Harbour, Bahamas

Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
average rating of 4.875 based on 18 reviews
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Nacogdoches
3

Great Location with Beautiful View

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Coral Cottage on Sugar Loaf Cay is a wonderful location for relaxing and boating. It is close to one of the most beautiful private islands we've ever seen and within 20-30 minutes of most of the other gorgeous cays.

The Cottage is decorated very nicely and has amazing views. However, it is in need of maintenance and a good cleaning. Having said that, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay immensely and look forward to returning to Abaco again soon.

The caretaker, Woodie, and the owner, were pleasant to work with and were helpful. They always replied quickly and the caretaker lives on the island so is readily available.

Abaco and its surrounding Cays are absolutely breathtaking. We did not want to come back home and are already planning a return trip to Abaco.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay on our island, I am sorry that you appeared to be unhappy with the maintenance . The onsite caretaker was there for you and you never called upon him to correct any issues. Yet you complimented him in the next sentence.Please contact me about any specific issues needing attention. For future renters please note that ALL previous renters were very complimentary and rated the accommodations as 5 stars.
Upon asking previous renters they all said that they had all positive notes on cleaning and maintenance. We do not know where the bad reviews came from. If you read into the responce you will see the so called renter contradict him self, we think he was not a renter but a scammer trying to hurt the most popular cottage that is rented.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Personal service after missing flight on way in.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time and made many great memories with the kids. We snorkeled everyday and explored as much of the area as we possibly could! Perry was absolutely wonderful to us. Thank you for sending him our way. He was literally an angel on earth the night we arrived. I don't know what we would have done without him. Keith at Dive Abaco gave Abby and me a trip of a lifetime. Since we hadn't been able to finish our certification, he asked us to perform a few of the skills in the pool. We did and he agreed to take us, along with my husband and son (who are certified) on an excursion. It was a major highlight of our trip. The indescribable beauty aside (it speaks for itself), Keith made that happen for us and I would highly recommend him to anyone. The Sail Shop and Man-o-War Cay was one of our favorite stops also. Amazing people! Thanks for sharing your "escape from reality" with us.

Tanya Jansen
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Glen Burnie, Maryland USA
5

Seclusion Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is truly a great place to escape from everyone and everything!! If you choose to see other people and enjoy what the Abacos are all about-you can do that also. I really loved the fact that I could just jump in the boat we rented and visit all the Cays...or stay at the great cottage and do nothing!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Phil, Sandi and I are so happy you had such a wonderful time at our cottage. We hope to welcome you back again and again. Sincerely, Roger and Sandi Hansen
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
United States
5

Some vacations...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
When we made the reservation Roger told us that our time in Abacos "would rearrange our priorities". I didn't really appreciate what he meant until the time flew by and it was time to leave. For the first time ever we had experienced a vacation that existed almost like an alternate reality - nobody wanted to go home! the cottage is very comfortable - they even had cold beer in the fridge for our arrival? We followed Roger's instructions and found we had everything we needed for the trip. We had planned to go out for dinners but the kitchen was so easy and user friendly we often ate at the cottage, enjoying the deck. Temperatures in April were perfect - we never even turned on the A/C. This is a perfect vacation experience for my family - and we look forward to returning again and again - thanks Roger and Sandi!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: David, We are so glad to have introduced our little slice of Heaven to you and your family. We really look forward to your return in hopes we can meet you on your next trip. Roger and Sandi
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Drums, PA
5

A secluded getaway you'll never forget.

A secluded getaway you'll never forget.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just returned from a week at the cottage. The property is clean, comfortable and bright. It was air conditioned but we never found the need for it. There is a plethora of screened doors and windows to let the fresh sea breeze blow through, as well as many ceiling fans.

The cabin has two large bedrooms and lots of closet and storage space. The large decks are great for breakfast and to watch the sunset over evening cocktails. The kitchen is well equipped, Nearly anything you will need is there and there are a lot of extras left behind by previous guests. The Wifi worked wonderfully for communicating with family at home (we used Skype). There is a DVD player, CD player and TV with satellite service. The private beach is equipped with a porch swing, another great place to watch the sun set.

Sugarloaf Cay is well located to use as a starting point for a day of adventure. Use the VHF radio in the cottage to listen to the cruiser's net at 8:15am on channel 68. Get the local weather and find out what is happening where. Don't forget to pick up a copy of Steve Dodge's Cruising Guide to the Abacos, there is a new version every year. With it you will be able to find all the restaurants, snorkeling and fishing spots and other local attractions.

Roger was very easy to deal with and offered a great amount of guidance about the area. No reservations about renting from him in the future. I would also recommend Sea Horse Boat Rentals. A great company out of Hope Town Harbour.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Bill, We are so Happy you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you back soon. Sincere best regards, Roger
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Hernando, Florida
5

Coral Cottage Marsh Harbour, Abacos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Coral Cottage is located on a small piece of heaven named Sugarloaf Cay, only minutes from Bahamas' third largest city, Marsh Harbor. Only accessible by boat, Coral Cottage is a short boat trip to everything and everywhere you could imagine on a Bahamian vacation. If you're looking for the casinos and night life, you're on the wrong island, but if you're looking for a family or romantic get away, leaving all cares behind, this is the place. By boat, everything is only five to thirty minutes away. Five minutes to bone fishing, fifteen minutes to Hopetown and Vernon's famous Key Lime pie, and thirty minutes to Nipper's World famous bar and third largest barrier reef in the WORLD. Coral Cottage is well equipped with most everything you need. The cottage is air conditioned throughout, the views from the deck are spectacular, and it's central location makes it the perfect starting point for all of your day trips.
The owners of the cottage were extremely helpful in answering any questions regarding travel to and from the island, boat rental agencies, sites to see, restaurants to visit, and hot spots for fishing and snorkeling. Each tip or suggestion was spot on.
I feel like this review makes me sound like a marketing agency or a long lost relative of the cottage owner, but honestly, when originally planning a family trip you have a concept in your mind as to how the trip will pan out and I have found on many of my prior trips my plans haven't actually measured up to the actual trip. This trip to the Bahamas is not that case. Due to the up front contact and all of the information supplied by the owner this trip was fabulous. If I get the chance again, I'll be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review! Sandi and I are so happy your family was able to share those wonderful memories together. We would love to host you again. Thank you again. Roger and Sandi
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

A Happy Family

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Roger and Sandi,

Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven with us. Outside of the 24 hour power outage on Tuesday, the trip was just as pleasurable as we had imagined. We were surprised to see all the building that had taken place since our last trip there in 2000. The boys caught several bonefish at low tide at the inlet just down the beach from the house, hooked several big Barracuda, and I'm afraid caught one or two of your snapper down by the dock. We snorkeled Mermaid Reef, Nipper's Barrier Reef and Fowl's Cay. Had dinner at Capt Jacks, Grabbers, Nipper's, Wally's, Snappa's and Harbour View. We also had the best Key Lime pie from Vernon's that was only out done by the Coconut Cream pie you graciously sent our way before you headed out. We appreciate all that you did for us from "things to do along with directions" to recommending some great places to eat. If the family gets together again to head in that direction we'll certainly contact you. If you don't mind, I also took one of your business cards (Coral Cottage) that was at the house and have already told several people about the trip and given out the information. Thank you for the return of the deposit. We have not received the email for the VRBO evaluation, but will be happy to fill it out when it arrives.

Sincerely,
Peter and Vickie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Chesapeake Bay - Maryland
5

Beautiful week at Coral Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I stayed at Roger and Sandi’s beautiful cottage May 19-26, 2012.
The cottage is light and bright and comes with everything that you could ever need. The caretaker, Woodie stopped by to introduce himself and see if there was anything we needed.
Even though the owner was in the Main House, you had all the privacy in the world which is wonderful.
As Roger suggested, stopped by Maxwell’s for groceries. You will want to pick up something in case the weather is not ideal and you cannot get over to Marsh Harbour. The kitchen it fully equipped and it was nice to make breakfast every morning and then plan out our day.
Having a grill was very nice and convenient as a couple days were windy and we were not able to get out. So we slept in and grilled and chilled. All was good. Afterwards, we would take a sunset walk down to the small beach behind the cottage.
Rented a boat for the week from Sea Horse Boat Rental. They were easy to deal with. There were a couple days where it was a bit windy to take the boat out, and they did not charge for those days. Big plus to Sea Horse.
We were able to go to Nipper’s for their famous Sunday Pig Roast. Did some snorkeling and shelling on Tilloo Cut. Mermaid Reef is close by and there are a lot of fish. Bring crackers and/or bread. Took a trip over to Man-O-War. Spent an afternoon in Marsh Harbour. Docked at Mangoes for a wonderful lunch and a little shopping. Headed to Mermaid Reef for some more snorkeling. On the way back, we went slowly through the Sugar Loaf Creek to the dock to look for sea turtles as Woodie (the caretaker) suggested.
Coral Cottage is a beautiful house with a great, private location. Roger and Sandi are great hosts.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love that you tried most of our suggestions. You understand how so many people have fallen in Love with the location.We hope to host you again. sincerely, Roger and Sandi
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Chilmark, MA USA
5

On the Water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
A unique vacation experience in the Bahamas. The cottage is literally on the water, it's just like being on a boat without the motion or any inconvenience. Your rental boat is your transportation. The owner, Roger,
provided detailed information relating to travel, boat rentals, restaurants, where-to-go, and such. The suggestions were accurate and very helpful. Once there your decisions are simply which island are we going to today and are we eating here or out. There's plenty of choices, all within a 15 - 30 minute boat ride. Getting around in the boat is simple, the cruising guide Roger recommended is all you need. There's nothing missing in the cottage. It was larger than we expected and fully equipped. We had a great time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Robert, Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you had such a good vacation. Your review will help others understand how simple it is to really get away but still have all the comviences of home.We look forward to your next visit. sincerely, Roger and Sandi
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Cottage Private Island 500 Yards Off Mainland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234798vb
(904) 631-5377
Marsh Harbour Abaco
Rensselaer, Indiana
5

Super Location for visiting the Marsh Harbour area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Roger & Sandi were the perfect hosts for our stay at Coral Cottage on Sugar Loaf Cay. The cottage is located on a remote cay, yet just a short boat trip from Marsh Harbour and Hope Town. The cottage is fully stocked, clean and comfortable. Getting around by rental boat was very easy and allowed us to visit different cays and sights that a ferry ride simply wouldn't permit. Roger was a great help with offering suggestions for day excursions. We simply can't say enough for the relaxing and enjoyable time we spent on Sugar Loaf and the Marsh Harbour area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Craig and family were perfect guests. We are so glad they were able to enjoy their visit with us. Only being a few minutes from the resort and boat rental company made their trip very easy. We look forward to their return.
Helpful votes: 2/2