Lyon studio rental - View from the studio balcony: the city of Lyon is at your feet.
View from the studio balcony: the city of Lyon is at your feet.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Lyon Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 2

This bright, spacious studio on the top floor of a well-maintained building offers free phone, free high-speed internet and free cable TV (including CNN and BBC World) . Entirely remodeled in 2009, the studio offers a magnificent view of the city, with light streaming through a wall of windows opening onto a wide balcony. Tastefully furnished and decorated with original art. Full kitchen with breakfast bar facing the view. Leather armchairs, Persian rug and a sofa in daytime use. Easily deployed comfortable queen-size futon by night. Built-in armoire for bedding and personal effects. Bright bathroom has over-sized shower, vanity sink, storage cabinets and a clothes washer. On a quiet, leafy street, with all shops and services a few steps away, including a twice-weekly open-air market , the celebrated Halles de Lyon, and the largest shopping center in the region. Close to metro, tram, buses, train station. Please note the 4-night minimum rental.

Things To Do: Tourist brochures and city/transit maps are provided, as well as a restaurant guide. Complete tourist information is available at the Office du Tourisme located on historic Place Bellecour (accessible by metro or about 15-min walk across the Rhone).

For listings of current events, movies, music, and museums, pick up free weekly tabloids available in many nearby shops. Be sure to visit these excellent websites for more photos and information: www.lyon.fr and www.en.lyon-france.com

Public transportation: The studio is fully served by all forms of public transportation, all within walking distances: Gare SNCF La Part-Dieu (access to TGV and all other national and international trains). Transports en Commun de Lyon (TCL): Metro Line B; Tramway Line 1; various bus lines, including #4 to Cite Internationale/Parc de la Tete d'Or, and #99 to St Jean cathedral/Old Lyon by way of the city center (Presqu'ile). Tickets are valid on all 3 TCL transports and sold at all metro and tram stations.

In addition, there is a Velo'v station close by, the almost-free bicycle rental system pioneered in Lyon and now used in Paris and other cities.

More Details
Hide Details

I was born, raised and educated in Lyon. I now live in the western United States but return to Lyon as often as I can to keep in touch with family and friends. I love this beautiful city.

Eliane Lomax purchased this studio in 2008

I inherited the studio from my parents. Although the building is 'younger' than me, it is located in the heart of the neighborhood where I grew up. My old high school (lycee) is two blocks away. From the balcony, one can see the church where I made my first holy communion and the city hall where I was married (many years ago).

Besides the super-convenient location of the studio near everything in Lyon, what makes my heart rejoice upon opening the front door is the incredible view of the rooftops and monuments, and the sense of space and freedom standing on the balcony -- in the center of the city and yet near the sky.

19 Reviews of Property 248529 in Lyon, France

In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
average rating of 4.8 based on 19 reviews
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
State College, Pennsylvania, USA
5

Like Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
All of the wonderful reviews already given are right on target, and the listing is totally accurate. Like others, we really enjoyed the studio for its location, its quality furnishings, its cleanliness, the comfortable bed, the quiet nights, and the magnificent view. We would definitely recommend it to friends. We arrived on a Thursday at about 2:00 pm in a rental car. Parking was very tight, but a woman saw us pausing in the street, came up to us, asked if we needed to park, gave us her unfinished parking sticker, and pulled out of the spot just ahead of us. We just love those French! When we wheeled our luggage into the building lobby, the elevator doors opened, and a smiling Mme Flore came out with a big smile and open arms. A great welcome. This was our last stop of the trip, so we dropped off the car at 4:00 pm at Place Garibaldi (cheaper than La Part-Dieu station) and avoided further parking worries. The neighborhood felt perfectly safe and there are all sorts of restaurants in the area, even pizza places. When we left, we took the Rhone Express from La Part-Dieu station to the airport--a 30 minute ride for 15 euros each. We couldn't be more enthusiastic about a place to stay in Lyon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
5

Fantastic apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Firstly my apologies for the lateness of this review. We had a marvellous time in Lyon & absolutely loved the apartment. Everything was as in the photos, Mme Flore met us & although her English is limited & my French almost non existent, through the ipad & hand gestures we all managed to understand each other, isn't that what travel is all about! The location is brilliant, 10 minutes walk from the station where we arrived from Paris & caught the train to the airport on leaving, one of the best supermarkets, Carrefour is near the station with a huge Mall for anything you might need, & the highlight Les Halles just down the road. The apartment is not in the tourist area, so you can feel like a local, & there is a little supermarket just across the road. Thank you Eliane & please thank Mme Flore for telling us about Brioche Praline Rose, they are to die for!
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
5

Lovely apartment and great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The studio is great - everything worked well and was easy to understand. The metro just a few yards away was a godsend and so easy to use and get around Lyon. Eliane was very helpful, particularly with advising us about car park space (we parked our care at the main train station for our stay) We found the locals friendly and helpful BUT some restaurants do like to close at the weekend. We also went to an art gallery on a Tuesday and were very disappointed to find this was closed as well. But would highly recommend this apartment , both for itself and it's great location
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

It was awesome!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really feel blessed to have got to stay in your studio. The location was superb, close to everything including metro and tram. We enjoyed having the clothes washer and being able to cook our meals helped us with our limited budget. The location was quiet and not touristy and we enjoyed feeling like we were one of the locals shopping at the farmers markets, Les Halles, Carrefour the grocery store at the mall, and of course the chocolate croissants at the bakery closest to your studio, out the door to the left on the same side of the street less than two blocks; there was always a line out the door early in the morning. It was very hot. The indoor thermometer read 39 c. two days in a row. The fan was a lifesaver and of course being on the 11th floor helped.
Again thank you so much for letting us stay in your wonderful studio. It was awesome! Tell your housekeeper hello for us. She was delightful!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A wonderful experience

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We truly loved Lyon and the apartment was perfect.  Everything is beautifully appointed and your special touches truly do make it feel very comfortable and like a home. Thanks again for allowing us to share your home.  It was a wonderful experience.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Balcony very attractive!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had such a lovely time in Lyon, and your beautiful apartment was a big part of that. We hit a heatwave and your balcony very attractive!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fabulous time in Lyon

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a fabulous time in Lyon. I have to congratulate you on your Studio In The Sky. It was a delight and so lovely to sit at the kitchen bar and eat looking out over the city. Your attention to detail is fabulous, you have thought of everything for the traveller. Madame F. [housekeeper] was also a delight and great to practice my French with.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
5

Amazing home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I have rented apartments all over Europe, and this was by far the most perfect location, apartment, and overall experience I've ever had. My goal when on travel is to live like a native, and this apartment made me feel like a resident of Lyon. The location is perfect - from walking from the TGV to running along the Rhone in the mornings and walking to wonderful restaurants, this apartment has it all. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see all of the wonderful things Lyon has to offer!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
5

A very comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
It is obvious that the owner of this property spends time there when visiting France, because the apartment is full of wonderful touches that makes the stay very comfortable. There is a selection of classical CD's, plenty of towels, linen and other essentials. Nice artworks adorn the walls.
At one stage I was trying to read the access code on the wireless router and felt I needed a magnifying glass to see it. I looked up to the shelf in front of me and voila - as if by magic one appeared in front of me!
The building is very secure and well managed. It is in an excellent position for many of the main attractions.
We were impressed with the cleanliness of the apartment and the lovely housekeeper who greeted us on arrival. She doesn't speak English but went out of her way to make sure we understood everything.
The apartment is small but the furniture is designed around this. We are fussy about our mattresses and were concerned that the sofa bed wouldn't be comfortable. We found it perfect, however, and slept well. It was better than some 'normal' beds we slept in on this trip.
We plan to return to Lyon and will stay in this apartment again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
In the heart of Lyon, a studio in the sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248529
+1 509 5094741891
Lyon Rhone
4

Lyon In October

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This is a great location for those wishing to explore Lyon. The appartment is close to the TVG, Part Dieu mall and the incredible Les Halles Paul Bocuse. Vieux Lyon and Croix Rouge are about 15-20 minutes away on foot, while the town centre itself is about 10. The appartment is clean, warm and well appointed. The owner and the housekeeper were both friendly and very easy to deal with. I have no complaints about any aspect of my stay here and would be happy to recommend it.
Helpful votes: 2/2