Tambor house rental - View from Pool to Side of the House
View from Pool to Side of the House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Tambor House Rental Photos and Description
Custom Home and Swimming Pool,4 BR + Sofa bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

One of a kind custom home set in a private 100 acre dry tropical rain forest high above Playa Tambor. You will wake up to the sound of howler monkeys and the 'dawn chorus! This is a birdwatcher's paradise and this forest edge property is unique in the variety and number of birds seen. Great hiking and walking trails along with a secluded waterfall within walking distance from our home.

A fully equipped kitchen opens to a spacious dining and living area. A large tiled and covered deck has an outdoor seating area and large dining area for enjoying the outdoors. The swimming pool is surrounded by beautiful tropical floral gardens that attract humming birds and friendly toucans; and trees that attract families of howler monkeys. Breathtaking views surround our home. There are four spacious bedrooms-the master has its own bathroom. The living room has two futons which can be used for additional sleeping spaces. All linens and towels are provided. If desired, a cook and maid service can be provided.

Playa Tambor is a small village with a 'local' feeling. There are good restaurants, fishing, and many touring opportunities. We have on-site staff to answer any questions. Please view more photos on Instagram @casatoucan.

Come enjoy our tropical paradise.

Keywords: Private Family Getaway; Beautiful well appointed home with swimming pool-unbelievable views and wildlife!

More Details
Hide Details

We sailed into Bahia Ballena in 1989, met the mayor of Tambor who took us on horseback to see the property. We fell in love with the views, the privacy, and especially, the 'Ticos.' This is a very special place to recharge your batteries. No TV necessary- it is the real 'nature channel.'

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

We had this home built as a family retreat. It is unique in that each generation that visits loves the house and setting without the distractions of modern life- there is real communication between everyone.

10 Reviews of Property 248382 in Tambor, Costa Rica

Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
Colorado
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was the most relaxing vacation we have ever been on. Waking up to the howler monkeys and birds chirping. Having our morning tea amongst the wildlife on the porch overlooking the bay was priceless. We loved our daily walks up the hill from the house, spotting the birds, flowers and butterflies. The house was so spacious and cool, situated with the most amazing view of the bay even from the swimming pool!
We enjoyed cooking fresh fish on the BBQ from the wharf and visiting the farmers market on Mondays for the most amazing fresh produce. The locals were really friendly and helpful.
We plan on returning again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
Oregon
5

Relaxed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was my second time staying at this house and it was even more enjoyable than the first. The house is very comfortable and fully equipped for a small group or family. We made daily use of the pool which has a great view of Bahia Balena. I noticed the landscaping had been improved all around the house . Many new colorful plants. We stayed a week but wish we could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Paradise in the Rain Forest

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We loved our stay at Casa Toucan. Beautiful Home in the Rain Forest. Unbelievable birds and wildlife. The house is well equipped, very clean, and comfortable. We are already looking forward to our next trip. Pura Vida
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
California
5

Amazing Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house is a perfect place to escape from the normal day to day. Tambor is a quiet town away from the crazy tourist areas, but there are a lot of activities to do within a 30-40 minute drive, so definitely rent a 4WD car. The location is also very convenient because it is close to the Tambor airport, which you can fly directly to from the capital, San Jose. The house was very well maintained and clean and my favorite place to spend time was the patio (fully furnished) where you could watch the sun rise and just soak in the incredible view. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone interested in a relaxing vacation. I have been here 3 times with family and friends and will definitely be returning!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
Los Angeles
5

THE BEST!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Off the beaten path with a view you can't believe! That said, you're minutes from the beach and great places to get and drink. Only

Not to be missed

P.S. The monkeys are amazing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
United States
5

Beautiful, Stunning!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Such a magnificent, beautiful place. Charming, open and the epitome of relaxation. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway or for a family stay. Easy to book and the home was in perfect quality. A charmer indeed and I would definitely recommend. Can't wait to book my next stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
San Francisco, CA
5

Favorite Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I've loved Costa Rica since the first time I visited, but enjoyed it even more staying at Casa Toucan. All of it's amenities allow for you to enjoy Costa Rica without even leaving the house. The view from the pool/patio is breathtaking - you are up in the hills overlooking the bay with beautiful sunrises each morning. You can easily get some exercise hiking the road while enjoying the rainforest. There is also wifi internet available (new within the last couple of years).

The area around Tambor also has a lot to offer from beaches, zip lining, fishing, horse back riding, swimming in waterfalls, and my favorite, exlporing the area on an ATV. My 4 of my friends and I stayed 10 days and felt like we wanted to stay longer. I can't wait until I go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
Florida USA
5

Just what we needed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is the 2nd time we have spent time at Casa Toucan above Tambor village.The view is always breathtaking and the home comforts allow us to relax immediately upon arrival. It is spotless and has everything one needs to unwind. You never even need to leave the mountain as the kitchen is so well equipped. Outside there are lemons to pick and wild culantro in abundance. Birdwatching is perfect any time of the day and a hummingbird feeder is available with receipe for the nectar. I could go on and on!! Try it! This is the most relaxing spot we know.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
California
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We've stayed here twice and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! It's a perfect getaway. Because it's in the rainforest, the temperature stays in the low 80's with breezes that kept us cool and comfortable. The swimming pool, huge wraparound lanai style porch, large great room and roomy bedrooms all contribute to a comfortable vacation. One trip was with 8 other women. The house is large enough so we didn't run into each other. The other trip was with my husband who loved watching the howler monkeys swing by the house, spying an anteater, and marveling at all the birds and butterflies. All you have to do is wait and the forest comes by at some time or another. Easy walks/treks to see more wildlife and panoramic vistas.
You must rent a 4-wheel drive car to get up the graded roads. I prefer manual shift but automatics will work. Zip Lines, deep sea fishing, great restaurants, surfing, all within an hours drive.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: WE love our guests. It is special here!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Your Private Paradise in the Rain Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248382vbi
(831) 659-4538 (California, USA)
Tambor Puntarenas
California
5

Breathtaking Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My family and I stayed here for a beginning of summer getaway from California and I can say that I will definitely be back. This is hands down one of the most gorgeous homes I have ever stayed in for vacation and I travel quite frequently. It is so incredibly relaxing, waking up in the morning to the birds chirping, taking a swim in the pool, eating breakfast outside while the sun heats up, napping outside on one of the chairs listening to surrounding nature. This home was everything I could want and more than I had imagined. It is perfect for families and also for a romantic getaway. Booking my stay was so incredibly easy and the owners were so sweet during the process.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5