Great Exuma cottage rental - View of Moriah Harbor Cay from Main House
View of Moriah Harbor Cay from Main House
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Great Exuma Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Studio style cottage with full kitchen, bathroom, Queen size bedroom area

'Sweet Ting' is a lovely guest cottage, situated on a 2 1/2 acre waterfront villa located in Hartswell, Exuma. The studio style cottage has a private entrance and parking area along with wrap around decking. The loft cottage, which is tiled throughout, has 15' high peaked cypress ceilings The kitchen, dining and living spaces are separated by a movable privacy screen. You have a choice of using the air-conditioning or opening up to the lovely island breezes.

At the water's edge, you will find the pristine blue-green gin-clear waters which have made Exuma the yachting capitol of the Western hemisphere. KAYAKS are available for guests, allowing exploration of sand banks of the Bahamas National Trust park at Moriah Harbour Cay which is located directly across from the property Whether you are FISHING from the DOCK or BONE-FISHING on the flats, SNORKELING , or SWIMMING , it is all available by lovely meandering paths from the cottage and through the villa gardens.

The property location is directly across from the eastern end of Moriah Harbor Cay, accessible in minutes by kayaks or the 11' Boston Whaler. The bonefish flats are directly opposite the property and a few minutes more of paddling brings you to the most beautiful, pristine and quite often deserted beach for walking, running or swimming You can also grab the umbrella and some lunch and just spend the day, imagining you are on a deserted island with not a care in the world - your very own private oasis.

Swimming, snorkelling and fishing are just a few of the things that can be done right from the private dock

of 'Done Reach'. From the hilltop deck, you can view those who enjoy bonefishing, kiteboarding or

kayaking. The 11' Boston Whaler is conveniently located at the dock along with two kayaks. Arrangements

can be made for bonefish guides or kiteboard lessons. If you choose not to participate but to be a spectator,

pull up a deck chair and just enjoy the spectacular view.

The owner of the property welcomes any questions and is happy to be of assistance.

Will be happy to provide French or Italian speaking person with any detailed questions.

More Details
Hide Details

19 Reviews of Property 248309 in Great Exuma, Bahamas

'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
4

Quiet Exuma Getaway.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Exuma is a beautiful island. A great place to go if you want to relax with a a good book or rest in a comfortable hammock with an amazing view. Johannas place is as lovely as she is. It is clean and well equipped with everything you would probably need. Her location is on a very quiet part of the island. (Probably 20 minutes from Georgetown) We were able to use her 2 kayaks to kayak to beautiful little deserted islands. We also kayaked down to the new Turquoise Cay ($$$$) Restaurant (Excellent food and ambience). We snorkeled once out in front of the dock. Not a lot to see under water compared to other islands that we've been to. The best part of Exuma is the views! Favorite meals were at Santana's $22 double lobster tails and Latitudes - good food and fun bartender Alex!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We took a February vacation, needing a break from the bad winter in the Northeast, after reading the reviews and speaking with Johanna we chose 'Sweet Ting'.

We stayed for 8 wonderful nights, we were met by Johanna with hugs, and kisses from her pups Lucky and Sophie. The cottage was perfectly decorated, and stocked with all the essentials. The kitchen was well furnished - we cooked in a few nights and enjoyed relaxing on the deck, with the dogs, enjoying the peace and quiet. The views from the top deck of Moriah Harbour are breathtaking. We kayaked from the dock below and watched the wildlife and birds. A truly relaxing vacation.

We did our share of exploring the island, a car rental is a must, we found many secluded, turquoise water beaches to snorkel and relax in the sand. We lunched at Santanna's - lobster was scrumptious, had BBQ take-out from Eddie's and enjoyed drinks at the outside bar, waterfront, at Peace & Plenty. We day-tripped to Stocking Island, via water taxi, loved meeting new people and the warm, friendly Bahamian's that wave to you as you drive by are wonderful and refreshing.

We are already looking at the calendar to plan a trip back to share this amazingly beautiful island with our family.

Thank you Johanna for a wonderful vacation and your hospitality.
Owner's Response: Thank you for making "Sweet Ting" Guest Cottage your home away from home. It was such a pleasure meeting you. You join the ranks of 5 star guests. Thanks to our local fishermen, we were able to share a wonderful dinner together at "Done Reach". It was an awesome way to learn more about each other and share some of our experiences. Back to winter weather for now, but hopefully you have been able to keep the warmth of Exuma in your hearts.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Johanna
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Louisiana
5

Can't Wait To Go Back!

Can't Wait To Go Back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We chose Sweet Ting Cottage because it seemed like a very quiet and private location where we could explore and be the only ones on the beach. It exceeded all of our expectations. Ms. Johanna is a wonderful person and host. She made sure we had everything we needed, whether it was groceries, directions or advice for great places to eat. We had a late flight out and Ms. Johanna let us stay late and clean up and change in her house while she cleaned the cottage for the next guest that were arriving early.
We usually worry that places look better in the photos than they do in person, but that's not the case with Sweet Ting. It was all even better in person. The views and the beaches were probably the prettiest that we saw on the island. We spent three days out on the beach and never saw a soul, only boats in the distance. Snorkeling off of the pier was great with lots of colorful fish and coral. On a sad note, we're missing the dogs, Lucky and Sophie. They made us feel at home, meeting us in the morning and going with us when we sat on the deck in the morning and at night. We truly can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you stay at "Sweet Ting" Guest Cottage. You were definitely 5 star guests who truly appreciated the incredible beauty of the surroundings. Moriah Harbor Cay is definitely a " true gem of the Exumas and you took advantage of the proximity of this incredible cay to the property. Sophie, Molly and I loved having you stay with us. We look forward to your return one day in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,
Miss Johanna
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

BEST VACATION EVER!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
When we were looking for a place to head to for our most recent adventure we read the reviews of “Sweet Ting” cottage with mixed feelings. We were giddy but apprehensive, everything sounded too good to be true! With trepidation we headed south to see for ourselves. We must offer great thanks to the prior reviewers. What we ended up with was the best vacation ever!

The islands of Great Exuma and Little Exuma are extremely beautiful, relaxed and comfortable. There seems to be miles of beaches with very few people on them.

Our hostess, Johanna, fits right in there. She is very helpful and friendly but very unobtrusive. She shares her property, knowledge and dogs freely so that we felt that we were ‘at home’.

The cottage had everything that we needed. We had breakfasts and lunches on the deck while enjoying the breezes, dogs and lizards. At nite we headed to Fish Fry for decent meals and Exuma Beach Resort for a great meal and music on the outside patio.

Our favorite days were spent walking the beaches of the Cays a short paddle from Johanna’s with occasional dips in the ocean. We had the feeling that we were the only ones in Eden. A few footprints were our only experience of others.

This was our perfect vacation; quiet and relaxed surrounded with beauty.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Minnesota
5

"Sweet" is an understatement for Sweet Ting Villa

"Sweet" is an understatement for Sweet Ting Villa
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
There is no sweeter spot for a get-away than Sweet Ting. We chose this villa for our honeymoon, and the only regret we have is not being able to stay longer! From the beginning, Johanna made everything simple and easy. Payment was straight forward, and we were well informed of the location and the island of Exuma before arrival. After the hectic planning of a wedding, we couldn’t wait to settle into our little villa for a week. Johanna had emailed us easy directions on how to get to Sweet Ting from the airport, and greeted us on our arrival. Groceries were waiting for us inside – along with a gracious gift of champagne.
Being from the Bahamas, I am used to clear water and white beaches. Exuma amplifies all things Bahamian and will impress anyone. A little stroll down to the dock and we could swim , kayak, or nap in the hammock. Across the water from Sweet Ting are little islands; some no more than sand banks, and perfect for kayaking around. We saw turtles, sharks, bonefish, stingrays and enjoyed soaking up the sun all day long all to ourselves.
We were usually greeted by Johanna’s friendly dogs in the morning, and her cat paid us a visit or two. Johanna was always available for any questions or help we needed during our stay.
Necessities, such as the grocery store and gas station were located in George Town, about 20 minutes away. There are several convenience stores along the way, but you will be lucky to catch them when they are open! There are a few restaurants in George Town – one of the more popular ones being Peace and Plenty. Their food is good, reasonably priced, and they have a special BBQ night weekly. If you stay at Sweet Ting, a MUST is going to Turquoise Cay. It is a brand new boutique hotel just a few minutes up the road, with stunning food. (The drinks and the view and the pool were great too – but we went just to eat!) Everything you need to cook your own meals is available in the villa, so we also enjoyed a few cozy nights in.
Exuma has so much to explore, so we will definitely be coming back. And without a doubt back to Sweet Ting. It is the perfect little place – well maintained, clean, quiet, private, hospitality and offers an authentic Bahamian vacation – something you won’t find at a hotel. We felt incredibly welcomed and were so sad to leave.
Thank you Johanna for a most memorable stay, we will be seeing you again!
-Donna & Kory
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your glowing review, Donna and Kory. It was a pleasure having you stay at "Sweet Ting" Guest Cottage. I am so gratified to know you felt this has been the perfect destination for your honeymoon. You were absolutely "5 star" guests and I do hope you will consider returning for an anniversary to re-energize and gather some beautiful Exuma sunshine. All the best to you on your new life together.
Sincerely,
Johanna, Sophie, Lucky and Molly
"Done Reach Villa"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Holiday at "Sweet Ting", April 2013

Holiday at "Sweet Ting", April 2013
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Staying at Johanna Stella's property on Exuma more than fulfilled our expectations and we had such a wonderful time that we have booked to go again next year.
Before our arrival Johanna was informative and helpful, making the booking process easy and answering all of our questions by return. She helped us to decide where to stay for our overnight stop on Nassau and was able to make suggestions for car hire companies and places to buy provisions once we arrived. Johanna is a calm and knowledgeable presence who really contributed to our stay being such a happy one. She also has three lovely animals (two dogs and a cat) who are friendly and wholly approachable; we were sad to leave them.
The house is lovely as it sits within a well-tended garden that slopes down to the sea. There were bougainvillea, hibiscus and lilies all in flower, as well as Casuarina trees which sounded very calming as the breeze blew through the branches. The views really are spectacular; try as we might, it was almost impossible to describe the blues and greens of the water as well as the Milky Bar white of the sand. Sitting in the chairs on the top deck we could watch the tides ebb and flow, and plan our kayaking trips for later in the day. Down at the jetty we could lie in the hammock or step into the clear water to watch the multitude of different fish swimming around us. Every day we would enjoy a walk along some of the tracks across the road from the house and in the afternoon we would have an adventure in the kayaks. We saw dolphins and turtles as we paddled along and liked exploring the little inlets and rocky coves. The beaches across Moriah Sound are astonishingly beautiful and the water is so clear and warm that we could spend hours swimming and snorkelling.
The cottage where we stayed was cool (ceiling fans and a/c), spacious and comfortable. The kitchen area has an excellent gas hob and a microwave which can also be used as a conventional oven; we enjoyed baking bread in it! All the necessary cooking utensils are there and we ate many happy meals either at the table inside or on the deck. Outside we were fortunate to see humming birds come to the trees close by and all manner of lizards on the balcony. The peace and tranquillity are overwhelming and it is a perfect spot to relax and think. There are useful identification books and holiday information in the living area and a television which was fun to watch when we weren't looking at the stars or sleeping!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Ripon, Wisconsin
5

Sweet Time at "Sweet Ting" Guest Cottage

Sweet Time at "Sweet Ting" Guest Cottage
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our first visit to Exuma proved to be a very enjoyable one thanks, in large part, to our accommodations at Sweet Ting. I can't speak highly enough about Johanna, Andrew and Maureen; their gracious hospitality exceeded our expectations. Maureen provisioned the cottage with an "antipasta platter" and breakfast goodies for our first night and morning since, after a 12-hour travel day, we wouldn't have had time to do so. Without their guidance we would have never found our favorite beaches on Little Exuma (the "Fort" and Tropic of Cancer), and their recommendation to check out Santana's was spot on. We didn't dine out all that much because we enjoyed the serenity of romantic candlelight dining at Sweet Ting. When we did dine out, we generally chose Santana's. The owner, Dee, prepares your food with love and joy, and who can ask for more than a lobster lunch accompanied by an ice cold Kalik overlooking turqoise seas! "Mom's Bakery" next door was another great find; yummy bread/pastries (chocolate rum cake was my fav)! We also enjoyed the lunch buffet at Exuma Point on Sunday (long drive but fun time).

The site's photos don't do the cottage justice. Lovely landscaping and, while not a "fancy" place, the cottage is tastefully appointed and provided everything that we needed for our one-week stay to include a grill for our dinners at home, and a cooler for our beach excursions. Sweet Ting may not be for everyone as it is located about 20 minutes from the island's main town, Georgetown (you will need a rental vehicle). This did not bother us as the location meant minimal traffic noise (basically no traffic!) and very little light pollution. The stargazing from the hillside deck was incredible! We also enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck listening to all of the birds singing. The two kayaks are a great bonus; Moriah Harbor Cay is about a 20-minute paddle from the dock and you will have a beautiful beach all to yourselves! The water is so crystal clear and, I think, the snorkeling right along the rocky shore by the dock would be pretty decent. Unfortunately, we had cool and windy weather during our visit so didn't get to check that out.

We found the Bahamian people to be so friendly and welcoming, and would definitely recommend Exuma and Sweet Ting to friends. Last but not least the daily visits by Johanna's 4-legged family (Molly, Lucky & Sophie) always gave us a smile. Thank you, Johanna, for opening your home to us. Hope to see you next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Essex, VT
5

Our stay in Exuma

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Wonderful accommodations, clean, nicely decorated. We appreciated the comfortable chairs and bright reading lights, fully equipped kitchen, privacy and quiet area. Very little traffic on the road.
A great set up for a couple, plenty of room to spread out your stuff, store clothes, etc.
Decks outside and terraces near the water provided many seating options.
Johanna was very gracious and helpful. She answered many questions about the island, places to go, shop, etc.
The kayaking and snorkeling from the waterfront was lots of fun, when the wind allowed us to get in/on the water.
Yes, would recommend this rental to a friend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

The Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We (my boyfriend and I) spent 5 wonderful nights here in late April. Johanna has created the perfect spot; it's extremely relaxing and very comfortable. The views from the property are (we think) unmatched in all of Exuma. It's breathtaking.

Kayaking to the beach across the water was one of our favorite activities; just the right amount of exercise while on vacation! :) The beach is gorgeous and it's amazing to walk around and not see another person for miles.

This listing and photos, as well as all the other reviews, are spot on. We enjoyed Tropic of Cancer beach and spent a great afternoon at Santana's. It's truly a special place and we hope to go back soon! There is no need to look anywhere else; you've found where you should stay!

Thank you Johanna for making us feel so welcome! Hi to Sophie, Lucky and Molly!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the positive feedback. I love hearing when my guests have enjoyed their holiday to the fullest. You have found some of Exuma's best spots. There are still some hidden treasures, so come on back! We will all be looking forward to seeing you again.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

The sixth star

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Thank you Johanna! Our vacation was five stars... you were the sixth! (Tu sai perche'.)
Our vacation in your cottage Sweet Ting was something special. Meeting you was like going back to somebody we already knew. Your descrete presence was very pleasant as was the welcome from Lucky, Sophie and Molly every time we arrived "home". We are not pet-kind-of-guys, but we loved their company.
The cottage was comfortable and perfect for us. The silence and the peace of your place were so captivating and we enjoyed so much the deck and the view that, as you know, we never went out to eat.
We went around the whole island by car and we selected our favorite spots all south of Hartswell and in Little Exuma where the most pristine and isolated beaches are. We loved the Moriah Harbor Cay National Park where we went several times with the kayaks from our cottage.
It is difficult to describe this place with words. Just... breeze, white sand, turquoise sea and... ourselves.
Helpful votes: 4/4