Osoyoos house rental - Lakefront Panorama
Lakefront Panorama
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Osoyoos House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Firethorn Farms is a unique property in the South Okanagan of British Columbia.

Your privacy is assured as you will be the only visitors to this functioning farm of 11 acres with a protected entrance. We use a variety of alternative energy sources such as geothermal, heat pumps and solar power to protect the environment.

The beach has three distinct areas for your benefit as well as a unique beachfront garden. The summer weather is the driest and warmest in Canada as we are situated in the only desert in Canada with an average summer daytime temperature of more than 30 degrees Celsius (90 F).

During the summer months all the local fruits from cherries, plums, peaches, apricots to the fall nectarines and apples can be enjoyed. The local farmer's markets provide an opportunity to discover a wide variety of products.

You will have your choice between a busy active lakefront holiday or the peace and quiet of a private retreat.

Keywords: House

My wife and I relocated here to enjoy the warmth of the Okanagan. We were attracted by the paucity of rainfall and the natural beauty of the desert. The nearby water provided summer sports for our children with the proximity for golf and cycling a major attraction. During the winter we are only 30 minutes from skiing and have very little snowfall on the ground. We are thrilled by the opportunity to have our own orchard of cherries and plums with the nearby vineyards and wineries enhanced the agricultural ambience.

Steven or Anna purchased this house in 2000

The weather here is outstanding, for Canada, year round. The nearly limitless recreational opportunities catered to our desire for relaxation. However the orchard gave some respite from the normal day to day work.

There is a private beachfront with nearly 2000 feet of freedom from neighbours. The 11 acres of property is landscaped beautifully with the serenity of relative isolation free to enjoy. There are private sunbathing areas, the warmest lake in Canada and a dock for your watercraft. There is access to one of the best golf courses in Canada at Fairview Mountain in nearby Oliver. Hiking and biking paths are readily available.

10 Reviews of Property 248199 in Osoyoos, British Columbia

Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Edmonton, Canada
1

Beautiful property!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The property is gorgeous and looked forward to spending a wonderful week with friends and family. We attended a wedding in Osoyoos the day before we arrived here at the house, and appreciated having a property for the week where we could have barbecues with family who had come from Ireland, Scotland, and eastern Canada. The day following our arrival, we were enjoying family and friends on the back patio, when Steve arrived to inform us that we could only be 8 people on the property, and everyone had to leave, or we could also leave, if we were not happy with that rule. Within 15 minutes, everyone had left, including the new bride & groom! We got up the next morning, cleaned the house from top to bottom, and left. A couple of notes about the house: the sewer gas in the one bathroom was so pervasive, we could not use it. It permeated all the rooms of the house. And the heat pump in the living room was not working. So the house was pretty hot. We would not recommend this house to anyone.
Owner's Response: This guest's comments are interesting. The property is beautiful and we try really hard to match our property with the needs of our guests. These guest were allowed in early to the property to store their equipment. They were advised in advance that they were only allowed 8 on the property and that no tenting was allowed. They presented with nearly 20 people, were tenting and refused to pay for their week when they arrived.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Delta, BC Canada
4

Family getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a great time at Firethorn. The weather was as perfect as the setting. There were three generations enjoying the house and beach, and all found things to keep busy. By the end of the week our 4 year old grand daughter was jumping off the dock and swimming to shore(with her life jacket on), and our 2 year old grand son had developed quite a throwing arm when it came to throwing rocks in the water. The location is close to golf and wineries if you feel the need to leave the beach. A very enjoyable week.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Surrey, B.C.
5

Beautiful location, the grounds were immaculate, a boaters paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family enjoyed the private expansive grounds, our labradoodle was in heaven! Boat lift, dock, launch, and private beach, wow where can you find that all in one! We booked next year already. We topped our week off with dinner at Burrowing Owl Winery. Perfecto!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Airdrie, alberta
5

Amazing Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have just returned from our stay at Firethorn Farms in Osoyoos. There were 7 of us ranging from 16yrs to 86 yrs old. We had an amazing time and enjoyed the accommodations! The grounds were absolutely beautiful! We docked our boat right on site and loved just hopping in and takin off around the lake! The house was pretty much fully stocked and big enough that even on a rain day we were all very comfortable!
We are avid fisherman and did find the fishing a little tough, but that would be our only complaint!
Steve and Anna were gracious hosts and had daily visits from the farm cat who liked to nap with anyone willing to give up there lap!
Thanks Steve and Anna!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Calgary, AB
5

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Excellent vacation property. Very private but yet close enough to everything. House was just like the pictures showed, well maintained and clean. Owners where helpful, polite and always answered our calls. I would recommend this property to everyone I know
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Alberta
5

Osoyoos Lake Front

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a week at the property with our four kids and friends (2 adults, 2 kids). The property was beautiful. It's on a less populated part of the lake and there was enough water front on the to ensure privacy. The residence had great beds, very comfortable. The living area was large and well furnished.

The hosts had a power boat rack for us to use, and a private boat launch. We're boater fanatics so having a place right on the water to leave the tubes and stuff was very handy.

Can't say enough good things about the place....
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Calgary AB
5

beautiful lake front property in Osoyoos!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just got back from a wonderful week at this property. The pictures do not do it justice. It was a beautiful, very clean house. We had 2 couples, 2 kids and a babysitter and a puppy. The sleeping arrangements worked out, as each couple, the babysitter and our oldest boy got their own room, and the little guy bunked with us.

The grounds were beautiful, right on the lake, with a wonderful shady beach area. It was cherry harvest when we were there, so fabulous fruit right off the trees as well! Steve and Anna were great hosts, there if you needed them.

The property is very close to Osoyoos, great little town for the essentials. Also very close to fruit stands, and a few wineries. Lots to do if you could make yourself move off the beach chairs!

The only thing to note is that the bedrooms don't have much storage--I'm one of those people that likes to 'unpack' for a week and there wasn't much closet room. But that's pretty minor.

We would definitely book again! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Edmonton
5

John and Anna Edmonton, AB

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our extended family enjoyed a wonderful week at this property. It was more than we expected. Anna and Steve are wonderful and gracious hosts and amazing gardeners! The landscaping is avisual delight. The space was great for bocci ball, kite flying, soccer and lots of space for theyoung grandkids to cycle around or just play in the sand and water. Good fishing and swimming off the pier. A short cycle into town. And a short walk to homemade samoas :)
We enjoyed ourselves very much! Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Snohomish, WA
5

Wonderful Vacation Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We couldn't have asked for a more lovely place to stay. The house was furnished beautifully, it was clean and offered all the comforts of home. The grounds were amazing, the landscaping made you feel as tho you were in a park. We took garden tours nightly and ended our evenings on our own private dock watching the full moon rising. We started each morning and ended the day watching the geese and quail fly over. The days were filled with lanquid boat rides, playing in the warm waters w/ our pup and fishing for the elusive trout, bass and salmon. Our only regret is that we didn't make it down to the fire pit for a night of marshmellow and wienie roasting. There's always next time though. The owners were great, our privacy was respected but we knew they were available if need be. The dog of the house made our stay special with her pop-overs and kept our 9mo old yellow lab on his toes. We absolutely loved our time in Osoyoos and I would recommend this vacation rental to anyone who is looking for a beautiful, peaceful home in a beautiful, peaceful setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Private Lakefront Home Osoyoos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248199vb
(250) 495-0487 (British Columbia, Canada)
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
North Battleford
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Location, location, location. Gorgeous views, a roomy and comfortable house and right on Osoyoos Lake. NO traffic, very quiet and serene, and wonderful folks to deal with. Can't beat it!
Helpful votes: 11/11