Harbor Springs house rental - Upper Deck View to the Lake
Upper Deck View to the Lake
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Harbor Springs House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

In 4 1/4 hours from Detroit you can enjoy this tranquil beach home on top of a dune overlooking Lake Michigan, watching the sea gulls, the swans, the gold finches and hummingbirds, also deer and even bald eagles and in the evening - breathtaking sunsets.

It is a true paradise.

Keywords: Beach Home

In 1967 we moved to the USA from Germany and in 1994 we made a dream come true and purchased our beach home on Lake Michigan. We enjoy spending time there and appreciate nature with woods, water, wildlife and tranquility, sitting on one of multiple decks.

The Owner purchased this house in 1994

The setting is unique, with 140' on Lake Michigan, the house sits on a dune, overlooking the beach and the water.

The serenity with beautiful surroundings make it possible to relax and enjoy nature and fresh air in the privacy of this setting.

11 Reviews of Property 248181 in Harbor Springs, Michigan

Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
West Palm Beach, Florida
5

Ray & Lucia Cohen

Ray & Lucia Cohen
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just completed our two week stay at this wonderful property. It has an unsurpassed view of sunsets over Little Traverse Bay, and is fully appointed/furnished with everything that anyone could possibly need. The home was immaculate, the showers were great, the beds were very comfortable, and the wood fireplace (with all supplies included) provided for a very warm/cozy stay.

It is located only 7 miles from downtown Harbor Springs, and the drive there on the Tunnel of Trees was absolutely gorgeous, as Fall colors were peaking. It was, in fact, a ride to look forward to each and every day.

The whole experience was invigorating and peaceful. We would highly recommend this property to anyone considering a vacation in the Harbor Springs/Petosky area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Chicago
5

A wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here the first week in September, with three adults, and we were absolutely delighted with this choice! The kitchen has new very high quality appliances and great equipment, the decks all around the main floor and off the top floor and down to the beach were amazing places to relax, talk, enjoy the views of Lake Michigan and the sunsets. Although there are a few houses nearby, you do not hear or see any of them from the house - all is very quiet except for the sound of the waves on the beach! I highly recommend this house to anyone interested in a wonderful venue, and great location right on the "Tunnel of Trees", convenient to go to Mackinac Island, Cross Village, Harbor Springs, Petoskey and explore the area. Really we had a wonderful time. The Soeding's house is extremely clean, well organized, everything is provided, WiFi connection was fast and good, with nice ability to separate the people staying to the upstairs and main floor for nighttime and bathrooms. Great water quality, great washer and dryer, everything was beyond our expectations!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
West Bloomfield, MI , USA
5

Spectacular View!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This Lake Michigan home was wonderful. First of all, the drive from the town of Harbor Springs to the house is just beautiful, woods and vistas of Little Traverse Bay. The house is surrounded by trees with a spectacular view of Lake Michigan. With a gin and tonic in hand, we sat out on the deck and watched the magnificent sunsets. The beach was very nice too, we could walk for miles. The water and shoreline were unbelievably clean. One note, the shoreline and shallow water were a bit rocky.
The accommodations were very comfortable and clean. The house was equipped with everything you need, organized and labeled. If you don't want to cook, there are tons of places to eat out in the surrounding area.
Overall, this is a perfect place to vacation in northern Michigan.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Austin, Texas
5

Stay Here and Be Happy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family has rented houses or apartments over the internet in several states and we've generally had very good luck. This place, though, is the jackpot. Very well furnished, very comfortable, and a very hospitable feel. It's like a beautiful tree house - surrounded by forest on three sides and facing the water on the fourth.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Williamston, Michigan
5

Can't Wait to Return!

Can't Wait to Return!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My four children and I stayed at the Soeding's Sandcastle to celebrate the first week of summer--no more commutes, athletic practices, homework projects--just lazy days on the beach, pizza suppers at Turkey's, and reading late into the night while listening to the waves roll in. We've rented cottages before, and knew that we wanted to be near Harbor Springs and on the lake. Having rented before, though, and suffering from dust allergies, we also knew it's hard to find something that is clean and well-maintained and feels cared-for. The Soeding's Sandcastle was perfect. The location was ideal (I could run up and down Lower Lake Shore and feel perfectly safe, Johan's donuts and the delicious ribs at the New York were just a 10 minute drive) and the cottage was clean--really clean--and well-maintained. The photos are completely accurate (although you it's even more charming in person). My children and I had a lovely time and can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
United States
5

A hidden gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A fantastic location, very quiet & secluded with superb Lake Michigan sunset views. My parents came over to visit from the UK and I wanted to find somewhere right on the Lake Michigan shore to give them that lakefront vacation experience. I have to say that Soeding's Sandcastle fitted the bill exactly! In total, there were 6 of us including our 1 & 3 year old daughters and the accommodation fitted us perfectly. The highlight for me was sitting out on the fantastic deck off the main living space, watching the amazing sunsets with the friendly hummingbird in close attendance! The beach is 66 steps down from the deck (with some convenient stopping off points!) and across a small grassy dune. The week we were there we didn't see a single person on the beach, even during our long beach walks. Approximately a 10 minute walk along the beach heading North, the beach widens out and the rocks disappear, so swimming etc becomes much easier.

In addition, the owners were a delight to deal with and stayed in touch via email offering suggestions as to things to do, a nice touch! I'm looking forward to returning many times to Soeding's Sandcastle in the future, please keep it on the rental market!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Louisville, KY
5

in love

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I am a Lake Michigan connoisseur. Grew up on The Lake, moved away decades ago but remain deeply, truly in love. We've been vacationing at Soeding's yearly for 16 years. Daughter was toddler then, now college student. I blinked and turned grey.
First off, the listing is NOT accurate! The photos do not do justice to the place or the view. When we first came here, this was a charming but humble A-frame hidden in a nice cedar grove on a sand dune. Since then, owners have maintained the charm but progressively upgraded to an impressively comfortable place. Knockout deck! I spend my precious vacation time at the table on the deck reading and staring at the Mediterranean blue Lake with Beaver Island on the horizon. Breakfast and dinner always out on the deck. Enjoy the gulls, walloons, snowy owl, and occasional eagle.
Swimming here requires water shoes for the rocks, but a 10 min walk gets to nice sand. Long walks on the shore will rarely encounter another human.
Area restaurants are unimpressive. But, heck!, it's Northern Michigan. Go to Toski Sands, get some fresh whitefish for the grill and a bottle of pinot and watch the sun sizzle into the blue. Stay up late and enjoy the Milky Way.
Please don't tell anyone about my secret paradise!
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Grandville, MI
5

Spectacular Sunset Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family of 8 spent a restful week at the Sandcastle. We found the location ideal; directly on the shores of Lake Michigan halfway between Harbor Springs and Good Hart along picturesque M119, the Tunnel of Trees. We found the listing very accurate. The home's bathrooms and kitchen appliances are state of the art and we especially enjoyed the large, multi-level deck. The kitchen was outfitted with the basics, but you may want to bring along a griddle and large non-stick frying pan. We also found serving dishes/bowls in short supply. Our family likes to cook, and we quickly labeled the galley style kitchen a 'one butt kitchen'. We found the beds to be uncomfortably firm. The beach is a rock hunter's delight, but if you're looking for swimming access you may be disappointed. We found one of the reviews misleading; only 2 rolls of toilet paper per bathroom and paper towels were furnished. The photos very accurately represented the property, the property was clean and well-maintained, the owner was available by phone and very helpful. We would recommend this property to most people. It would not be suitable for those who have difficulty with stairs and I would caution families with toddlers about the open stairways and balconies. We enjoyed running, cycling, beach walking and relaxation. We felt we had the whole beach to ourselves. We also enjoyed the sticky buns from the Good Hart General Store and a delicious dinner at Leg's Inn in Cross Village. The Sandcastle was a delightful home for us to reconnect with our four adult children and their spouses.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Northville, MI
5

Soeding Sandcastle Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family enjoyed a beautiful week at the Soeding Sandcastle in Harbor Springs, MI. The listing was accurate. The photos reflected the rental property, amenities and appearance perfectly. The home was CLEAN, well-organized and VERY comfortable. The owner was available at all times for questions or to make helpful suggestions on sightseeing, dining, etc. We would highly recommend this property to our friends and family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Soeding's Sandcastle on Beautiful Lake Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248181vbi
(248) 797-2695 (Cell)
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Ohio
5

First vacation in Michigan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
A beautiful and clean home with great views and a peaceful setting is what you'll find if you spend time at Soeding's Sandcastle. The property is secluded, but close to shopping, golfing, sightseeing, and many other outdoor activities. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet vacation on the water. The owners were very nice and e-mailed everyday with helpful hints about places to see and things to do. Many staple items (seasonings, toilet paper, paper towels, etc.) were included.
Helpful votes: 2/2