Lehighton farmhouse rental - Welcome to Getz Valley Farmhouse - Close to Philly & NYC
Welcome to Getz Valley Farmhouse - Close to Philly & NYC
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lehighton Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bath, 1 Powder Room - MAXIMUM 5 to 6 PERSONS.

Spring is waiting to burst into bloom, and this should be a great spring with lots of flowers. In early spring the frogs sing their hearts out at night looking for their love, and the flowers and trees come to life.

Spring and Summer time is the best time for Getz Valley Farmhouse! Ask for our custom attractions map! There is always plenty to do all year round.

Getz Valley Farmhouse is a beautiful wooden house built in 1840 and nicely restored. The local township has listed it as a Class A historic structure. It features the original wide plank pine flooring, sand glass windows, wood panel doors and hardware as well as wood burning fireplaces in the Living Room and Dining Room. The house is nicely decorated with complementary furnishings that respect its history but provide the comfort and convenience you are accustomed to. You will find a wonderful classic layout consistent with the farmhouse style of the era, and all the rooms get sunlight keeping it bright and cheerful. This is not your typical Pocono development house; it is an independent house with history, pride and presence within a Rural Preservation Area. You will find peace and inspiration here and a great time.

Why Spring & Summer are great times: Every Winter near the end of February when snow is no longer fun, we all long for Spring. Well, the Earth always goes through a tug of war with Winter until Spring finally wins and the grass starts turning green, buds appear on bushes and trees, and Crocuses and Daffodils make their debut and Blue Mountain Ski finally turns their night lights off for the season. However, it is when I hear the frogs sing in March or April that I know Spring has won. Soon afterward the flower show starts with the Tulips, Lilacs, Poppies, Peonies, Irises, Daisies and one I do not what they are called. Seeing the world coming to life is incredible. It is sitting on the back porch as days get longer and watching the humming birds do their thing, and then sitting on the Adirondack Chairs by the gardens that is so cool. When summer finally gets here, the temperatures are always at least 5-10 degrees less than the city and nights are always comfortable. The shooting star shows are always fun...

Why Fall and Holiday Time is unforgettable: It always amazes me how after the fall solstice, the earth quickly begins its hibernation. If we have a decent summer with adequate rain, we usually get a colorful fall. GV Farmhouse is great in fall. The Pumpkin fields at Strohls Valley Farms are nearby with the haunted Corn Maze. The colorful mountains and crisp clear days make for many a photo opportunities. turkeys often roam across the property stealing your thanksgivingday appetite, and there are Christmas Tree farms nearby. A romantic New Years safe and snug by the fireplace beats the crowds in the city and the maniacs on the road.

More Details
Hide Details

I am trained as an architect and I work in the corporate design and construction field. Having moved to Philadelphia a decade ago, I needed a weekend distraction so bought this house with a friend and I almost single handedly restored it completing in 2009.

Rich purchased this farmhouse in 2005

Why we love this house: Getz Valley Farmhouse is owned by a friend and myself as a retreat from urban life. All of us lived in New York City most of our lives or adult life. Having lived in this highly urban area, we decided we needed a place where peace and nature rule. For five years we looked for a house and location that made us feel good. It was hard, you either found a new home with a great view and no character, or a great old house with a horrid location. We came across this house when it was run down, but I could see it had great character and peaceful aura. We completed the renovations started by the prior owner, and now we open this lovely house with its spirit of goodness and happiness to you.

Easy to get to from New York and Philadelphia. Reasonable distance to many attractions and parks.

14 Reviews of Property 247978 in Lehighton, Pennsylvania

Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
silver spring, md, USA
5

Restful and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We spent a week at the Getz Valley Farmhouse in mid-August. Upon entering the home we were immediately "wowed" by the lovingly restored features: Gleaming hardwood floors and wood trim, cozily decorated rooms, thoughtfully landscaped lawn/gardens. Though it was without air conditioning, and though we were experiencing record-high temps that week, our stay was comfortable. The home was spotless!

My favorite place in the home was the patio. We enjoyed coffee and breakfast outside while listening to the sounds of nature (chirping birds and frolicking frogs--yes, there are frogs in the little pond).

During our week we explored the neighboring towns/villages.

Jim Thorpe was a must see:The Asa Packard Mansion was stunning and there are several yummy restaurants (including a vegetarian establishment) and coffee shops (one with an incredible work-in-progress mural of musicians from the 1950s to today).

We hiked the Appalachian Trail and the Lehigh Nat'l Forest. We swam in and picnic-ed at the Beltzville Lake. We road horses at Happy Trails in Mt Pocono.

After fun days of exploring the area we returned to the home to relax with wine and beer, cook dinner, check our email, read, knit and play guitar. For those who like to imbibe, wine and liquor can be purchased across the street from Weis (a grocery store approx 5 miles from the Farmhouse). Pennsylvania law requires beer to be sold at different establishments--and by the case, not the 6-pack.

All in all a lovely getaway! Rich was a dream to work with. We give him the "two thumbs up" seal of approval.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that B and G and lil M enjoyed themselves on what was probably the most uncomfortable and unstable weather week of 2009. They seem to have found some places that I have not, so I am glad they got out and explored the beautiful countryside of Pennsylvania. The Poconos and our state parks are resources we need to cherish, enjoy, protect and preserve. This lovely family was our second from the Washinton DC area since we started renting this past spring, and we are glad that there are people that enjoy history, art, detail and the great outdoors. We are phanatics (oops was that an Eagles reference) at Getz Valley Farmhouse, and our goal is to preserve history, save the countryside, and hope the state government understands the need to control development in a recreation area.
Thanks, for the review, the great information and the ideas on how to improve.
Two thumbs up is more than I ever imagined when I asked if you could write an honest review! Thanks so much, that really means alot to me.
Ricardo
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
5

Wonderful Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I rented Getz Valley Farmhouse for the summer and it was a picture perfect summer. We were able to get into Philadelphia easily, and feel the quiet of the countryside. This was better than we could have imagined! Our dogs were very happy puppies in the yard and whenever friends or family came to see us they could not get over how beautiful the house and grounds are. I think they may want to rent it too! The owners are extremely knowledgeable and willing to help with any information you might need. I would go back again in a heartbeat! Close to Blue mountain too, so would be great in the winter!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
York, PA
5

Lovely Home w/ Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My crew has been utilizing the home for the month of May off and on. We found Rich to be very easy to work with and the home to be in impeccable shape. It is completely restored with love. In fact, many of us have joked about taking our families on a weekend getaway just to be able to spend time on the property and enjoy all of the surrounding beauty.

The listing was accurate with good photos. Answers were always easy to achieve and the utmost care was taken to assure that we were comfortable.
Owner's Response: Joe heads an incredible Pennsylvania business where they make beautifully crafted wooden trusses made the old fashion way. His crew and he stayed at the house while they were engaged in an installation at a local supermarket under construction. As an architect I have a soft spot for anyone that buildis buildings and knows the craft of construction. The 4 guests stayed during a cooler and rainier than average spring, but they started with seeing the Tulips bloom and ending with the Iris's, Daisies, and Gladiolas. We made sure the grill came out and that they got to enjoy their stay while they could.

As they worked during the week, we made sure we provided a full house and linen cleaning, as well as slowly transforming the house from Spring to Summer. What a wonderful time to stay! This past weekend, the corn was starting to sprout in the garden.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
Ronkonkoma ny
5

lovely farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We had a great stay over the Easter break at the Getz home. It is as previously described a lovingly restored home with character and charm. The photos aptly represent the home and it is clean and well organized. The kitchen is decently stocked although I would love to see a griddle and an electric mixer available as it just begs to be cooked in! There was a large dining room table for formal meals but we found ourselves more comfortable with the eat in kitchen and enjoyed the views of the yard. We had 3 young adults and 2 adults in our party and the rooms were cozy and comfortable (albeit a little too well heated for me I would have loved to turn the heat down a notch at night but it is set by the owner). I have to say at night the house fell so quiet, keeping out the noises of the outside world and we slept wonderfully. There were interesting books and an eclectic collection of music and movies and a few games. We found ourselves content to use the ipod dock and spread out our family games on the dining table and enjoy. The mudroom area is great for a family traveling with pets, its nice to have an area that is petfriendly and roomy for them to enjoy as well. At night we could just shut the doors to the rest of the home and the pups could be free to come and go from the mudroom to the upstairs bedrooms. The dining room fireplace is a nice touch and we used them often during the weekend. The grounds are terraced and lovely, we enjoyed the signs of spring awakening in the yard and no more snow! There were several healthy sized frogs in the pond and were one of our favorite things to watch as they hopped in and out as we approached. We spent some of our time visiting local colleges, visited Jim Thorpe, a neat river valley town with shops and restaurants, but the best was being able to just enjoy this beautiful home. Thanks Rich, we are looking forward to our next visit hopefully in the fall.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
Hatboro, Pa Montgomery county
4

home away from home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
The Getz Family Farmhouse is quaint and charming. We felt at home right away!The beds are very comfortable. It really only houses 5 - 6 people comfortably to sleep , 2 single beds and 2 queens.... but since It is really close to Phila and NY, it can seat 10 for dining if you have friends joining you for the day to ski and they stay and have dinner with you.They provide the linens, towels spices, soap,toilet paper, etc. Makes packing easier. Not many places let you bring your pet! We brought our dog! In the evening we lit a nice fire in the fireplace and watched a movie together. Gr8 family time and gr8 surround sound! (good TV, just wish they would update it). It is a great spot to stay for a ski or spring weekend getaway. It's location to Blue mountain is maybe 10 minutes, if that. The grounds are charming! It would be so nice in the spring for a quiet weekend away. We will surely come here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to let us know of your stay. For the record a new TV is forthcoming. Yes the house sleeps up to 6 guests comfortably as we advertise, and our reasonable rates are based on this. Because of the age of the house, we do limit the number of overnight guests to preserve its history and charm. I am frankly not sure why anyone wouldwant to travel with a larger group, especially when you are trying to relax. However, that is just me - I like the peace and quiet.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
West Chester, PA
5

Calming effect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We went in July when it was 100 degrees. So, you can expect the upper floors especially in an old home to be warm. However, as of then, the main bedroom was very well cooled by a window unit, and 1 or 2 other rooms had enough cooling to keep things manageable during the day. But during the day we did not spend much time upstairs, and the living room and kitchen stayed cool, and we went to Jim Thorpe a few times, which I recommend. Went with a 2 year old. Not a problem at all. Just bring a gate for the stairs, and lots of indoor activities if the temp is 100 degrees. The area playgrounds, like those at the elementary schools or at the Lake, just got too hot
by 8:30. There are a few indoor things, like the giant country store, but the trip to Jim Thorpe was worth it for the library alone, which is very kid friendly.

Otherwise, the owner of Getz Valley was very easy to work with, remotely, by pay pal, and the house was very clean. The owner supplies various guides to local attractions and restaurants, including his own creation, and this was essential. Owner is very organized. Nice property, and in the evenings when it cooled we ate outside and all was just right.

Note about July 4th: a couple of spots have fireworks that could disturb the peace, or get you out of the house, your call.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
Wilmington, DE
5

Gorgeous Home, Friendly Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My husband and I stayed here with our two year old son in November. We were looking for an affordable, get-away-from-it-all kind of vacation. The Getz Valley Farmhouse was everything we were looking for. I enjoyed cooking in the spacious kitchen and spending each evening cozy by the fire. The house was beautifully decorated and fully equipped. The property was gorgeous, even in November. The cute mountain town of Jim Thorpe is a short distance away. There were several delicious restaurants to pick from. Our son loved taking a ride on the scenic train ride through the mountains. Rich Bolger is a great landlord. He was very helpful by phone and email and he returned our deposit promptly. Thanks, Rich!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
Wilmington, DE
5

Gorgeous Home, Friendly Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My husband and I stayed here with our two year old son in November. We were looking for an affordable, get-away-from-it-all kind of vacation. The Getz Valley Farmhouse was everything we were looking for. I enjoyed cooking in the spacious kitchen and spending each evening cozy by the fire. The house was beautifully decorated and fully equipped. The property was gorgeous, even in November. The cute mountain town of Jim Thorpe is a short distance away. There were several delicious restaurants to pick from. Our son loved taking a ride on the scenic train ride through the mountains. Rich Bolger is a great landlord. He was very helpful by phone and email and he returned our deposit promptly. Thanks, Rich!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
Queens, NY
5

Great Thanksgiving Retreat for the family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Pictures do no justice for this wonderful farmhouse! You have to be there to experience it.

I brought my 3 teenage daughters and my oldest daughter's boyfriend (who is now like my son) on a thanksgiving get away recently, and like one of the reviewer said, we couldn't pull ourselves away to do anything else, as the house was so comfy and warm, and just what we were looking for in a retreat...a place to relax and enjoy nature. The meticulous detail that Rich provided made us quite familiar with the house even before we set foot inside.

I have to admit, being a city dweller most of my life, the first day took a little getting use to. But on Thanksgiving day, when it began to snow, well, the experience was truly speechless.

Being in the middle of a pine forest and all of nature, in a beautiful and comfortable house, watching the snowflakes fall was the most serene state I've ever experienced. Even with all the cooking chaos my teenage daughters were creating in the kitchen!

By Friday, we were ready for some action, so we drove out to Jim Thorpe and other areas for some sight seeing.

Saturday, we again decided to stay in, as my children wanted to explore the nearby forest and take pictures. They called it the Getz Farmhouse photo shoot and really took many wonderful pictures.

We cozied up in the living room at night and watched many wonderful movies provided by Rich.

On our last day, we decided to go to the Tannersville Outlet and bought some wonderful discount items for Christmas.

I highly recommend anyone to experience Getz Farmhouse for yourself!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks
business
Romantic Historic Farmhouse Retreat in Peaceful Country Setting-Near Blue Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247978
+1 2154621781
Lehighton Beltzville Lake
West orange
5

Beautiful retreat from the chaos of the city!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I found the house to be totally charming and intimate. Spacious and felt like home. Ton of yard sales in the area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway