Governor's Harbour estate rental - Tir Na Nog's pink sand beach
Tir Na Nog's pink sand beach
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Governor's Harbour Estate Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms (sleeps max 10), 2 separate beach cottages offer privacy

Welcome to Tir Na N'og, “Land of the forever young”, a luxurious beachfront estate on 10 secluded acres of gardens and walkways. Tir Na Nog includes a spectacular private beach, manicured grounds surrounded by coconut palms, flowers, fruit trees, and a private tennis court.

Tir Na No’g was built in 2007 by local carpenters and craftsmen under the vision of famed interior decorator David Flint Wood. Decorated in the elegant style of an old Caribbean plantation house, the four separate housing structures allow for bedroom privacy, along with group dining and socializing in the Great Hall and surrounding patios. The estate is rented to only one group at a time, and all structures are included in the weekly rate.

Tir Na Nog is situated in the most sought-after location on Eleuthera, the Atlantic seashore on the Banks Road, where a select number of estates overlook a beautiful pink-sand beach, only minutes from nearby restaurants. The buildings on the estate include:

1. THE GREAT HALL: This elegant colonial-style building, surrounded by a large, wrap-around porch with sweeping views of the estate, is the gathering place for fine dining, relaxation and entertaining. The Great Hall features a full kitchen and large dining area with seating for 12. The spacious living/entertainment area, elegantly furnished in old plantation style, includes a large flat-screen satellite TV, DVD movie library, WIFI, books for children and adults, and board games. The Great Hall also has a breezy outdoor dining area with a gas grill, and a roof deck with views of the ocean.

2. THE MAIN HOUSE: This lovely colonial building features another large wrap-around porch with views of the tennis court and gardens. Inside are three bedrooms, each with a full en-suite bathroom and separate entrance from the porch. Two of the bedrooms have king beds. The third has twin beds with two additional trundle beds

3. THE BEACH COTTAGES: These two romantic cottages with views of the ocean have king bedrooms with full bathrooms, under-counter refrigerators, coffee makers, and outdoor seating areas with deck chairs. They are located 100 yards from the Main House and Great Hall for privacy.

4. THE TIKI HUT: This beachside, open-air shelter has shady seating under a thatched roof. The nearby Cabana has outdoor showers and a storage room housing beach chairs, snorkeling equipment, and beach toys.

5. THE TENNIS PAVILION provides shady seating on white wicker furniture beside the tennis court. The pavilion is fully equipped with tennis rackets and balls. It also contains a laundry room with washer and dryer.

MORNING MAID SERVICE (every weekday except holidays) and on-site caretaker are complimentary at Tir Na N’og. A private chef can be arranged.

A VAST REEF just 300 meters offshore ensures idyllic kayaking and snorkeling conditions for anyone staying at Tir Na N'og. We have plenty of snorkeling gear, as well as beach recliners and water loungers for those of us who prefer to spend the day taking in the sun. Kayaks can be rented for use during your stay. We also have a baby monitor, pack and play crib, and kids’ beach toys for those traveling with children.

THE FAMOUS BEACH RESTAURANT AND BAR Tippy’s is just a ten-minute walk down the beach. Other upscale restaurants within easy driving distance include The Beach House, The Bistro at Sky Beach Club, and Cocodimama. The town of Governors Harbour, just two miles away, has grocery stores, restaurants, liquor stores, two banks with ATMs, a bakery, gift shops, a dive shop, and a medical clinic. Friday Night Fish Fry in Governors Harbour, a street/beach party that brings together all the tourists and locals with food, drink, and dancing in the street, is not to be missed.

Amenities include:

• Daily maid service (weekdays)

• 300 feet of private beach frontage

• Tennis court, pavilion, rackets and balls

• Tiki hut on beach

• Beach Cabana w/outdoor showers

• Satellite TV (Great Hall only)

• TV with DVD (all bedrooms)

• Phone, high speed wireless internet (Great Hall only)

• Air Conditioning and ceiling fans (every room)

• I Pod sound system

• Fully equipped kitchen

• Outdoor Barbeque and dining area

• Safe

• Baby monitor and 'pack & play'

• Children's beach toys

• Snorkeling gear

• Beach recliners

• Water Loungers

• DVD library

• Book Library

• Board games

• Luxury linens

• Robes & Slippers

• Washer and Dryer

More Details
Hide Details

Tir Na N'og is a place where you can truly find serenity, and take some time for yourself.

Matthew Simon purchased this estate in 2007

I bought Tir Na N'og in 2007, and had it renovated and decorated by renowned interior designer and author of the book 'Island Living', David Flint Wood. The 10 acre estate is situated on an old plantation, and its heritage is reflected in the all of the buildings and furnishings.

Eleuthera means 'freedom' in Greek, and this Island which has managed to escape the mass development which has occurred in most of the Bahamas, really does give you a sense of relief.

45 Reviews of Property 247785 in Governor's Harbour, Bahamas

Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
average rating of 4.977778 based on 45 reviews
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Beautiful home and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We recently stayed at Tir Na Nog and had the best vacation. The home was amazing with every amenity imaginable. The location was perfect...a few minute walk to basically a beautiful private beach. The staff was incredibly helpful. The kitchen is perfect for cooking meals at the house and there are a few close local restaurants for those who would like to eat out. We would recommend staying at this home to anyone and hope to visit again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
5

AMAZING!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had such a lovely stay at Tir Na Nog. The staff was wonderful and attentive. Great place for couples and families with a setup that allows for easy gathering and privacy when desired. Having also stayed in a hotel on a Eleuthera, Tir Na Nog is absolutely the way to go. Highly recommend!!!
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Denver
5

Amazing Property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Everything about this property is wonderful from the private pink sands beach to the property itself. We played tennis every day on the private court and enjoyed group dinners in the grand common area each night. The property has a ton of sports equipment including snorkeling gear, bicycles, tennis racquets, and beach stuff. The estate is expansive with hammocks all over the place, impossible not to enjoy yourself. The location was great also, close to town and several fun bars and restaurants! Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Great property. Fantastic location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Tir Na Nog is a wonderful property. The layout is perfect for groups / extended families. Matt Simon and Kelly do a wonderful job managing the property. 10-15 minute walk to Tippy's. Noone else on the entire beach all week. Pascale is a very talented chef -- make sure you hire him!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Tir Na Nog - the land of the young!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The pictures are real!! We were sceptical before we arrived; but they are just as they show. Kelly and Christine took care of our every need. We didn't get a rental car but Kelly made sure every morning that we were equipped. The restaurants were not open; but it didn't hinder our stay. Linda prepared us Dinner and made us feel like royalty. There were 5 couples and all were very comfortable. The only other people we saw on the estate besides the ones there to take care of us were 4 people on 4 horses. We got to go Deep Sea Fishing with Paul and Duane. We got enough for two dinners. Weather was perfect! The villa is equipped with all you will need. Music; Movies and we even got Root Sports from Pittsburgh, PA and watched the Pirates get into the playoffs. We all want to return. Great place to spend a week. Just Paradise. Thanks again to Matt, Christine and especially Kelly. ............. The Sullivan's, Kiser's & Sorrentino's ..Pittsburgh, PA
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We enjoyed our last week in the Bahamas at Tir Na Nog, celebrating a family birthday. The house is beautiful, the beach and ocean absolutely perfect. It was wonderful waking up in one of the beach cottages every morning! We picked up fresh lobster from the local fisherman and Linda prepared a wonderful candlelight dinner for us. Don't miss Tippy's of course, dinner was excellent. An excursion to Harbour Island is a must. Kelly was superb! Matthew and his team were awesome. We will be planning another trip again here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

A Premier, World-Class Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had read all the rave reviews about Tir Na Nog and had high expectations before our arrival. Even still, we were absolutely blown away by the house and its outcroppings, the grounds, and the vast, private beach. It far exceeded what we imagined it would be, and that is quite a testament.

The beach is the best on the island and we only saw a couple of other people on it as far as the eye could see the entire week. What's even better was that there are a couple of reefs right within easy swimming distance, just off shore, that make for excellent snorkeling.

The cabana was packed full of beach chairs, flippers and snorkels, rafts, beach toys, and anything else you could need.

The house itself was perfection, both in terms of its functionality and its construction and decoration. It's elegant yet comfortable, and everybody will have a gorgeous room with comfortable beds, high-quality linens, and plenty of privacy.

Finally, Kelly made sure we had everything we needed, she answered all of our questions, and she was all-in-all another highlight of our trip. She's one of the best representative the island could have.

A few helpful notes:

Internet service on the island does seem to come intermittently, so be prepared to unplug (hardly a negative). The most we were ever without, however, was only a couple of hours.

If you rent a car, do not, under any circumstances, rent from the Knowles family. They will try to get money for fabricated damages from you (look for other reviews on the Internet - we are not the only ones to say this).

Otherwise, everybody else on the island was as warm and hospitable as can be and we enjoyed them all.

In a nutshell: you just cannot go wrong with this property. Enjoy!

And do not miss the Friday night fish fry in town!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

No Hurry, No Worry!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I simply googled VRBO Bahamas and one of the first listings was Tir Na Nog. I have been to Bimini, Cat, Chub and Walkers Cay on fishing excursions by boat and frankly never heard of Eleuthera! After reading reviews and speaking with Matt about the property, all I needed to do was research Eleuthera. All the stars aligned and I booked a week for the family! We had friends come for part of the stay. A couple with their 14 year old daughter. We consist of two adults and our 10 year old boy, and 15 year old girl. All seven of us had ample room! Upon arrival we were greeted by Kelly. As many of the reviews state...she is a sweetheart! My daughter celebrated her 15th birthday while there. Kelly had a friend bake a beautiful cake that was decorated in the bright colors of the Bahamas. Not only was is beautiful, but delicious! My son polished of the last piece on the last morning prior to leaving. The compound is very private and just spectacular. We used the bikes provided to peddle down to our beach bungalow or simply walked down. The beach stretches for eternity with no one in sight! We literally saw 6 people on the beach the entire trip. Having the "great room" was perfect for everyone. It gave ample privacy when needed, but was the gathering spot to start the day. The food on the island was great all around. Of course we hit Tippy's on a regular bases as well as many other spots. I recommend walking the beach to Tippy's on the first night. It really sets the tone. One place we enjoyed on the way home from morning excursions was Buccaneer in Governor's Harbour on the road leading up the hill towards Banks Road. They had great cracked conch and kids food to boot. The people there were quick with a smile and laughter making for a fun time. Basically you can't go wrong with all the establishments. Reminder: Bahamas is a little like Mexico as far as time moves. So...don't be in a hurry. Besides, that is the reason to go to Eleuthera, no hurry, no worry! So, expect slow but friendly service at most places. My friend and I are avid fishermen and wanted to fly fish for bonefish. We booked a full day with Paul Petty. Wow! This guy really knows his stuff! He is born and raised in GH. We fished all day and never saw another boat nor fisherman. Paul has the flats to himself! I caught my first bonefish within an hour! Paul also took the whole group on a joy ride a few days later in his big boat. The kids caught sharks and snorkeled! In closing...FABULOUS!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Tir Na Nog felt like HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wow! What a magical place! Very serene and peaceful.
We were a group of 7. Ages ranging from 15 to 80 yrs old. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. The property is stocked with everything you need. Dishes, cookware, beach toys, parasols etc. A word of advice, bring a small folding cooler for taking a pic nic lunch or drinks on your excursions. The private beach was the best! We renewed our vows on the beach, it was magical. Kelly helped us with the event and made it more special. She even did my make up :) Kelly gave us great tips for places to visit that we could never have known about without her help. Tippy's was good, The Rainbow Inn restaurant was excellent. The Friday night fish fry in Governors Harbour is a must! We danced in the streets, and ate great fresh fish. We made beautiful memories on the island. We could not have made it happen without Matt's guidance and Kelly's help. Matt is the kind of guy that answers your emails within seconds, I love that! We had a great week together. The place is clean, the people are friendly, the views from the beach house are awesome! Na Nog is a magical & beautiful place to relax and enjoy life.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Luxury Villa 'Tir Na Nog', 10 acre oceanfront estate w/ private beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247785
+1 239 482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a good time with our daughter and her family. Our grandchildren are 12, 10 and 7 and they had a wonderful time. Perfect ages for this homesite. I wouldn't recommend this estate for very young children because of the layout. Beach was beautiful and there were plenty of beach toys, chairs, etc. The tennis court, replete with rackets and balls, was also used by the boys.