Las Terrenas house rental - Main view
Main view
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Las Terrenas House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, sleeps 10. Min 4 nights

* PLEASE SEE OUR WEBSITE, WWW.THEARBOLEDA.COM, for more pictures, up to date rates and availability calendar, and lots more information. All the info you need is on the site ***

We were recently awarded a TripAdvisor 'rated excellent' badge.

*** Max 10 people. Min 4 nights. Beach is five minutes drive, Las Terrenas is 15 mins drive.***

An elegant hill-top refuge, Villa Arboleda offers a stunning visual experience of the Dominican Republic’s Samana Peninsula. Nestled high in the luxuriant tropical hills of the beach-side resort town of Las Terrenas, this spectacular home was inspired by the style of Le Corbusier's Villa Savoye. Beautifully designed, with five bedrooms, three and a half bathrooms, and expansive outdoor space, Villa Arboleda can be your ideal vacation get-away in the jungle.

The Samana Peninsula was named as one of the 45 places to go in 2012 by the New York Times

Relax in the infinity pool, contemplate the ocean from your private balcony, or sunbathe on the roof-top patio – Villa Arboleda was designed to provide the comforts of a luxury property while complementing the natural beauty of the area

included - Wifi: .PLEASE CHECK OUT OUR WEBSITE, WWW.THEARBOLEDA.COM FOR AVAILABILITY AND RATES

Rates and availability: Please check our website, www.thearboleda.com, for up to date rates and availability - plus lots more pictures

UPDATE DECEMBER 2011 - we were very pleasantly surprised on our last visit to find that the good highway up to the Samana peninsula had been extended pretty much up to the gates of the project. The last 40 minutes were always rather nerve wracking on a bad, hilly road - now you can cruise all the way and it has lopped 30-40 minutes off the trip from Santo Domingo airport. No longer a need for a 4wd!

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 247193 in Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Panama
4

Beautiful Setting for Family Celebration

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family flew to DR from Panama, US, and Sweden to celebrate two birthdays. With 9 adults and 2 children, the house provided enough space for privacy and gatherings. We especially enjoyed the pool and the chef service provided by Rosy. The latter made the five nights at the house remarkable with her three-course menus.
Owners provided good information and were responsive to emails before arrival. Housekeeper was also very good about communication and providing extra service. It helps to speak Spanish and beware - the road up to the house is not for the faint-hearted.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Panama
4

Beautiful Setting for Family Celebration

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family flew to DR from Panama, US, and Sweden to celebrate two birthdays. With 9 adults and 2 children, the house provided enough space for privacy and gatherings. We especially enjoyed the pool and the chef service provided by Rosy. The latter made the five nights at the house remarkable with her three-course menus.
Owners provided good information and were responsive to emails before arrival. Housekeeper was also very good about communication and providing extra service. It helps to speak Spanish and beware - the road up to the house is not for the faint-hearted.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Brooklyn, New York
5

Best Week of Our Lives

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
On the plane ride home from our trip to the Dominican Republic, my boyfriend and I agreed that the the time we spent at the Arboleda was the best week of our lives.

Though there is an airport only 15 miles from the Arboleda, we flew into Santo Domingo, a 2-hour car trip away. We were initially nervous about the drive, but were welcomed with a beautiful highway, and scenic views of hilltops, fields and palm trees. Arriving at the Arboleda as the sun rose was an unforgettable experience.

Our days were spent swimming in the pool, quietly reading, and making trips into town for groceries and espresso and fresh juice at a little cafe called The Social Club. We were so relaxed, that our hectic, noisy lives back in Brooklyn seemed a million miles away.

Even though it was just the two of us, the house would be perfect for a part of 8 or 10. The outdoor dining table and sunken lounge area is perfect for late night conversations and excessive glasses of wine. Every night ends with an unobstructed view of twinkling stars and a nice, sweet breeze.

Our favorite feature of the house was its outdoor design; even at the hottest part of the day, there is always a shady spot to cool off and read a book. The pool stayed perfectly cool and refreshing, a feat for such a hot climate.

We'd go every month if we could. And whatever you do, don't miss the opportunity to visit Playa Bonita, just a 10-minute car ride away. It is, hands down, the most beautiful beach we've ever been to. Whenever I feel frantic and stressed, all I have to do is think of the calm waves of that beach.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

A slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My girlfriend's mother said it best: "This house is a little slice of Heaven." I couldn't agree more. We spent a week there and the time absolutely flew by. I knew it was going to be wonderful from the moment we arrived, when we were greeted by the housekeeper Noelia (who is delightful) and a fridge filled with cold beer and fresh fruit.

Where to begin? The house and the surrounding property is absolutely spotless and is built in a way that takes full advantage of amazing surroundings. As good as the pictures are, they do not do justice to this place. Noelia was there every day to clean the place up and she did an amazing job. The pool was spotless and refreshing as can be (the little bit of rainwater it got every day kept it from being too warm.) The beds were perfectly comfortable, there were more than enough towels and linens, and the i-Pod speaker system allowed us to have more than a few wild dance parties.

The drive from Santo Domingo really wasn't too bad at all, especially once you got outside of the city. The directions from the owners were spot-on and we didn't get lost once during the 2.5 hour drive. Also, the driveway to the property is admittedly rather steep, but we were able to still drive up it with our compact rental car (which had all the horsepower of a lawnmower.)

Las Terrenas was absolutely charming. We had a great time at Playa Bonita and had some great meals in the nearby restaurants and bars, especially El Salero and Mosquito Bar. Also, the more isolated Playa Coson was breath-takingly beautiful.

The hike to the waterfall of El Limon Salto is not to be missed. We had a great time, although it was a bit of a challenge getting there in the middle of a rainstorm. Also, we weren't quoted the 450 peso a person price for the guided tour until the tour was over. Nevertheless, it was a great hike and a beautiful sight to behold.

A slice of heaven, indeed.
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Boston
5

Vacation from Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My girlfriend's mother said it best: "This house is a little slice of Heaven." I couldn't agree more. We spent a week there and the time absolutely flew by. I knew it was going to be wonderful from the moment we arrived, when we were greeted by the housekeeper Noelia (who is delightful) and a fridge filled with cold beer and fresh fruit.

Where to begin? The house and the surrounding property is absolutely spotless and is built in a way that takes full advantage of amazing surroundings. As good as the pictures are, they do not do justice to this place. Noelia was there every day to clean the place up and she did an amazing job. The pool was spotless and refreshing as can be (the little bit of rainwater it got every day kept it from being too warm.) The beds were perfectly comfortable, there were more than enough towels and linens, and the i-Pod speaker system allowed us to have more than a few wild dance parties.

The drive from Santo Domingo really wasn't too bad at all, especially once you got outside of the city. The directions from the owners were spot-on and we didn't get lost once during the 2.5 hour drive. Also, the driveway to the property is admittedly rather steep, but we were able to still drive up it with our compact rental car (which had all the horsepower of a lawnmower.)

Las Terrenas was absolutely charming. We had a great time at Playa Bonita and had some great meals in the nearby restaurants and bars, especially El Salero and Mosquito Bar. Also, the more isolated Playa Coson was breath-takingly beautiful.

The hike to the waterfall of El Limon Salto is not to be missed. We had a great time, although it was a bit of a challenge getting there in the middle of a rainstorm. Also, we weren't quoted the 450 peso a person price for the guided tour until the tour was over. Nevertheless, it was a great hike and a beautiful sight to behold.

A slice of heaven, indeed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Charlestown, Massachusetts
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Having done my fair share of traveling around the world, I must say that my stay at the Villa Arboleda was truly the most exceptional vacation. I felt like a rock star for my entire stay! The house is magnificent, with a fantastic pool, sunken patio, two master suites and three additional bedrooms and the most picturesque roof-deck one could imagine. We took daily trips into the beautiful village of Las Terranas for trips to the market or to go out to dinner....we also enjoyed the stunning beaches of Playa Bonita and Playa Coson. One day, we ventured to the town of Limon and hiked to the waterfall ---- and we happen to have the best pictures you could ever hope for from a vacation. I would highly recommend this house, and hope to be back soon!
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Boston
5

VACATION LIKE A ROCK STAR

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Having done my fair share of traveling around the world, I must say that my stay at the Villa Arboleda was truly the most exceptional vacation. I felt like a rock star for my entire stay!

The house is magnificent, with a fantastic pool, sunken patio, two master suites and three additional bedrooms and the most picturesque roof-deck one could imagine. We took daily trips into the beautiful village of Las Terranas for trips to the market or to go out to dinner....we also enjoyed the stunning beaches of Playa Bonita and Playa Coson. One day, we ventured to the town of Limon and hiked to the waterfall ---- and we happen to have the best pictures you could ever hope for from a vacation.

I would highly recommend this house, and hope to be back soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

ahancox@hotmail.com

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I came to the DR after being invited by friends to spend thanksgiving away from NY. I had not done a lot of research, but the idea of spending the time away in a quite, warm paradise sounded fantastic, so I arrived with limited research and little more than printed directions and a Hertz rental car booking (2WD was fine). The country exceeded all expectations. The drive from the Las Americas airport to Las Terranas was slightly intimidating, but I was pleasantly surprised to find the roads in amazing condition, not busy and the directions easy to follow. Make sure you change money at the airport as the roads are tolled. It was an easy 2hour drive before I arrived at the house and was just blown away. It is an amazing property. It feels like I should be in the hills of Hollywood rather than the hills of the DR. The setting is amazing over looking forest and the ocean in the distance. The are a few houses in view , but far away over a valley. It is private and spectacular. The pictures in some ways do not do it justice. Open, airy living area flow to the kitchen outdoor dining and expansive decks with pool. The 2 "master" bedrooms on the upper level are isolated and separated from each other. You could be content simply hanging out here or taking the 10 minute drive to the local town where you can get 90% of the products and amenities you would have back home but bring wine with you - the local selection was slightly sub-par). Strongly recommend getting the chefs, like we did for some of the evening meals. I thought their cooking was better than the best restaurants in town.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Hollywood style in the DR

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I came to the DR after being invited by friends to spend thanksgiving away from NY. I had not done a lot of research, but the idea of spending the time away in a quite, warm paradise sounded fantastic, so I arrived with limited research and little more than printed directions and a Hertz rental car booking (2WD was fine). The country exceeded all expectations. The drive from the Las Americas airport to Las Terranas was slightly intimidating, but I was pleasantly surprised to find the roads in amazing condition, not busy and the directions easy to follow. Make sure you change money at the airport as the roads are tolled. It was an easy 2hour drive before I arrived at the house and was just blown away. It is an amazing property. It feels like I should be in the hills of Hollywood rather than the hills of the DR. The setting is amazing over looking forest and the ocean in the distance. The are a few houses in view , but far away over a valley. It is private and spectacular. The pictures in some ways do not do it justice. Open, airy living area flow to the kitchen outdoor dining and expansive decks with pool. The 2 "master" bedrooms on the upper level are isolated and separated from each other. You could be content simply hanging out here or taking the 10 minute drive to the local town where you can get 90% of the products and amenities you would have back home but bring wine with you - the local selection was slightly sub-par). Strongly recommend getting the chefs, like we did for some of the evening meals. I thought their cooking was better than the best restaurants in town.
business
Elegant hill-top refuge in Dominican resort town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p247193
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
NYC, NY
5

Spectacular views from a spacious, modern retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The infinity pool with its fantastic view of the wide, open sky, ocean and lush tropical landscape is my screensaver. This house is conducive to: lounging poolside with cocktails, dancing or doing yoga on the wooden deck, festive dinners with lively conversation, quiet reading or puzzle solving, sleeping in late or lolling around in bed. If you're a runner, you'll dig the hills leading up to the house. If you like to explore, the 50 meter waterfalls of Limon are very close and fun to take a horseback ride to before your swim. If you're a diver, there a sites nearby.

The house is very well-maintained, and we opted for the maid service and chef for two of our nights. Very affordable! The chef was about $20 per person and made food enough for the next day.

The layout is so spacious that everyone has their own space and the communal spaces are welcoming. It's peaceful and safe. The night sky view is amazing--you can see so many stars without light pollution.

I highly recommend gathering close friends (kids have fun here too) and whisking yourself off for well-deserved rest and recharging.