Eure castle rental - Winter at Chateau du Jonquay
Winter at Chateau du Jonquay
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Eure Castle Rental Photos and Description
11 bedrooms, 5 full bathrooms, sleeps 24 in Chateau and stablehouse together.

17th c. Empire Chateau, family friendly property of 5 acres with heated pool, pond, and formal gardens. Formal Dining Room and Salon, French country kitchen and Empire library. Large Informal living area for children with Playstation and games TV. High style interior by renown New York designer. Quiet villages nearby with local bakeries, markets and shopping. 2 miles to A13 autoroute with easy access to Rouen, Bordeaux, Paris, casinos and beaches. The chateau has been fully restored.The Chateau sleeps 14 by itself or up to 24 with additional stable house. Discount given for the two properties rented together. Stable house alone, sleeps 6-8. Featured in US Elle Decor (cover property) and France's Maison Normandes (cover property). Truly pastoral escape in luxurious surroundings.

Our family loves to spend our vacations here at any time of year - Summer by the pool, or a white Christmas in the snow - we are sure you would enjoy this piece of paradise as much as we do!

Chateau du Jonquay is located near a small town ( approx 5 - 10 min walk thru country lanes )

The local village has a beautiful old church and delicious Boulangerie that can arrange delivery of freshly baked croissants and baguettes to your front door every morning!

It is only a short drive , approx 5 mins , to another local town Bourg -Achard.

This town has 2 supermarkets, fabulous butcher and charcuterie, 2 more Boulangeries, fruit shop , Bank and Post Office. There is a market here once a week.

It also has a magnificent michelin rated restaurant and 2 bars.

In the Chateau is a book we have collated of things to do and see in the area , including good restaurants.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 246874 in Eure, France

Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
average rating of 4.875 based on 9 reviews
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
5

This is how we like to holiday!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our group had a wonderful stay at this lovely empire chateau. The setting is right in the heart of the Normandy countryside - huge skies and gorgeous sunsets. Close to a nice working town, you can provision yourself handsomely from the excellent little shops there - the boulangerie is terrific and we found the local people to be unfailingly charming and helpful.

Inside, the chateau made for excellent group living with comfortable beds all in large rooms. We enjoyed the library especially with its collection of some engaging and special books. There is a great dining room where we ate some sumptuous meals made with delicious local produce. The fine weather meant we also spent some quality time by the pool. We had some great days out tracing "Les Boucles" - the twists and turns of the Seine nearby. We enjoyed some excellent restaurants in the area and a special mention must go out to L'Amandier which was one of several great recommendations from the owners who left a very comprehensive guide - no detail too small !

You can stay put in some considerable comfort or take days out - none of the main Normandy visitor attractions are too far away and that includes the beach. If you need to get a family group together in a civilised, convivial, relaxing and stylish way, then I seriously recommend this wonderful place.
Owner's Response: Thankyou for the comments! We love hosting family groups, it is the perfect place for celebrations of all types. We have had 70th birthdays, wedding anniversaries, and combined family gatherings. There is so much to eat, see and do. You can be as relaxed or as active as you like. A recurring comment we seem to get is that the stay was not long enough to fit everything in!
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

review from Sawday's " special places to stay "

review from Sawday's " special places to stay "
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Gleaming white walls, pastel shutters, soaring roofs and a tree-lined courtyard — it could have tumbled out of a romantic French novel. Inside is no less alluring. The graceful 17th-century Empire manor house, in a secluded corner of Normandy, occupies three floors and has two sitting rooms, three bathrooms and a library. Rooms are decorated throughout with a deft lightness of touch in classic French style, while the dining room with its Asian flourishes combines the funky with the formal — great for lunches that stretch past sunset. Château boutiquery continues in seven spacious bedrooms, their period design augmented by contemporary touches. Outside, a sunbed beside the (unfenced) pool is the perfect viewing place for five acres of gardens, French and formal. The village of Bourg Achard, some 4km away across the fields, supplies the essentials of French life — bread, wine, cuisine, culture; the cycling is easy and bikes are provided. There are markets aplenty, and mediaeval Rouen, where the pro-English bishop somewhat unhelpfully burnt Joan of Arc, is an easy drive.
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
4

A wonderful Normandy experience!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
After spending 2 months travelling the south of French we met up with 4 other couples from home to experience our first visit to Normandy. The Chateau more than accommodated the five couples and one single (there were still spare beds). The surrounding land and swimming pool area create an atmosphere of total relaxation. The Salon is a beautiful room to sit in as a group and has a beautiful open fire for chilly nights in the cooler months.

We had so much fun shopping at the markets and shops in Bourg-Achard, Deauville (fantastic Saturday market) and Bourgtheroulde and of course our morning walk to buy bread and croissants at Epreville en Roumois (they will deliver if you pre order). The kitchen was fully equipped to cook a feast for the large group.

Jane (the owner) is such a foodie and she recommended where to order and buy our fois gras, salmon, cheeses, tarts etc and the top recommendation for the butcher in Deauville to buy the famous agneau pre sale (lamb that has fed on salty, semi-tidal grass at the base of St Mont Michel), it was amazing.
Jane also recommended restaurants and places to visit all of which were terrific.

Normandy sights are quite spaced out but with a car we visited, D Day beaches, war cemeteries, Rouen, Honfleur and Deauville (both a must) ,La Bouille (a must for lunch overlooking the Seine, (we ate at at La Maison Blanche and it was superb)), Bec Hellouin (to hear the singing monks) and Mont St Michel .
Jane also recommended many special restaurants with L'Amandier in Bourg Achard (10 mins away) the favourite. L'Amandier also hosted 5 of us for a cooking class which was fun and memorable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Chateau Jonquay which was superbly enhanced by Jane's local knowledge and recommendations. The Chateau is ideally suited to being used as a base to explore the sights of Normandy or as a sanctuary to just relax. The owners are outstanding hosts, they go out of their way to make your stay a wonderful Normandy experience.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
5

Two amazing weeks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Well we are home and are finally having some time to think about our stay at the chateau. We all have decided that no one had as great time as our family. We enjoyed everything.The weather was fantastic (honest only one day of rain). The scenery took our breath away. We loved our neighbors...the cows,peacock and pig. The pool amused the kids until the late hours of the night. We didn't realize that the sun set so late.

We loved the patisserie in Epreville en Roumois. We purchased croissants and baguettes everyda. We biked or drove the car. We loved the lifestyle.
We went to the market on Mondays and bought wonderful fruits and vegetables. Monsieur Aubain was most helpful for delicious meats. We created some fabulous meals in the kitchen and had great sausage and cheeses in the backyard and around the grill. We had an outstanding soccer (futbol) games out front.

L'Amandier was absolutely delightful and delicious; we had our last night feast there.
We did find English speaking babysitters who watched the kids 2 times while we headed out to Honfleur for some amazing seafood and to a Michelin star restaurant.
.
Bellonde Traiteur created a meal for our memory as well as a special photographer captured all of our family on the front yard. Our travels included Mont St Michelle, Honfleur, Ste Mere Eglise, the D day beaches, Rouen, Etretat and Fecamp. Along with with 2 day trips to Paris and Giverny. We climbed every castle fort and abbey along the way. We picnicked at each and definitely tasted many croquets Monsieur.

Thank you for offering such a wonderful place. We can not say enough wonderful things about the chateau.

The Longobardis.
Ron and Judy,
Paul and Kristin Longobardi and their 3 boys...Christopher,Andrew and Nicholas, The Caruso's, John and Kelly and their 3 kids...Julianna, Mia and Joseph
The Sosnitskys Eric and Julie and their kids John Paul and Madeleine.
Merci beau coup
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
5

The greatest time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Well, we are home and finally having some time to think about stay at the chateau. We have all decided that no one had as great time as our family. We enjoyed everything. The weather was fantastic, just one day of rain. The scenery took our breath away. We loved our neighbors....the cows, peacock roosters and pig. The pool amused the kids until the late hours of the night. Who knew the sun so late. We loved the patisserie in Epreville en Roumois. Croissants and baguettes every day. We biked or drove there everyday. We loved the slow life style.
We went to market on Mondays. Bought fresh fruit and vegetables. Monsieur Aubain selected the best cuts of meat.
L'Amandier was delicious. Bellonde Traiteur created a meal for memories at the chateau along with a wonderful photographer who captured the whole clan on the front lawn.
We too cooked awesome meals in the kitchen. Had super soccer games on the front lawn and great sausages and cheeses around the pool.
Our travels included Mont Ste Michel, Honfleur, Ste Marie Eglise,the beaches, Rouen, Etretat, Fecamp, along with 2 days in Paris and Giverny. We climbed every castle, fort and abbey along the way. We picnicked at each and tasted croque Messieurs whenever possible. We even visited the Liverot cheese fermier.
Merci for offering such a unique experience to see " the real France"
Ron and I celebrated our anniversary in such a spectacular location. Merci from our kids Paul, Kelly and Julie and their spouses Kristin,John and Eric. And of course the 8 grandkids who became very French with language and definitely with the food.
Merci beau coup. Judy
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
5

Brilliant experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
we recently returned from a fantastic week at Jonquay,truly a wonderful hidden 'gem'. I fell in love with the chateau the moment we drove into the stone driveway, so spectacular and magnificent. All bedrooms are huge and beautifully decorated. The pool and outdoor area is amazing,perfect for a long relaxing lunch or a swim.
The location is well suited for all the sightseeing spots.we travelled to Deauville, Honfleur (my favourite), Monet's garden, D-Day beaches etc.
I found staying in the outskirts very appealing, it was nice to unwind in this quiet space after spending a long day travelling and walking.
Finally, I want Jane and Steve to know how much Dinesh and I appreciated our time at the chateau, we had an excellent stay,we would highly recommend Jonquay to everyone.
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
Los Angeles
5

Already thinking about our next stay here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Just spent a long weekend at Chateau du Jonquay. We had such an outstanding time and can't wait to come back. Jane was amazing and gave us so many fabulous recommendations on where to eat and what to see. The photos of the chateau are just a tease when we arrived we were amazing at it's beauty and grandeur. The little town of Rouen is a great trip and dinner at L'Amandier is a must!
Thank you!!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased when guests enjoy themselves as much as we do at Chateau du Jonquay!
we agree it is such a great,undiscovered gem of France. We always look forward to guests coming back to stay with us,it is one of the highest forms of compliment.
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
Washington DC
5

Just came back! June 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Stayed there a week in June with dear friends. The house is wonderful and the area is amazingly quiet. We opened the kitchen up and let the kids play. We will be back and SO wish we could have stayed much longer!

Thank you! Dave
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It is always a pleasure hosting families at Chateau du Jonquay.
Normandy is such a wonderful, relaxing pocket of France.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Chateau Du Jonquay-Cover of Elle Decor Us and Maisons Normande
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246874
+61 425727920
Eure Normandy
5

Un merveilleux séjour

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Dans la campagne normande (recevoir un plan détaillé de la route pour arriver au château serait un plus), nous avons passé au Château du Jonquay un merveilleux séjour de 3 jours pour le réveillon.
Arrivés à 3 familles, nous avons eu le plaisir d'être accueillis par la responsable des locations, jeune femme charmante et efficace, qui nous a fait découvrir le château magnifique dans sa décoration et idéalement distribué.
Nous sommes arrivés dans une demeure très propre, bien chauffée (un plus avec un feu de bois qui brûlait dans la cheminée) avec des lits déjà faits et des draps de bains à disposition.
Le château est très agréable avec 2 étages dont un que nous avons dédié aux enfants avec télé, vidéo et jeux.
Les chambres sont spacieuses, toutes avec des décorations raffinées. Le salon est très agréable et la salle à manger, avec sa magnifique table rectangulaire en bois, conviviale (12 personnes à table !).
Nous avions à disposition des vélos (casques dans l’entrée).
Enfin le château est bien situé, à proximité de Bourg-Achard, parfaite pour les courses avec une bonne auberge, derrière l’église…
A proximité, nous avons visité Rouen et l'Abbaye de Jumièges, découverte dans l'émission des Racines et des Ailes.
Les propriétaires sont australiens, charmants, et il nous a été vraiment très agréable d’être en contact avec eux.
Nous recommandons chaleureusement cette superbe demeure.
Owner's Response: Nous aimons entendre que les familles aiment rester dans notre beau château. Il est beau en hiver et en été. Il ya toujours beaucoup de choses à faire et à voir dans notre région très intéressante.