Anna Maria house rental - Welcome to Last Chance cottage!
Welcome to Last Chance cottage!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Anna Maria House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Full Baths, (Sleeps 4)

'Last Chance' is a great place for a family with children who want to play at a calm, shady beach and walk to the Rod and Reel pier for a fresh fish sandwich. There is a playground, picnic tables and barbecue grills in the park and plenty of adult playgrounds in the area as well.

Though technically a bay beach, we are just around the bend from the open gulf, so the water is flushed clean daily and the sand is clean and white. You will very likely see dolphins and manatees; in the summer, loggerhead sea turtles lay their eggs right in front of the cottage.

The entire front of the house is windows and the living room, kitchen and screened porch are all open through to a beautiful water view. The furniture is vintage beachy. There is a lawn owned by the town which adjoins the property on the north side and is perfect for dogs and children's games. We have a small but growing book collection and various board games. The landscaping is exclusively native coastal plants in the front and tropical fruit trees in the back.

The city of Anna Maria has no fast food restaurants, no traffic lights and no high rises. It’s Old Florida at its best, when things were tranquil and living was easy. Whether your goal is to finish that good book you’ve been reading, stroll some quaint island shops or gather your collection of seashells, it’s easily accomplished here.

Nature lovers will be amazed at the natural habitat of Anna Maria. Whether you’re a bird watcher, shell collector, fishing enthusiast, or master gardener, you’ll find what you’re looking for here. Our sugar sand beaches are strewn with seashells and are well populated by shore birds, sea turtles and dolphins.

Take a minute and picture yourself napping on a beach towel on the warm sand of the bay or Gulf of Mexico, all to the gentle sound of the surf. We look forward to your stay. Please take a look at our numerous '5 star' reviews below, entered by our guests.

Keywords: House, waterview, beach cottage, excellent reviews

More Details
Hide Details

Jean Blackburn is a third generation Floridian who grew up on Anna Maria Island. After earning a Master of Fine Arts degree at the University of Oregon, sailing for several years throughout the Caribbean and Central America and 'homesteading' in interior Florida with family, she realized that the island was sorely missed. When the cottage overlooking Bayfront Park came on the market, she bought it with a phone call the same day. Jean and her husband, Steven Schaefer, recently retired as head of Manatee Co Public Defender's office, are involved in a number of environmental efforts in the area. She is on a land acquisition council for Sarasota County and a state park board and they both are active in manatee research and protection. Jean is represented by Rhea Chile's (FL's former first lady) gallery, The Studio at Gulf and Pine, just a few blocks from the cottage.

Lin Oakerson purchased this house in 1999

Our cottage is in one of my favorite areas of Anna Maria. It is across a quiet street from a lovely beach, a short walk from three excellent waterfront restaurants, two historic fishing piers and the magnificent Bean Point for long beach walks and views of Egmont Key. From the living and dining room, kitchen and porch there are views of the bay and Sunshine Skyway bridge. Just a few steps out the front door is a wonderful white sand beach, picnic tables and barbecue grills; perfect for family gatherings.

Our cottage is at the end of the island, with no bridge connection to the north. Thus there is very little traffic, mostly bicycles and walkers. It is very quiet, especially during the week. Close by is a wealth of entertainment: the community theater, beachfront restaurants and bars, shopping, yoga and rentals of any watersport equipment or bikes. The island has a free trolley that runs every 20 minutes. The fishing - beach, pier, bay or gulf - is extraordinary.

17 Reviews of Property 246854 in Anna Maria, Florida

Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Strongsville, Ohio
5

A Wonderful Place For Your Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This place is absolutely wonderful. The location is great - it is on North Bay, directly across the street from the park and the nice little beach on the bay. You can easily walk to the Rod & Reel Pier for breakfast, the City Pier for lunch, and Two Scoops for ice cream. It's also close to the shops on Pine Avenue. The house is very cute on the outside, with lots of space on either side for your pets. There is a nice screened lanai with a small table & 2 chairs, a chaise lounge and several other comfortable chairs - great for having a glass of wine at the end of the day. The inside of the house is very nice as well, with everything you might need while you're on vacation. We were very impressed by how clean and neat the place was when we arrived. We had a nice welcome note and gift from Lin waiting for us, which was a much-appreciated personal touch - none of the other places we've stayed on Anna Maria have had that. The home is really spacious and charming. We loved the hardwood floors, the cool kitchen countertops, the dining table made from a ship's helm, the updated sinks throughout, the nice flat screen TV, the good-sized washer & dryer (we do a LOT of laundry), and the ceiling fans in all the rooms. The master bedroom is large, cooler than the rest of the house, and has a king bed (which many rentals don't have). Unfortunately the mattress was a bit too firm for us. We slept in the 2nd bedroom which had a very comfortable (but smaller) bed. Both bathrooms were very clean with nice new sinks, and the showers and toilets worked well. The tv looked new and worked well, and the wireless internet service also worked very well. Overall we were extremely happy with this place. We come to Anna Maria every year for vacation, and this home is one of the best places we've stayed. If you're looking for good food while you're here, check out our 2 favorite places - Minnie's for breakfast (small diner with great food on Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, cash only) and The Feast for dinner (in the shopping center at the corner of Marina and Gulf in Holmes Beach - great food, great wine, great service). We also like Cafe on the Beach and the Sandbar for outdoor dining.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Tam -
Thank you for your excellent 5-star review and kind words. We're happy you stayed with us and appreciate the beautiful condition of the cottage upon check-out. We hope you will return!
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Midwest
5

Casual relaxation in a good location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I stayed here with my elderly parents and it couldn't have worked out better. Being all on one floor, grab bars in the showers, and a master bedroom with attached bath worked well for the 90 year olds. Plus, they could walk the short distance across the (not very busy) street to the bay park, sit on a bench and enjoy the views. The house had all the kitchen amenities we needed, plus TVs, screened porch, laundry, books to read - it was clean and nicely decorated in a casual, homey way. I also liked the plantings around the house and the grassy lot next door. My husband and I used the bikes in the garage for rides around the north end of the island, and the piers and Pine Ave were easy walking distance (though too far for my parents to walk). Very convenient location to shops, restaurants and beaches. I should say that we are not sun bathers so don't care about accommodations on the beach but we like to walk the beach and because this house is so close to the north end of the island it is easy to reach the beach at numerous access sites. If you are looking for big, high-rise luxury accommodations with manicured golf courses, look somewhere else but if you are looking for casual, inviting, old Florida relaxation, this is a great spot. We would definitely rent this house again.
Owner's Response: Cathy - Thank you for your excellent review! We loved having you and appreciate that you all lived in the cottage as if it was your own. We look forward to your return!
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Easton, MD
5

Wonderful Location near the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We greatly enjoyed our one-week stay before joining our family at Disney World. The property manager goes above and beyond in being helpful. We got a list of restaurant suggestions as well as places where our dog would be welcome to play and swim. This house has character and comes with everything you need to enjoy this beautiful island. It's walking distance to Pine, where restaurants and shops are located, and the free island trolley. The other rave reviews about this cottage are well-deserved!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mettah - It was a delight to have you stay. Thank you for your excellent review. Please return and we appreciate the way you left the cottage!
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Atlanta
5

A Great Little Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We enjoyed our stay at this cottage during the week after Christmas. Lin, the property manager, was easy to work with--not always the case with some VRBO managers/owners.
The cottage itself sits right across from a small park on the bay side of AMI which has a small playground, restrooms, and plenty of sand. It is a short walk to the pier and the shops near there. The neighborhood is quiet and we felt comfortable walking any time of day/night.
The screened porch is very nice--especially when it's too cool for the beach. My only suggestion would be for more comfortable furniture on the porch because it IS the perfect place to sit and read, relax, or hang out.
This is a great little cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Joan and Jim - Thank you for staying with us and your excellent review. We will address your recommendations regarding front porch comfort.
We hope you will return and thank you for leaving the cottage in such good condition.
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Cardiff
5

Harrison family from Cardiff

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Whilst trying to decide on what property to book for our two week holiday I read a lot of reviews and was surprised to see only great reviews on this property and none that were even less than 5 out of 5.
Well now we have just returned from our stay at this superb property I can see why.
The place is fantastic, it was exactly what we needed, a great property with an exceptional location the best location on the island in our eyes.
From stepping across the road in the morning with my coffee to see the sun rise over the city pier, to strolling down the road to catch the free trolley that takes you around the island, to cycling to Beane Point to view the fabulous sun sets, the place is magical.
One failing is that I do not believe the above photos on the views of the sea from the property do this place justice, only one shown, in my eyes there should be more, the views although interrupted with vegetation is still no doubt great.
Lin the property manager could not be more accommodating, from the welcome goodies which were greatly appreciated to the great communication before arrival and flexibility whilst we were staying, a winning combination of a great property and brilliant manager.
It's often a big gamble on booking a property for your precious holiday but honestly if you book this place you are on to a winner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Andrew and family -
It was a pleasure having you and a special thank you for treating the house as your own and for sharing your (fish) catch...delicious!
We look forward to your return and thanks for your kind words and incredible review.
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Clarksville
5

Great Vacation For All!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was an awesome beach house right across the street for the beach! This home away from home was just what our group of friends needed to end our summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ethan; we look forward to your return. Thanks also to the 4 of you for the way you left the cottage.
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Huntingdon Valley, PA United States
5

home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We've been coming here since '05 and we adore it! The cottage is charming, and just right for our family -comfortable, cozy, and beautiful artwork on every wall. How lucky we are! It's so great to have a full kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 bathrooms, and a lovely view of Tampa Bay.
It's fantastic that Pine Avenue is reviving so much -lots to do, and still a nice, quiet little town where everyone is friendly and welcoming. Thank you, Jean and Lin!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Holly, Sean and girls - Thank you! Always a pleasure to have you stay. The cottage always seems happier and well-loved after your visits. Thank you for sharing your good energy with us and our beloved island. We look forward to your return.
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Cape Canaveral, FL
5

Fantastic Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We stayed (husband and dog) at the beach house the second week in November, 2011 and had a wonderful time. The location of the beach house is fantastic; across from the bay and park, walking distance to the gulf, both piers, and main street (Pine St) with lovely shops, the General Store, restaurants, cafe, etc. The beach house felt like a home away from home, it was very clean, comfortable, uniquely decorated, and had everything you could need. The beach house is located on the north end of the island (everything is within walking distance!), easy to ride bikes or walk around town. We recommend sunsets at the Sandbar, Slims Place, Feeling Swell, lunch and fishing at Rod and Reel, free trolly around the island, Bridge street shops and restaurants, Ringling Museum (Sarasota). We loved our stay at the beach house and hope to stay again next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Gineen. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Anna Maria island, in general. Thank you for leaving the house is such great shape! We look forward to your return. - Lin Oakerson, Property Manager
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Columbus, Indiana
5

Beautiful View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My brother-in-law, my sister, my wife, my dog, and I stayed at Anna Maria Beach House from 7/23/11 to 7/30/11, and we had a GREAT TIME! This home feels bigger than it is due to a circular floor plan. We all four liked the fact that if some of us were in the living room or the dining area while others were in the kitchen, we were not "out of the loop." We also liked it because we found it to be clean, light, and well equipped. It's a great neighborhood for walking, too, and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. The bay offers a beautiful view, including stunning sunrises every morning! Lin Oakerson was very helpful by having all arrangements made ahead of time just as she said she would. All-in-all, it was a very memorable trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Mike. We're delighted you had such a great vacation on AMI and look forward to your return. - Lin
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anna Maria Beach House - Great Water View, Perfect Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246854vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Midlothian, VA
5

Love this beach house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed (husband, me, 2 kids and dog) in the cute little beach house for a week in July - it was a super week at the beach! The nearby restaurants are fabulous - and very well priced! Super close to a great beach. The hospitality by Lin was the best we've ever had - from personal restaurant recommendations to information about the area to a bottle of chilled wine, Lin really helped us have a great week on Anna Maria Island. (thank you!!)

The house has fabulous art and is very homey in a good way! The floors are gorgeous, art is really awesome, and it's furnished in a very nice, comfortable style. Kitchen had everything you need, too. Great ceiling fans throughout the house. It was the a nice size for the 4 of us, and it had a great lot next door for the kids & dog (although they spent more time at the beach! haha)

I definitely recommend this house - we hope to visit again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying with us and for your excellent review. We're delighted you had such a great time at the beach. - Lin
Helpful votes: 2/2