Freeport house rental - Freeport Vacation Home with Hot Tub
Freeport Vacation Home with Hot Tub
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Freeport House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Complete privacy on 8 ½ wooded acres just three miles from Freeport Village and LL Bean, five miles from the ocean, twenty minutes from Portland, fifteen minutes from Brunswick.

The home is fully furnished, with three bedrooms, a gourmet kitchen, fireplace, spacious deck with hot tub, well-maintained gardens, garage, cable, and wireless internet. Even a baby grand piano! The master suite with double vanity is at one end of the house, the other two bedrooms at the other end with their own shared bathroom.

Ideal home base for summer vacation, foliage season, or winter getaways.

This is a peaceful, private setting - you can't see or hear the neighbors. The view in every direction, including from the oversized deck, is gardens and trees. Enjoy the coast of Maine without paying waterfront rates, and spread out and relax in this 2,000 square foot property.

From our guest book:

'a great house and a great location'

'a lovely home in a beautiful setting'

'we'll have many wonderful memories of our time here in this beautiful, peaceful setting'

'this is one vacation that we will remember for years to come'

''Wow' is all we can say…this is one vacation that we will remember for years to come…wish we could stay longer.'

'We come to Maine every fall and rent a house…this was one of the best – especially enjoyed the hot tub.'

'The beds were very comfy. The kitchen had everything we needed.'

More Details
Hide Details

We built this house in 1997. Circumstances have taken me to Oregon, but I plan to keep the house and return to it. So this isn't just a rental property -- it's my home. I'm pleased to be able to share it, and it's a house that really should be full of life all the time.

I work in healthcare marketing and public relations, which is what brought me out here. We run a small wine brokerage on the side, bringing Oregon and Washington wines back to Maine.

We had two dogs when we lived there, and that's why we're pet-friendly. I've not had problems in 3 years of renting, except for one party. So I'm keeping it pet-friendly.

Everything you see on the exterior, from the foundation walls out, I did. Deck, plantings, etc. I'm fortunate to have my brother as my property manager, and he's keeping everything up for me.

I love Oregon, but it has made me appreciate the pace and privacy in Maine. People are packed pretty tightly here, whereas at my Maine home I can't even see the neighbors. I think that privacy is one of the best features of the house.

Owner purchased this house in 1997

26 Reviews of Property 246816 in Freeport, Maine

Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
average rating of 4.76 based on 26 reviews
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Freeport Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This rental home was more than we could ask for. It was very clean, spacious and worked well for our vacation. We had three couples and one baby and the place was more than big enough. The pictures on the site don't do it justice. The house is set back in the woods and away from any neighbors. The hot tub on the deck was great for lounging and viewing the beautiful scenery. We would def stay here again the next time we're in Freeport.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Winter Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We really enjoyed our winter stay here! The house was absolutely perfect... it was spotless, well-maintained, and there are tons of windows to view the surrounding nature. We stayed during a blizzard and the house stayed toasty warm, not a draft even with the winds and snow blowing wildly outside, you can tell how well-built this place is. Being able to pull my car into the garage was a huge bonus, and we were plowed literally minutes after the storm was finished. The house is so comfortable and well thought out... the kitchen had everything you could possibly need, including a crockpot and dishwasher! I loved too that they had the little things some rentals don't, ex: dish soap, hand soap, paper towels, saran wrap, etc. We could arrive, unpack, and be on vacation! We also brought our golden retriever with us and she spent her days staring out the big french door windows. She loved it so much too. We went on lots of walks and saw plenty of deer. It was also great to be such a short drive from Portland where there are tons of fabulous restaurants. The best part was that even though you are minutes away from all the conveniences you could need, the house was completely private, surrounded by the beautiful Maine woods. No neighbors, just peace and quiet. The perfect winter retreat! We can't wait to go back...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Incredible Getaway in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Clark House. It truly is a home away from home. So comfortable with many, many amenities. Conveniently located to all of our day trip destinations. So relaxing and tranquil. It was the perfect home base for our Maine vacation. The description/photos of this property are modest. It was a pleasant surprise when we arrived. We never anticipated such a well maintained and spacious location. It was beyond expectations. We would definitely stay again, and recommend to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Wow, another renter says the pictures don't do it justice! So I guess I need to take some more pictures. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We're very proud of the house, and my property manager is first class.
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

this is the perfect home to enjoy all the coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
the property is immaculate, private, roomy, and has all the comforts of home. cozy enough for a romantic getaway; spacious enough for a family gathering. far from the bustling crowd, yet close to all the activities on the coast, we would recommend this rental to all ages, and will certainly return, perhaps to enjoy all the cross-country skiing opportunities in the winter. we loved the Maritime Museum in Bath, the sandy beaches at Popham, numerous hikes both coastal and inland, especially the `Giant Stairs` out on the peninsula. gained a few extra pounds on the fine seafood everywhere.,..,.., thnx for opening your home to us!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
Baltimore, MD/ USA
5

R&R in Maine

R&R in Maine
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I decided on a little R&R time and 2 of my children were also able to go. They selected Maine to be our destination and they could not have selected anything better! As always, once the destination was decided upon- I went to Home Away and found, what turned out to be one of the best rentals to date. The house is nestled in the woods for those seeking quiet, however close enough to just about anything you could need. The house is fully equipped- just pack your clothes. I can't even begin to say how much we enjoyed the house and the hot tub was an added bonus. The pictures truly do not do this property justice. If you are heading to the Freeport region- this is the place to stay. I would personally like to thank Wayne for sharing this beautiful home. I hope to return one day and experience a different season!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the feedback? We're very proud of the house and I have a fantastic property manager who keeps it up beautifully. Now you've seen Maine in early spring, so by all means come back and experience summer, and then fall!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
NJ
4

Fun in Freeport

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Went here in August for a mini family reunion, and we could not have been happier. This house is in a great location--5 minutes from downtown, but it feels like a lifetime away from everything, which is a huge plus. The house was immaculately clean and as soon as we stepped foot inside we felt at home. The house has a very relaxed feel to it. We loved hanging out on the deck, listening to the sounds of nature and catching up with friends and family. The beds are comfortable, and the kitchen is fully stocked with whatever you could ask for. The property is huge, the pictures don't show how truly awesome it really is.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Good point about the pictures. I should add some that show the property, the paths, the brook, and so on. Glad you enjoyed!
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Great vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is a really lovely home - and it is a home, with plants and personal touches, as oppose to a rental property which has been kitted out from a big box store. You feel at home as soon as you enter and it's very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. The location is very peaceful yet it's really close to Freeport and I95.
Only disappointment was that we didn't see any of the wildlife others have mentioned - hopefully we'll see some on our next visit.
Owner's Response: Sorry you didn't see any wildlife. It's never a sure thing, but it's common to see turkeys, deer, and even the occasional moose. Next time!
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
Sullivan,Ohio
5

Sullivan,Ohio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What a beautiful home set in the middle of the woods . Sitting on the deck looking at the trees and the landscaping was one of my morning treats. The plants in the house really added to the decor. The kitchen was stocked with anything you needed ,so much room . This was our first time renting a home and it gets an A+ from us. We were a little early for fall foliage but had a great time. Nice location,close to 95 so you can get around very easy.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: For the benefit of other fall visitors, peak foliage in our area is fairly reliably the second week of October. It varies, of course, but that's pretty safe.
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
Northampton, Massachusetts
5

This is a very special rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is by far one of the best vacation rentals I've ever encountered. The house is close to Freeport, despite being tucked away in the pine woods. Privacy, beautiful skies, adeck and jacuzzi are just part of the package. The inside of the house is just lovely with a vaulted ceiling and fireplace in the living room and a very generously sized master suite. I can't recommend this house enough. If I every return to the area, I will be renting it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I always like it when people point out the beauty of the skies. I really miss that view. The outdoor hot tub, by the way, is brand new this season. It is an expensive amenity, but a popular one. Especially for cool season renters, but nice year round.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Just 2 June weeks left! Book now for fall. Comfort and privacy in coastal Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246816
Freeport Portland and Casco Bay Area
Alaska
5

Soldotna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Grew up inFreeport Maine, lived in Alaska now 27 years. Took family back for Christmas to visit family and friends.
This is a perfect house if you are wanting to be in the Maine woods and want a quiet place to escape. Clean, comfortable and set up well if you have chefs in the family. Lots of room, great fire place and wildlife on the property. Four miles from Freeport, 20 minutes to Portland. We will stay here again. Thanx Wayne.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: We've put a lot of thought into the kitchen, since many people use VRBO and HomeAway so they can cook in and save money on meals. Pretty much everything you need. I did have the knives sharpened for this party, since it included two professional chefs and that's their single most important tool. I'm really happy to hear reports of wildlife. Folks are seeing deer and turkeys in particular!