Richmond house rental - Dog Approved!!
Dog Approved!!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Richmond House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 1 half bath, sleeps 6-8 Newly Remodeled!!

Spend a week nestled at the edge of the beautiful Mattaponi. Use the kayaks or the golf clubs or nap on the screened porch made of trees. The ceiling fans should keep you cool or go inside to the air conditioning and hang out in the downstairs lounge with the cherry wood panels and the new vinyl pebble mosaic. Also you'll find big screen satellite TV, xbox, and TONS of games. The newly remodeled kitchen is ready to go. Just bring food. All 3 bedrooms have satellite TV . Soaps, Linens, towels some condiments and coffee are supplied. The upstairs bedroom has its own lounge and ruby powder room. There are 2 picnic tables. One on the screened porch and one in the Emerald Moss Garden. Most pets are welcome.

12 Reviews of Property 246430 in Richmond, Virginia

Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
5

Romantic Charmer for couples or families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I spent our 15th wedding anniversary in this rustic charmer. It had all you can imagine to enjoy outdoors with all the modern conveniences. Larkin was very friendly and accommodating. We took a 2 hour canoe ride on the Mattapponi River in the canoe provided, had s'mores under the star and enjoyed the satellite TV by the fireplace. The grocery store was close and my wife loved the antiquing in the area. It was a very special place to spend a very special anniversary. We hope to bring the kids with us next time, they will have a blast.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
5

Relaxing on the river!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is not your "typical" vacation home but I think that is what attracted us. This house is right on the river and the homeowner leaves lots of great toys for you to use (kayaks, canoes, fishing poles, etc.), We were VERY inexperienced and had no problems navigating the river. Lots of cool stuff to check out around the house. LOTS and LOTS of board games - I think we played a new one every night. We had four adults and two kids and had plenty of space. Most of our time was spent outside (we fought over the hammock). The family went to see the Richmond Spiders one afternoon and we spent a day at Kings Dominion so even though it seems like you are very secluded there are still fun things to do nearby. Larkin the homeowner is absolute pleasure to deal with. Extremely accommodating and knowledgeable about the area. She even mailed me back a cup we forgot there -- so kind. The ONLY drawback is the sound of the nearby road but you will get used to it quickly (we pretended it was ocean waves). I know there was a previous reviewer that said it was dirty -- did not find that at all! Hope we can make it back.
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
4

Quirky and comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My friend and I spent a week at this location without sighting any unclean areas or bugs in the house. (contrary to prior reviewer.) The house is definitely unusual, but we were comfortable and amused at the uniqueness. We did have an issue with the grill, but Larkin came and provided us with a replacement as soon as we contacted her. We made good use of the kayaks and firepit; they really enhanced our stay. If you are looking for peaceful, remote, and casual...this is a good place for you. If you're looking for fancy amenities, go to a hotel. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks Larkin!!!
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
5

great place to unwind

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great stay here. The house was very clean and had everything we needed and more. Being able to take a boat on the water is a nice touch. We will definetely try to come back another time. Thank you Larkin!
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our extended weekend at The Aylett River Paradise on the Mattaponi River was just perfect. The cottage is right on the river just across from Zoar State Forest. The home is clean and comfortable and the kitchen is very well stocked. The appliances are up to date and worked perfectly. The porch is terrific. The location can’t be beat. We rented for the weekend to visit family in Richmond.

Best of all, this is a dog-friendly property. We brought our dog Iris and she had a great time. We hiked in the area every morning and took Iris with us.

Larkin, the owner, was wonderful to deal with as she was readily accessible and always helpful. Thank you for a wonderful getaway. We wouldn’t hesitate to rent this house again and plan on it in the fall!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
4

Aylett River Paradise

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A great place for our family of five! Plenty of room to spread out, with a cozy, comfortable atmosphere with many homey, personal touches. Reminded us of our family cottages in Michigan so we felt right at home. Thank you for being dog-friendly, so that we could be a complete family for the holiday. Loved the privacy of the place, yet central to many amenities in the Richmond area. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. If we ever plan a trip to the area again, would definitely stay there.
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
Clifton, NJ
5

Wonderful Christmas!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Our family of five adults spent a week during the Christmas holiday and it was a lovely experience. We had plenty of room and were close to downtown Richmond where our daughter, son-in-law, and newborn grandson live. It was an easy commute from the cottage to the city. We were able to bring our two dogs who absolutely loved the grounds. The kitchen was very easy to cook in and it was great having the dishwasher! Larkin, the owner, was so obliging and helpful. She was a delight to deal with. The Food Lion supermarket was only five minutes away, and a larger shopping area was only about 20 minutes away. I would definitely recommend this property for a relaxing stay close to Richmond.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
New York, NY
5

Fantastic Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My family and I just finished a week at Larkin’s home by the lake, and I have to say, if you’re looking for a relaxing getaway, this is the perfect locale. We will usually rent a vacation home or cabin, but this is the first time I’ve taken the time to write a review, and the first rental property I would visit again.

My family and I had a list of activities planned, but there’s so much to do right here are at cabin, boating, fishing (we did catch fish), swimming and my favorite, relaxing with a cup of coffee in front of the lake. Of course, there are many things to do within driving distance, Kings Dominion (30 minutes), Colonial Williamsburg (58 minutes), Zoar Forest (hiking), etc.

I was also pleasantly surprised that the local market, Food Lion, was moderately priced and carried specialty items I usually purchase in New York City.

Larkin was a perfect host, always available if we needed her, but never intrusive.

I can’t wait to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
Frankfort, KY
5

Relaxing homebase for many adventures!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our family of six had a great stay here. We stayed for a week and headed out for adventures in Washington, DC (2 hours away), Virginia Beach (2 hours away) and Richmond (30 minutes away). We also spent a couple of days just at the house. The house really is like the picture with a few additional pieces of furniture.

Larkin really has thought of everything from the practical (bandaids and maps, for example) to the fun (games and freezer pops) to the beautiful (artistic touches around every corner). We had everything we needed at our fingertips. Our kids (ages 6-16) loved the games, TVs and paddling/swimming in the river. We loved the relaxed atmosphere and beautiful river.

Everything was clean, nice and in great shape. Larkin was very friendly and helpful. She has put together large books with maps and information on places to visit, shop and eat in the central Virginia area. Those were quite helpful to us.

The only thing I would change about our visit would be not bringing food. There is a nice, reasonably priced Food Lion just 4 miles away. No need to drag food from home. If you head to Richmond, be sure to go to Bottom's Up Pizza and Gelati Celesti Ice Cream. They are phenomenal and well worth the trip!

We are already dreaming of our next trip back to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Aylett River Paradise: A whimsical gem designed to harmonize with nature.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246430
+1 804 519-4471
Richmond Central Virginia
Richmond
4

An autumn getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
A great weekend just up the road form Richmond; it felt like a world away. It was a reunion of 3 couples (including one very cute baby) for the weekend. We were able to have a shorter stay than usual (typically 3 night minimum) as Larkin was hospitable to meet our needs as the house wouldn't have been rented otherwise. I found this house through the website and didn't really know what to expect. The house has a lot of special little characteristics and was very comfortable for our needs. We had the heat on and the fireplace going to keep us nice and warm. We cooked on the outside grill several times, which was very nice. We even were able to roast a lamb in the special convection oven/microwave appliance. It was delicious. We watched some football on the satellite big screen. Some of us braved the cooler temperatures and took the boats out on the water. The weather was nice enough for us to walk in the state forest just across the river. All in all, it was a very nice visit. The only surprise to me was the proximity of Rte 360. It was only about 75 yards from the house. So, when you are outside, you notice it.

Larkin was very responsive to making sure we were taken care of including coming back to the house to deal with a plumbing issue that arose which was quickly remedied.

After we left, we headed north to Tappahannock for a Sunday brunch and then checked out a couple of wineries in the Northern Neck. That was a fun way to wrap up the weekend.
Helpful votes: 11/12