Harrisville house rental - Front of the house
Front of the house
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Harrisville House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms , 1 bath, sitting area on 2nd floor has trundle bed, sleeps 5

Beautiful home on very quiet lake. Large open concept living area with pellet stove, gas fireplace in sun room. Large deck overlooking water. Master bedroom with queen size bed, has spectacular views of the lake and the adjoining sitting area has a trundle bed (sleeps 2). First floor bedroom has double bed. Swim and boat from our beach and dock. A canoe, row boat and kayak are available for you to enjoy the very quiet lake. Mt. Monadnock is only 5 miles away and hiking trails are all around us. The historic town of Harrisville center is only 1 mile away with its general store, weaving center, and more lakes, and town beach. Keene & Peterborough 10 miles away. Like to golf...many great courses nearby. A great place to relax and unwind !

Historic town of Harrisville: The town of Harrisville is one of the most photographed towns in New England with its lakes and beautiful brick buildings overlooking the town center. Harrisville Designs is a well known center for weaving classes and yarn shop. The town center is within walking distance to the house with its wonderful General store with restaurant and essentials.

Many Lakes to enjoy: Harrisville has 9 bodies of water to enjoy, Harrisville Pond in the center of town has a wonderful beach for everyone to enjoy. You can canoe, kayak, row, on any one of them. Bring your motor boat and water-ski on many of them.

LIKE TO HIKE AND BIKE!!! Mount Monadnock is only 5 miles from the lake and is the most climbed mountain in New England. It is an easy climb and the views are spectacular in all directions. There are quiet roads all around to bicycle on as well as bike trails in nearby Keene and Peterboro.

More Details
Hide Details

Doug & Pat and their sons built this house in the 80's and enjoyed it for many years and are now living in Harrisville just down the street from the lake. Pat the artist and Doug is a former teacher.

Both retired and then decided we needed to work to keep busy so we both are working part time!

4 Reviews of Property 246335 in Harrisville, New Hampshire

Beautiful Home On Lake Skatutakee
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews
business
Beautiful Home On Lake Skatutakee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246335
+1 6038273013
Harrisville Monadnock Region
5

Perfect Week Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Everything you would ever want to do is right there in the house or on the lake - walking, reading (on the deck or on the dock), canoeing, relaxing. We took daily short trips to bike area trails. The pellet stove was great for cool fall mornings. People and Labrador retriever heaven.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Home On Lake Skatutakee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246335
+1 6038273013
Harrisville Monadnock Region
5

Great get-away in a lovely area!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at the house last summer and had a wonderful time. We can't wait to come back this year and have just re-booked. The house is very comfortable and worked well for our two-year-old toddler and my husband and me. It would comfortably fit more people, too. We loved sitting on the dock at sunset and taking walks, bike rides, and runs around the area. We had some family visit for a day and had a barbecue--the house is very good for summer gatherings. The upstairs bedroom has a stunning view of the lake, and there were plenty of books and movies to pass the time if you don't feel like being outdoors. Harrisville is one of the most beautiful, quiet, classic New England small towns around. Don't miss it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home On Lake Skatutakee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246335
+1 6038273013
Harrisville Monadnock Region
5

Beautiful setting - Warm and cosy home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Went to book a week for this upcoming season and realized we had not written a review of our last stay.
We were in the throws of moving and need a place to relax and enjoy life and we found it with this rental. The home is so inviting. Pat and Doug were wonderful; helpful in their knowledge of the area and had supplied the home with everything we would need.
This was a hioliday week-end but it wasn't crazy - just full of joy.
We will return as long as the home is available.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home On Lake Skatutakee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246335
+1 6038273013
Harrisville Monadnock Region
2

Nice house....

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
House was great. Loved the deck. When inquiring about renting this home I asked if there was a sandy beach on/near the property for swimming and was told yes, and that it's not deep. There was about 2 feet of sand, and once you go past your ankles it's all muck and rocks. We basically had to float out on tubes very carefully, never touch the bottom, and hope we didn't get scraped by the rocks. The first day there, one of the owners (the wife), felt the need to come by and complain to us about the previous renters, how much toilet paper they used, how many beer cans they put in the recycle bag, and actually came by and told the woman she was using the wrong towels at the water. Needless to say, this lead to a very tense first few days, as we were visited 3 times, was told the septic system was poor so that the one extra person I had was a problem. Yes, I said 5 people were coming and i had a 6th for 3 days, but had no idea that the reason they stated no more than 5 people was because of a septic system issue....there was plenty of space for all to sleep inside...ps..if your kids like to tent, that's a no-no too. If you like a busy body in your face on your vacation, this is the place for you!! .p.s....the husband is very nice..he should do all the dealings with people...he has a much nicer demeanor.
Owner's Response: We are glad that these guests enjoyed the house and deck as well as boating in our kayak, canoe and row boat.
It was unfortunate that they were the first guests we've had that did not appreciate the limitations of the septic system and the restrictions to altering of lakeshore properties.
Having a house on a lake in New Hampshire is a privilege and we try not take it for granted and preserve the water and land the best we can. Lake Skatutakee is a beautiful clear lake, wonderful for swimming, fishing and boating. A lake we want people to enjoy for years to come!
Helpful votes: 5/8