Durham cabin rental - Front/Left Side From Dirt Road
Front/Left Side From Dirt Road
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Durham Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 1 BA, sleeps 6

Want To Get Away For a While ?

Be our guest in a real log cabin tucked away in the high country of the Catskill Mountains. This cabin has six rms and a screened porch:

2 Bedroom, Living & Dining Room, Full Bath, Kitchen, Screen Porch.

Sleeps 6 people comfortably: 1st bedroom has queen bed, 2nd

bedroom twin beds and the living room a queen size sleep sofa.

The cabin sits on 32 wooded acres which has it's own tranquil beaver

pond. Enjoy our outside firepit under the stars.

This area holds whitetail deer, bear, turkey and several species of small game, upland birds as well as freshwater fish so fishing and hunting is in abundance here in Preston Hollow. If Skiing is your thing it is a short 20 min drive to Windham and Hunter mountains a bit longer to Belleayre & Platterkill. This is a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of crowded slope side lodging. You can drive to the baseball Hall of Fame, Howe & Secret Caverns and it's only minutes to the Zoom Flume water park.

There are several picture postcard golf courses in surrounding communities.

Major NYS snowmobile trails are within minutes of this Cozy Cabin.

Winter Months: Between December and March.

If you plan your stay during these months you should plan on snow. The cabin is at an elevation that recieves snow when most forecast for this area call for rain. Dress for winter, including snow boots.

The road is a private road that we pay to have plowed. There is a 'one time' plowing fee accessed to each rental during the winter months. That means you pay the $75 fee once during your stay, even if the plow comes 3 times while you are there. Plowing is done on an as needed basis and there is no salt and sand treatment of the road. If you here a horn beep outside, it is the plow driver asking you to move your vehicle so he can clear the driveway. Please comply and move your vehicle as soon as possible.

Four Wheel or All Wheel drive vehicles are recommended during this time.

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 246225 in Durham, New York

Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
average rating of 4.909091 based on 22 reviews
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
5

A beautiful cabin and a great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The cabin was beautiful and immaculately kept, and was incredibly cozy and very well-stocked. We had an amazing time, and enjoyed the wood-burning stove and walking in the woods with our dog especially. Paul, the owner, was extremely communicative, and very friendly. This time of year, there was some ATV activity through the trails nearby, which could be noisy, but it was not sustained and didn't particularly bother us. I'd definitely stay here again, and recommend it to friends.
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
4

cozy cabin getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed at this cabin for a weekend while attending a bluegrass festival. Paul was terrific to interact with (as others have described, the welcome bottle of wine was a lovely touch). The cabin was cozy, clean, and very well maintained, with towels and linens provided, which was a plus. Visitor information organized by Paul and Anne came in handy and was appreciated. The setting was private and very peaceful, but relatively easy to access from the festival. We’d happily come back to enjoy this place again!
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
5

Great Summer Getaway in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A fully outfitted cabin with lots of woods to explore. We stayed cool in the July heat and spent a lot of time on the screened in porch without the bugs.
The owner was very communicative and keeps the place in good shape.
Lots of great curvy roads in the area if you like to drive or motorcycle.
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
4

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I spent a week here with my husband, two children, grandson and our dog. What a wonderful time we all had. The cabin had everything we needed and then some. Our dog learned how to swim in the beaver pond and we spent relaxing evenings by the fire pit.

Be prepared to drive if you want to sight see. However, the mountain was beautiful. Paul was kind enough to leave a bottle of wine for us and his contact number (just in case we needed anything).

There was abundant wildlife and the stars where amazing. We all had a great time! THANKS PAUL WE LOVED IT!!

Mary Batchelor
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
5

The BEST weekend EVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I am SO glad that we came across this perfect cabin! My husband and I haven't been away in a while and decided it was time we did and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place.

First of all, Paul was awesome - I contacted him on a Friday and we were able to get in the following week. He picked up all of my calls and answered my emails almost immediately - and even left us a bottle of tasty Merlot upon our arrival!

The cabin is absolutely beautiful! Both inside and outside are kept immaculate. Everything was clean and very cozy. I spent most of my time during the day on the screened-in porch reading and relaxing with my pups, while listening to music and in the evening we enjoyed a few drinks at the outside fire pit. I could go on and on about the clean linens, the comfy beds, the wood supply, the amazing bbq grill, the decor, the property, the seclusion... but I won't :-)

We will definitely be visiting this cabin again - I won't even look at any others. Our experience was just perfect here! Thank you Paul!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
5

Great Easter Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I met our son for Easter weekend at this almost halfway point. Paul, the owner , could not have been better to work with. Answered my calls right away. The cabin was clean and perfect! We played cards and board games, walked in the woods with our dog, and listened to the great sound system in the home. Enough firewood for cool nights. Plenty of hot water for showering. The decorating was awesome. Everywhere you looked something more interesting. Slept like logs in the very comfortable beds. Great linens provided. Lots of brochures that came in handy for our day trip to Howe's caverns. No wi-fi or cell service which was great for us. Land line if needed.

Only wish is that it was closer for us in PA as we traveled 3.5 hours and our son only had to travel 1.5 hours. Reccomend this cabin to everyone!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
Long Island, New York
5

Perfect Log Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My husband and I were looking for a quiet and cozy log cabin to spend Christmas at. This cabin exceeded our expectations. The pictures do not do it justice. The interior is clean, cozy and has anything you may need including a welcome bottle of wine from the owners. We enjoyed taking long walks in the woods with our dog, tending the fire, drinking morning mimosas on the deck and listening to music with the available sound system. We will definitely be staying here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
New York City
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Very nice, relaxing and authentic cabin with everything you need. The place was clean and easy to keep warm with wood stove and gas. It fit nicely 4 adults and a toddler (there is no crib so bring your own travel bed if needed). Howe Caverns nearby are well worth seeing and on the way from NYC there's Woodstock and other charming small towns to visit. The owner was very helpful with everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
Grafton, MA
5

A Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We enjoyed our stay at this neat log cabin. Greeted with a nice note and a bottle of wine from Paul and Anne, we found it very easy to make ourselves comfortable. The screened in porch was perfect for hanging out and watching the hummingbirds come to the feeder under the eaves, and the fire pit provided some relaxing entertainment well into the night. We chose this cabin primarily for its proximity to a bluegrass festival we attended and it provided an easy drive even late at night and also a great sleep in comfortable beds. A great place to exchange the hot, hustle and bustle of the work day world for the cool quiet of the Catskill mountains!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Weekly or Daily Rentals In Our Log Cabin in The Catskill Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246225
617 593-1748
Durham Catskills
New York, NY
5

Great Getaway!!! Great Time!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My girlfriend and I spent a few night at the cabin with our dog. The cabin was beautiful and looks better than the pictures represent. We loved everything about our stay and hope to stay again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway