Ann Arbor house rental - Front Entrance
Front Entrance
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Ann Arbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

227 Orchard Hills Drive, Ann Arbor Michigan - Google Maps FLW Palmer House, please see our website 'FLWPalmerhouse'

The Palmer House is a multilevel brick and cypress late period Frank Lloyd Wright house, the plan and design of which is based on the equilateral triangle. The house is sheltered by a long broad hipped roof with deep overhangs. The cantilever extending over the terrace is the most dramatic feature of the house. The open interior is fitted with Wright-designed furniture and built-in cabinetry. The Palmer house exemplifies Wright's open, American organic architecture in which all parts are related to the whole and are linked to the environment in an adaptation of form to nature.

In addition to the main house, there is a tea house located on the 2 acres of woodland surrounding the home. The tea house includes a working fireplace, a small kitchen and a bathroom with a shower-over-the toilet.

During your stay, please enjoy complementary tea and coffee, high thread count sheets, feather and non-feather pillows and organic shampoo and conditioner. We are committed to greening the earth and only use organic cleaning products, hand soaps, dish detergent, and laundry soap. Please be advised that there is no air-conditioning (the floors are concrete, the roof blocks direct sun, and the house is surrounded by very large trees and thus the house remains cool).

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

We currently live in San Francisco and purchased the house in March 2009. Jeffrey Schox, who is a San Francisco patent attorney, spends several weeks a year in Ann Arbor. When he is not in Ann Arbor, the Palmer House will be available for rent as a guest house and as a meeting location. Kathryn is a yoga teacher and plans to offer both public and private classes in the house a few times a year. Jeff's parents, Sue and Gary Cox are the caretakers of the house.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

We both graduated from the University of Michigan and while attending school, frequently went on long walks or runs with the Palmer House as our destination. Jeffrey has been a fan of Frank Lloyd Wright since an early age growing up outside of Detroit and Kathryn became a fan while attending the Art Institute of Chicago and exploring the suburbs of Chicago.

15 Reviews of Property 246204 in Ann Arbor, Michigan

Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
Doylestown, PA
5

A perfect experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Thank you to the Palmer and Cox families. Without you we'd never been able to spend four incredibly peaceful days immersed in the world of Frank Lloyd Wright. Words and all the photos and video cannot do it justice. Thank you again!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
Arlington, VA
5

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I are big fans of FLW architecture. We've stayed in three of his home including the Palmer House, and while we really enjoyed all three, the Palmer House was our favorite.

What made it so special?

Gary and Sue met us at the house and told us the history and showed us how everything worked. There's also a guide with a list of the heating and lighting elements in the house -- very helpful!

This house is just nicer than the other two that we stayed in (Duncan House and Penfield House). The original furniture and the well developed yard (complete with deer, fox, etc) made this a secluded and elegant retreat.) The tea house, although not usable in winter, was also a nice extra that we were able to tour when we arrived.

Some other details we really enjoyed:
magazines and books where the house is featured
lovely teas
organic lotions and soaps

I was pretty won over by the bathroom, which not only had its only heater, but a really deep tub and skylight that let in moonlight.

I think anyone who enjoys FLW should make a trip here. It would also be a wonderful location for people who enjoy staying in a special place with a meaningful history. The relationship of the house to the nature it is positioned in led to hours of conversation about how we live and why. It's rare that a house would do that.

As with all the Wright homes we have stayed in, there was a little dust and a few spiderwebs -- nothing to be concerned about -- but a hazard of old homes that are not designed to be used as hotels.

Oh -- and to the reviewer who was upset about there not being a TV -- we really enjoyed there not being a TV.

We are deeply grateful to the owners for this experience and will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
Ohio
5

Living In Art

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The Palmer House's owners well maintain this architectural gem. Email questions were quickly answered and our tour upon arrival was entertaining and informational. Pictures come up short of the real thing--house is stunning in person. FLW devotees will be smitten.

Ann Arbor's restaurants are terrific. Pretty much everything in the city is within ten minutes of the house, though we visited during UM's spring break. A chopper ferries patients to nearby uni hospital. Also, roads are rough. Owners can't control roads or flight path. It's a fun city to visit.

Still, area is mostly quiet and, happily, a trio of deer kept us entertained. Overall, house and location are wonderful. Visitors will feel the serenity Wright intended while sitting in Great Room chairs while gazing at the sunrise through the trees. We plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
5

Welcome to Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
A Historic time capsule of Epic proportion.

Of all Frank Lloyd Wrights designs; the Guggenheim, Falling Water, this house is probably one of his most eclectic. It takes some getting used to its unique features, due to to it being based on an equilateral triangle, the shapes of the beds, the pull drawers, the cupboards, the bathrooms, the kitchen. It is something you will never encounter before, or again.

The former owners, and fortunately for the World, the new owners have kept this house Exactly, or as close to, as FLW designed it, with very little modern changes. The house was clean, comfortable and warmer than expected due to its decor even though it was 25 degrees outside.

Do your research on this house before staying, as it will give you a greater appreciation of it's historical significance. This is a house that brings in the Outside world of the the Garden and surrounding landscape, the serenity of Nature, the peace and quiet of a Zen-like atmosphere.

If you are a fan of FLWs Architecture, then this house is Most certainly a place to stay and take the time to savor.

P.S. Arbor Brewing Company, 2 Big Thumbs Up! Just off Main Street in Downtown Ann Arbor, parking garage directly across the street.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
Toronto Canada
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I am writing this as I sit in the great room looking out at the snow covered woods on the morning of our departure. We decided to stay here on our way back from Chicago to Toronto. To say the house is fantastic is an understatement. You don't have to be an architectural expert to appreciate it. Of course Wright fans will be in awe. Sue and Gary met us upon arrival and gave a run down on the functional aspects of the house and its very interesting history. From there we were left on our own to soak in the beauty of the house and its surroundings. Prior to booking I was concerned that the beds would not be comfortable. I was surprised that they actually were. I slept great. There are not many opportunities to experience something like this. Take advantage of staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
5

No TV

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The house is beautiful. The grounds are amazing. Everything was great except we were there the weekend of the Detroit Tigers playoffs. We constantly had to leave the house to watch the playoff games. I never considered that the house would not have a TV. I think people need to know that so if it is important, they can make other arrangements. Other then that it was a perfect weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
Illinois
4

Fantastic experience for FLW buffs

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is an exquisite example of FLW architecture. The house was in great condition, and the owner's father who manages the property was friendly and gave us a complete tour when we checked in.

The house has most amenities you'd expect despite having some original kitchen appliances and FLW furniture (not completely comfortable, but he's known for that) We had a great time as a family for Father's Day and were able to host 7 of us around the dining room table using the fully stocked kitchen. The house does not have air conditioning, so I'm glad we were not there for the heat wave, but the architecture and materials kept the house relatively cool with 80's temperatures. One thing to note: if you are a larger person this house will be extremely uncomfortable for you. My brother (6'4") had to turn sideways and duck to get into the bathroom, and I had to sleep diagonally on the bed in order to keep my feet from hanging off. (I'm 5'8') The central living space is airy and spacious, but the bedroom quarters are somewhat tight -- again, consistent with FLW's design but I hadn't really processed what that would be like to live with!

If you are interested in architecture, this is a rare opportunity to live in FLW's world and also to enjoy all that Ann Arbor, and the University of Michigan, have to offer. The house is in a lovely residential neighborhood, wooded and very pretty, and a short drive or longish walk from campus.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Staying at the Palmer House is an extraordinary experience, but it's really for FLW fans who appreciate the details and quirks of his architecture. This is a beautiful house--one of his last and potentially more interesting dwellings--but be prepared to sleep diagonally on a parallelogram shaped bed, and to move slowly and carefully through the doorways and hallways.

For those who appreciate modern architecture and extraordinary craftsmanship, staying at the Palmer house will be an unforgettable experience. The place is in excellent condition and the owners made sure that every detail was attended to in the upkeep and presentation of the house. Many thanks for sharing this piece of history with us.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
Zeeland MI
5

Beautiful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Myself and two friends surprised my Mother with a 2 night stay in the Palmer House for her 70th birthday. The caretakers were kind enough to play along with us and pretend it was just a brief private tour for her. When she came out and found her luggage in the front entry way she started to cry. Then we started to cry. Then the caretaker started to even tear up. It was a great moment! Once we had the home to ourselves we barely dared be inside because it is such an amazing work of art! We sat out on the porch for hours, finally ventured in to eat our dinner, and instantly felt so comfortable as if it were our own. It is so welcoming, so peaceful, so beautiful. If you are a fan of FLW this is something you must experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Original Frank Lloyd Wright Secluded Home with Tea House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246204vb
734-414-0811
Ann Arbor Southeast Michigan
Houston, Texas
5

A glorious weekend with FLW and our family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
What an amazing gift it was to stay in Palmer House while in Ann Arbor for our son's senior recital at UM this past weekend! Five family members gathered from TX, MA and NC and were treated to complete comfort, breathtaking quiet, exquisite beauty and a once-in-a-lifetime glimpse into history and the fascinating life of a brilliant artist. Our host greeted us upon arrival with a wonderfully informative and interesting tour and then left us to freely live in Frank's home, embrace it, savor every aspect of it--a privilege and journey of sorts that none of us will every forget.

Palmer House is immaculate and equipped with every convenience, including WiFi, a wealth of books and organic soaps and shampoos--even a coffee grinder and press for early mornings spent experiencing the peacefulness of the space and surrounds. While gray and cool outside (for part of our stay in February), inside we stayed cozy and warm in all parts of the home. We were living with art but we were also living in comfort. Every aspect of our stay was delightful--a stay which we would recommend to all and one that we hope we're fortunate enough to experience again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5