Amelia Island villa rental - LIVING ROOM AND WETBAR OVERLOOKING BALCONY,OCEAN, AND POOL
LIVING ROOM AND WETBAR OVERLOOKING BALCONY,OCEAN, AND POOL
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Amelia Island Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 3 Bedrooms +(2 Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Our Shipwatch condominium is located directly on the Atlantic ocean with beautiful views of the ocean and the pool. The views you see were taken from our balcony. The 2131-square-foot living area has three large bedrooms each with its own full bath located within the bedroom suite. The condo has beautifully decorated rooms with oil paintings and tile floors and for additional privacy when you retreat to the lower floor it is as though you have gone to another condo! The bedrooms/baths and laundry area are downstairs and upstairs is a large kitchen, half bath, living area, wet bar and separate formal dining room. The large balcony has three sets of sliding glass doors that gives floor to ceiling views from every room upstairs. The balcony is furnished with a beautiful table and chairs for enjoying your coffee as the sun rises or dining under the stars.

The condo is located on the Amelia Island Plantation. Enjoy the hundred year old Live Oak Trees that drape the roads and bike paths right next to the sea. And for those who wish to relax and be pampered, a day at the Spa is fabulous! Whether riding bikes on the miles of paved bike trails, fishing, shopping, or horseback riding on the beach, there is always something to do on the Plantation! There is so much to do (or NOT do)!! You may want to explore the island or prop up your feet and just relax! It is your vacation and we want everyone in your group to enjoy it 'their way'!! Those who stay up late at night or rise early in the mornings will not disturb others who may want to stay in bed. It really is like having two condos!!!

All three of the bedrooms are suites with the full baths located within the bedroom suite. All baths are identical with a full bathtub and overhead shower, toilet and sink on a long vanity....no having to get dressed and go down the hall in the middle of the night ...or having to share!!! Two of the bedrooms are Master Suites with a king size bed and a separate dressing area with a large mirror and long vanity where you can apply make up or style hair while someone else is bathing and the steam is not a problem! The third bedroom has two twin beds that can be pushed together to make a king bed by using the connector in the closet. The condo has more storage space than most homes!!! There are several walk-in closets and also other closets and storage for linens etc. There is a large washer and dryer behind closed doors in the beautiful downstairs foyer with separate entrance and also a closet in the beautiful upstairs foyer next to the new powder room. It also has a separate entrance. The kitchen is large enough for several cooks and has lot's of pots and pans, dishes, glassware, and beautiful silverware. There is a formal dining room with access to the kitchen using the bi-fold doors or they can be closed....whatever you choose. The furniture is beautiful and has a china cabinet for additional wine glasses etc. The living room blends with the dining room and has a 50 inch plasma flat screen TV and a wet bar. Three sets of sliding glass doors are side by side , giving a 20 foot view and also access to the balcony. Floor to ceiling views are possible from every room upstairs. There is another closet on the balcony with some grilling accessories. There is also a dining table and chairs on the balcony for relaxing and enjoying the view. We are the closest condo to the pool in our association....no walking from several buildings away!! You can also grill on our new grills located to the left of the pool while you swim. The condo is designed with top of the line beautiful furniture and it has all tile floors every where except the staircase which we replaced with wood so the condo is not only beautiful it is maintenance free. The two full Massaud Sofas both make fold out queen size beds with a mattress so that the condo can sleep 6 to 10 people. Having a condo this large and on two floors is wonderful ....upstairs is for fun and if someone is tired or wants privacy, they can go downstairs! Grandparents don't have to keep the same hours as children and everyone doesn't have to watch the same TV programs! This condo is great for weekends but also has such a well designed plan with so much storage and closets...it could be lived in year round!

Keywords: Oceanfront,Pool,Golf,Pets,Luxury,Family Oriented,Spa,Romance,Bike Trails,Tennis, Shelling, Restaurants,Sports,Fishing,Boating,horseback Riding on the beach,

More Details
Hide Details

We chose to buy our condo because nowhere else in the world have we found century old oak trees draping right next to an ocean. The perfect harmony of nature and wildlife together with the sounds of splashing waves we hear from our condo made it our only choice. Also we can be at the Jacksonville International Airport (JAX) in 25 to 30 minutes. Our island sits in a cove that has protected it from major storms for many years.

The many restrauants, unique shops and world class spa make it a dream come true and an escape from reality!

Our condo has a wonderful floor plan! When our family gets together it is especially nice to enjoy each others company and yet sometimes it is nice to slip away downstairs for quiet moments! It really is like having two condos. If someone gets up early to watch the sunrise with coffee in the mornings, no one else is disturbed and if others stay up late...those in bed will never know. Also having a full bath located inside each bedroom is wonderful.

10 Reviews of Property 22258 in Amelia Island, Florida

Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
tucson, az
5

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our family vacation included three generations with kids, & grandparents, so we wanted a special place to enjoy it in. After a lot of comparing we chose this condo because of how well it seemed to be layed out and the location right by the pool and on the beach.
Words do not even begin to describe how beautiful it is or how wonderful our vacation was. The breathtaking view we had each morning of the sun rising "out of the ocean" while we relaxed on the balcony drinking coffee was worth the price alone. Dolphins were seen on a couple of days as they were catching their morning meal.

The beds are great, with comfy blankets to snuggle with, and the furniture is just fantastic. There is an abundance of beach towels, beach chairs & gear. The kitchen is very well stocked, and they even have a functional wet bar with everything you need to make drinks except for the booze(we left some behind for the next visit) ;)

This condo was exactly as described and fully prepared to satisfy all our needs. The weather was great and we felt like we had the beach all to ourselves with an occasional passer bye. All the amenities described were great. The owner was very helpful in his recommendations for local things-to-do for our large group. He even set us up at a gym where we could access it 24/7 on a temp membership. A sampling of our activities during our 7 day stay included: ferry rides, horseback riding, cruising through the plantation on golf carts, biking on the wonderful paved trails, mini golf, tennis, fishing(poles provided), boogie boarding(provided), shelling, and too much more to list. We dined on the plantation at the Verandah, Falcons Nest, Marche Burette, and the surf pizza joint. It was all wonderful along with places to eat he recommended in town. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for the PERFECT beach vacation with family or friends! (and it was only a 25 minute drive from the Jacksonville airport).
We hope to come back again soon. We just LOVE Amelia Island Plantation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
San Francisco
5

The way a perfect family beach vacation should be!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This oceanfront villa and view exceeded our expectations. The view was exceptional and the villa was immaculate with plenty of room to accommodate 8 family members and friends. Every couple had their own bed and bathroom. The owners were very helpful with recommendations both before and during our vacation. The owners gave us GREAT dining suggestions for the area, and tons of activities to go to.
The villa is right on the ocean and the view of the sunrise each morning was stunning. It has a private balcony overlooking the Atlantic, and we could see dolphins each morning.

While the pictures of the villa are great, it is even better in person. The small details and how well it is kept was fantastic. We utilized the beach chairs and umbrellas as well as the heated pool and enjoyed every minute.

I highly recommend it and look forward to our next stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We have been vacationing on Amelia for many years. We have stayed at hotels, the resort, and other vacation rentals on the island. We prefer rentals because you feel as if you are in your own home and they are a better value. This place is by far the most beautiful, clean and well kept villa we have ever stayed at. The place has quality artwork that looks very expensive. You do not get that in your typical rental. Some pieces just sooth your senses, and along with the great furniture, decor, and top shelf beds you feel as if you are staying in a 5 star luxury resort.

The Plantation is great for biking, and we loved all the bike paths. We had a great time kayaking, road segways and we enjoyed seeing all and wildlife. We saw bunnies, tortoises, horseshoe crabs, egrets, dolphins, ospreys and even a bobcat.

I just wish this place had more availability because it was hard to find a week that wasn't booked in the summer, so we had to come in the fall. It was a very clean, quiet, and relaxing. The swimming pool was heated, very large, and only a few steps away from the place. Most of the time it was warm, but a couple of days it was cold when a storm front moved through. Swimming in the ocean was out those days, but the pool was nice and warm.

It looks exactly like the pictures with all the furniture matching in each room. I asked if the owner was an interior decorator and they just laughed and said the furniture was bought because they also live there and wanted it to be a special retreat. The beds are huge and very comfortable. My husband normally complains about beds when we travel, but not this time. He was also happy with the big screen TVs. Some places you stay in have tiny TVs that look 20 years old, but this place made my picky husband happy.

We plan on coming back again as soon as we can find time for another getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Alabama
5

Wonderful Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We needed to find a place large enough to sleep 14 members of our family coming in from all over the country, which is no easy task. This owner was honest and said his place would only sleep 10, but he offered to help us find another place that would sleep the other four. Sure enough he came thru and found another place right next door. So we were all together and had a great time. He also gave directions to some of my family members that got lost in Jacksonville. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH!

We saved a ton of money by being able to prepare most of our meals right there in the condo. There are two dining tables (one on the balcony) with plenty of chairs, so we were all able to eat together as a family which made our vacation very special. Families grow apart when you don't live near each other, so this reunion was just what we needed to bond.

To answer the questions on the "tips for reviews" here goes.
The place was exactly as described for location, layout etc.
It was clean and well-maintained.
The owners customer service was SPECTACULAR!

We had so much fun as a family riding bikes, playing mini golf, fishing, swimming, horseback riding etc.
We would give this place two big thumbs up and our highest recommendation.

We have already put in our deposit for next year and would not think of staying anywhere else.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
5

Wonderful time in an exceptional place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This place was one of the best looking from all the other ads and we were really glad we booked it. We talked to a few other couples who also were there renting other places, and they seemed disappointed with their choices.

This place has plasma tvs, expensive furniture and fine artwork. The view from the balcony is just breathtaking. We ate all our meals out on the patio dining table, and my daughter would just fall asleep on the chaise lounge. We even got to see dolphins swimming in the shallows from the balcony and rushed out to watch them up close. How cool is that!
It is only a short walk to the beach and you have it almost to yourselves. We were there during the summer, but it was not crowded at all. The place is exactly like what you see in the pictures, and having two floors really helps to allow parents and kids to have some private time.
We really liked how we could come in from the pool or beach and just pop in the downstairs entrance, and go straight to our respective bathrooms. My wife and daughter loved the dressing and makeup areas in the bedrooms. The kitchen was nice according to my wife and she was able to cook just like she does at home with everything she needed. There are also some very nice restaurants inside the plantation. We grilled right by the pool for lunch and the kids got out of the pool just long enough to eat and hop right back in. It is so convenient for kids having a place just seconds from the pool and the beach. We could just watch them from the balcony and relax with an adult beverage. The weather was wonderful and makes you want to move to Florida. This island is a little slice of heaven that we intend on getting more pieces of.

There is wireless internet and it reaches all the rooms in the place. I read someone said it was not fast, but we found it to be very fast with pages loading quicker than at home. There is limited cellphone service inside, but it worked out on the balcony where we spent most of our time. There is regular phone service in case the cellular service is down. The owners were so friendly and helpful we felt like they treated us like family. They answered all our questions and gave some very good recommendations of things to do on the island.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone because we had a great time and will be staying there again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
5

Quiet & Relaxing

Quiet & Relaxing
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really enjoyed our week at Amelia Island. We traveled with our 4 yr old twin girls and my husband’s elderly parents. The townhouse was great for the 3 generations and worked out great for different sleep schedules.

The location was great. It was in the Gated Omni Plantation area. The unit is right outside the pool (it’s quiet!) There are 3 common bbq’s by the pool. There is a Harris Teeter super market about 3 miles away that is super convenient and has a lot of organic produce. There is also a Piggly Wiggly and a Publix about 20 minutes away if you want better prices.
It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the beach. It’s hard to tell from the pictures, you have to walk down to the ground level, go up stairs to a walkway around the pool, walk down steps, cross a golf course (a hole width), walk back up stairs, walk across the dunes walkway, and back down a couple of steps and you’re on the beach. It’s not far and seems to be typical for Amelia Island but it was definitely more steps than we were anticipating with toddlers and elderly parents.
The unit was exactly like the pictures. We loved the balcony the best. And surprisingly, the unit was very quiet! All the linens were provided (basic hotel quality) along with basic amenities like toilet paper, hand soap, etc. The kitchen is fully equipped. I just wouldn’t count on good non-stick pans or sharp knives. The owner also supplies a lot of beach things like chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, etc There is a storage closet under the building. The wireless internet was consistent but the speed was pretty slow. Cable was great and there’s a DVR so we could set some kid shows!
The beach itself was really quiet. We were there on one of the busiest weeks and it was not crowded at all which was really nice. It is a very shelly beach so it was hard on the feet. Upon advice from other beach goes, we left our chairs, umbrellas, etc. on the beach over-night. There are showers on the way back from the beach near the pool to hose off. There are bathrooms under the building. The pool is a salt water pool – very warm!

Cons Check in time is not until 5pm. I’ll be honest that sucks! Check out time is 10am. The washing machine / dryer could use some updating even though they’re not old! Also, you have to walk up or down stairs to get into the unit. This made unloading/loading the cars a hassle.

Overall, we had a great time though!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Carson City
5

Everything it is says in the ad and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place is great, no doubt. What makes it special is the owners willingness to help let you know where to find things, how to get there, and what to do if you are not from the area. We flew in to Jacksonville and took a cab and then the ferry. They let us store our luggage while we waited for check in, so we didn't have to lug it around. We spent the day at the beach, pool, and bike riding around the plantation. They had arranged for bikes and a golf cart to be delivered right to the unit, so off we went on bike and my parents went off in the cart. They recommended where we could go to eat nice meals, fish, surf and even ride those standing Segway things. They even gave us directions to the local grocery store, a gym, and all sorts of stuff. There was some type of festival we would have never known about, but they told us when it was and how to get there. It was like having a hotel concierge service, only one that really cared if you had a good time. We went horseback riding on the beach, kayaking, played golf, tennis, and so much more I cant remember it all.

We wanted a place that was big and could sleep 10, and this place had great rooms and beds. The pullout sofas were the most comfortable that my kids ever slept on. My wife fell asleep on one watching tv with the kids, and wants to get the name of the company that made them so we can buy one for our house when our guests spend the night. The place is right next to the pool and beach to where the kids were running back and forth to get refreshments and go back out. It was very clean when we got there, not so much when we left. Sorry ;)
You can tell the owners take pride in their place and spent a lot of money with nice furniture and TV's
I just wish we could have stayed another week because we had so much fun the time went by too fast. We will definitely be coming back to stay again because Amelia Island was everything we had hoped it was and more. I just hope the owners will rent to us again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Minnesota
5

Girl's Weekend

Girl's Weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had the pleasure of staying at this very nice and comfortable condo during a girl's weekend. It was perfect in that we all had our own bathrooms, it accommodated all six of us with plenty of room to spare, was a great location, and best of all, had easy and direct access to the beach and pool. Landi was very accommodating with all of our questions and desires and was easily accessible during our stay. We were contemplating going to Summer's Beach verses Amelia Plantation, and I can speak for all six of us in that we were really pleased with our decision to stay at Amelia Plantation and especially at this condo! I would recommend their place to everyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kimberly,
Thank you so much for such kind remarks!!! It was my pleasure to be able to ensure that you had a wonderful visit!! It is always nice to know that our condo is just as I had represented it. Having extra bathrooms and the dressing rooms really do matter when there are 6 ladies!!!
Mother and I purchased this condo because every bedroom was a suite with identical full bathrooms located within the suite. The privacy this gives is important even if all are members of the same family and it is especially improtant when traveling with friends.
I have to give my Mother credit for making the condo both elegant and comfortable. She has managed to create a carefree atmosphere and the moment you step into the foyer you know you made the right decision to stay here. The beauty of the furnishings inside and the landscape, pool and waves of the Atlantic Ocean outside just set the mood for relaxing in luxury!! We are members at Summer Beach and also at the Plantation and I agree with you!! There is no place in the world that compares to the Plantation.
We hope you and your girlfriends enjoyed getting away so much that you will make a promise to each other to get together as often as possible!! Men need their golf trips without the girls and girls need their time together without the men or children!!
When you go home, even after a long weekend, you are refreshed, more motivated and inspired to be a better person. Of course, you also will want to visit with your parents....your husbands and/or your children.....other friends.....the list can go on and on.....UNTIL......you do as we did.....come one day and never leave!!! It really is that fabulous!!!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Atlanta, Ga.
5

Exceptional get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My wife, two dogs and I were delighted to find the property not only as described but the owner to be exceptional in her desire to answer our every question. This property with the panaromic beach views and convenient access allowed us to fully enjoy our stay. Walking, reading, or merely naping in the sun were a welcome respite that we wish to soon repeat. When time and schedule permit we will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments! It is important to us that everything be perfect and it was a pleasure speaking with you. We want all of our guests to leave with wonderful memories and a desire to return to beauty of the Live Oak Trees and the Atlantic Ocean coexisting in perfect harmony. I am so glad our condo met all your expections. Please do come back soon and perhaps bring your daughter with you on your next visit! There is enough room for the entire family! However, I am sure your romantic getaway was fabulous!
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Luxurious Oceanfront Condo on the Amelia Island Plantation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22258vb
(904) 321-6240
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Danville, KY
5

Very Comfortable Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Very good beds. The King in the masterbedroom is especially comfortable. Fold-out couches in living room area (if you have more than 6 guests) are OK for young kids but probably not for adults. Ocean view; nice good-sized pool just outside between the unit and the beach. Unit was very clean. Well-appointed kitchen. Whole area is full of live oaks, which makes it especially attractive. The Omni Plantation has 20 clay tennis courts, and they do take cash or credit cards in addition to the amenity card. Harris-Teater grocery is convenient -- about a five or ten minute drive. Try the Espana Restaurant in nearby Fernandina Beach.

We wanted a place that could accommodate 8, plus small dogs, and have an ocean view. We would definitely stay here again. Very nice place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Michael,
Thank you do much for your very kind comments! It is such a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time and that our condo met all of our expectations. Please come back and visit with us again.
.........I continued to worry about the sofa beds so when it was available I did go and check to see what could be wrong...they are Massaud Sofas and even have a "real" mattress instead of just a foam pad ( We paid over $2500.00 to $3000.00 for EACH sofa ) For many years I realised I was wasting my time checking behind the housekeeper! ....She does it better than a team of 4 other ladies!!! I did discovered many of the "little coil springs with hooks" were missing. I think that may have been the problem and I replaced them immediately. Thank you so much for alerting me to check. It could have gone undetected for years!! I rely on my guests and housekeeper and of course, my family and friends to alert me to even the smallest thing that they notice. One of my girlfriends even told me to make sure the light bulbs were bright enough for reading at night! I appreciate any suggestions or thoughts on how to make our condo better than I have represented. I remember when my husband and I and our two young children visited the island when there were no condos!!! I do not want any guest start off on perhaps their only vacation that year. I want every minute to count. Sometimes after a long drive or flight....you are tired. That is why Mother and I decided to buy a keyless entry and we provide you with the code. You will never have to circle a block for 2 hours during rush hour to pick up a key as we did in Miami!....You just enter the code I give you and enter the condo...open any or all of the sliding glass doors from the floor to the ceiling and let the waves crashing on the sand soothe you and give you peace..The next morning enjoy hot cocoa or coffee...(or perhaps even a Bloody Mary?) and watch as the world wakes up...you may see turtles from the balcony.....a perfect combination of the lush landscape and the Atlantic Ocean!
One day you may do as we did....we came to visit but never left!!!! It is indeed a beautiful place to call home and being in a cove we have escaped many hurricanes!! We also allow no offshore drilling! If there is a HEAVEN on Earth....this has to at least be a part of it......come back soon!
Helpful votes: 16/16