Depoe Bay house rental - Shearwater
Shearwater
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Depoe Bay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16, 3 Bathrooms

Welcome to your home by the sea. Shearwater has room for 16, so bring the kids and grandchildren. The main level includes the kitchen, dining, living room with a sleeper sofa and master suite with jetted tub. Hickory cabinets, myrtle wood floors and trim, tile floors and Berber carpet throughout the home. Upstairs includes a full bath, 2 bedrooms, one with a private balcony, both with queen size beds. Downstairs is a 4th bedroom, hall bath, Jacuzzi changing room, family room with 2 sofa sleepers, secondary dining area, futon sofa sleeper with a high quality mattress, and an away room with a fireplace, TV, and 4 by 8 pool table. The Jacuzzi room is off the first floor deck. Your private beach access is immediately in front of Shearwater. Come and stay, relax and play. While not ADA compliant, the main level is wheelchair friendly. Shearwater has parking for 5 vehicles and a local staff available when needed.

Within a 15 mile radius: Within a 15 mile radius you have access to an aquarium and two light houes, three 18-hole golf courses, factory outlet shopping and a casino. Deep sea fishing and whale watching excursions at Depoe Bay. An excursion on a zodiac boat with a whale biologist gets you about as close to a whale as anyone will.

More Details
Hide Details

We are the owner-builders of Shearwater. We live where we want to vacation. Celeste has always wanted a home by the sea since she was a teenager.

Michael Lowes purchased this house in 2002

Front row seats are hard to find. When the right home site came available we took it.

20 Reviews of Property 244772 in Depoe Bay, Oregon

Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
average rating of 4.75 based on 20 reviews
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
port orchard,WA
4

Oregon Coast Get Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We came from Nebraska, Washington and Oregon to spend a few days together hoping to go crabbing and clamming. Although the weather did not cooperate, we had a wonderful time in this spacious house. Terrific views of the ocean, a great beach to walk and tide pools to check out at low tide. The kitchen was well equipped to cook for a crowd and seating allowed us to all be together. The layout was great. Our only concern was no lighting near the hot tub which made it difficult to use in the evening.
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
5

Wonderfull 4 generation Christmas Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Wonderful house fully equipped for anything. View was awesome - could see, smell, and hear the ocean as we had hoped. Beach very close and totally accessible for everyone - including our toddlers and 84 year young, nearly blind mother. Hot tub, jetted tub, game room, fire places, and sound system a big hit. Kitchen met all our needs for roasting ham, turkey, etc. No complaints from this grandma. Grandpa particularly loved the beautiful wood floors, stairs and railings. Large dining room table and chairs were perfect for our group of 16. Great laundry facilities! Shoe cubby storage with seating bench at the main door for those sandy foot wear from beach excursions was a very nice amenity. Facilities way better than the listing and photos indicated. Owner very helpful and easy to work with. Will hopefully stay here again and will recommend it to others in a heartbeat. Thank you to the Lowes for providing such a wonderful treat for our extended family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
2

Ok for the price. Will not stay again.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Four couples stayed Memorial weekend. Was lowest price place could find that accommodated us. Got what we paid for. House is a good layout if you have a large group you want to break up into many areas. Not so good if you want to have group together in one room. Brother has MD. Bedroom on main floor for him but only kitchen and dining on that floor. He fell on stairs trying to get down TWO floors to game room. House was overall dirty - with toe nail on stairs. Hot tub was very odd. Tub and water appeared to be clean but was enclosed on concrete and scrap lumber enclosure under the deck. Roof was old plywood that dripped water on tub. Slime was on concrete floor and around windows. We are pretty flexible and specifically rented a place with a hot tub but it was sketchy enough no one used it. It worked and we still had a good time but was very disappointed. We sent feedback to owner with our observation an concerns but got no response. We have an annual get together and stay at a different place each time. Dur advice is spend a little more and you'll get a much nicer place
Owner's Response: I am disappointed that HomeAway allows false and erroneous information to be posted in a review.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Bethel, Alaska
5

Wonderful Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We celebrated our father's 85th birthday at Shearwater and everyone loved it. There was plenty of room for the 15 of us. Since we had beautiful weather we spent a lot of the time on the beach or on the wonderful deck. The location is great. Easy access to stores and a great coffee shop within walking distance. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed, including nutcrackers for cracking open crab. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
5

The best of the Oregon Coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is the third year in a row we have enjoyed Shearwater with our family. The home is ocean front, with an excellent, safe beach that's interesting and entertaining. The three levels gives space for three different families to enjoy themselves and each other. The decks are just right for sitting and enjoying thge panoramic view. The hot tub is a hit with the kids!

The location is close to a local grocery, but far enough away to hear no highway noise, or have any traffic.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Bremerton, Washington
5

Great family vacation at Shearwater!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our extended family enjoyed a fantastic week at Shearwater. The owner, Michael, is very kind and helpful. The home is large, open, and modern with a unbelievable view of the beach and ocean out the large west windows. In addition to the beach--it's best feature--it's close to many other interesting and fun things to see and do. We especially enjoyed the Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum, the Yaquina Head Lighthouse, and the Sea Lion Cave. All the things you need--like groceries--are available nearby. You can't go wrong here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I rented the house for a ladies attitude adjustment weekend and it was great the weather was great and the house was great I will be renting it again for a family reunion . there was a lot of stuff to do like sitting on the desks and looking at the ocean .or playing pool or walking on the beach ... it was very relaxing and all of us ladies had a great time with out our hubby's for the weekend . we will be back for sure thank you Michael for your help on Friday !!!!!!!.
thanks again ... Candy Poling and friends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Vancouver WA
5

Lincoln Beach Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had 8 adults in the home for 6 days during one of the rainiest Octobers on record. The home lived up to its description. Every room had a deck access and view of the ocean. There was easy beach access and lovely beach to walk on with lots to entertain the eye: from the surfers, to the seals to the sea birds. The 3000 square foot house had plenty of space for privacy. Some could read, some could play music, some could watch TV, some could play pool some could sleep in without intruding into others space. The Hot Tub was wonderful to use late at night. We were never on top of each other. When we gathered for a game or meal, the dining area off the kitchen was spacious and provided a great view of the ocean at the same time. Easy access to food stuffs at the local Thriftway across the highway. Well supplied kitchen for our gourmet meals. The two gas fireplaces provided more than enough warmth and ambiance. The house has an excellent location just south of Lincoln City and north of Depot Bay. We are coming back in the summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Portland, OR
5

perfect 30th birthday with friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My group and I had an amazing weekend at Shearwater! We could literally hear the waves from inside the house and the views were breathtaking! We didn't want to leave. It was stormy while we were there but that inhanced the cozy vibe we got inside the house and when the rain let up we got to have a bonfire on the beach. We have decided to make Shearwater an anual event!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Shearwater Beach Front Vacation Rental 3000 sqft
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244772
+1 541 921 5680
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Seabeck, Washington
4

Nice home great views

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nice home for a larger group but with lots of stairs. Master Bedroom on the main floor with the rest either one floor up or one down. The neighborhood is quiet and friendly. The path to the beach is steeper than it appears in the picture and could be a problem for those with walking issues. Kitchen is well appointed with everything we needed as well as having plenty of dishes and silverware. Would rent this property again if we needed that much room.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2