Orrs Island cottage rental - Waterside of cottage taken from water's edge
Waterside of cottage taken from water's edge
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Orrs Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1.5 bath, sleeper sofa in living room - sleeps 6 all queen sized

The cottage is located on the west side of Gun Point Cove 20 feet above and 50 feet from the water’s edge on a very private treed lot facing the early morning sunrise and south east down the cove to the Atlantic Ocean; which can be viewed from the large bay windows and the sliding glass doors in the living room and master bedroom above or the decks outside those rooms.

Venture outside down the path and along the 230 feet of deep water frontage where a fire pit with large log seats allows viewing of seals and birds swimming or an occasional fish jumping. The fire pit has firewood close by and a picnic table that seats six. Walk 40 feet south you come to a dock and ramp extending 20 feet into the water with a 10’X16’ float attached; even at a minus tide you still have 4 feet of water under the front of the float. This allows your own craft or kayaks (or rental craft) to be tied to the float or you can fish from or just sun bathe on the float (use of the dock is at your own risk).

13 Reviews of Property 244546 on Orrs Island, Maine

Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Las Vegas, NV
5

Peaceful quiet cottage a great place to get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was my first time renting a vacation home, I wanted to get away and find a place that was secluded and quiet. This fit the bill. Its located on a wooded lot not far from neighbors, but the trees make it feel like nobody else is around. Beautiful views of the cove.

The house is well kept and pleasantly decorated. Certainly one could be happy just relaxing around the house, plenty of decks give you room to just sit outside and watch the boats.

A firepit down near the water is a great place to sit around roasting marshmallows and watching the stars.

The floating dock came in very handy, as I had booked a fishing charter and they were able to pick us up and drop us off right at our dock, our captain had not yet seen any blues this summer, but the stripers were practically jumping in to the boat. http://bigbites.us/ are actually based just across the cove.

Although the house feels like its away from it all, it is very convenient to nearby attractions. Brunswick, Bath, Freeport, Boothbay Harbor, Portland are all short easy drives. We went candlepin bowling at in Brunswick http://bowling-bowl.com/ which was a lot of fun.

I had no problems at the house, it was clean and well maintained. Sure you could find issues if you wanted to .... but who wants to spend their vacation looking for problems.....

I don't know if I'll be back in Maine again ..... but if I am, this is where I want to stay.
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Such a treasure! Wish we could've stayed longer.

Such a treasure! Wish we could've stayed longer.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
From the moment we arrived, we were blown away the place. The house sits on such a peaceful spot on the island. We took full advantage of the fire pit and the dock for our late-night relaxation and watching the sunrise. We even saw a seal! The house itself is spotless. The fully equipped kitchen was perfectly suited for cooking in, but we also enjoyed delicious lobsters out at Cook's Lobster House out on Bailey Island. Orr's Island felt far enough away where we could truly get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, but still only a short 15 minute drive away from all the amenities of suburban life. Al and Ginger were so helpful and wonderful to work with. I love how they responded to promptly to our emails! We definitely will be returning!
Owner's Response: We are glad to receive this positive response. We love it so much and are always glad when our guests love it, too. Come back soon and be sure to tell your friends and family! :)
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Beautiful Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We were so pleasantly surprised the moment we stepped inside, it looked and smelled so clean and welcoming. Having had disappointments in the past, this was a great beginning!
The cottage is so very comfortable and the location is ideal. The only disappointment was the weather but we made the most of it anyway. We and our dog ,Bella, loved all the hiking trails so close and State Parks, breathtaking beaches, the rocks, the views, the flora, everything.
Plenty of amenities, shopping , restaurants etc., for those less inclined to commune with nature within a short ride.
We hope to repeat our stay soon. Thank you Ginger and Al
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We always hope people will fall in love with our cottage since we love it so much!

Hope to see you again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
4

Lovely and serene

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Great house with lots of windows and access to the water. Watching lobster fishing, fireworks and fishing or reading on the accessible dock made the stay. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was fully stocked.

We enjoyed our stay.

Tip: don't use the dressers as they are musty and the washer/dryer was pretty old. Small issues for a perfect getaway. I shouldn't have been found laundry on vacation anyway.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback.

We love that you can see the water from every room but one and that the dock was a hit. We are so glad our guests find the kitchen well stocked and meets the needs of cooks and those who just want to pretend they are going to cook (sorry for those who hope to find nothing in the kitchen so they have to eat out every meal. :) )

I didn't notice the drawers were musty so we will work on getting that straightened out. My dad made the dresser in the guest room when I was a kid so it has sentimental value to me. As soon as we can afford it we plan to replace the washer/dryer with 220v instead of 110v but at least it is something!

We hope all our guests have a great time and will return again and again and tell their friends to come for a relaxing vacation in beautiful Maine.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Wonderful, Relaxing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A friend and I stayed at the house this last week and we had the greatest time! The house is so comfortable, very clean and the owners provide everything you could ever want or need - and then some. We didn't want to leave and were trying to think of ways to stay even longer. We had so much fun out on the dock in the mornings and evenings - spent lots of time on the decks too - what an amazing view. We figured out that you can see the water from every room on the main floor - there are windows anywhere you can put windows. We had a fire going down at the fire pit every night except the one day it rained. It is so quiet and the stars are so bright at night. We had to contact the maintenance man for one small issue and he came immediately, fixed our issue and was extremely helpful and very nice. I left some clothing there and called the nice lady who does the cleaning and she was very helpful and promised to send my items to me right away. Everyone has been so great! We took a lot of short trips to Freeport, Bath and Portland but also spent a lot of time hanging out around the islands of Harpswell. We took a lot of great pictures too. This is a wonderful place to stay and we highly recommend this to anyone who would like a comfortable place to stay on the water, with great views and easy access to everything. We had lobster and other seafood every single day. We hope to come back again next year. Thank you Al and Ginger for a great, great vacation!!
Owner's Response: We are always so happy to hear our guests have enjoyed themselves. We work hard to think of everything a guest would want. Repeat guests are our best advertiesment and we hope you tell your friends so they can have the same great experience.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

The Ultimate Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We could have not asked for a better place to spend 5 days hiding from the world. Everything about Al and Ginger's "Beautiful Cottage" is beautiful indeed. I agree with other visitors that the couple obviously takes great pride in their home and are very thoughtful about what visitors want/need.

The location of this house is breathtaking -- right on the water, hidden away from all other houses -- and you can see the trees and water from just about every place you can stand in the house. We decided on this location because it looked like a tree house and indeed it felt just like that - especially waking up to see trees over head through the sun light, and the trees and water in front of us from the huge bedroom windows.

The property is very well stocked and we enjoyed mornings and evenings filled with cooking local fish -- especially the ridiculously affordable lobster! -- and vegetables.

We unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately) had 5 straight days of rain so were forced indoors, unable to enjoy the private dock or amazing fire pit, but it was a great excuse to just sit inside and read, watch movies and play some of their many board games.

Harpswell is a very neat place, made up of a chain of islands connected by bridges - and we had a great time stopping by Cook's Lobster Shack, getting some great wines at the Black Sheep, and just poking around the islands.

Brunswick and Freeport are both short drives and Portland is only about an hour away, so it's also easy to get to more bustling life, go shopping, or find a great restaurant.....though we did very little of this because it was too hard to leave the beautiful cottage!

Thanks to Al and Ginger for opening up their perfect home away!
Owner's Response: Having someone enjoy our cottage so much - that is what makes it worthwhile!

We do our best to think of what we want on a vacation and then work to provide it. I am glad to know the board games were used - we have jigsaw puzzles, too.

We always hope everyone enjoys our home as much as we do.

Thank you for staying and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Al & Ginger
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Lovely Comfy home in superb location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We spent a delightful week at the Chamberlain's Maine vacation rental. The house is cute, well stocked, and comfortable with great views and breezes. The home had plenty of room for the four of us, and is far enough from the neighbors to be private and quiet.
This area of Maine has it ALL, just a short drive away! The Morse's Restaurant, close by, just over the bridge, had wonderful food (and live music on Fri night!). We also experienced the shopping opposites of LL Bean and Reny's, and had great BBQ at Buck-Naked. Other notables for the area: the Osprey Restaurant over on Georgetown, Arrosic Island Pottery,and Reid State Park.
Thank-you, Al + Ginger for sharing your home! ---J. from NH
Owner's Response: We just love when people enjoy our home. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you come back again soon!

Ginger & Al
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Everything you want and need in a vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Our experience was wonderful! We caught the last colors of fall and enjoyed all the beauty of Maine without a lot of driving around. The islands were full of hiking and breathtaking views... and the ones from the master bedroom, living room and dinning area were among the best. Amazing sunrises met us each morning as did the calls of loons and other wildlife. Lobster was abundant and cheaper than bologna!

The home was well stocked and everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. Local produce, wine and cheeses were available and delicious.

We have shared stories and photos with our friends and all agree... this is the place for their next vacation. I had better book this house early for next year or our friends will beat it us to it.

Surprisingly we even came home with money in our pocket! I wish we could have stayed another week!

The owners clearly have "pride of ownership." Stay here and you won't be disappointed!
Owner's Response: That is the experience we want for all our guests!

Let us know when to re-book.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Newburyport, MA
5

Wonderful Week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We stayed in Al and Ginger's cottage for the week following our wedding on Bailey Island. The place was everything we expected and more. The furniture is in very good condition, everything is very clean and works well, and the kitchen is extremely well stocked. We were very pleasantly surprised to find that the cottage is equipped with a wireless internet connection instead of the dial-up connection mentioned in the ad. We most enjoyed sitting on the deck and enjoying the incredible views of Gun Point Cove. While not short drives, we were able to do day trips to Acadia, the mountain region, and Portland without too much trouble. Even though there are houses nearby, it is very quiet and you truly feel like you are alone in the woods. The driveway is rather steep, so if you plan to stay in winter, a 4-wheel drive vehicle is recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and quiet Cottage with 230' Frontage on Gun Point Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244546
+1 703 960-0574
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
South Portland, Maine USA
5

Charming Cottage in Peaceful Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
A wonderful place to get away from it all. The cottage is very private and sits at the end of a long driveway bordered by lots of trees through which the ocean can be seen. I loved just hanging out there for a few days sitting on the decks or strolling down to the dock through the wooded path and enjoying lovely views of the water and surrounding peninsula. I would definitely recommend this property. It is sweet, charming, clean and bright. I felt calm, relaxed and happy being there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1