Austin studio rental - Living area with much natural light.
Living area with much natural light.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 30 nights
 

Austin Studio Rental Photos and Description
Furnished Efficiency Apartment, 2nd Floor 'Attic' Space, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Bed and Breakfast style....without the breakfast.

(We changed our name! We used to be called 'An Affordable Urban Retreat.')

Enjoy a comfortable Urban Retreat in our European style attic apartment. We are conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown in a historic home, nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood. Our home is adjacent to the Swede Hill Historic District, which is on the National Register of Historic Places.

The apartment is fully furnished including an authentic hammock from the Yucatan and an antique claw foot tub with hand held shower hose. Furnishings also include a bistro table, lounge chair, and desk. It has a compact kitchen with a refrigerator, gas stove, microwave, cooking and dining utensils. A private entrance to the apartment is by way of a spiral staircase on the outside of our home. Plenty of free on-street parking is available in front of the house.

Credit Cards are accepted via Pay Pal.

State Capitol, Frank Erwin Center, University of Texas, Bob Bullock History Museum & IMAX Theatre, LBJ Museum and Library, Blanton Museum of Art, Bass Concert Hall, Austin Convention Center, South Congress Avenue, Sixth Street, Lake Austin, Zilker Park and Barton Springs.

The 100 year old house was purchased in 1995. At the time it was abandoned, condemned, and on a path toward demolition. During the renovation, the roof was raised to make room for a living space in the 'attic'. The attic apartment was completed in 1997 and rented as an unfurnished apartment for nine years. In October, 2006, it was converted to a vacation rental with the name of 'An Affordable Urban Retreat.' Two years later, we changed the name to 'La Vita Oasis Retreat' as it is today. We think you'll like it here, our guests have.

More Details
Hide Details

38 Reviews of Property 244507 in Austin, Texas

La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
average rating of 5.0 based on 38 reviews
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
5

Clean, layout worked really well

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Apartment was in a really good location, never any disturbances from outside noise. Really friendly host, would come back and stay no problem
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
New Orleans
5

Our Second Stay. We love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here recently, for the second time. We stayed for a few days about three years ago. We had an extended stay this time around.

This place really feels like a second home. Very comfy, perfect for a couple. Very, very clean. Fully equipped kitchen, writing desk, and basic cable. Exactly what we needed, for a very fair price.

Myer is a friendly and very helpful host. I accidentally left some shoes under the bed, he sent them by Priority Mail within a day or two, and refused any reimbursement.

Can't wait to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
Austin, TX
5

Moving to Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I needed a furnished centrally located place to stay on short notice to act as my home base while I found a house in Austin and this place met all my needs! Myer was quick to respond and wonderful to work with. The apartment was very homey and in a great location. I loved being able to walk to 11th street to try the many locally owned restaurants and the central location made it easy to get just about anywhere in town. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during what could have been a hectic transition.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
5

urban retreat in Austin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Had a great stay. The place is as described. Owner is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I would definitely recommend to others. I walked to the lady bird Lake everyday and it was good exercise. I definitely recommend seeing the bats emerge from under the Congress street bridge. I was in town of a conference at the Sheraton and it was a 5 min walk there. Close to the studio there is a very popular BBQ place (off of 11th street, just East of the highway) but go early as it sells out quickly. I also went to Blue Dahlia Bistro (1115 E 11th St - 10 min walk from studio) and it was delicious. I went for lunch and had a salad. All in all a fun time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
Madison, Wisconsin
5

My new favorite getaway in Austin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Simple yet elegant. I love this place - lots of character. It's a great location: Near all the action, yet in a quiet safe neighborhood. The property is immaculate! I'm not sure if I want to tell everyone I know about it or keep the secret to myself. This is not a criticism, but the spiral staircase (which I loved!) might be a challenge for some.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
Washington DC
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Had a perfect weekend in Austin staying at La Vita. The apartment is very sunny and comfortable, has everything you could want or need, and some things you didn't realize you wanted- like an indoor hammock for reading, a claw footed bathtub, and selection of organic teas.

Perfect for two- couples would probably be the most comfortable since the bathtub is in the common space- but great for ladies college roommate reunion too!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
Lubbock, TX
5

The Perfect Place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
La Vita Oasis was the perfect place to stay for the 5 weeks I was in Austin. It was exactly as pictured on VRBO and very comfortable. Myer was extremely nice and tentative to any questions I had. The location couldn't be better. It's only a few blocks from the highway, which is convenient yet quiet. I never walked to downtown/6th st from the apartment but it's only a short, 2 minute drive.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
Sydney, Australia
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a month and couldn't have asked for a more perfect base to explore Austin. The apartment is beautiful, immaculate and had everything we needed and it's location meant we could leave the car behind and walk to downtown and 6th street easily. It's proximity to Franklin's BBQ was also a bonus. Myer was extremely accommodating and approachable. Couldn't recommend La Vita highly enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
Richardson Texas
5

Cy....Richardson

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I couldn't have been more pleased. I'm in Austin every six weeks and if this charming little place is available the next time I visit I will be staying there again.
Thanks Myer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
La Vita Oasis Retreat (Quiet Efficiency & Walk to Downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244507
Austin Austin area
Corsicana, TX
5

Love, Love, Love this retreat!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The La Vita Oasis Retreat is exactly what it claims to be. It is a lovely comfortable home away from home with small touches like a coffee maker and body wash, just little things you might have forgotten. The bed was very comfortable and although there is airconditioning and heat if needed, if its a nice night out you can crank the windows open for a wonderful breeze. Theres even a desk in the room incase you accidently get some work done. The cast iron clawfoot bath tub has to be my favorite thing about the room though. The owners are so hospitable and more than willing to help with anything you need. I would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway