Sonoma house rental - Living room looking through to dining and window alcove
Living room looking through to dining and window alcove
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sonoma House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

A VERY SPECIAL HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Inn Wine Country Summers House, a rustic contemporary country house and architectural gem designed by award winning architect Robert Zinkhan, has welcomed guests and embraced wonderful gatherings since constructed by the Summers family in the late 1970's.

"The house as art" is Robert Zinkhan's goal. In designing Summers house he achieved his goal and created a home beautifully integrated into the natural landscape.

DESIGN AND DECOR

Summers House features Mexican paver tile floors, a beautifully tiled, handcrafted, fully equipped kitchen, and a large fireplace constructed from cobblestone chippings left behind when Chinese laborers removed native stones to pave the streets of San Francisco during the 19th century. Historic tumbling rock walls built by the Chinese have recently been restacked to enhance the landscape, while maintaining the property's historical integrity. Native American arrowheads found on the property have provided additional reminders of the past.

Comfortable and practical leather furnishings complement antiques, art, and the house’s natural cedar walls and exposed beams. A large 18th Century European dining table comfortably seats eight guests. A quarter sawn oak upright piano, a part of the family for 54 years, has recently been restored and tuned.

Three bedrooms, all with lofts, and two bathrooms welcome groups of six (up to eight with approval.) The master bedroom boasts an extremely comfortable king sized bed, and Jacuzzi bathtub. The two bedrooms which once housed the Summers children, feature queen sized beds and share a bathroom accessible from both bedrooms.

An enormous deck spans the south side of the house and captures views of Mt. Tamalpias, the San Francisco Bay, and Haywood Vineyards through which you drive to reach the house. Views can be enjoyed from the living areas as well, and sunsets are breathtaking.

LOCATION

Wind up one of the most scenic country roads in Sonoma to reach Summers House, located on a private country property in east side Sonoma. Drive through vineyards, pass by Ravenswood Winery, and climb up into the hills where the house is nestled on a wooded hillside where wildlife abounds. Drive slowly as the road is a hiker's paradise and wildlife crossing.

SONOMA ~ A SPECIAL PLACE FOR YOUR VACATION

Sonoma Plaza tasting rooms, restaurants, shops, galleries, historic sites; and art, cultural, film, food, wine, entertainment events are just three miles away. Enjoy Sonoma's Farmers Market in Sonoma Plaza on Tuesday evenings and in Depot Park on Friday mornings.

Summers House is perfect for intimate reunions, getting together with family and friends, bridal parties, girlfriend's getaways, housing relatives, and housing your family during a business trip to the wine country. It is centrally located for visits to Sonoma, Carneros and Napa wineries. San Francisco and Pacific Coast beaches are one hour away.

Summers House has been the pride and joy of its owners for more 30 years. It has provided the setting for many family-owned business gatherings, which have supported food, wine and art endeavors including Sonoma Salute to the Arts and the Napa Valley Mustard Festival. It is an inspired and inspiring home with a special sense of place.

It has embraced family holidays, parties and weddings, most recently the wedding of Tannia Summers and Milan Bollot of Toulouse and Paris, France ~ hence this offering of a very special setting for guests to base their wine country vacations. (Owners Dave and Pat Summers plan to travel to France as often as possible to visit Tannia, Milan, and their young granddaughter, Bianca Renée Claire Bollot).

Beneath the house from a separate, private drive and entry, the Summers maintain a home office from which to direct food, wine, art, and travel promotions. They will be delighted to offer unofficial concierge services to guests who wish to drop by and glean insider tips.

Winter is a wonderful time to visit the wine country. Bring family and friends to celebrate the Thanksgiving and New Year’s holidays. Christmas shop for unique gifts during the month of November. Shops around Sonoma Plaza offer personalized service and free gift-wrapping. Attend Sonoma Valley Olive Festival events in January and February, and Napa Valley Mustard Festival events from January 30 through March 27. Take in a movie at Sebastiani Theater. Dine at fabulous restaurants without reserving months ahead of time. Visit tasting rooms and enjoy the best service of the year. Purchase wine with no worries about it overheating in the car.

Summers House is available for weekend, mid-week, week-long and full-month visits every month of the year, with the exception of December. Call owner Pat Summers for assistance with transportation, tours, and stays complete with event tickets and limousine service.

RATES

APRIL - NOVEMBER

Friday - Sunday: $500/night (3 night minimum)*

Monday - Thursday: $400/night (3 night minimum)*

Per Week: $2,450

Per Month: $7,500

JANUARY - MARCH

Friday - Sunday: $400/night (3 night minimum)*

Monday - Thursday: $300/night (3 night minimum)*

Per Week: $2,000

Per Month: $4,500

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Dave and Pat Summers are long time residents of Sonoma Valley, one of the most beautiful places on earth to live and visit.

Pat Summers purchased this house in 1979

Dave and Pat Summers are long time residents of Sonoma Valley, one of the most beautiful places on earth to live and visit. They built Summers House as their family home 30 years ago. They love and enjoy their country property. "We are delighted that our home can now support us in a new way: As a vacation rental it will enable us to frequently travel to France to visit our daughter and her family."

As a guest at Summers House you will have a personal connection with this unique and beautiful country property and wonderful part of the world. The house is unusually welcoming. Everyone who has ever entered the door has commented on the beauty and warmth of the house. It provides the perfect setting for a truly memorable gathering of friends and family, or a romantic getaway for just two. Summers House provides an extremely cost effective way to experience the Wine Country. Owners Dave and Pat Summers will be delighted to offer tips for your vacation planning. In any way.

14 Reviews of Property 243293 in Sonoma, California

Inn Wine Country - Summers House
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Perrysburg, Ohio
4

Sonoma wine tastings

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thanks for a great weekend in the hills of Sonoma. Everything in this house is exactly as described. We loved the views from the deck. Because the drive up to the house is winding and narrow we decided that with the help of Whole Foods Sonoma, we would creat the new best restaurant in Sonoma. Meaning we cooked in every night and had a great table with views. We walked the neighborhood circle every morning and the hills certainly helped burn a few of the calories consumed. This is a good location for wine tasting forays in southern Sonoma. The beds were great too. We will rent again when we return to Sonoma
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Georgetown, Texas
5

Awesome Stay (Great place to relax)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Rarely do I sit down and write a review after my stay, but this one was exceptional. I brought my mom, sister, and two daughter's to enjoy the wine country experience for the first time. I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Everything was exactly as described. It is very quiet and peaceful. It is remote, yet less than a 10 min drive to downtown. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind, then I hightly recommend the Summer's house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Lisle, IL USA
5

Peaceful and Remote but yet so close to downtown Sonoma

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Pat,

I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed your beautiful home. The description and pictures just doesn't do justice for the peacefulness. We spent two days in Napa and it wasn't until going to dinner in Sonoma did I have a clue how close we were to downtown Sonoma because it felt so remote. It was very comfortable for 8 people although we did challenge the water pressure it only added to the wonderful experience. Thank you for all your help and assistance, we hope to see you next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Danforth
5

Awesone House, Location and Owners (Pat & Dave)

Awesone House, Location and Owners (Pat & Dave)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
7 Guys for a 'before I do golf trip). Pat and Dave provided us with a great opportunity to not only be close to golf and vineyards, the house is truly magnificent. Lots of room, rugged, awesome views and all the amenities a group of middle age men could ask for. We enjoyed the peacefulness, seclusion and proximity to airports, courses, etc. The house is very rustic but comfortable, a great wrap-around balcony complete with outdoor heaters. We are loud, noisy, we laugh loud and constant. We enjoy the lack of interruptions and the ability to come and go without the owners concerned about their property. Dave and Pat are great landlords and we didn't lack for anything. If you rent this house, you will truly enjoy the proximity to the Sonoma Square and everything wine country offers. Note!! We're renting this house again and would even consider another house pretty much sums of my feeling. Thanks Dave & Pat...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Houston Texas
5

Beyond Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We celebrated my 50th birthday!! It was a 2 week stay and I just have to say it was one of the best experiences we have had and we travel often and all over the world. The home was just gorgeous and perfect in every way! We wanted for nothing and the owners were just so wonderful and accommodating! If you are looking for a place to have a quiet and secluded getaway this is absolutely the perfect choice! We cannot wait to return to our new found home in Sonoma!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Dade City, FL
5

Amazing Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our stay at the Inn Wine Country home was the perfect compliment to an incredible vacation. It was so warm and comfortable with incredible views. While we enjoyed the beautiful wineries during the day, we loved coming "home" to have happy hour and dinner on the deck. Thank you Dave and Pat for sharing your beautiful home and wonderful company. What a wonderful way to spend our Anniversaries. We're already looking forward to planning our next trip!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Cincinnati,Ohio
4

California getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The six of us stayed there for 5 days and it was such a peaceful setting! Even though we traveled about from there it was a nice place to come back to. We loved the drive up the hill to get there and the absolute silence you experience sitting out on the deck. The accomodations were adequate but it would have been nicer to have a separate toilet! And the loft bed is literally a climb up a ladder! THe electronics and appliances were a bit dated & also would have been nice to have some lounge chairs out on the deck to stretch out in, instead of just sitting on benches. But overall the place was fine.....and the owner was helpful to us in finding a health center when we arrived since our son was sick and needed medical attention.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Mequon, WI
5

The Icing on the Wedding Cake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We celebrated our wedding in Sonoma and our stay at Summers House epitomized our Sonoma experience! The drive up and down the hill was refreshingly different everytime depending on the time of day. The combination of woods and vineyards was extraordinary!
The location of the house was the perfect refuge from the wedding preparations and yet a wonderful place to gather with friends and family! The views spectacular and the comforts of home fantastic! Just wish we had a few more days!! Thanks Pat for your generous hospitality!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are privileged to help make special occasions outstanding for our guests. Being a part of your wedding week with family was especially joyful. Your appreciate of our house and the setting warms our hearts thank you for choosing Summers House!

Dave and Pat Summers
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Kansas City, MO
5

Great time for reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We stayed here at the end of October and had a wonderful, relaxing time. The house is very private, on beautiful setting, even better than the pictures on this site. Everything was as presented in the description. The only things lacking were tissues and a hair dryer. I would highly recommend this to friends and would stay here again if the opportunity arises.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Inn Wine Country - Summers House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243293vb
+1 707-495-2935
Sonoma Sonoma County
Florida
5

Incredible Location, Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I just spent a few nights at Summers House in September with my partner & another couple & had a really fantastic time. The house was beautiful & the location just fantastic. There are stunning views of the valley & you feel like you're on top of the mountain (which you pretty much are). I have rented many vacation rentals and most of the time I feel that the pictures online exaggerate a property's positive features but in this case the house was even better in real life than it looked online.
It's about a 4 mile drive to Sonoma Plaza - we had an excellent meal at Harvest Moon & wanted to try The Girl & The Fig which came highly recommended but they were booked solid so make reservations during the busy season!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having Stephie and group at Summers House. The house reflects our love of art, literature, architecture, and the beauty of the nature which surrounds us. It is truly gratifying to share it with people who appreciate the love and caring that went into making it the special place it is. Every one of our guests have expressed sincere appreciate of the house, views, and surroundings. Thank you!