Livingston cabin rental - View of Cabin with Paradise Valley and Gallatin Range
View of Cabin with Paradise Valley and Gallatin Range
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Livingston Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin sleeps 4. Studio Living Space and 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths / 3 NIGHT MINIMUM

JULY 4TH WEEK STILL AVAILABLE! Check out the famous Livingston Roundup Rodeo Parade July 2nd and the WPRA Rodeo the nights of July 2nd, 3rd and 4th with fireworks! Additional prime weeks still available the beginning of June, mid August and October. Check availability calendar. Also taking reservations for 2015.

Trout fishing (Mill Creek access on property), Yellowstone drifting & river rafting, hiking, wildlife viewing, hunting, horseback riding (corral on property for your horses). Creek and river fishing, guided fishing.

Nestled on a hillside in beautiful Mill Creek Canyon, Mill Creek Retreat is ideal for a couple, small family (up to 4), or several close friends. The cabin has decks with canyon and valley views. Environmentally built with 'green' rated materials.

Cabin amenities include main living area with Murphy beds (1 twin, 1 double), couch/futon (double), sitting area, satellite TV. Full kitchen with eating area, 1 and 1/2 baths. One bedroom with daybed/trundle (2 twins or 1 king). Laundry room, main entry mud room/gear storage. Two decks with tables, chairs, umbrellas. Gas BBQ. Completely outfitted. Just bring your clothes and food.

Mill Creek flows out of the Absaroka Mountains to the Yellowstone River in Paradise Valley and is a major source of Cutthroat trout for the upper Yellowstone. During the day, you can fish in the beautiful canyon creek for these legendary Cutthroat trout up into the National Forest. A day trip to Yellowstone National Park is a must. Viewing the magnificent scenery and wildlife is an experience that hikers, photographers, fishers, etc., will never forget.

More Details
Hide Details

Owners Johnny Hale and Joan Watts have lived in the Livingston area for 40 years and 20 years respectively. Johnny, a fisheries biologist by education, is a retired movie grip and former leader of a country/western rock group called the Buffalo Chips. He was a staff writer for ATV in Los Angeles when the company was owned by the Beatles. He retired from music when the company was sold. Joan a landscape painter, was formerly a marketing director and fund raiser for non-profit organizations in California. She opened the Blue Winged Olive, An Angler's Bed & Breakfast in 1995. The B&B has been written up in many publications including Fly Rod & Reel and The Wall Street Journal. Many of her guests return year after year. She is the daughter of the late writer, Alan Watts, philosopher and authority on Zen Buddhism. Both Johnny & Joan are avid fly fishers. Many guests have been greeted by various Jack Russells over the years, most recently by Eddie, a rescued Parson Jack Russell. Between them, they have eight adult children and thirteen grandchildren. They built the cabin as a retreat and vacation rental for folks like themselves, that enjoy occasional solitude in an incredibly tranquil setting.

Joan Watts purchased this cabin in 2007

19 Reviews of Property 243167 in Livingston, Montana

Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Chicago, IL
5

Summer Family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and son and I spent a week at Mill Creek Lodge and had a blast! We are from the city of Chicago so the peaceful setting of the house and falling to sleep with the sound of Mill Creek in the distance when it is pitch black outside made sleeping wonderful. We enjoyed countless hikes, horseback riding in Yellowstone, hot springs in Chico, coffee shop and gallery visits in Livingston and a day trip to Bozeman with our high school son. Our son is a runner and enjoyed daily 8-10 mile runs on Mill creek road. We had 8 unplugged days without phone or computer. Listened to music, read and grilled out most evenings. Joan was very helpful with suggestions and made us feel right at home. Thanks again! The Fricke/Grbas
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Ashville, PA
5

Wonderful Place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We have nothing but great things to say about the "Millcreek Retreat" cabin. This was our second visit to Montana and this cabin was so comfortable, quiet, and accommodating! We loved the garage to pull into and unpack after a day of fishing (which we caught a lot of cut throat) and hiking. Along with the long table in the garage to lay out our hiking and fishing gear. We also loved how well the cabin was stocked with everything we needed... from cooking in the kitchen, the grill, the cooler, and the boot dryer to dry our wading boots! Thanks Joan for allowing us to use your beautiful cabin. We made so many memories that will last us a lifetime! We hope to come back and visit soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Forest Lake, Minnesota/USA
5

Rest & Relaxation

Rest & Relaxation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We have stayed at this cabin twice now and would not hesitate to stay again. Joan and Johnnie are the best and their facility is wonderful!!! It was on our last visit in 2013 that we had to make a unexpected stop at the Billings Clinic for a few days on the way to Livingston from Minnesota. Well......we needed to modify our plans of course and we were both surprised and appreciative that Joan & Johnnie offered to extend our dates at the cabin enabling us to spend some time in recuperation.

The cabin is clean and well cared for......the owners are second to none......and it's quiet but still located in a great spot for fishing and services. Our intent was to fish......didn't do any of that.....we will the next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the Warning's review. They have been great guests, showing respect for our property and leaving in in good order.
Joan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Kansas
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cabin was wonderful! The secluded setting was so nice, close enough to Yellowstone, Chico, and Livingston. We had a wonderful time and were so pleased how nice, and well stocked and supplied the cabin was. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate positive comments about our cabin. I'd just like to clarify that while we have many senior citizens stay at our cabin, we also have many young couples who stay and enjoy the local activities of hiking, fishing, rafting, skiing, etc. We've also had guys stay--father/son combos or good friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Washington, DC
5

A Perfect Spot for Fishing and Walking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had the most amazingly wonderful week at this private cabin for our introduction to Montana. Good fishing holes and numerous well-maintained trails were within a few minutes drive. The cabin is private, clean, comfortable and well-maintained. The owners are warm and responsive.To relax, there is always a muscle-melting swim at Chico's hot spring just up the road. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple of outdoor enthusiasts. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Massachusetts
5

It was wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
It was like home away from home. They thought of everything. Joan and Johnnie were very accommodating. Once there, it was a big relief that the description and pictures were accurate. The cabin was very clean and beautifully decorated. It was a great location to be secluded but yet a short, easy, ride to all the attractions. While there, we went through Yellowstone each day, traveled the Beartooth Pass (this is a must see) and relaxed in the pool at Chico Hot Springs. We really enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the positive response to a stay at our cabin. We've put a lot of thought into what folks from out of state would want for a truly Western/Rockies experience and yet, provide all the basics--in comfort--so travelers can pack lightly.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Dugspur, Virginia
5

A charming and unique cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at The Mill Creek Retreat. The cabin was fairly new, very comfortable and contained everything we needed. It is beautifully furnished and decorated, with ample space for fishing and sporting equipment in the garage and ground level entry room. It is convenient to good trails for hiking and skiing, and an easy, 45 minute drive through beautiful Paradise Valley to Yellowstone. Chico Hot Springs is just a few minutes down the road if you want to relax in the hot springs or have a delicious dinner. The owners are gracious and very accomodating. We look forward to returning soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Minnesota
5

Unbelievable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My family and I rented this cabin July of 2009 for 4 days, and it was so much more than we expected. My wife and I had to pinch ourselves for stumbling across this gem. If you like the mountians, rivers, and a little a way from it all this is for you. My wife and I our 2yr old son, and my wife's teeange brother stayed here, and there was plenty of room for all of us, and this was before there was a seperate bedroom. The owners keep it in great shape and are more than helpful. What a beautiful setting and great location. A great suprise for us. It is about 35-45 min from the north enterance to Yellowstone, but worth the drive! We will be returning in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the positive reviews of our guests. It is always our aim to make folks feel welcomed and comfortable in a peaceful setting for a truly relaxing vacation with interesting activities in this beautiful area of Montana.
Joan & Johnny, Owners
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Tacoma
5

An amazing escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Thanks to your hospitality and wonderful cabin, our stay felt like home! This location was not only perfect to get to all the surrounding sites, but provided the most breathtaking scenery right from the porch! We will be back soon and can't thank Joan and Johnny enough! A+++!!! :)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded Montana Getaway for Fishing, Hunting & Summer/Winter Sports/3 NITE MIN.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243167
+1 406-222-8646
Livingston Yellowstone
Ferdinand IN.
4

Mountain Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We had a great time at this very cozy rental cabin. It was clean and comfortable. Perfect place to stay for going to Yellowstone Park. Only 30 or so miles away! The creek below put you to sleep at night. It was so relaxing listining to the water. Paradise Valley is the drive all the way to Yellowstone and is breathtaking. I would recomend this cabin to anyone.
Gary and Cathy Altman
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3