Bellingham cottage rental - Cottage With Summer Flowers Looks Towards The Lake
Cottage With Summer Flowers Looks Towards The Lake
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bellingham Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Our cottage, built in 1997, provides the ideal setting for a romantic 'getaway for two' or perfect accommodations and lodging while touring Western Washington. We're a quick 90 miles from Seattle, 54 miles from Vancouver B.C. and just outside the city limits of Bellingham. The cottage is nestled among cedar and fir trees on tranquil acreage overlooking the lake and has a fully equipped kitchen/living area, bedroom, bathroom, a private porch and an abundance of skylights for stargazing.

Our cottage is for two adults only and the property won a 1997 AIA (State Architectural Award) for contemporary design. Please click on our website link below for more photos, reviews, etc. We also have unsolicited reviews for Squalicum Lake Cottage on major travel sites too. Pls note we have a two night minimum, no children, no pets. No smoking permitted in cottage.

The living room, with a vaulted beamed ceiling looks out onto Squalicum Lake and Squalicum Mountain. Large windows provide a view for watching the fish jump on the lake or enjoying the birds at the feeders. The cottage is situated in the middle of colorful perennial gardens and during the spring and fall you can see large flocks of migratory birds land on the lake.

The kitchen is fully equipped including a microwave, stove, oven, toaster, coffee maker and refrigerator. Dishes, utensils and pans are provided as well.

A white iron and brass queen sized foam (tempurpedic type) bed...cozy bedroom to snuggle or take that long sought after nap. The guests at Squalicum Lake Cottage come to slow the pace of their daily lives.

Eagles and a wide variety of other birds are a common sight as well as deer wandering through the meadow. Should you visit in the summer you might spot a heron or kingfisher looking for a bite to eat in the 26,000-gallon pond right outside your door. Dozens of frogs chorus at evening time, along with soft owl duets often heard after dark.

Two night minimum at $125 plus taxes/nite. Weekly rate of $800 plus tax.

Our guests initial comments are always that the website photos never do the property justice. How does one capture an entire mountain behind a lake?

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

We built our property because we couldn't find another place with this kind of view and solitude.

A beautiful landscape with many types of birds. In the summer when our garden is in full swing, you might see 150 lilies and 9 ft tall sunflowers growing amidst vegies and a variety of other flowers and vegetables.

We provide a large binder of local activities, maps, restaurant menus for our guests to peruse.

31 Reviews of Property 243163 in Bellingham, Washington

Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
average rating of 4.875 based on 31 reviews
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
New York, NY
5

Peace on the Pond

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Liane and John's wonderful cottage. The pictures on the website don't do justice to its lovely setting, with birds at the feeder and on the small lake, wonderful breezes coming in from the many windows, and lovely grasses and trees. The cottage was immaculate and very comfortably furnished, with excellent cooking supplies. Best of all - Liane and John are wonderful - they are helpful, responsible and caring - true professionals and very nice people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review. We enjoyed meeting both of you and are delighted that you were so comfy in our place you've booked a few weeks for next summer. See you in August!
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
seattle
5

lovely to be on a lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Just home from this wonderful place: Great cabin with 6 skylights and tons of windows. Lake with a rowboat and lots of birds. Dazzling sculpture garden a few miles away. Helpful but rarely seen host in the main house. So much to like!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Smiled when I saw you made it to the sculpture garden...I took 3 of my friends there today for a picnic. Beautiful place....
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
Bozeman, MT
5

Delightful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We feel so fortunate to have come across this listing. Our stay was a most delightful respite with complete privacy, lovely quiet and beautiful nature. The cottage was modern, clean and very comfortable. Can't really say enough good about this wonderful place. Very easy access to Bellingham and also to Mt. Baker. Would absolutely recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So happy to know you had a great time here...thank you for your nice review. Hope you will head this way again...
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fishing Yay!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Thanks so much for our stay. We loved the cottage, the grounds...and the fishing. (I caught another big one last night. )
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Green Green

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed our stay in your lovely cottage so much. After days of graduation parties and family dinners, knowing that the cottage was waiting for us was wonderful. The peace and stillness of this green green place will remain with me. Thank you.
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beautiful

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautiful.....time stands still.
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
Winfield Illinois
5

WinfieldIL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Very nice place, great view of lake from front room (living room), very clean and in great condition. Modern, very quiet with well equipped kitchen. Country setting but a few minutes from shopping, etc. Host very accommodating and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and visiting w/ longtime friends!
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
United States
4

Relaxing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Cabin as described in listing. Clean, nicely furnished and comfortable for two people. Quiet and peaceful location. Extensive information in cabin on local restaurants and attractions with owners local knowledge highlighted. Only comment is that lake is not easily accessible or usable from property. I think boat launch would be quite difficult even in summer. This is due to the marshy nature of the lake, which is part of the overall appeal of the property. Recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We couldn't agree with you more regarding the lake right now. Due to a wetter than normal winter we've not been able to get the field completely mowed down as the tractor would get stuck. Plus the lake level is about a foot higher than normal right now...it will drop during the summer draught and our little ramp will be accessible. Most everybody uses the boat in the summer. Thanks for the nice review...glad you enjoyed your stay.
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What the doc ordered..

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Your cottage was just what the doctor ordered for us this weekend. The setting of your cottage is amazing---from the way it's placed among the trees, to the placement of the windows to capture all the light and views of the lake, to the birdfeeders, which provided no small amount of entertainment! Except for a ride into Fairhaven for lunch, we were perfectly content here. Blessings on you in this place of peace...
business
Contemporary Lakefront Cottage - No Cleaning Fee - $125
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243163vb
+ 360-592-1102
Bellingham Northwest Washington
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfect Place..

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
There are so many reasons that the cottage was the perfect place for our stay and I'll bear testament to your artistry and kindness. First is the peaceful rural setting, just close enough to splendid Bellingham but accessible to all the region's attractions. There there is the cozy and comfortable design of the cottage and it's many appointments and the way it nestles into the grove of trees and lovely garden of your making. And finally there is that splendid compilation of books, pamphlets and notes that you provided, so kindly, to help us learn about and enjoy the regions many attractions. Thanks so much to both of you!