Austin house rental - View from the 600sf deck above private boat dock with picnic table and hammock
View from the 600sf deck above private boat dock with picnic table and hammock
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
Waterfront 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 7, Boat Dock, Hot Tub, Huge Trees and Yard

Lake Austin waterfront is a great place to escape all year around. Lake Austin Retreat offers a beautiful Mexican style waterfront property with a boat dock, huge decks and a hot tub situated on a secluded bend of Lake Austin just 20 miles from downtown Austin. Relax, unwind, swim, canoe, kayak, bird-watch, fish, or enjoy a spa-treatment at nearby Lake Austin Spa. The house accommodates 7 guests, and the spacious back yard offers an abundance of outdoor space for socializing, BBQ'n, playing or enjoying quiet hammock-time. Bring your boat and ski (boats can be moored at the dock but no boat lift is available), or lounge by the water's edge and drink in the view of the Golden Cheeked-Warbler habitat directly across the lake. You will love taking advantage of the most peaceful stretch of Lake Austin. Mornings are not to be missed. Grab your coffee or tea and watch the morning fog pull back revealing a glass-like surface that mirrors the rolling hills above. Just 35 Miles from the new F-1 Track in Austin, 20 miles from SXSW and ACL Festival.

The Retreat: Lake Austin is a great place to escape all year around. Lake Austin Retreat offers a beautiful Mexican style waterfront property with a boat dock and huge deck situated on a secluded bend of Lake Austin just 20 miles from downtown Austin. Relax, unwind, swim, canoe, kayak, bird-watch, fish, or enjoy a spa-treatment at nearby Lake Austin Spa. The house accommodates 7 guests, and the spacious back yard offers an abundance of outdoor space for socializing, BBQ'n, playing or enjoying quiet hammock-time. Bring your boat and ski, or lounge by the water's edge and drink in the view of the Golden Cheeked-Warbler habitat directly across the lake. You will love taking advantage of the most peaceful stretch of Lake Austin. Mornings are not to be missed. Grab your coffee or tea and watch the morning fog pull back revealing a glass like surface that mirrors the rolling hills above.

The Activities: By Day - Canoeing, kayaking (life jackets and paddles provided), hiking, swimming, fishing, golfing, skiing and wakeboarding, bring your boat and moor it at the dock. You can canoe, kayak or walk 1/4 mile to the Lake Austin Spa for world-class spa services.

By Night - Dining, grilling,star-gazing or hitting the downtown or lakeside Austin nightlife.

More Details
Hide Details

I have lived in Austin since 1992. My wife, two daughters, our dog Muki and two guinea pigs live in central Austin. We love being outdoors, swimming, hiking and playing.

Rachel Sotsky purchased this house in 1995

My love of being on the water and waterskiing before work in the morning drove me to purchase this wonderful house on Lake Austin 1995. I lived in the house full-time until 1999, when I moved to central Austin to be closer to work.

The area across the lake from the house is a Golden Cheeked Warbler Habitat so it is completely undeveloped. The view from the 600 sf deck on top of the boat dock is just beautiful with am undeveloped 'mountain' (by Austin standards) instead of houses. Evenings and early mornings on the deck are particularly magical.

12 Reviews of Property 243133 in Austin, Texas

Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
5

Great property! Loved every inch!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved this place and will never forget the weekend we had out there. I am born and raised in central texas and when I walked down to the lake and saw the hills and beautiful views, I did not feel like I was in Austin, much less Texas. The house was perfect and the bathroom is gorgeous!!! We loved using the kayaks and canoe and the mornings are amazing out there. Overall, we had an unforgettable girls trip!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
Friendswood, Texas
5

LAKEHOUSE THE WAY IT SHOULD BE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As soon as we walked in, we felt at home. This is the kind of lakehouse I was raised on (don't want no Moorish McMansion, thank you!). It's rustic, comfy, private, and the setting is out of this world. Wine and cheese on the deck shaded by a big tree over the boat house looking at the water and the hills across the water? Priceless! Even the blasted hydrilla wasn't that big an issue for us (thanks to all those July 4th folks who chopped it up). Randalls is just down the road, but a stay here is going back to another time, another place, and that's just what we were looking for. OOOhhhh, and there are big fish to be had for those who might want to wet a line! Only bad thing was discovering how fabulous a 4'x7' shower is! Husband is in trouble now! :)))
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
5

HEAVEN on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
For renting my first lakehouse, this place and the management completely blew my expectations out of the water. All the coordinating and emailing was very attentive and quick, plus they're very good with paperwork and giving you all the information you need upfront. I only called once to make sure I had the right place, it's to the left of the boat ramp and privately tucked away. The kitchen, living rooms and bedrooms were all spotless and stocked with essentials ... even the kitchen has just about everything you probably forgot at home (like a small amount of cooking spray, spices, coffee, blender, extra cooler, etc). The television is much larger than the one in the photo (about a 37" or 42" flat screen), cable/internet/water/sony sound systems all functional. The daybeds in the rooms are not easily moveable, so I wouldn't recommend bringing more than 6 people if sleep privacy is a concern. We brought our Xbox and played every morning with no issues. The temp got down to about 50 degrees, and We were able to build a nice fire in the fireplace, and enjoy the hot tub (all 6 of us managed to sit comfortably with a minimal amount of footsy). But the PATIO and the DOCK are to die for. There are plenty of chairs on the upper deck, a hammock, and tons of privacy and shade from the trees above. A speed boat or fishing boat would sail by about twice every half hour...very quiet waters. It was worth every penny to be ON the lake. Also, the lake was pretty full...I was nervous about low water levels, but definitely not the case when we went! The kayaks and canoe were fun and my little dog was completely secure, leashlessly roaming around the huge back yard. I kind of wish the Bluffs/UT Golf center would've put a Walgreens closer (5 min to the nearest gas station, 10 min to the Randalls, and Walgreens), but other than that...this lakehouse is a slice of hill country heaven!!

I'm definitely coming back...my boyfriend proposed to me on that dock!! :D
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
austin
5

Awesome House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great house, great location, we really enjoyed our stay and will come back for sure. The description was accurate, property was clean, will definetly recommend this place to friends and family. Only complaints is that there is only one bathroom and is not easily accesible, but we were able to work it out and did not affect our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
Austin, Texas
5

Awesome House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great house, great location, we really enjoyed our stay and will come back for sure. The description was accurate, property was clean, will definetly recommend this place to friends and family. Only complaints is that there is only one bathroom and is not easily accesible, but we were able to work it out and did not affect our stay.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
Austin, Texas
5

Awesome House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great house, great location, we really enjoyed our stay and will come back for sure. The description was accurate, property was clean, will definetly recommend this place to friends and family. Only complaints is that there is only one bathroom and is not easily accesible, but we were able to work it out and did not affect our stay.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
Katy, TX
5

Just What We were Looking For

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This home on Lake Austin was just what we were looking for Easter weekend. We spent most of our time outside enjoying the boat dock/upper deck and the peaceful view of the Golden Cheeked-Warbler habitat directly across the lake. The owner has thought of everything! You just need to bring food and clothing, practically everything else is provided. We kayaked, canoed, floated on the blow-up floats, played soccer and baseball in the large, well shaded yard and had a hot tub if we wanted. With the owner's permission, we were allowed to bring our dogs, who had as much fun as we did. The house is clean, tastefully decorated, has a well-equipped kitchen, wireless internet (had to do a little work), games, stereo for our ipod, washer and dryer, and plenty of linens. We will definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
Austin, TX
4

Our stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We truly enjoyed our stay. It was quiet and serene, and away from the boat traffic. Beautiful views and a great deck to sit on as the sun sets. The fully stocked kitchen was a great plus, and the quaint surroundings provided a nice ambience. We enjoyed the canoe as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are entering the really peaceful time of year at this part of the lake and the nights are getting even cooler down by the water. We hope you can come back soon. David
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
College Station, Tx
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We rented this house for our honeymoon and had friends come for the 4th of July holiday. The house was clean and open. There was plenty of room to entertain and cook. The yard was beautiful, and the deck over the water was huge with lots of seating. Highly recommend this house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Retreat - Hot Tub, WiFi, dogs okay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243133
+001 678 698-8878
Austin Austin area
austin, TX
5

perfect little vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
I am from Austin but now live in New York. Me and my wifes family stayed for a week at this location. There was 6 people. Eventhough it only had one bathroom and two bedrooms it was plenty of space. Everyone had a bed to sleep on with one to spare. The lake front is amazing. The view all day and night is perfect. Because it is a little up the lake there are very few boats going back and forth which made it very peaceful. The house was equiped with everything needed. We love to cook, the big kitchen and big grill were definately put to work. PERFECT vacation!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1