La Jolla house rental - Front of the Beach House
Front of the Beach House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
2-story home, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our home is very comfortable for people who enjoy the beach. There is a shower in the backyard for showering off after swimming, surfing, diving, or just playing in the sand. There are boogie-boards and sand toys for your use, or beach chairs, if you prefer. It is steps from the stairway to the beach at the parking lot of Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UCSD.

A pleasant walk down the beach or along the street about one-half mile south brings you to Kellogg Park and playgrounds. Just beyond are restaurants; shops; surf boards, diving equipment, bike and kayak rentals. A short walk the other way, just beyond the Scripps Pier, you will enjoy tide pools at low tide. The Birch Aquarium at Scripps is 1/2 mile away. La Jolla Village is two miles away and has everything the big city has, but in a quaint setting by the sea. Balboa Park, with the San Diego Zoo and many different museums, is just a 15 minute drive. Sea World to the south, about 10 miles and Legoland to the north, about 18 miles are easy to get to, just off I-5. The beautiful Torrey Pines Golf Course is 3.5 miles away. The UTC Shopping Mall has everything and is a 10 minute drive. The La Jolla Playhouse has three theaters and performs live plays all year long, it is a 5 minute drive.

Our home has a two-car garage and parking for four more cars in the driveway.

It is a fun house to enjoy!

Keywords: Beach house,SFR near beach,family home near beach,vacation near beach,vacation home near beach,La Jolla rental,San Diego rental near beach,La Jolla vacation rental,San Diego vacation rental

More Details
Hide Details

I am a grandmother, actually a great-grandmother. I tried renting our home through a realtor but my son and I decided to try it by ourselves when the listing expired. We are both enjoying the experience very much, tourists are very nice people.

Lynne Robbins purchased this house in 1974

This property was our home and we had to move into a condominium because my husband had experienced physical limitations forcing our move to keep him safe, five years before he died. We had really enjoyed this house along with our children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

The house is just about 200 steps away from the stairway to La Jolla Shores beach. It is one of the best surfing, body-surfing, boogie-boarding, diving, tide-pooling, beach-walking, sand-playing beaches in the world. A short walk down the beach, there are playgrounds with picnicking on the beach or grass. We enjoyed watching many magnificent sunsets sitting in the living room of our home.

43 Reviews of Property 242948 in La Jolla, California

Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
average rating of 4.97561 based on 43 reviews
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
Denver
5

You will NOT be disappointed.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Lynne is fantastic. The views of Scripps Pier and LaJolla Beach are better than the pictures. The back patio is pure heaven. Listen to the waves crash and smell the cool salt air all night. Hope to see you again next year!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
Roseville, CA
5

Wedding Trip and perfect for surfers!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great time here. Our daughter, the bride to be was married at the Scripps Martin Johnson House only .5 miles from house. The view of the surf from the upstairs living room is FANTASTIC. The house is 4 bedroom plus 3 full baths with a formal dining room plus a kitchen and table for 6 in the kitchen. Surfers love this spot! We had fun hosting folks who flew in for the wedding. Lynne, the very friendly owner, met us and showed us around upon our arrival. Great place with a breathtaking view and location. Caroline's Cafe is walking distance for breakfast and lunch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Great house, great location, great price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Lynne was great to work with. The house is in great shape and in a great location. Across the street from the Beach. Was in town for a wedding at Scripps, which is also across the street. View from the front balcony is awesome. Much recommended.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
Cardiff
5

Incredible Vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Another wonderful vacation at the beach house. Everything was great! The view is incredible and so calming. We had a birthday party there and everyone was in awe of the sunset. The owners will help you with anything you could possibly need. The house is so comfortable and feels like it's your home. I can't wait to come back next year!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Great location, family friendly house and very accommodating owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Always have a wonderful time when we stay here. The location is amazing and convenient. The owners are soo friendly and accommodating. We have a large group with kids and babies and they have all of the amenities at the house to make it comfortable for us. This is a yearly tradition for us. We always look forward to renting over the new year and we always have the most wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Wonderful house in a great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My immediate family with two young kids and both sets of grandparents had a fantastic week at this house. The house is beautiful with gorgeous views, easily fit all 8 of us very comfortably and the location can't be beat. Would love to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
Tucson, AZ.
5

We will be back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Lynne's beach house is located in a great residential area just steps from the beach. Eight of us stayed there comfortably. The sunsets from the second floor are breathtaking! We will definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Gorgeous, spacious beach house with perfect backyard for entertaining

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We rented the La Jolla Beach house for our family for our wedding week. Steps to La Jolla Shores for beach/surfing, the views are unbelievable, the house is very spacious- we fit 9 adults/teenagers in the house comfortably. The house was very well appointed- all you needed for entertaining, a library full of books for adults and kids, and beautiful backyard. We even hosted a post-wedding brunch in the back yard for 30+ people and everyone love it. Thank you so much, Lynne- we have wonderful memories from our stay and hope to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
San Diego, CA
5

Wonderful rental house with a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My girlfriends and I have a yearly get-together and we've used rental properties up and down the West Coast for the last 10 years. We used this property in 2013 and it was definitely one of the best ones we've used. The house was large enough to accomodate our group comfortably and the location was great. It was a quick drive from the airport and easy to find. The house has lovely views from the upper balconies and it was very relaxing to sit up there and enjoy the sunset with good friends. It was nice to have the option to go into town and shop, or to just enjoy the beach. The owner is very accessible and made us feel welcome. We will definitely be coming back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Family Beach House, Across the Street Access to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242948vb
(619) 884-9910 (California, USA)
La Jolla San Diego County
Seattle
5

The PERFECT Beach Getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I have had the pleasure of staying at the beach house multiple times over the years. The location, beach and the town on La Jolla is what keeps us coming back. Plenty of recreational activity, shops and the city of San Diego just a short drive away. Or if peace and relaxation is what you came for, this is the place. The house is very spacious and can easily accomodate small and larger families. It has a front patio area that is perfect for entertaining. We will be back again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway