Rockport house rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Rockport House Rental Photos and Description
2+ bedrooms, study with daybed, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 5

Inviting country farmhouse 1 mile from Rockport Harbor with beach, harbor walk, theater, fish market. Newly renovated, comfortable family home with spacious, sunny rooms decorated with mix of antiques and traditional furniture. Accommodates 4-5 people in two bedrooms, a study with daybed and living room sofa bed.

Large, sunny bathroom with tub and shower combination upstairs. The bedrooms, at either end of the house, are nicely separated by study and bath.

Quiet road, front porch; organic garden to enjoy, yum .

Owner on site in private studio.

Gourmet markets, wine stores, and bakery all within 1/4 mile walk or drive. Heath food market less than 1/2 mile away. Less than three miles from attractions of Camden, but going 'home' to the peacefulness of Beech Hill Road. One and a half mile to summit of Beech Hill with its hilltop 'tea house' and 360 degree views of Penobscot Bay and Camden hills. Two golf courses within 4 miles. Kayaking, hiking and biking paradise!

Rockport Village ... a pretty walk away: Rockport is the home of Bay Chamber Concerts, always fabulous with international performers enhanced by the acoustic perfection enjoyed in the recently restored, lovely Rockport Opera House.

The invigorating walk around Beauchamp Point with a stop at the botanical treasure that is Vesper Hill Childrens Chapel, a hilltop open air chapel looking out over the bay to Blue Hill and beyond may become your daily indulgence. 'Shepards Pie' overlooks the harbor serving the best in locally grown, exquisitely crafted temptations for diners of all ages, plus a friendly, relaxing bar. New to downtown is 'Salt Water Farm', a farm to table delight, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

If you want to eat in, pick up lobsters cooked to perfection at Graffam Brothers, right up the street from the library, next, stop, at 'Rayr' for the perfect wine and than swing into the 'Market Basket' for crusty bread, cheeses and sensational sweets!

Ahh ... a Maine vacation!

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 242851 in Rockport, Maine

Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Chesapeake, VA
5

Wonderful Return Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
In July I had the pleasure of returning to the Beech Cottage, meeting my son, wife, and granddaughter there. What a lovely, relaxing place, so beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean!

Frances, the owner, is a wealth of information for the area, and she has a lovely garden where my granddaughter and I had such fun picking the veggies, herbs and flowers. She told us about the beautiful Rockport Harbor Park, directed us to the several weekly farmers' markets in Camden and Rockland (where there is a store operated by the Island Institute that carries items made in Maine). There are many waterfront restaurants and shops in both Camden and Rockland. She told us about the short hike and shop on Blueberry Hill just up the road and the more serious hiking in the Camden Hills.

I wish I were at the Beech Cottage now! In fact, I understand that Fall is also good time time to visit.



My son celebrated a milestone birthday, and the big large side yard was a wonderful site for the extended family celebration.

He is a golfer, so he played at Goose River and Samoset.
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
West Sussex
5

Complete get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a lovely charming and friendly part of the world Rockport is. We have visited many parts of the U.S. but this area takes some beating. Beech Cottage is completely in keeping with the area. Lovely and spacious and airy. The decor is relaxing and we spent many a night sitting outside on the porch drinking MillerLite and watching the world go buy. Just what we Brits love to do!
As for Frances the owner, she is a lovely person that makes you really welcome and is enthusiastic to promote the area for where to go should you help.
If you are golfers I would recommend the Goose River course which is close by.The Gourmet Store around the corner is brilliant for your morning coffee and cakes. Camden nearby is a nice village to park at the harbor side and wander around. Another place to visit is Bar Harbor, which is about an hour and half drive away but well worth the visit. Popham Beach is another place to visit if you are looking for a sandy beach. Miles and miles of sand!!! Take a pack lunch as the area is National Parks owned and completely unspoilt.
Would we go back again. Yes of course. We certainly hope to in the future.
Thanks again for letting us have use of your home and being so welcoming Frances.

Dave Ewing
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We loved staying at the Beech Cottage! It was clean, comfortable and well stocked with anything we needed for the week. It is a convenient location to Rockport, Camden and points beyond but on a quiet street. We loved staying here and would stay again if we find ourselves in that part of Maine again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

A most welcoming house and owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We spent a delightful week in August in Beech Hill Cottage, and would happily return. The furnishings are beautiful as well as comfortable, and the house has a great feel to it as soon as you enter. The owner is lovely and can help with tips on things to do in the area, but also respects your privacy. We vacation a good bit in the area and this is a great central location, but peaceful and away from the bustle.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

A wonderful home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beech Cottage last week. The home is incredibly charming, clean, and artfully decorated. There was plenty of room for the two us, especially since we only used the master bedroom. The kitchen is well equipped, and one can tell that Frances is a cook due to the many cookbooks that are there! Along the lines of food, Frances has wonderful vegetable gardens that she generously shares with guests. It was a treat to walk out the door and pick kale, squash, and greens, etc.

Beech Road is located in a wonderful part of Rockport, and we found it a great base location for our daily excursions to Belfast, Camden, Rockland, Port Clyde, etc. Frances enthusiastically shares info on some of the local areas that she loves, and these recommendations are right on target regarding their uniqueness and beauty.

Things to do include visiting the numerous harbors, galleries, the Farnsworth Museum, hiking, checking out the fine dining (Primo in Rockland, Cod End in Tenants Harbor to name a few). There is wonderful shopping, too! You can't go wrong with a stay at Beech Cottage , nor vacationing in lovely Maine. We look forward to returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Montreal, QC
5

What a beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We just returned from a week away in Maine and have nothing but wonderful memories of Rockport and the Beech House. Frances is lovely and her home is enchanting.
October is a lovely month for a vacation in Maine. The weather is perfect, the scenery magestic and Rockport is the ideal location for a beautiful holiday.
The Beech House is clean, quiet and perfectly located for hikes, walks, runs, visiting quaint little local towns and lighthouses. We would return in a heartbeat.

Thank you Frances for sharing your beautiful Beech House with us.

Eva & Peter
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Olympia, WA
5

Wished I could stay longer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
I found this cottage very delightful. It was correctly portrayed in the description of the property and was comfortable and homey. I especially liked the homey touch of fresh flowers in the various rooms. The books and artwork were also a plus. The stairs were a challenge at times and a downstairs bathroom would have been nice since I am an older woman, but I would definitely come and stay again. One morning two pair of cardinals were outside getting their fill of seeds from the garden, and so many other birds enjoyed the yard. I wish I could have stayed much longer.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Germany
4

Sehr gute Ausgangsbasis, um Maine kennen zu lernen

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Das Haus liegt in einer ruhigen Wohnstrasse von Rockport etwa 2 km vom Meer entfernt. Es ist von einer großen Rasenfläche und einem kleinen Gemüse- und Kräutergarten umgeben, aus dem sich die Gäste bedienen können. Das Haus ist älteren Baujahrs, aber gut eingerichtet - insbesondere in der Küche ist alles vorhanden. Die sehr freundliche und hilfsbereite Besitzerin wohnt in einem Anbau des Hauses und ist damit schnell erreichbar. Das Haus hat eine große Veranda und ist an allen Fenstern mit Fliegengittern ausgerüstet, so dass man in der Sommerzeit die Fenster immer offen lassen kann. Im Ort existiert ein kleiner Meeresstrand; an einem See 15 Autominuten entfernt gibt es ein nettes Strandbad. Ein Supermarkt ist in 3; Camden und Rockport in 10 Autominuten erreichbar. Auch der Arcadia Nationalpark ist als Tagesfahrt gut zu erreichen. Das Haus ist somit eine gute Ausgangsbasis, um den meeresnahen Teil von Maine kennen zu lernen. Wir haben uns dort sehr wohl gefühlt.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
western North Carolina
5

Perfect vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a wonderful vacation using this perfectly located restored farmhouse as our base. The house suited two friends perfectly: the beds were comfortable, the bathroom large and convenient, the kitchen large and well supplied. All this was perfectly clean and just as advertised. We loved the garden and enjoyed the tomatoes and other veggies as well as admiring the beautiful flowers. Wi Fi was a great extra, too.

The location is central to so many places, and even has a wonderful hike at the end of the street to a truly amazing view of water and mountains. Rockport is a delightful New England town that is not very commercial, but so close to a great variety of places.

Frances is a lovely person and so helpful. She helped us figure out just the places to go that suited us. One of our favorite road trips was to the botanical garden in Boothbay. We also loved Acadia and lots of lighthouses, sailboats and beautiful harbors.

You can't go wrong with this house unless you are looking for a truly luxurious vacation home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderfully comfortable, relax and enjoy, 1 mile from the harbor!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242851
Rockport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
4

Tasty Veggie Garden

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This quaint farmhouse provided all that we wanted in a rental home, and more. The house was clean. The kitchen had all the implements we required for cooking our meals, most of which were prepared at the house. The highlight was the vegetable garden right outside that had everything we needed for salads, as well as herbs and veggies to complement the main course. The owner was very helpful in directing us to all that was best in the Rockport/Camden area. We recommend: an evening stroll to Rockport harbor; swimming at Laite Beach in Camden; the Market Basket for bread and exceptional desserts; Dorman's in Thomaston for ice cream; hiking the trails at Camden Hills State Park; breakfast at Boynton & MacKay in Camden; bicycling almost anywhere as the drivers were courteous and scenery breathtaking (avoid Route 1 if you can though); Rock City Coffee shop in Rockland; Primo in Rockland for desserts.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1