Fort Myers bungalow rental - True Island living...indoors and out
True Island living...indoors and out
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Fort Myers Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
A Private Tropical Paradise

Check our newest Bungalow, Kathy's Tropical Beach Bungalow. Homeaway.com/919241,VRBO #414611 if we are booked for your dates.

Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow is one of the 'coolest' homes in Southwest Florida. Perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary, or, romantic getaway. The 'Bungalow' has the feel of the islands with solid yellow pine and Mexican tile floors, high end West Indies style furnishings, Florida plantation shutters, crown molding in every room, gourmet kitchen...even an outdoor shower adjacent to the master bath for a unique shower under the stars.

French doors open onto a literal 'jungle' of palm (over 100) and banana trees, two sandy beaches bordering the oversize solar heated pool. Wriggle your feet in the sand, take a dip in the oversize solar heated pool, or, take a nap in the hammock. The vegetation is so dense, you can skinny dip in complete privacy. You would never guess you were surrounded by civilization. Two butterfly gardens are home to numerous species...

Everyone without exception has loved the Bungalow...close to everything. Please read our quests' reviews...

Should you be a TV or movie fan, the Bungalow offers 50 plus movies for you to enjoy on the new 47' H D flat screen TV

Just add freshly popped popcorn.The Bungalow is WI-FI equipped; stay connected while sunbathing in the hammock.

We welcome furry 4 legged creatures and the 'jungle' is completely fenced so they can run free. We simply ask that you behave as responsible pet owners...

Located in the historic McGregor Blvd. district of Fort Myers, Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow is conveniently located to our famous beaches, Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel/Captiva Islands, about 20-25 minutes; Regional SW Int'l airport is 25 minutes away.

We opened our 'paradise retreat' to guests in January 2009. Numerous guests have returned 2 and three times...One couple recently returned for the 4th time...pretty much says it all!

We realize that our prices are substantially below market for similar properties, (if you could find one) ...we also suspect that once you experience our lifestyle, you will be back, or, at least...recommend us to your friends.

Should we be booked, ask about our newest Bungalow, Kathy's Tropical Beach Bungalow. Awesome property.

Cheers,

duncan

Keywords: Tropical Beach Bungalow

More Details
Hide Details

Creating the 'Bungalow' has been a labor of love.My talented friend Hartmann did magic with the interior, 'green thumb' Annie supervised creating the 'Jungle'...over 150 palms, banana, and bamboo, two butterfly gardens, and an all natural irrigation system. Daughter Kathy contributed the two Sand beaches poolside.

Everybody loves the Bungalow....I love my job as innkeeper and yard man...

Ciao,

duncan

You need some space to create a private tropical retreat, and it needs to be strategically located...The Bungalow site met all of the important criteria for an awesome vacation experience.

The Bungalow is the perfect Romantic getaway...a majority of our guests are honeymooners and couples celebrating a romantic anniversary...they all give us 5 stars

34 Reviews of Property 366032 in Fort Myers, Florida

Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
average rating of 4.882353 based on 34 reviews
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

very peaceful, and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
what a great place to be able to get away from it all, but yet close enough to enjoy all the tourist places! Thanks for opening up your home for a great vacation place. This home is very well stocked with everything you will need. The pictures posted say it all! Best restaurant we ate at was the Lobster Lady in Cape Coral!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

We can't wait to go back!!

We can't wait to go back!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property is amazing! Our family really enjoyed our stay for a week at this beautiful, private home in Fort Myers. From the upscale furnishings to the secluded gardens, this property has it all! Each night, you can hear the frogs singing or kick back and count the stars from the comfort of the warm, relaxing pool. It is located nearby to everything you'd need and to be honest, the property is so well stocked that you just need to bring your food! Dealing with Kathy and Duncan was great too. They are very accommodating, friendly and eager to assist with whatever you might require (thanks again for the kettle, Kathy!). Don't hesitate- Book your dates! We'll be returning for 2014!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Mazeppa, MN
5

Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the Bungalow. It is a great private location with all you need right on the property. The nice quiet neighborhood was also great. Being someone with food restrictions, I was able to utilize the full kitchen all week and prepare specific meals with ease. Many days we didn't even have to leave the house. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

2 Weeks In Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is our second time staying at the bungalow and two weeks just makes it even more difficult to leave! The bungalow was immaculate as usual when we arrived and we could not wait to walk outside and relax by the pool. The bungalow has a wonderful island feel with West Indies style furnishings, beautiful tile floors and plantation shutters, and the master bedroom has a very comfortable bed and a beautiful shower, or if you like there is also an outdoor shower. The sounds of the birds in the morning make you feel as if you are in a bird sanctuary, what a way to start the day!
A typical day for us was breakfast at the table outside on the patio with the grill, coffee poolside under the covered patio, afternoons in the pool or reading poolside and evenings we would go out exploring all the different restaurants recommended by Duncan in his binder. We enjoyed every one of the restaurants Duncan suggested, had wonderful food and it was such fun trying different places to eat. We found that the restaurants were very reasonable in price. Be sure and try Craves in Fort Myers, we were there so many times that we were greeted like regulars, great food and good people. We tried grouper at Prawnbrokers, loved the haddock at University Grill, be sure and go there on Wednesday night, both restaurants are in Fort Myers also. Rumrunners in Cape Coral has a happy hour from 3-6pm with appetizers for $5 and they are located on the water so it’s great to sit outside and watch the boats go by. We took a fantastic dolphin and nature cruise with Banana Bay Tours that left from the dock in back of Rumrunners, it lasted 2 hours and was very informative, lots of fun on a brand new boat and lots of dolphins and other birdlife. Another restaurant in Cape Coral that was fun was the Lobster Lady, be sure and try the lobster roll, delicious. If you go to Sanibel we highly recommend going to Matzaluna for Italian food, their garlic infused paste with fresh bread is unbelievable.
We had such fun trying new restaurants and that was such a treat for us but you could certainly grill or cook at the bungalow, the kitchen has absolutely everything you need.
We can’t wait to return for a third visit and are already checking the calendar for availability! It will feel like returning home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Paradise in Southwest Florida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My partner, myself and our little Dachshund Athena, just returned from a week long stay at the bungalow. As others have said, the pictures do not do the property justice. It is far more beautiful in person! The house has absolutely everything you need for a perfect tropical vacation. The house is tastefully appointed with a safari/tropical theme and everything was immaculately clean upon arrival. The master bath has dual showerheads and 4 body sprayers, it was so relaxing! Although I showered most mornings in the outdoor shower (with hot water:) just off of the master bath. This house allows you to take in as much or as little as you would like of the Fort Myers beach area. As a chef, I cooked dinner most evenings and we went out for breakfast and lunch. The kitchen had everything I needed to prepare feast after feast, including many spices, and basic items such as flour, sugar etc. The pool area is what really sets this house apart! The backyard is extremely relaxing with its saltwater pool, outdoor couches, sandy beach, and various dining areas. We've been going to Fort Myers for many years now, and I was surprised to see what an eclectic and ethnic dining scene it has. There are Greek, Austrian, German, Indian, Thai and Vietnamese restaurants. We enjoyed them all! A visit to Bennet's fresh roast, a local doughnut shop, is a MUST! The maple-bacon doughnut is sinfully delectable! Kathy was always available by phone and e-mail to answer any questions we had and was very professional. The only thing I did not like about this home, is that we had to leave when our week was done! If you are looking for a spacious home for a couple or up to 4 guests, this is it. You will not be disappointed and you will come back feeling renewed and recharged!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Honeymooners Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Bungalow is a must for couples! We never left the pool side. The back yard is fantastic. It is very private and extremely well kept. I can't put into words how amazing the property is. We will be back for years to come. The area is surrounded by great restaurants, malls, and beaches. The perfect getaway for beach lovers. I recommend this property to anyone looking for relaxation and fun! Can't beat it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Had a great 2 weeks and rebooked for October

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The whole place was just great, with everything you needed for a great holiday.
We have been to this part of Florida many times and stayed in many different house and this was by far the best in terms of position for the shops and restuarants.
the house is great to relax in and the outside space with the open pool is just fantastic.
We spent many hours just sitting and watching the wild life of birds, butterflies and small lizards with atitude
We met with Duncan on the first day and he took us through everything.
we did not need to speak again as everything worked and we found every thing we needed in the bungalow.
I can't say more than we liked it so much we have rebooked for October
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Burke, VA
5

Exceptional Vacation Rentals, You Can't Go Wrong With Either One

Exceptional Vacation Rentals, You Can't Go Wrong With Either One
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in both Duncan's and Kathy's bungalows in January. I feel the same review applies to both properties.
If you searched on pet friendly you may have been prepared to make sacrifices as far as your comfort but have no fear Duncan's and Kathy's bungalows are PEOPLE friendly as well. Both properties are private, comfortable, clean, equipped with amenities not usually found in vacation rentals. If you are hoping for a quiet retreat the private swimming pools, fenced yards, fully equipped kitchens provide the perfect environment to relax and unwind in safe, quiet neighborhoods. If you are looking for a more active vacation the bungalows are Ideally located for sightseeing, restaurants, shopping etc.
The photos are an accurate portrayal of the homes but the thing that sets these apart from other rentals cannot be captured in photos. That "thing" is the owners. It is obvious from first contact that this is not just a business for them. They truly want their guests (notice I said guests not tenants) to have an enjoyable vacation. Their attention to detail is impeccable, they are never intrusive but quick to respond to any questions or issues that could arise.
Perhaps, Duncan and Kathy should start a consulting business to teach other property owners to provide a unique, comfortable environment, or manage properties for other owners so that guests will return year after year. After returning home and thinking about their special touches and deep commitment, I feel that I should be sending them each a thank you note. We are definitely hoping to return to their perfect vacation rentals!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Detroit, Michigan
5

Awesome retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
First of all, as the other reviews have stated...the pictures do not do this property justice. Duncan is a great "host", and has done a terrific job giving the bungalow that vacation feel.
The property was very clean and everything was in good working order.
Duncan made himself available and was very quick to respond when we needed anything ( which was only once on the 2nd day).
We stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Years. Duncan had a lighted tree and strings of lights for us to create a holiday vibe.
We brought our dogs, and they loved the property. It was fun seeing them in a differnent environment.
We would definetely recommend this property to our friends and family...or anyone looking for a great vacation rental.

During our stay we found a few great places...here are our favorite:


Enjoy your trip! ( We sure did!)
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Duncan's Tropical Beach Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366032vb
+1 239 560-9463 (Florida, USA)
Fort Myers Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
5

Amazing, amazing, amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is the second time that we have stayed at Duncan's Beach Bungalow and both times were absolutely awesome. The bungalow itself is super clean and offers are the comforts of home (comfy beds, towels, shampoo, soap, patio dishes, full kitchen). The backyard is to die for. The oversized pool is fantastic for swimming laps, tossing the kids in the air, or just lounging. We travelled with our young kids and our 2 1/2 year old loved the beach sand. The gecos provide endless fun for the kids.
The community is very quiet, lots of streets to go walking and biking around.
The area offers everything you need for groceries and shopping although look in the fridge and cupboards before buying condiments, jams, sauces. The kitchen is stocked with leftover spices, etc.
There is good outlet shopping about 35 minutes away. Very easy highway driving. We have recommended this place to a lot of our friends but it is always booked because once you go, you will want to make it your annual vacation spot.

LOVED IT!!!!
Helpful votes: 8/9