Lake Oscawana house rental - View from Porch
View from Porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Oscawana House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms / Sleeps 5 comfortably/1 bathroom

..PLEASE CHECK AVAILABILITY CALENDAR-IT IS ALWAYS UP TO DATE!!!.....Enjoy very private lake house home on beautiful Lake Oscawana, located 1 hr from NYC! 75' private dock to enjoy swimming, sunning and sunsets til the sun goes down over the mountain across the lake (after 8pm in the summer); lakeside dock adjacent to walk-in sandy beach area...50' white antique wicker furnished porch overlooking the lake with breathtaking view...3 bedrooms with ceiling fans, 1 full, 1 queen , 1 twin bed( the house sleeps five comfortably), A/C. Cable TV, Wi-Fi internet access, DVD, CD/Stereo w/outdoor speakers...Fully furnished...Weber outdoor gas grill. Large living room with cathedral ceiling, 2 couches, dining table, and entertainment center. 2 single Kayaks and 1 double Kayak on site for use.. Come see for yourself!!! Call to visit anytime. Monthly, weekly and weekend rentals available. Please note that we do have a five adult overnight maximum and no more than 8 people at any given time!. We do not allow loud parties, reunions, etc. It is a quiet, peaceful , idyllic location to enjoy swimming, kayaking, fishing, or simple relaxation on our porch or lakefront. Our 2014 rental rates are listed in the Rental Rate section and the Availability Calendar is always up to date.

Arrival/Departure: Arrival time check-in: 3PM

Departure time check-out: 11AM

Earlier arrival/check-in times and later departure/check-out times can be conveniently arranged. However, the above times will be strictly enforced if other arrangements are not made.

Accessability: As with many idyllic locations, the house is off of the main road a bit. Being literally right on Lake Oscawana, there is a hill behind the house that provides access from the parking area to the house itself. There is a path that is about 100 feet long that takes visitors down the hill, with newly constructed stone steps, and pathway lighting for evenings. We mention this as it was included in very positive reviews that previous renters have posted. It is why we classify our home as not suitable for elderly or disabled individuals.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 242595 in Lake Oscawana, New York

On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
5

Peaceful, quiet, clean and comfortable....heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We spend 4 wonderful days in this pristine house on a lovely lake. The house is so clean, spacious and comfortable and the owner was so informative. The nature was so serene that we did not leave once.....
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
5

We'll Definitely Be Back!

We'll Definitely Be Back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We can't say enough about this beautiful home on this pristine lake! It was definitely a hidden gem, tucked away on a peaceful lake, on a quiet road. The property itself was so well taken care of that we immediately felt at home. Not to mention, the owner met us at the home when we arrived to take us through all of the home's amenities so we weren't left with any additional questions or left spending time trying to locate anything we needed for the weekend. He also took time to explain to us where the closest stores (grocery store, etc) were, just in case we need anything during our stay. Though we only stayed for a weekend, it was one of the best rental experiences we've ever had and we'll definitely be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
New York, NY
5

Lovely Cottage Right on the Lake! Superb!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house is immaculate and fully stocked, didn't need to bring anything but food and drinks. It's so beautiful, all white inside and out. Lovely. A short walk down a few steps to this gorgeous lake where the sunsets are magnificent. Absolutely peaceful and serene, just what I needed. My kids loved it when they came to visit, a little oasis so close to the city. Wish I could have stayed longer. It is some hike from the car down to the house down beautiful steps, the younger people had no problem, I'm almost 70 so it was slow going but doable. The water is so clean. The owner is very helpful and lives nearby. I couldn't have asked for anything better, it was just what I needed for a respite from the maddening crowds. Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
New York city
5

Private Lakefront Oasis on Lake Oscawana

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
After dreaming about and reminiscing of our amazing stay on Lake Oscawana last year, we returned with the same hopes of a quiet and truly relaxing couple of days on the lake. This wonderful house is a real gem. Peaceful, comfortable and overall the best lake house one could ask for. We've enjoyed kayaking, swimming, star gazing, eating outdoors, and simply relaxing. We absolutely LOVE this house and the owners have always been more then accommodating! We already can't wait to return next year! This is a definite MUST stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
5

Relaxing, Beautiful and Away From It All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved our stay here. The cottage had everything you needed so that we didn't have to leave and do any shopping once we arrived. The home was very comfortable and we were appreciative of finding such a wonderful place to stay that was pet friendly. The lake views were amazing and on the weekend, we enjoyed watching the jet skiers and boaters go up and down the lake. The porch was perfect for staying in the shade and enjoying all your meals outside and overlooking the lake. The cottage had a gas grill, which we also enjoyed. One of the best things about the home was also how close to White Plains and NYC it is. Less than an hour drive back to White Plains! It was great when we had to go back to the office for one day of the vacation. Overall, I could not have asked for a better place to stay and have a peaceful vacation that felt away from it all but was really not so far away after all.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
5

Lakeside Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We travelled from UK having located this property on the HomeAway website the listing description was accurate in relation to location, internal & external amenities all of which exceeded expectation. Property exceptionally clean & very well maintained & equipped by our host. Artie provided a warm welcome and a detailed overview of property & its amenities.
We would highly recommend this property to friends and relatives and anyone looking for a lakeside break. We made full use of outdoor activities fishing, swimming, kayaking & soaking up the sun & atmosphere of the lakeside on the decking. We also made full use of the barbecue and the amazing porch and views of the lakeside on an evening. Oh and the steps down to the lake house were well worth it. We will definitely be looking to a return next year. Thank you Artie for allowing us to make use of your home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The property was wonderful, clean and well-maintained. Communication with the owner was timely and information provided was thorough and very helpful. We were so grateful to be permitted to bring our dogs and the design of the property kept them within viewing distance of the deck. Having the gate on the deck also was wonderful, though we had to block the opening when we went out because one of our dogs actually managed to squeeze through a small gap, so be forewarned! Fortunately, we hadn't driven off yet! Shopping, a cinema, grocery store, etc., all within a 20 minute ride then a return to blessed anonymity. The lake was clean and the perfect temperature. I enjoyed swimming and we loved the kayaks. I would suggest going down in to the lake on your butt if you are using the steps off the dock,as the step just under the waterline can be slippery. Mostly, I just walked in from the small sandy area to the side of the dock.There are enough spots to relax in either the sun or the shade. The lake was amazingly quiet on the weekdays and never bothersome even when being used by boaters, maybe because of the way the house is perched for viewing. The property is private in the way it is situated. Everything that was needed was available in the house. Beds were comfortable, ac and fans great. TV available, but we never much used it. Wi-fi was fine both in the house and on the deck. There are steps that descend down to the house. I felt safe on them, and the area is lighted, but I would advise not packing anything too unwieldy because you will have to carry it down - and back up again! Thank you so much for the opportunity to enjoy our week of vacation at your beautiful home! We loved our stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here in October 2012 and again this past June. We brought our dog and all three of us had a wonderful time on both visits. The fall colors are beautiful and nothing beats a warm summer day on the lake. The house is a short hour or so drive from NYC depending on traffic. You feel a thousand miles from the city, not just a few.

The lake view from the house and dock are gorgeous and the house itself has everything you need for a comfortable stay. There is complete privacy at the house which was important to us. It felt like we almost had the whole lake to ourselves. Artie is such a pleasure to work with – extremely professional and responsive to anything you might need. Yes the stairs getting to the house are steep but you get used to them and it’s really not an issue. Although grocery stores are a short drive away, if you are going for a long weekend bring enough food for your whole stay because you won’t want to leave. If you’re considering a stay here give it a try, you won’t be disappointed! We will definitely be back.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
New York, NY- USA
4

Perfect quiet getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful relaxing time at Artie's home. Although it was just my husband and I, the house is perfect for share with another couple to minimize the cost. The kitchen has all utensils needed to cook, the house is cozy and the porch is a great hang out place.
We recommend and plan to go back when we need a break from the city!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On Golden Pond! Private Lakefront on Lake Oscawana!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242595
Lake Oscawana Hudson Valley
5

Great times, Great Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I, along with our dog, had the pleasure of escaping to this wonderful property during the month of June to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was hard to believe that it was just an hour away from us because we felt like we were truly in another place and time! Artie, the owner, was very helpful and friendly as he showed us around the property and helped us to settle in. It was very obvious that he cares for his guests and wants to ensure a relaxing and carefree getaway. The property is equipped with many conveniences which make you feel like you are at home...supermarkets are located within a 10 minute drive, and we did one big shopping trip to last the week. Even though we were on vacation, we really enjoyed using the outdoor grill to prepare our meals-we didn't dine out because we didn't want to leave the house!

The lakehouse itself was clean, comfy, and cozy with the most charming and spacious porch looking out onto Lake Oscawana. We enjoyed our morning coffees and sunset dinners with great views of the lake. Both my wife and I love to fish, and Artie wasn't kidding when he said his dock situated on a fishing hot spot. Our dog loved running around in the grass and exploring around the dock. It was so nice that we were able to find such a well-kept property that is dog-friendly.

We really appreciate that Artie and his family opened up their house to us. It definitely has a special aura that makes you feel relaxed and at peace while being surrounded by nature. We have so many great memories from our trip, and we can't wait to head back to Lake Oscawana!!
Helpful votes: 4/4