Dripping Springs house rental - View from hilltop of house, pavilion & pool, tennis court, & creek
View from hilltop of house, pavilion & pool, tennis court, & creek
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps20
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Dripping Springs House Rental Photos and Description
8 BR, 5 BA, 1 half BA, sleeps 20, 30 max, 2 living, 3 dining, ~5000 sf

Beautiful secluded ranch retreat with lodge and a guest house. The lodge includes 6 bedrooms, 1 on 1st floor, 3 on 2nd floor, 2 on 3rd floor. 4 kings, 1 queen, 2 twins, 1 fold-out sofa and 4 baths and 1 half bath. Guest house has 2 bedrooms, including 1 queen, 2 sets of bunks. Sleeps 18 in beds or 20 (including a sleeper sofa in the living room). Other sofas and pads are available. Max # in party is 20 adults or 30 people (with children). Both houses have fireplaces. There are 325 acres for hiking and exploring. Play tennis on the lighted courts, swim in the swimming pool, kayak in the creek, or relax in the jacuzzi/ hot tub. The property is ideal for bird watching and wildlife viewing. Enjoy a covered outdoor pavilion with fireplace -- an excellent spot for grilling and entertaining. This is a wonderful place for gatherings of family and/or friends. Just relax on one of the wraparound covered porches on either the first or second level and enjoy the hill country scenery.

Paul was born and raised in Austin and has lived there all his life with the exception of one year in Brazil and 4 ½ years at Texas A&M University in College Station. In addition to a B.B.A. from Texas A&M in Business Analysis, he holds a M.B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin, with specialization in real estate and finance. Immediately after graduation from UT in 1989, Paul started a consulting business, which has evolved into a commercial real estate firm now known as Hudson Properties, Inc. Paul is a licensed real estate broker in Texas. He is a member of the Austin Board of Realtors, the Central Texas Commercial Association of Realtors and the Commercial Brokers Association.

Paul is very active in the community where he has served in various capacities including President of the Westlake Rotary Club, Chairman of the Westlake Rotary Club Foundation, and President of the Capital City Toastmasters. He is also a graduate of Leadership Austin’s Class of 2003.

Paul is active in the life of the United Methodist Church. He has served in many leadership roles at First United Methodist Church of Austin, including Lay Leader, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Chairman of the Property Committee and Co-Chair of a capital fundraising campaign. He is currently a member of St. Johns United Methodist Church, where he has served on the Board of Trustees, Staff Parish Relations Committee, and as President of the Companions Sunday School Class.

In addition to his work, community service and church responsibilities, Paul enjoys playing the guitar, singing, songwriting, and many outdoor activities including coaching volleyball and soccer, boating, fishing, snow skiing, hiking, and generally spending quality time with his wife and three children.

Paul Hudson purchased this house in 2004

Close proximity to Austin, outstanding live water (creek), dramatic elevation changes, beautiful houses, lovely pool and hot spa, lighted tennis/basketball court and other amenities. Paul says, 'when we first previewed the property, it was mostly just for fun because it was too expensive and too 'fancy' for us, but when we walked through the place, crossed the flowing creek and drove up to the overlook on the hill, it took our breath away. We then partnered with our family and found a way to buy it. We are so glad we did!'

Unparalleled natural beauty, comfortable accommodations, a multitude of things to do for both children and adults, and quick convenience to Austin and San Antonio!

53 Reviews of Property 241961 in Dripping Springs, Texas

Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 53 reviews
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
DRIPPING SPRINGS, TX
5

AMAZING PLACE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had an awesome time. This ranch is perfect for a large family with lots of room to spread out and plenty to do for all ages. The kitchen was fully stocked so cooking for a large group was a breeze. If you love being out in the hill country with views for miles and lots of wildlife, you will love this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ann. I'm glad your family enjoyed the ranch. Looking forward to having y'all back!
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Houston, TX
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This was a great place to hold our family reunion. We had people fly in from Colorado, Wisconsin, Minnesota and North Carolina. There were 14 adults and 5 children, ranging in age from 4 months to 92 years. We were a little worried about the 100 degree temperatures, but thankfully there was a lot of wind which saved us. Everyone enjoyed the swimming pool and paddles boats. Thank you for having the pools toys and life jackets for the kids to use. Really enjoyed watching the deer & wild turkeys in the evening and hiking the hills to see the cattle and the sunsets. The little kids had a fun time fishing in the creek and throwing them back. Lots of reminiscing and laughs. It was a wonderful time. Gig 'em Aggies
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting this great review! We hosted my wife's family's reunion there the very next weekend and also had a blast. The deer and turkey came to the feeder every morning and evening, and the longhorns and buffalo even came down off the hill once. It's amazing how the breeze blows through the valley every day to help make the heat tolerable. Frequent dips in the pool help too. I hope you visit us again sometime!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
5

Perfect place for a group reunion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This place is like a dream! We all talk about going back every year!
Everything was perfect about this ranch. The location was beautiful and very private. The creek was clear and we had lots of fun snorkeling with the fish. Even those who were scared of swimming with the fish enjoyed kayaking! The cliffs overlooking the creek are beautiful and we enjoyed watching the cliff swallows fly into their nests.
Bring a camera because everything is scenic and beautiful. We got lots of good shots of the hummingbirds feeding on the deck.
Even in the Texas heat we were using the hot tub like crazy, and the pool area was perfect place for everyone to hang out. And at night we relaxed in the covered patio and wished our time there wouldn't end.
The house is tastefully decorated and I just can't say enough good things about it. The upstairs master bedroom is something to fight over! :)
We had a great time and if I could, I would never leave. If you can afford it, please stay here!
Say hi to the fish and Longhorns and hummingbirds for us!
Thanks Henly Hill for an amazing time!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the awesome review! I also love watching the hummingbirds and longhorns, but I've never watched the fish while swimming with them! I've also never paid much attention to the cliff swallows, although I've seen the nests from the kayak. Did you notice the purple martins flying to/from the two martin houses? I'm so glad your group took such joy from the place! It has certainly been a blessing to my family, and we are pleased to share it!
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Truly a Blessing

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Entry from on-site guest book: "Thank you so much for allowing our family to rent your house for a few days! It was most certainly a blast! The kids found much entertainment swimming in the pool, playing tennis, fishing, paddleboating, etc! While the adults loved the house, playing games, watching TV, and catching up! Your house and property was truly a blessing to us - filling us with great family fun! Thank you for a great stay - it really felt like home."
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

July 4th - Amazing Haven

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Entry from on-site guest book: "Thank you for a wonderful weekend! Your photos do not do the place justice! It is way better than we imagined! If only we could stay longer! It's a wonderful place & we will cherish the memories! Thanks for sharing your amazing Hill Country Haven!"
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

True Treasure

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Entry from on-site guest book: "Delightful gathering - playing cards, shopping in Wimberley, hanging out - was all fun! The beauty, solitude, wild turkeys - Henly Hill Ranch is a true treasure for all."
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Dallas, TX
4

Lots of on-site things to do!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family has rented this house two years in a row. It had plenty of room for 22 of us to sleep comfortably (along with space for the sleeping bags on the nights that our number swelled to 27) with good gathering areas both inside and out. The ranch foreman and the ladies in the leasing office provided prompt and courteous care when we had questions. This beautiful property has so many things to do that we never felt the need to leave to keep all of the teenagers busy. They played card games at the big round table, swam in the pool, paddled canoes and kayaks on the creek, played tennis and dodgeball on the tennis court, and watched sports and movies on the big screen tv in the family room. The adults enjoyed talking and reading (and doing a bit of work thanks to the good wi-fi connection) on the spacious porches and covered outdoor sitting area. Multiple refrigerators on-site provided ample space for the groceries needed for several days to feed our large group. (Definitely a plus!!) A washer/dryer also came in handy for all of the bath and beach towels we used daily.
There were only a couple of things that we found to be a bit challenging. First, the water - it is soft which is not what we are accustomed to. Showers ended up being longer than usual in order to get the shampoo rinsed out (which in turn led to some hot water issues...) Secondly, we are not big fans of the the kitchen and we know that is because we are very spoiled when it comes to appliances and kitchen tools. After our first visit, we knew to bring our own knives, can opener, large serving spoons, and extra-large skillet. The cooktop is electric and we found it to provide uneven heating which made some tasks (like sautéing) a challenge. That said, compared to some of the other rental properties we've visited over the years, this one is well equipped with plenty of plates, glassware, utensils, cookie sheets, large pots, etc.
We would definitely recommend this property to others!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting this review. I'm glad that your group had another great visit at Henly Hill Ranch. I'm sorry that the soft water was not what you are used to. I remember the 1st time I showered in soft water in college after growing up on hard water. I thought that soap would never come off! Since then however I have come to love and appreciate soft water. It's also much easier on the pipes and plumbing fixtures. Also, thanks for your comment about the kitchen utensils. We have indeed had trouble keeping knives sharp with such heavy use of the house. We do have several large skillets (maybe not extra large), serving spoons and can openers, but I understand how it is when you are used to your own kitchen equipment. I cook on gas at home and still find it challenging to cook on electric cooktops.

In any event, we appreciate you and your family and look forward to having you back next year!
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Love this Ranch!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Entry from on-site Guest Book by a 2nd Grade Guest after her Family's 4th stay: "Dear Hudson Family - Thank you for letting us rent your fun house! It is very beautiful, especially up on the hill. It was fun swimming in the cold river, then jump(ing) out into the swimming pool. The tennis court was perfect for water balloon fights! The little house was awesome because it has great bunk beds. This is like a hotel, but way better. Thanks for the pralines. Next year we will eat outside every day. I wish that next year it won't rain. This is such a great house! Everything is so perfect. The big space is perfect for hiking on. This is a(n) awesome vacation - Thanks to all!
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Austin, Texas
5

A perfect getaway, a world away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our party of twenty had a fantastic stay at Hill Country Ranch. The location was very accessible from Austin, but felt like a world away. Our group felt instantly relaxed the moment we pulled in the long, secluded driveway. The surrounding landscapes--water, hills, sunset views and the rest--were beautiful, meditative, restful. And the ample, cozy interiors were just right for time to ourselves as well as group gatherings. The back porch sealed the deal! The home was generously spacious, impeccably maintained, warmly appointed, functional, spotless, and just downright wonderful in general.
As leader of my retreating work team, I was looking for a space for us to let down, play, relax, share a hearty meal around a big table, and enjoy long, late one-on-one conversations. Hill Country Ranch provided the perfect set of ingredients for that recipe.
The owners were attentive and responsive, but did not "hover" over us. We knew they were a phone call away--just the right arrangement for the privacy and seclusion we needed. It was truly a splendid experience all around, and I highly recommend this location. We have already scheduled next year's visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: That's two years in a row for your group, and both were rousing successes, it seems! It really is a great place to gather and spend some time focusing on planning and bonding, and some time just relaxing and taking in the scenery. I've already got you penciled in for next year. I'm so glad the space works so well for you.
business
Hill Country Ranch Retreat with creek, pool, hot tub, pavilion & tennis cou
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241961
(512) 328-8744 (Texas, USA)
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Amazing Place and Experience

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Entry for on-site guestbook: Please convey to the owners my sincere appreciation for the use of the Ranch. My entire family had a wonderful time and everything about the house far exceeded my expectations. It is a perfect combination of a really large home, but so cozy and personal. Lots of room for all of us, yet no one felt isolated. The guys loved the outdoor pavilion! The younger kids were in heaven outdoors. My sisters and I truly enjoyed the porches with rockers. I could go on and on, but you are more aware of what an amazing place (and experience) the Ranch is than I. It was worth every dime to see my entire family be all together (which is rare) and relax in such a great place. One last comment -- Tim was there to welcome me and reassured me that if I needed anything, just to let him know. He was so courteous and friendly, I relaxed immediately. Thanks to you, too, for making the rental process so easy. There was so much stress involving the wedding, it was a huge relief to me that working with you was stress-free and uncomplicated. I hope to return again with my family, but with no wedding or agenda -- just to have a great time and experience everything the Ranch has to offer.