Pigeon Forge chalet rental - Up The Creek Chalet
Up The Creek Chalet
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Pigeon Forge Chalet Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedroom/2 1/2 Bath includes King MBR, King 2nd BR & 2 twin, sleeps up to 6

Only 5 minutes from Pigeon Forge Parkway you will enjoy peace and quiet at our beautiful chalet located in the guarded community of Shagbark. Be sure to tell Becky how many Guard Passes you will be needing as each vehicle is required to have a Guard Pass. Summertime offers the swimming pool and tennis court privileges for relaxing or getting exercise or just plain having fun. Up the Creek is decorated in outdoors theme with deer, fish, bear, ducks to give you that 'Get Away from it All' feeling, and don't forget you get to listen from the deck and hear the creek running along side the road. Also, we have others that may be available if Up the Creek is already taken on the dates you need. Just give Becky a call today.

Master Bedroom has King Bed and log style furniture; 2nd Bedroom has King and 1 Twin Bed. There is also a Twin bed downstairs tucked in a nook by the half bath.

16 Reviews of Property 241942 in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
average rating of 4.3125 based on 16 reviews
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Perfectly Accommodating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was our first family vacation. We are a family of five. With boys 10, 4, and 1. The listing and pictures perfectly described what we found when we arrived. It is the perfect home-away-from-home.The 10 and 4 year old boys were very comfortable in the 2nd bedroom, which was a tremendous blessing to me. The house is secluded and quiet but only about an 8 minute drive to the main Parkway so it was the perfect location. The house was very clean and well-maintained. The game room was a perfect place for the boys to play and provided hours of entertainment when we were at the house. Mrs. Becky returned my initial call within 1 hour and after a couple of emails we were all set and ready to go. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a quiet yet convenient vacation home away from home.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, I hope to hear from you again for your next vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Lancaster, KY (close to Lexington)
2

Not What We Were Expecting!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
First off I must give props to Becky the owner for being very nice & easy to work with. She let us check in early on our arrival date & check out a couple hours later on departure date. However, after renting several cabins in the area we were very disappointed with this rental. I hope Becky just hasn't checked on it in a while. It is pet friendly however, be aware if your dog likes to "go" in the grass there is none!! It's all rock and weeds around the house. Not very good lighting around porch either. This is a very no frills, old, dingy, dirty house. It's very worn & needs updating. Windows and window seals were dirty. There are signs everywhere, about not smoking, what to set the a/c on, I found this very tacky. The pics of screened porch looked wonderful but once there you see the screened porch isn't usable as the notes stuck on the doors say not to open doors. This is where the air hockey table is & most of the days we were there it was too hot on the porch to play. In a previous review the owner says a/c units are 2 yrs old. They may be but they don't do a very good job cooling the upstairs. We were hot every night! For an 8 night stay we found in the 3 bathrooms a half roll of toilet paper and 2 full rolls. They weren't big rolls either. We also found a half roll of paper towels, which went fast with only one dish towel. On vacation I don't want to have to think of buying toilet paper & paper towels. First night there the propane tank ran out so no grilling, unless we went, got new tank, then sent receipt to owner to be reimbursed. On vacation, nobody has time to mess with all that. Drip pans on stove burners don't fit so trying to cook on stove, everything tilts & makes it hard to cook. Towels, wash cloths are all old. The decor is just a hodge podge of "stuff". No cell service to speak of (which we had been warned about), could send a text some times and cabin phone was unusable, after 45 seconds nothing but static. Telemarketers called a lot and early. We were mostly there just to sleep and spend a few hours during day as we went to the fair in Knoxville every night so it was ok for us but if you want somewhere to spend most of your vacation in the cabin I would keep looking because this place isn't the kind of inviting place to make you want to spend all your time here. Shagbark community was very nice and gate guards were awesome and the location off Wears Valley was good, just for a different cabin.
Owner's Response: This was not what I was expecting either—from a guest that I helped out with early check in and late checkout. My pictures all tell what décor I have in the rental, and they are not “tacky” or “hodge podge”, thank you! Up the Creek is built in the mountains, grass is not part of the scenery. We are pet friendly and have never had any complaints about the lack of grass; it is almost laughable what this guest found to complain about. There is a security light at the top of the driveway giving plenty of lighting and a porch light that can be left on continuously. I do have No Smoking signs in the rental, not to offend, but for assurance and to remind those present that it is non-smoking. The air conditioning system is adequate I will call the a/c company to check it out, it may need servicing. Again, this guest called, texted and e-mailed me several times while there about getting a late checkout, which I accommodated, and never said anything about the air-conditioning. I would have gotten the technician there earlier. The game room is not a screened porch, it has glass all the way around, but is not advertised to be a porch. Not sure where this guest got the idea it is a porch. The rental agreement clearly states “Starter supply of paper products only”. I am sure they went to the grocery store during their stay, and could have easily gotten paper products. To complain about that is really reaching low. The housekeeper leaves a full roll of toilet tissue plus what is left on the dispenser in each bath. There was a full roll of paper towels and what was left on the paper towel holder. The drip pans must have gotten out of the rims, they fit fine, no one has had a problem with them, including myself. I am not sure about the phones, I am having that checked out, but will have new ones put in anyway. Again, she texted and e-mailed me during her stay and never mentioned the phones being a problem. I always try to meet the needs of my guests, all I ask is that they contact me and I will have it taken care of as quickly as possible. This is my vacation home and all the furnishings are maintained well and anything that needs replacing is done with comfort and care in mind.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
3

Not the greatest, not the worst

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I rented this chalet with privacy in mind. It's secluded and less than 10 min from Pigeon Forge. The chalet looks just like the pictures although the cleaning fee was very expensive. For $90 i could've cleaned it better myself. When we arrived i had to use the bathroom and used the half bath near the back door. There were all kinds of tree needles and dirt behind the door. My experience with Becky should've been better. The day i spoke with her to reserve the room she was involved in an estate sale. Her focus wasn't on me and i wish she would've called me back. After i paid for the rental in advance i didn't get an e-mail confirming this so i contacted her about when i would get the combination and gate pass. She responded that they were making new combinations and that i'd have it within 2 weeks of my stay. This was in early june. A week before the trip i contacted her again to ask when i would be getting the same info. She had forgotten and said she would email them to me. A few days later i finally got them. We were a bit upset about the air conditioner and the notes stating that we couldn't lower it past 74 or the unit would freeze up. To me this should be fixed so that the renter isn't inconvenienced. My friend was very hot in her room as it was very humid during our stay and she used a small portable fan to keep cool at night. Becky needs to install some ceiling fans inside the house. There are 2 in the game room, but none inside. We stayed out pretty late every night so we decided to sleep in on sat. The house phone was ringing at 9 which didn't sit well with us either. After noon a man was in the driveway in a truck and he was hauling the gas grill away. I asked him who he was and what he was doing there. He replied that she was supposed to call me and let me know she was doing this. In our opinion this should've been done BEFORE we got there, not during our stay. We felt like our privacy was invaded and were not happy at all. I would recommend staying somewhere else if you're looking for an owner that's on top of things. Becky, in our opinion, was not. We enjoyed the G.S.M.N.P. and everything in Gatlinburg. We loved the Titanic exhibit, but not the Lumberjack Feud..it was a bit too cheesy for us. We highly recommend Bennett's BBQ for dinner. Great food, service and staff. On sat night we caught a scorpion by the back door. A previous review stated they had the same issue although i didn't read the reviews. I wish i had.
Owner's Response: This guest is mistaken; the cleaning fee was $75, not $90. I was not at an estate sale; I was at a meeting of heirs of a recently deceased close family member. I saw I had a call, excused myself and went outside to answer her call. She said, “No problem, just call me back when you are able”. I did call her back within an hour; got her information, explained to her I was out of town and would send her rental agreement and all the information by e-mail within 24 hours, which I did. My focus was on her questions about the rental and getting her information. She sent me another payment about a month later and I sent her an updated agreement with her new balance. This guest called and e-mailed me several times and I always answered her questions. I did notify her that it would be later in June before I could send the combination code to her. The code and guard pass were sent on June 24th, 10 days before arrival. She also made a request for early arrival on the 4th of July; which I agreed she could and told her noon or after would not be a problem at all. I do not know about a sign not to put the air conditioner below 74 degrees. I have asked the housekeeper to check to look and see if there is such a sign and if so, remove it. This is the first I have known about a sign. We installed new a/c units about two years ago and there should be no problem keeping it cool. Also not sure why this guest did not call me while they were there, especially if they were uncomfortable. I am always available for any needs of my guests. I did try to call the rental and the guest’s cell phone (left a voice mail) to let them know about the new gas grill being delivered. The guests who had left the day before informed me that the grill may need replacing and Saturday was the first day the maintenance man could get the new one for me. Afternoon delivery of an outside item is appropriate and should not be considered invasive. I am on top of things and take my guests needs seriously. My intention was not to infringe on their stay at all, but to make it better with a new grill. I have pest service with Orkin who sprays my rental monthly. My housekeeper and I are available for any needs of my guests and I always emphasize for them to call me anytime.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Riceville, Tennessee
4

Up The Creek in Shagbark

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The chalet was everything that was promised. Becky was very easy to work with and very accomodating to our early arrival and our pet. It felt like home, my 8 year old stated. We felt welcomed by the security guards. Our only negitive comments are: The community pool (get there early if you want to use...very small not enough lounge chairs). The terrain that the chalet is perched on is all straight up and there really isn't any yard to speak of, so if you want to walk your dog you will have to take your dog somewhere else. Becky did tell me that there wasn't much of a yard...I didn't take her as literal as I should have.

We would recommend, depending on specific needs.
Owner's Response: Thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
United States
5

Wonderful weekend in the Smokies

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We truly enjoyed the Chalet. It was everything we needed and more. The Chalet was very comfortable and relaxing. The guards at the gate were very friendly and helpful. We arrived late in the evening, and had no problem locating the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

EXCELLENT PRIVATE CABIN!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed from July 21-27, 2012. We highly recommend this cabin to anyone who desires a private cabin all to yourself!!! Everything was wonderful and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Becky was as easy to deal with as you would like. She did all that she told us she would do and more. In fact because she did not have anyone in the cabin on the 21st she allowed us to check in earlier than 4 PM which is usual check in. The guards at the gate were super nice and let us in even 30 minutes earlier than that. We had arrived at 11:30 AM that morning and they allowed us in. Becky had agreed to 12 Noon and we checked in. Our family enjoyed our stay here and the air hockey and the foosball came in real handy with our grandchildren. Just remember, when you go to the mountains that is what you get, mountains!!! I enjoyed the steep drive up to the cabin but I'm sure some do not like that but I do. There is very little yard at this cabin but that is OK with me because I am a stay in the house kind of guy anyway. You have Direct TV with a lot of channels and video players so the kids can watch their videos and you can watch yours!! We were close to town and there is a country store within 5 miles of the cabin. The little store even has a wonderful deli inside with all that you would want to buy to eat. We would like to say "thank you" to Becky and Brenda because the cabin was very clean and we experienced no problems with anything. Just remember you are in the mountains, that is why you went there was to be in the mountains! I am stressing that because I have read reviews that I can't believe what people would say. It makes me ask myself, "why did these people go to the mountains in the first place?" If you're in the mountains you know your going to have steep hills or mountains to climb or go up. While in the mountains your going to have animals to deal with!!! Dah, you're in the woods, not in the city!!! I love the woods myself and this place is EXCELLENT and private!!!!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your great comments! Yes, Up the Creek is a mountain experience, animals and all, and very do able for even city slickers! You and your family were great guests, I hope to hear from you again, Becky
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Alabama
5

Wonderful Chalet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had the most wonderful Memorial Day Weekend trip ever! Becky has a very clean and comfortable chalet. The swimming pool was great, everyone enjoyed the air hockey and foosball, it was so much fun for our family. We really enjoyed the hot tub under the stars. The location is perfect too and we felt safe being in a gated community, everything was as described and only a few minutes from the parkway where all the attractions, shows and shopping is located. Thanks for letting us stay in your vacation home, it was very clean and the beds were heavenly. We did not need anything, but we knew Becky or her housekeeper were just a call away. We will be calling you again for our next trip and recommending this chalet to our relatives.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, I look forward to hearing from you again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Alabama
5

A Great Get Away from it All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I can't say enough about Becky's hospitality and chalet! It was awesome, we enjoyed out stay soooo much, it was clean, comfortable and the decorations are wonderful. My children enjoyed the swimming pool, hot tub and the air hockey table. Of course my husband and I really liked the hot tub under the stars and the beds were very comfortable. We are already planning our next trip and will certainly be giving Becky a call. It is so convenient to the parkway where all the activities, shows and restaurants are, only about five minutes as was described.
Owner's Response: Thank you, please call me for your next trip.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Alabama
5

Great Time in the Smokies

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was a great rental for my family. It is close to the parkway and the mountains all in one. We loved the security and felt very safe. My girls played the air hockey and foosball all the time and wow, the hot tub was clean and so relaxing. We have rented many times in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, this is our favorite. Becky's housekeeper is great, the chalet was spotless and the beds were so comfortable. Thanks for making our vacation so easy and enjoyable, we will be back and will recommend to all our family.
Owner's Response: Thank you, you were great guests.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Bluegrass State
1

Scorpions, Spiders, & No Cell Signal

Scorpions, Spiders, & No Cell Signal
  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I can't understand why this place has such great reviews. First of all it is up a very steep incline. If you don't have 4 wheel drive you won't be getting up this driveway. Second, the house is infested with scorpions and huge spiders (the scorpions are even in the light fixtures). One would expect this if you were tent camping but not in a house. I wish I could upload a picture of the two scorpions in the downstairs bathroom light fixture. When we told the owner she said no one had ever told her before and that she'd discount my next trip with her. Like there will be a next trip to one of her cabins! I just wish I had my time and money back from this trip. We have been renting cabins in this area for years and this is the first time we stayed in a petting zoo for arachnids. You could tell the house had not had any pest control done on it for a while( no signs of glue traps or anything). Third, there is no cell phone reception (which isn't disclosed until you get to the house.) The house has phones but there is no long distance so if you have to call the owner in Alabama you are SOL unless you have a calling card or call her collect. This place says it is pet friendly (maybe they mean scorpions and spider friendly). The name says it all. If you stay here you are definitely going to be "Up the Creek"! Too bad you can't rate this place "No Stars" it deserves it.
Owner's Response: I tell each guest, call me or my housekeeper if you need anything anytime. I cannot understand why these guests did not notify me or my housekeeper while they were there so I could get rid of the insects for them. I have regular pest service and would have called them immediately. You are in a rural area on a mountain where insects are located. Two scorpions are not an infestation. You cannot completely insect proof a house, only control. I can't take care of an issue if I am not aware of it. This guest had plenty of time to notify me or my housekeeper during their three day stay. My pest service tells me because of the mild winter, the insects are worse this year. There are glue traps around, but the service puts them so small children and pets cannot get to them. My housekeeper and I am always available, and I did call and talked with these guests that Saturday morning to inquire how things were and they said "They really liked the place", and I HEARD NO MORE FROM THEM UNTIL NOW. No, I do not provide long distance, but I do provide a local number for my housekeeper who will take care of getting help for any of my guests needs. You do not need four wheel drive to go up the driveway to the chalet, but you are in the Smoky Mountains, not the plains. This review is mean spirited and unacceptable. I strive to give my guests a great place to spend their vacation and am available for them as you can see by all the other wonderful reviews.
Helpful votes: 0/2