Berlin-Mitte apartment rental - Miniloftmitte
Miniloftmitte
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Berlin-Mitte Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-5)

Miniloftmitte's downtown studio apartment is (45 sqm /450 sqft) is located in a stunning, prize winning building that combines a new building with renovation of an existing structure from the nineteenth century. The architects/designers are also the owners of the apartment, and have their own apartment in the building with their family. Architecture buffs love it here!

The apartment allows you full independence while enjoying your stay in Berlin in a unique atmosphere. The generous floor plan allows you to indulge in the modern luxury of pure space. The apartment is equipped with everything you need, and we provide all-organic products and cleaning supplies.

All major public transportation routes can be easily reached from this central location, and so many Berlin attractions are within walking distance (Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Alexanderplatz, Berlin Wall museum).

There are supermarkets and excellent restaurants and cafes within five minutes walk.

The Building - Phase 1: Britta Jürgens and Matthew Griffin, the architects who run the minilofts, also developed and designed the buildings.

The miniloft building was built on the property Hessische Str. 5 in two phases from 2001 – 2004. It is a complex interweave of renovation and new construction.

When they bought the property in 1999, the rear wing which now houses the classic minilofts was a run down building from the 1890's typical of Berlin Mitte.

In the first phase the architects completely transformed the narrow original wing by renovating the existing apartments.

The Building - Phase 2: In the second phase, the modern miniloft building (bender), was constructed in the overgrown bomb site at the front of the property. Its three bent stainless steel ribbons embrace the existing rear wing behind and navigate between the buildings on either side.

The building has received several prizes, and been internationally published in many magazines and books.

More Details
Hide Details

We are architects who run the minilofts - we also developed and designed the building. We also live in the building in our own apartment, with our two kids Theo and Odile. We took care of every detail so that you can have a wonderful stay in Berlin!

-Britta Jürgens and Matthew Griffin

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2003

We built the Minilofts on a partially destroyed lot (from WWII), close to the former line of the Berlin Wall. After the wall fell, East Berlin was a thrilling place, full of opportunity and energy. And 20 years later, it still is! Only now there are plenty of shops, galleries and restaurants in the neighborhood.

30 Reviews of Property 241560 in Berlin-Mitte, Germany

Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
average rating of 4.888889 based on 30 reviews
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
San Francisco area, California
5

Unique apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I stayed in one of the "extrovert" apartments for a week. It was a unique space, well designed, and very comfortable. Certainly worth the cost. The location in the Mitte section of Berlin was ideal. It was within walking distance to various museums and the Brandenburg Gate. Yet it was not a tourist area, and there were many restaurants and shops in the area that were frequented by locals and quite reasonably priced. The manager was very helpful in providing advice. Also, it was reassuring that the owners lived in the same building, in case there were any problems. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for an interesting stay in Berlin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
Washingon DC
5

It was a wonderful stay in Germany

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I spent 7 nights in Berlin at the Miniloftmitte. We found the accomodations to be perfect for our wonderful week in the city. The apartment was perfectly located, well-appointed with everything we needed, well maintained, and the staff was very helpful.
Also the Berlin guide book that was provided was invaluable to help us get around the city, and the restaurant recommendations were perfect.
We highly recommend the Minilofts to anyone traveling in Berlin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
Nederland
5

A House in Berlin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
With a homemade coffee and freshly baked bread from the bakery around the corner to start the day. The dining table was my favorite place to plan a day of sightseeing. The tips en trips provided in de Miniloft Berlin Guide were a great addition.

The Miniloft provides you a house in Berlin. It is overwhelming spacious.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
United States, Salt Lake City, Utah
5

Nice apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Sorry to be so late with my review but I wanted to get it on because I depend so much on these reviews when I use this site. This was a nice studio, very large and open. Kitchen was more of a wet bar type of kitchen but was fine for what we needed. It was off the main path so was very quiet. We walked to most restaurants and the market. Great hairdresser in front that we used, one of the best haircuts I have ever had. Up a few flights of stairs but worked ok for us. Overall a very nice experience. Management was great and check in easy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
Macon,France
5

Stay at Miniloft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We spent a week in a Miniloft compact studio in September 2012. We found the location excellent. We could live like Berliners and shop for groceries in the area. The studio was comfortable, airy and well kept. We had everything we needed for self-catering.
The staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful with useful tips. No unpleasant surprises.
If we return to Berlin we would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
United Kingdom
5

An Awesome Place to Stay in Berlin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I recently travelled to Berlin with my mother and 2 eldest sons (aged 10 and 12). My aim was to find a place that was affordable and enabled us to stay together - I didn't want to get two hotel rooms. I also wanted a place where we could happily hang out in our downtime, that was well positioned in terms of the main sites and that reflected the transformation that the city has undergone over the years.

Miniloft Berlin delivered on all accounts. Our "flexible" loft offered amble sleeping and living space and we were really able to relax and spend time together. We couldn't believe how close we were to so many sites, cafes and restaurants - the Hauptbahnhof, Hamburger Hof (Museum of Contemporary Art) and the Berlin Wall Memorial were only a short walk away. We loved the sleek, minimalist design of the lofts and the boys loved how an old building was made to look cool!

There are so many nice touches at Miniloft - the superb Miniloft guide with restaurant and local walk recommendations, free wi-fi, chilled drinks in the fridge and complimentary tea and coffee. The staff in the Miniloft office are incredibly helpful and informative and we are grateful for their breakfast recommendations! We loved our stay at Miniloft and will definitely be back. My 10 year old summed it up....Miniloft is AWESOME.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
Brisbane
5

Fitting appartment for the city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Berlin is emerging as a city of cutting edge contemporary architecture (Helmut Jahn at Sony Centre, Daniel Libeskind at Jewish Museum, Norman Foster at Reichstag dome) set alongside the magesty of old buildings (Museum Island, Berlin Dom etc) as well as a city of transformed living areas.

This is why we selected the Miniloftmitte for our stay in Berlin. The cutting edge design of the building and the apartments in an emerging trendy location was perfect for our week stay- a perfect match between living and the city.

We have stayed in many apartments in various cities across the world but we thought that this would be the best in terms of a match of the living with the city. And we were not disappointed- the experience certainly matched the expectation.

A short walk from the new (magnificent) railway station and short amble to the chic emerging areas around the start of Friedrichstrasse, Miniloft was perfectly placed.

As always, apartment living gives you the flexibility for self-catering as well as eating and drinking out but Miniloft provides the extra edge of living in a very contemporary setting in a quiet older area currently undergoing transformations.

Extra touches such as shower gel specifically designed for the apartments was a real treat- loved that burnt orange fragrance.

At first we were disappointed that the nearly U6 line was under reconstruction but after the first day we realized that we could walk everywhere we wanted to go from the apartment- all the museums and significant buildings and in doing so have the benefit of coming across unexpected gems. Although we saw almost all the galleries and museums as well as the buildings, we almost never used the trains or buses.

In terms of personnel, communication before, during and after our stay with the managers was excellent and we would have no hesitation in recommending Miniloft to anyone interested in traveling to Berlin to understand the city and its people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
Stockholm
5

Perfect apartment in excellent location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
It was the second time I stayed at Miniloft and this time I brought my family - wife and two teenage sons.
To my satisfaction the apartment worked just as well for the whole family as it had done for me when I stayed there myself. Perfect apartment to make yourself at home and in an excellent location, central but quiet. We enjoyed the architecture, the materials, the furniture and the equipment. Extra plus for providing oil, salt and pepper for cooking and salad-eating if you feel like staying at home at night....We ould gladly recommend Miniloft to anyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
New York, NY
5

Miniloft is perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Miniloft is the perfect accommodation for a trip to Berlin! It was clean, conveniently located and the service was impeccable. Unlike a stuffy hotel or a shady hostel - it truly felt like home. We will certainly be staying there again in future trips to Berlin. Thank you, Minilofts!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Miniloft - Unique Loft Apartment, Prizewinning Architecture
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241560
+49 308471090
Berlin-Mitte Berlin
5

sehr empfehlenswert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Wir waren eine Woche in Berlin in einem introverted appartment. Unsere Erwartungen wurden durchwegs bestätigt, das Appartment war ausreichend groß und mit allen Notwendigkeiten ausgerüstet. Die Fotos aus dem Internet sind gut passend, das Design ist durchaus außergewöhnlich und trotzdem praktisch und gemütlich. Alles war sehr sauber und funktionstüchtig. Die Lage ist perfekt, wenn man das neue Berlin kennenlernen will, es gibt eine sehr gute Infrastruktur von Lokalen, Geschäften und Museen in Gehdistanz. Die Mitarbeiter waren sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Wir werden Miniloft beim nächsten Berlinbesuch wieder buchen und würden es auch unseren Freunden bedenkenlos empfehlen.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing