Rockport house rental - Front of house facing ocean
Front of house facing ocean
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Rockport House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Library/bedroom 3 Baths (Sleeps 8)

The epitome of New England Charm on Cape Ann. This is a magical setting overlooking Straightsmouth Island and light house. The island looks like an Andrew Wyeth painting. Artists come here from around the world to be inspired by the light and the magical setting. Decorating is done professionally with doors and fixtures from all over the world, reflecting the owners travels. Atmosphere is peaceful and magical with many details too numerous too list. Perfect muse for your artistic endeavor. Available for winter rental or longer term. Local train has connection to Boston. Go to magicalhouse.com for futher details.

5 Reviews of Property 241302 in Rockport, Massachusetts

'Magical'. unique interior,oceanfront, open concept,luxurious amenities
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
'Magical'. unique interior,oceanfront, open concept,luxurious amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241302
+1 6178344120
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Awsome@

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The house is just as beautiful in person as it appears in the pictures. The owner, Susan, was very welcoming and accommodating. The home is very clean and very comfortable which is always a priority for me when traveling. We prepared dinner at the home one night and the kitchen was well stocked with all the essentials. The home has beautiful views of the ocean from almost every room. It was a luxury to wake up in the master bedroom each morning with such a gorgeous view of the ocean. The home is just minutes from the beautiful little town of Rockport and it is also conveniently located near supermarkets and restaurants. We went to Salem, about a half hour drive, which is the coolest place to be in October. Thank you, Susan, for allowing us the most pleasant experience of staying in your beautiful home. The best recommendation I can give is that we would most definitely stay here again.
business
'Magical'. unique interior,oceanfront, open concept,luxurious amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241302
+1 6178344120
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Upstate New York
5

Serenity multiplied!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We just returned last night and I wish we were still there. Four nights with cousins that have never traveled together before and there truly was magic! What an absolutely wonderful house to share! My husband and I have used VRBO several times and again were not disappointed! Susan is charming, warm and welcoming. Her house becomes your house immediately. The house is very well stocked with everything you need to cook, dine and relax. Lots of kitchen utensils, dishes, pans, etc. Far exceeding any experience we have had before. It was a pleasure to stay in, cook, laugh and enjoy each other. There are more spaces to curl up than you can count! Susan had a fire laid in all three fireplaces for us. We used the one in the kitchen after coming in from a cold rainy sightseeing day! Boy was it welcoming. Morning coffee on the outside balcony, evening games in the upstairs sitting area, awesome meals in the big dining room, cozy breakfast in the big kitchen..... the fun is endless here! If your guests need space, it is here. If you all hang together, there are lots of great places to do it in this house. The views are amazing! The amenities are delightful! All the beautiful things Susan has collected are great to look at. There are so many interesting and lovely details to this house. Everyone of us wants to come back. Susan is just great. And we are all so grateful that she is willing to share her beautiful home with complete strangers. That is a special person. And she owns a special place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
'Magical'. unique interior,oceanfront, open concept,luxurious amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241302
+1 6178344120
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Magical, Perfection, Relaxation,

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This vacation home is amazing. It was the perfect perfect perfect place to stay in Rockport. It truly was a magical vacation in a magical home. Now for me to describe this place wouldn't do it justice. Must be seen. But I'll try.

First, you'll drive down a private road and all you see is a picturesque view of the ocean. And then you realize that you'll get these views for the whole stay, so you actually see the house. And wow, you're blown away. Pictures were great, but WOW!

We were given a tour of the house by Susan. You should pay attention, as the stories behind the things in the house are worth an admission fee. There are things in the house from all over the world. The front door was a masterpiece. The wide-open kitchen made us seem like we were cooking in a mediterranean villa. The dining room table seated 8 of us comfortably and we used it pretty much every night (who needs a restaurant when you have the views we got during dinner - seeing the many colors of the sky during sunset, candles everywhere, sea shells on the table, music). Music was played throughout the house through surround sound, which is controlled in the great room - which by the way has ceilings about 30 feet high. The bedrooms were very nice with an adjoining private bathroom. The library also had it's own pull-out bed that was very comfortable - but the one downside is that's its on the main floor with only curtains. The upstairs lounge was great to play games, to have tea/coffee/desserts, to sit and chat on the balcony. Although there was no air-conditioning in the house, it wasn't needed. The house gets plenty of air circulation through the numerous windows.

The true gem was the master bedroom. Laying in bed, you have views of the ocean, the moon rising, and of course the sun rising. And if you want to sleep in, there are shades that provide total darkness in the room. Then you enter the en-suite. What more can you ask for, with a steam shower and a whirl-pool tub. The steam shower was used by all in the house, and was well worth it for everyone. Finally, a private balcony. Enough said.

Location. Bearskin Neck is only walking distance away, and can be even more amazing but cutting along the walking paths by Old Garden. Pebble Beach is about a mile away (taking a bike ride to it is gorgeous). Long Beach & Good Harbor Beach are very close and easy for someone to drop a group of people off.

Susan, thanks for the experience. Would love to stay again next summer!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Magical'. unique interior,oceanfront, open concept,luxurious amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241302
+1 6178344120
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Grand Island, NY
5

Perfect in every way!! Indeed a magical house!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I traveled to this magical house with 5 of my very close friends to get away, rest and share in a special celebration. By the time we left, we were more than transformed, we were completely happy and felt wonderful.
Susan, the owner and designer of this very special property, could not have been more caring and generous. This house and its ocean front setting are initially breathtaking and yet every little detail of her masterpiece slowly unfolds as one spends time breathing in the fresh air and luxurating in the beauty of her creation. It didn't matter that the weather was stormy at times. Infact, it was enjoyable to relax and read, nap or just watch the magnificence of the ocean from the many special seating areas in this fabulous home. We cooked some great meals in the fully stocked, beautiful large kitchen and dined by candle light with cozy fires lit in the kitchen and dining area fireplaces. We haven't laughed so hard or felt so at ease in ages!! It was exactly what we needed to return home feeling renewed and ready to face the challenges of our lives. I can't stress enough how lovely this home, its setting and its owner fit our needs exactly right. I would highly recommend this treasure to anyone seeking a lift and wonderful time!! We are already talking about our return!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
'Magical'. unique interior,oceanfront, open concept,luxurious amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241302
+1 6178344120
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Oakville, Ontario
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We stayed in this home for a week in July 2009 and had a wonderful time. The owner, Susan, was extremely friendly. She explained all the features of the house to us and gave us tons of information about attractions to see in the area. Susan even presented us with freshly baked cookies when we arrived. The house was large and spacious and included everything that was mentioned in the listing description. We had 2 families, totalling 8 people and there was lots of room for all of us. The ocean views out of the windows were beautiful. We had lots to do. The town of Rockport is a very quaint and has many shops featuring arts, crafts, photography and paintings. You do need a car because there is not much in walking distance. Food shopping is close by but shopping malls are farther away. There were 2 beautiful sandy beaches close by, one with larger waves where you could sit and watch the surfers.
The only drawback was that you could not really access the water directly in front of the house because the shoreline was very rocky. So you have to go to the nearby beaches.
I would recommend this property to couples or families with older kids(ages 7 or older) who would enjoy the quiet, easy life by the ocean and the artistic culture of the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7