Jordaan apartment rental - Bedroom
Bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Jordaan Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Beautifully renovated and totally restyled apartment in typical Jordaan house. Located in one of the nicest area of Amsterdam, the Jordaan.

This apartment is part of a 20th century house which is in the oldest part of historical Amsterdam; the heart of City, the Jordaan.

We have tried to preserve the unique historical character of the building while using modern and old things like an old fashion boxbed in our souterrain, see the pictures. The house is completely renovated. Meaning a complete renovation with respect of all ancient details of the building, and a tasteful redecoration that represents style and quality.

You will find all you need to have a comfortable and pleasant stay in this apartment, on this marvelous spot in Amsterdam. You will enjoy a fully equipped kitchen, providing you the comfort of home. A Nespresso and Airoccino is available with Nespresso cups and biological teas, as well as all the equipment needed for your cooking etc. And a modern bathroom, with great bathroom supplies of Rituals. In the apartment you can find a washing machine, a dryer and enough space for all of your stuff.

There are 2 bedrooms from which the second one is built as a romantic boxbed in the souterrain and can host up to 4 persons. Both bedrooms has a double beds. Outside you have your private and comfortable roof alley garden where you can sit under the trees.

You don't need linen or towels. It's all available.

All the important museums are close and can be reached by foot, bike, tram, car or boat. There is a great variety of restaurants and pubs in the area. The so-called 'bruine cafés' - typical Dutch pubs - are in great numbers available. What is more on walking distance: The Dam, The Nieuwmarkt, Rijksmuseum, van Goghmuseum, Flowermarket, Noordermarkt (biological market at Saturday), pubs, cinemas, a lot of nice (international) restaurants, theatres, the Anne Frank House, the Zoo, the red light district, many antique shops, famous art galleries, old churches, old synagogues, Waterloosquare, as well as the great shopping streets like the P.C. Hooftstraat, and many many more things to see and do! On the side of the IJ-harbour you can visit the new Library which is the biggest in Europe. (Also books in many languages available).

The central station is just a ten minutes walk from your apartment, which makes Schiphol Airport reachable within 30 minutes.

Come and enjoy the history, beauty and comfort of this great house!

Keywords: Ground floor apartment 2 bedrooms

More Details
Hide Details

Our photo will follow soon! We are a family of 4 and we live for more than 17 years in this great house in the middle of the old centre in Amsterdam. My 3 children love this place and so do I. This area 'Jordaan' is like a small old village in the centre of Amsterdam. Everything is in walking distance.

Jolanda purchased this apartment in 2008

This is our own house where we live for more than 17 years. The ground floor apartment used to be a shop for more than 100 years but is been renovated into an apartment. This is the best location in town because it's in the middle of everything and still very peaceful and children are playing on the street.

We love to go to the biological markets in the weekends to do our groceries and to walk or take the bike. When you step out the apartment you see the Westertoren and it's always very beautiful to see the canals. Everything is in walking distance.

7 Reviews of Property 241165 in Jordaan, Netherlands

Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241165vb
+31 (0) 6 14445049 (Netherlands)
Jordaan Amsterdam
Wilbraham, MA, USA
3

Could be better

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Wonderful location, great local restaurant "de Reiger" a short stroll down Neue Leliestraat, this apartment has the potential to be better than it is. The downstairs box bed is reasonably comfortable, but the basement level is humid and smells of damp. Previous guests had recommended a dehumidifier and we agree that this would help a lot. The ground floor bedroom is tiny, as is the bathroom. I wanted to rate this place higher.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241165vb
+31 (0) 6 14445049 (Netherlands)
Jordaan Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
5

Great Location for first time trip to Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My friend and I stayed here in January for 5 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to reach by tram from Centraal station. Having never been to Amsterdam before, it was an intimidating experience but with the apartment located so centrally and close to sights (such as the Anne Frank House) it was easy to get to and from. Everything is within walking distance, including places to eat (and supermarkets), shopping districts and historical sights. The apartment is nicely decorated and spacious and had television channels in English which was nice to come home to at the end of a busy day. The bedrooms are quite small and cosy but was perfect for the two of us and gave us our own space. The kitchen is well equipped and the laundry was useful too. All in all, great apartment that comes highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241165vb
+31 (0) 6 14445049 (Netherlands)
Jordaan Amsterdam
Wheat Ridge, CO, USA
5

cozy apartment in a wonderful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We just returned from a week's stay here. The location alone would make this an excellent find...close to many sites and near some really good restaurants, in a wonderful neighborhood just a bit removed from the crowds found in the city center. Truly a perfect location for our family...we were able to walk to most sites from the apartment. Additionally, the apartment was exactly as pictured and described, with a complete kitchen and comfortable beds. Everything was immaculate and the fresh flowers were a nice touch. The owner was gracious and helpful....I'd absolutely recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241165vb
+31 (0) 6 14445049 (Netherlands)
Jordaan Amsterdam
Seattle and Indonesia
5

Awesome stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My wife and I stayed in June for 3 nights and found it to be wonderful! Jolanda was a very accommodating hostess and helped us with anything we needed. We have an infant baby boy, so having a ground floor apartment was really important to us. The location was great because you could walk anywhere within a few minutes. The Anne Frank house was maybe a 5 minute walk. Train station maybe a 15-20 min walk. Really a nice place! We'd stay again anytime!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241165vb
+31 (0) 6 14445049 (Netherlands)
Jordaan Amsterdam
Vacaville, California, United States
2

Jordaan apartment #241165 review

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The location was excellent. Jolanda, the owner of the rental (lives above the apt.), was just wonderful. She made sure that we had plenty of coffee, bathroom essentials, etc... However, the apartment (which was being rented to 4 adults for 6 nights) was not what we expected from the pictures. Dampness is a major concern. In the bathroom, there was no shower door. Therefore, the water from the shower sprays all over the rest of the very small bathroom. There is no ventilation in the bathroom to air it out or dry the water from the floor, the toilet, the sink. The wooden bathroom door is damaged due to the water splashing on it every time someone showers and should be replaced. The downstairs bedroom is very damp and maybe a dehumidifier would help. It is accessed by a ladder. The main floor bedroom is so small, only the bed fits in it. I had to crawl over my wife in order to get in/out of our bed. We also had a problem with the " dampness " and mold, which we could smell as soon as we entered the apartment every day. We would have to leave the front and back door open for quite a while to air the apartment out. This mold and smell was mentioned by another review we had read. We mentioned this review when we first arrived and we were assured that the problem had been fixed . l would not recommend this property for more than 1 couple or a small family.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The damp this guest smells was from a leaking watertap in the kitchen, it was leaking for a long time but we didn't knew what the reason was. It is been fixed but the damp was in the kitchensink and it took some time that it was aired out. We discouvered this after the stay of this guest. The other damp situation was from a something completly different reason (rainwater), and that was solved last year. In the bathroom there is aircondition, there is a sign with the request to use this if you take a shower. Amsterdam has small old houses so this apartment is also small, but there is everything you need. You can' t compare this with the 3000 square feet house/mansion of this guest. As they told me in 2 minutes after their arrival. In whole Holland there is not 1 house of 3000 square feet. This apartment is only about 50 m2, but it's a good alternative instead of small hotelrooms.
A ladder is something different, these are wooden stairs, as you can see on the pictures. The apartment is the same as on the pictures, we didn' t changed anything, only the plants died last months :).We replaced this for my antique collection Cologne pots. One of these guests must have liked that very much.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241165vb
+31 (0) 6 14445049 (Netherlands)
Jordaan Amsterdam
Atlanta, GA
5

Queen's Day 2011

Queen's Day 2011
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed at Jordaan Apartment over the Queen's Day holiday in April 2011. The apartment was in an amazing location close to the festivities in the main canal, the Princengracht. We could walk to the Pancake Bakery (best Dutch pancakes in all of Amsterdam) and the Anne Frank house in less them 5 minutes time. Also very close to the tram stop and easy to get to Central Station.

The Apartment easily fit 4 adults and was equipped with everything we needed!! We used the kitchen to fix breakfast and make coffee in the morning. Jolanda was very nice and even provided us with additional coffee to help us get over the jet lag!! also my husband forgot a pair of jeans at the apartment and Jolanda even mailed them back to us in the US at no extra charge!!

I would definitely stay here again, the location was awesome, close to the prettiest canals and best pubs and restaurants in the center of Amsterdam!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Own Apartment in the Jordaan Old Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241165vb
+31 (0) 6 14445049 (Netherlands)
Jordaan Amsterdam
Niagara Falls
3

Stayed in Apartment late September 2010

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Have worked in the travel industry for over twenty years so aware of what the traveler wants. Have rented 20 VRBO apartments throughout the world, including Bruges before Amsterdam. We choose this location because it was on a lower level without stairs and could fit us in with the dates we wanted, when others could not.
Location is good, in quiet neighbourhood close to most attractions, near grocery, eateries, etc. It is not however within 10 minutes of Central Station. We tried different routes during our stay to find the shortest, and best was 30 mins. Taxi takes 10.
Would not describe as luxury apartment. Open plan kitchen, dining area with 4 dining chairs, living area which seats 3, small wall TV, 2 small cupboards for books, & toys. Kitchen small but workable. We didn’t use it much. Has gas burners, a microwave/oven, which had no glass plate in it, and hadn’t been replaced. Oven gloves for the pans with metal handles, a jug, teapot, would be good.
Bedroom picture on the main level is true, but angle of photo does not show there is no access around the bed, except to climb over other person. Room is small, and bed within just fits. Wardrobe cupboards are either side, one containing the boiler, but no drawers anywhere in the apartment for sweaters, etc. There is also nowhere for a book, spectacles, or a clock above or by the bed, only a small stool in the corner. Our main problem in this room was the damp. Amsterdam is a city on water, but steps need to be taken to avoid damp. Found bedding always felt slightly damp. There were active mold spots on the wall behind the door, and at baseboard level. Also evidence of previous similar spots. Bed in lower level also had damp feel and smell. Bathroom has half door shower and water goes outside the shower, as does the steam go down the walls. There is a fan but it can’t remove all moisture, and bathroom stays wet for hours. Extra humidity adds to damp problem in apartment. Dehumidifier should be considered.
Lower bed area good for older children. Would not recommend for young children. Steps to the basement level would need safety gate installed. Radiators get very hot when heating on (water filled). Small child could burn themselves.
No phone. Wi fi available. Different voltage country visitors need convertor for computer. Property has potential to be “luxurious” and attractive with a few inexpensive additions that may enhance bookings in competitive market.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay at our apartment and your extended review. The time at your stay was unfortunately in a very rainy and wet period. We never had so much rain in such a short time. The street sewer couldn' t remove all the water and that was what causes the damp problem. After you left we saw the spots in the room and everything is already fixed. We will make steps to make some additions but we also think that you didn't find some things in the apartment. There are two clocks for each bedroom with alarm, there are gloves for hot pans and some other things that you missed. We live above the apartment and could supply you anything you need or would like to know. We always ask our guests to ask us anything they want to make their stay as good as possible. The glass for the microwave was all ready ordered and is on it's way. The suggestion for the safety gate is very good and we will buy one, also for a shelf near the bed. We had a lot of families with children and we never heard anything about burning fingers on heaters or unsafeness in the lower bedroom. They all love to play there. All houses in Holland have this heating system, if it's not save then it was forbidden by the government.
Hope you will chose our apartment again next time when you like to visit our beautiful city
Helpful votes: 10/11