Bar Harbor townhome rental - Adirondack chairs by meadow's edge. Star-gaze, watch meadow wildlife & relax
Adirondack chairs by meadow's edge. Star-gaze, watch meadow wildlife & relax
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bar Harbor Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Duplex, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Picture windows looking east, with views of Gorham Mountain and the meadow, make this home feel like it is in Acadia National Park, rather than merely surrounded by it.

In the afternoon, relax on your private back deck, watching songbirds and meadow wildlife. Or sit by the frog pond enjoying a good book and the clear Maine air. There's a large back yard, a hammock for lazy days and moonlit nights and when you're ready to hit the hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing or garden trails we'll point you to the local favorites.

Acadia Meadow is stocked with fresh herbs and vegetables (in season) from our organic garden, books, including Maine authors, local guides and great area maps: we think, like the 'rusticators' of times past, you'll want to return to Acadia Meadow year after year.

Keywords: DUPLEX

I was born and raised in Bar Harbor and Tod grew up in Marin County, California. We owned and operated Bar Harbor Brewing Company and retired after selling the business in 2008. We love to garden, hike, bike, fish, gather wild mushrooms and berries and play tennis. I love to cook; creating dinner menus from the organic vegetables in Tod's garden is a highlight of each summer day. This summer Tod has taken a job as seasonal gardener at Thuya Gardens, a beautiful English Border Garden ten minutes from Acadia Meadow. I will be one of the volunteer ambulance drivers for the town of Mt. Desert this summer, and hope to train as EMT in the fall.

Suze purchased this townhome in 1992

We fell in love with the house and 2+ acre property. You can hike out your back door into Acadia National Park. The backyard opens out to a beautiful meadow teeming with wildlife. And yet we're 4 miles from downtown Bar Harbor.

Stars, stars and more stars at night. The night sky from the back yard adirondack chairs is the greatest show on earth. Wildlife, including deer, pileated woodpeckers, fireflies & hummingbirds can be seen regularly while relaxing on your back deck. Location is surrounded by the most wonderful places to explore in Acadia National Park - if you forget something, or want to come home for lunch, we're just around the corner. Free Island Explorer Bus stops outside your front door June 23 to mid-October.

Acadia Meadow is the entire left wing of the house.

8 Reviews of Property 241071 in Bar Harbor, Maine

SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Florida
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The other reviewers have already said it - this was a wonderful home-base for exploring Acadia Nat'l Park. The kitchen was fabulous, the whole place was clean and comfortable and very well appointed, the views were great (pics don't really do it justice), the location is between two park entrances so you can avoid the one-way park loop road much of the time, and the owners were great hosts - there for advice if you needed it, but provide all the privacy you could ask for. We loved the bonus gifts from the garden - so fresh and wonderful. We highly recommend it!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Reading, PA
5

Cozy, Cute & Close to Everything!

Cozy, Cute & Close to Everything!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I couldn’t ask for a better 1st experience to Maine! Suze & Tod were very welcoming and the house was exactly what we needed...a little privacy, but yet very close to everything! Shopping, sight seeing, tours, walking/hiking were all within 5-25 min, depending on where you go. We will recommend this place to our friends and family, and when we make it back to Maine, there is no question as to where we would stay! Thank you again Suze & Tod!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
5

25th Anniversary 2nd Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Wow! Loved the house! Was everything that was advertised. The house was private with a field separating the back deck from the Acadia National Park. It was very private, exactly what was needed for a second honeymoon! The location was ideal, just a little over 3 miles from the center of Bar Harbor and within a few minutes of many activities in the area. Would highly recommend this to anyone considering a stay in beautiful Bar Harbor!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Pennsylvania
5

Perfect Home Base for Acadia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at this cozy, comfortable, home-like vacation rental. Owners Suze and Tod are thoughtful hosts, and available to answer any questions you might have.
The main room, which includes the kitchen, dining area, and living room, is large, airy, and boasts a wonderful view of the adjacent meadow and a not-so-distant mountain. The bedroom and bathroom were also large; the queen bed was very comfortable and the bedroom closet was roomy. The kitchen was very well-stocked. Everytime I looked for something I needed for cooking, it was available, There were even some appliances I never expected, including a waffle iron, and an abundance of spices, some sugar, and flour. Suze and Tod also supply paper products, hand soap, and dish, dishwasher, and laundry detergents. Everything, from the laundry room to the kitchen, was sparkling clean. We also had access to a private deck--but we were so busy hiking and biking on the nearby trails, that we didn't avail ourselves of it. This was our first trip to Acadia, and we decided that this was the perfect location for exploring the park and the communities on Mt. Desert Island. Out the drive and right, and we were only about 10 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor; turning left got us to Northeast Harbor quite quickly too. We were close to three entrances to the park loop and an easy drive to dozens of trails and carriage roads. If we return to Acadia, we will definitely plan to stay here.
If you hike, we'd highly recommed the south ridge trail up Cadillac Mountain. The trailhead is about a mile south of Acadia Meadow, and we ranked this trail among our very favorites (and we've hiked all over the U.S. and some overseas). Both Bubbles were also worthwhile--we parked at the Bubble lot and hiked first the South Bubble and then backtracked and up the North Bubble--and finished up with Conner's Nubble. Another recommendation is the south ridge of Penobscot. Have fun!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Long Island, NY USA
4

Perfect "Base Camp" for Acadia Adventure

Perfect "Base Camp" for Acadia Adventure
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Newly retired, my husband and I spent a relaxing week in mid-Sept 2011 at this comfortable, spacious VRBO. Our goal was to spend as much time in the park as possible, and the location of Acadia Meadow was perfect for ease of park accessibility. We also craved views and peace and quiet; again Acadia Meadow fit the bill. Pictures on this site don't do it justice. We lingered over a.m. coffee at the picture window watching the fog drift off the mountain. We enjoyed "happy hour" on the deck twice watching the changing light. We saw a coyote frolicking in the meadow and hummingbirds darting about. We cooked all meals but two and were delighted to find the kitchen well stocked with useful amenities--and appreciated the host's garden veggies. The frig and microwave looked new and were spotless. After a day of hiking, the hot water in the very clean shower was welcome, as was the comfy bed. We even needed to use the heat, and it came right on and worked fine. The hosts are friendly and gracious. Decor is cozy cabin style with an eclectic mix of furniture. Thoughtful touches: candles here and there, huge closet in bedroom, roomy medicine cabinet for storing toiletries, great selections in the bookcase, lighted walkway to front door, free phone in unit to counteract poor cell service in area, and more. Staying at Acadia Meadow helped make our trip memorable, comfortable, and convenient. We felt welcomed and at home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
West Grove, PA
5

Great place to stay near Acadia National Park!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Acadia Meadow was very clean and had all the amenities that my family needed for an enjoyable vacation. My family actually stayed here 2 years in a row. We have 3 younger children, and this was a great place (and location) for us to stay. It is located south of Bar Harbor and very close to Acadia National Park. The view out of the kitchen picture window was wonderful (Gorham Mountain is in the distance). Suze and Tod were very warm and hospitable hosts. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Shiloh, OH , USA
5

Acadia Meadow, Bar Harbor, Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The location in Bar Harbor is convenient to hiking, biking, restaurants, and much more. The accomodations were clean, spacious, well maintained, tranquil, and offered privacy. The rental was fully equipped and the owners offered fresh herbs from their garden. The on-site laundry facilities were very nice.. The owners were very kind, gracious, and helpful in offering suggestions to points of interest, restaurants, directions, and even set up and played a tennis match with my husband. The surrounding sites are beautiful and offer many wonderful opportunities to see historic places, such as the waliking tour in Constantine or to hear first class musicians at Kniesel Hall in Blue Hill. For those with an interest in photography, the scenery is outstanding without having to drive a great distance. For those who enjoy shopping. and looking for wonderful craft artisans there are many fine local shops and restuarants. Po' Boys Restaurant is a favorite and offers delicious meals. . .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
SURROUNDED BY ALL THE BEST TO SEE IN ACADIA NATIONAL PARK - WALK TO OTTER COVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241071vb
+ (207)299-0207 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Winchester, VA
5

What a wonderful place to spend our 15th wedding anniversary!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My husband and I loved our stay at Acadia Meadow. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, the lovely view from the living/dining room windows, and the sounds of all the many birds and all of nature from the deck. It felt like a little bungalow, far away from all the busy hustle and bustle of the city, but at the same time was so convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

The apartment was immaculate, and the owners had thought of everything. We cooked both inside and out (enjoying the grill while watching the sunset.)

The owners were so hospitable; they even brought us a beautiful bouquet from their gorgeous garden.

I would definitely recommend this lovely apartment to any of my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5