Rindge castle rental - Castle in the Fall
Castle in the Fall
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps22
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Rindge Castle Rental Photos and Description
8 bedrooms, 5 full baths, 1 half bath, sleeps max: 22

Located atop of a hill, amidst 500 acres with miles of walking & groomed x-country ski trails, outdoor hot tub, & 5000 gallon swimming pool. This extraordinary 11,000 sq. ft. castle has incredible views of Mt. Monadnock from the N & lake/ beach from the S.

Enjoy the solitude & amazing sunsets on this gorgeous property in Rindge, NH. Great for family reunions, retreats, etc. Please note: no weddings, banquets, or receptions, only housing of such.

The castle was built by the owner & completed in 1995. The interior design is unique in it's secret stairways, slate & hardwood floors throughout, Gothic arches w/ faux stone walls, a huge formal yet comfortable living room w/ a marble & granite fireplace offset w/ a gorgeous grand piano, 9 foot ceilings,authentic tapestries & scrolled glass doors that open into a large Wedgwood style dining room offering a recessed ceiling w/ a lighted sunset. The basement bar/game room & third floor playroom will insure that everyone of all ages have fun!

AGE REQUIREMENTS: The Guest must be at least THIRTY (30) YEARS OLD to rent the property. Please note that this is very important as YOU WILL HAVE FULL RESPONSIBILITY of the castle while you rent it. THIS IS OUR HOME, SO PLEASE TREAT IT WITH RESPECT, JUST AS YOU WOULD WANT SOMEONE TO CARE FOR YOUR HOME. THANK YOU.

We strictly limit the amount of people in the castle for any gathering to 22 people in total.

Current Rindge zoning BANS WEDDINGS, BANQUETS, or RECEPTIONS.

FIREWORKS ARE STRICTLY PROHIBITED BY THE TOWN OF RINDGE. NO FIREWORKS ON THE PREMISES OR ON THE BEACH. IF ANY FIREWORKS ARE HEARD BY THE NEIGHBORS, THE POLICE WILL BE CALLED AND YOU WILL LOSE YOUR ENTIRE DEPOSIT.

THERE IS A 10pm OUTDOOR NOISE ORDINANCE; THIS MEANS ALL NOISE MUST BE INSIDE THE CASTLE AFTER THIS TIME.

THE FIREPIT MUST NOT BE MOVED. IT IS 25 feet FROM THE PROPERTY WHICH IS THE REQUIRED DISTANCE ACCORDING TO THE FIRE CODES. THE FIREPIT AT THE HOME AND AT THE BEACH CAN ONLY BE USED FROM 5pm-9am.

THANK YOU FOR UNDERSTANDING THE IMPORTANCE OF ALL RULES LISTED ABOVE, AND FOLLOWING THEM ACCORDINGLY.

More Details
Hide Details

The only entrance to the castle is Sauvola Drive which is off Able Road in Rindge, NH close to the Rindge/Fitzwillaim town line. There is a designated Castle Beach marked specifically for you. This home is our primary residence. Our children grew up in this home and now return to visit with their families.

This property,was in the works of being built in 1993 and finished in 1995. John's love of Castles began when he was a young child and grew up in Pittsburgh, Pennslyvania. As an adult he found this beautiful 500+ acreage of land quite by accident in the woods of New Hampshire. The plans to build this home began after much travel throughout, Europe exploring other castles. Today, after our five children have grown up and left this wonderful home, they continue to return to this gorgeous property to come together as a quite large extended family. We continue to celebrate many of the holidays here with our family and have now opened it up to you so that you may enjoy it as much as we do.

John & Lynda Hunt purchased this castle in 1995

The Cathedreal of the Pines is a must see located in Rindge 5 minutes away with beautiful gardens; a historical landmark you would not want to miss. In less than 30 minutes, one can venture to Mount Monadnock, the most climbed mountain in the world. For the first time climbers, Pack Monadnock , only 25 minutes drive (across from Temple Mountain), is also a great family climb for those who have younger children. The views are spectacular. The town of Fitzwilliam, approximately 10 minutes away, is famous for it's Antiques. The town of Peterborough ( approximately 20 minute drive or less) well known for the 'Peterborough Players' theatre house, was also the setting for the well known play 'Our Town'. It also has many cozy shops and wonderful restaurants. The bustling city of Keene is great for window shopping, fine dining, and entertainment. The Colonial Theatre in Keene, features plays with some well know actors, singers and comedians and is located on Main St. Twinkle Town miniature golf can also be enjoyed by all and is located between the towns of Rindge and Keene approximately 15 minutes away. Also, there are many lakes and state parks that are close by (not more than 20 minutes drive) for a great beach day.

39 Reviews of Property 240837 in Rindge, New Hampshire

Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
average rating of 4.974359 based on 39 reviews
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
Tenafly NJ
5

Perfect place for our family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
The castle was all the we hoped for and more. The layout, particularly the living room (with grand piano) and the central staircase (with suit of armor) were fantastic--well appointed, lavishly decorated, and impeccably maintained, with plenty of books, games, and movies. The kitchen had all the amenities, including staples (we had brought our own, not knowing what to expect).

We were 10 adults and 7 children. Even though it rained all weekend and we were essentially housebound, there was plenty of room for us to spread out, play, and socialize. (Ours was a family reunion, so that's how we wanted it. It was perfect for us.) We even used the jacuzzi outside and the kids had fun sliding down the hill. The bedrooms were wonderful and the playroom upstairs was great for the kids. We also got good use out of the pool table, darts, and poker table in the basement. It was extremely comfortable and everybody loved it.

The owner was very gracious. He provided a one-page listing of restaurants, etc. in the area prior to our arrival. He was very appreciative of our treatment of the place (we were conscientious about cleaning) and happily and promptly refunded our deposit in full.

The location, despite being just over the border from Massachusetts, is fairly remote. The property is grand, with great views. Outdoor activity is your best bet.

I recommend mapping out directions very carefully in advance. We got lost despite having a navigation system, a printed Google map, and maps on an iphone. Some roads are minor or dirt, and not all systems recognize them. Once you know where you're going, it's not difficult.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 23/25
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

Wonderful winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family returned to the castle to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. We had stayed for a week a few years ago and had such a great time. This time we were there in winter which was a completely different - but equally great - experience. We spent much of the time outside sledding. The hill in front of the castle was awesome for sledding - even the adults joined in - and those not sledding could hang out by the firepit and watch. The castle also provides cross country skis and there were so many sizes that everyone wanting to try it was able to find a pair that fit. Mike the caretaker was great, he is so helpful and we looked forward to him coming by every morning with the paper. We also really appreciate that everything is provided for us, bed linens, towels, paper towels, soap, shampoo, everything you could possibly need, which really cuts down on packing. We plan to return again this year, once we can agree on summer or winter! Thanks for a great vacation!
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
Little Compton RI
5

Extraordinary vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Six couples and a few additional friends went on vacation together in early October, 2013. We were at the castle for a week. I only went off-property twice, both times to get supplies. It was the same for most of us. Some never left!

The place is extraordinary. An involuntary smile will appear on your face when you make that final turn on the dirt road and see the castle for the first time, and it will be on your face pretty much your entire stay. Mike the caretaker was there to greet us and take us on a tour. As groups of friends arrived it was fun to take them on the tour and see their faces light up the same way.

The castle is huge yet comfortable.It is clean, well-maintained, and well equipped. With 15 people there was plenty of room for people to spread out. A common question was, "Have you seen [so-and-so]?"

We cooked every meal there -- never went out to eat even once -- and found every utensil and pot and pan we needed. We made use of the multiple fridges and dishwashers and sinks. We enjoyed breakfasts and lunches outside or hanging around the kitchen and our dinners in the fancy chandeliered dining room.

We had amazing weather so we spent a lot of time sitting out on the patio, playing outdoor lawn games (we brought Kubb with us -- perfect!), kayaking, sitting in the hot tub, and going for walks. The property is enormous -- it feels like you're in your own private state park with paths, benches, bridges,and lookout spots. The only bummer was that the water was being lowered in the lake while we were there, which reduced our use of the water and beach. Mike offered to take us to another lake where we could kayak more but we didn't take him up on it because were happy right where we were.

We played a lot of board games around the breakfast table in the kitchen. We brought bins of costumes and had lots of laughs dressing up for a couple of dinners. A couple of evenings we made a fire in the living room fireplace and sat around talking and snoozing. One night we made a fire in the outdoor fire pit.

Thank you to John and Lynda for making your exceptional castle available and to Mike for making us feel at home. This was one of the best vacations ever.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

The Best Family Vacation yet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Few things in life exceed expectations but The Castle falls in that category. Everything you could hope to find in a Stone Castle on a mountaintop is there. The lake is equipped with enough watercraft; canoes(5), pedalboats(5), kayaks(4), paddleboards(2),sailboat(1) that I never once heard, "It's my turn!" If one of our 11 grandkids or 10 adults wanted to take a ride there was always a craft available. Mike the caretaker met us for a tour on our arrival and every morning at 8 AM sharp he delivered the day's morning paper and checked with us for anything we needed. The place is beautiful, the grounds are expansive with the HUGE GREAT LAWN out in front of the Castle for games of all sorts. The Championship Disc Golf Course was a real challenge for the "big boys" in the group and the unbelieveable DVD Movie collection kept the little kids and the teenagers busy on the rainy days. John and Linda have equipped the house with everything you'll need. Just bring yourselves your food and your imagination.
Thanks you to our hosts, John and Linda Hunt and their ever-available support staff, Mike and KR who helped us have the best Family Vacation in the 15 years we have been gathering our kids, spouses and grandkids all together from all over the USA.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
Portsmouth, NH
5

Best family reunion ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Over the last six years our family has celebrated reunions in North Conway, Martha's Vineyard and Stowe and our weekend at the Castle was by far everyone's favorite! This was the first year where we all parked our cars and never left the property. The activities on-site were endless, which to do first? Swim in the lake, kayak, mountain bike miles of trails, frisbee golf, watch the kids play on the jungle gym, sit by the fire pit, hang out in the hot tub? Inside the home, not a thing was missing to make our stay absolutely perfect. We hated to leave and immediately contacted John & Linda to book next year, with an extra night!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

70th Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Three generations of our family gathered at the Castle for a week long family reunion to celebration the 70th Birthdays of our parents. A fantastic time was had by all! The home exceeded our expectations. As many before me have said, there was plenty of room to accommodate our group ranging in age from nearly 3 to our birthday couple of 70!! Plenty of space for group gatherings whether inside the kitchen area or outside on the patio. The beach and boats were fantastic for hours of summer fun. We only ventured away for groceries and to visit the Cathedral in the Pines. The castle provided recreation for everyone without having to leave (and spend more money). After a day of swimming the kids would play ball on the great lawn while the adults enjoyed cocktail time on the patio.

My only suggestion would be to have guests clear their dry goods in addition to their fridge and freezer items prior to departing. This would allow cabinet storage for the dry items each visitor brings. Not bad if that is the only improvement I could suggest, right!??

Mike the caretaker is a gem!! He knows the Castle and the town very well and makes you feel welcome from the moment you drive up. The owners Linda and John also go out of their way to help make your stay perfect. They were very helpful recommending a caterer for our big birthday celebration feast and a photographer to capture the moment.

With a family living from Georgia to Pennsylvania, the kids growing and demands on time more and more, we don't know when we'll have all three generations together again but we will certainly always have the memory of our time at the Castle and the sheer joy we had for that week! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

Most beautiful place you'll ever stay

Most beautiful place you'll ever stay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My family and I go on an annual weekend get-away and we try to find someplace new to stay every year. This year researching places to accommodate our clan of 21 people from the age of 3 to 60, I stumbled across this castle. I have to say, it was by far THE BEST place we have stayed in our 8+ years of going away together.

The castle was large enough to accommodate almost everyone in a bed (just two little tikes slept on mattresses on the floor). The gathering spaces were big enough for everyone to be together, but the house also offered many different gathering spaces so if you prefered to be solo, you didn't have to be hiding out in your room either.

The secret passageways were outstanding, as well as the rooftop views. We played hide and seek with the kids, and there was no shortage of good hiding spots, for both the adults and the kids!

The castle left you to want for nothing, every possible size dish, glass, pot, pan, appliances, fine china, spare mattresses, pillows, blankets, sheets, towels, even shampoo! The caretaker was outstanding and the fresh fruit bowl provided was the perfect touch.

I'd be suprised if we tried to find someplace else to stay next year! The only thing I wish is that I was there in the warm summer months to take advantage of the paddle boats and beautiful lake.

Thanks you John & Lynda for opening your home to my family, we hope to return again soon.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
New York
5

An incredible place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The pictures do not do this wonderful castle justice. A group of friends stayed at the catle over the holiday weekend and cannot say enough good things about the location, amenities and the overall warm feelings in this large estate. We take away from our stay a lifetime of memories from a great holiday.
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

Super Bowl XLVI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
What a place to spend a weekend with friends! This house or rather "Castle" is magnificent. We were a party of seven couples that have been spending Super Bowl weekend together for several years.

This was our first stay at the Castle and likely will not be our last. We wanted for nothing. There was plenty of room to spread out - from the casual family room off the kitchen where we hung out in the mornings to the gorgeous living room for cocktail hour prior to dinner in the formal dining room.

There is plenty of recreational space and toys to keep any type of party occupied. My favorite room was the living room with the grand piano. Words cannot describe how beautiful and comfortable this room is – so if you are thinking of renting the Castle – just do it and see for yourself.

The view is breathtaking! The castle is perched upon a hill overlooking a reservoir. We were fortunate to wake up to a family of deer crossing the field one morning. They new we watching and stopped to check us out.

The owners were very gracious and you can tell by the extensive display of their family pictures throughout the house that they genuinely enjoy sharing their home.

Mike the caretaker was very helpful checking in each day to see if we needed anything.

Despite the disappointing loss by the New England Patriots, the weekend was a great success!

If you are considering the Castle - Go for it!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique luxurious gothic castle with views in the middle of a 500 acre estate!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240837
+1 603 345-1129
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

A very special place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I heartily recommend this house to anyone looking for a place that can accommodate a large group and still feel cozy. My friends and I - 16 adults and 8 kids 5 and under - rented the castle for a winter weekend retreat and had a blast. Every amenity we needed was there, as well as just enough magic to make it a memory that will last for years.
Helpful votes: 2/3